The Walking Dead: 400 Days Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join five new characters as they struggle to survive in The Walking Dead: 400 Days

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Walking Dead: Episode 2 - Starved for Help Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jul 5, 2013
    90
    The extent of your enjoyment will largely hinge on whether you view 400 Days as an odd footnote to an incredible first season, or as the prologue to an even higher-stakes follow up this Fall.
  2. This two-hour episode introduces players to a quintet of new characters, individual survivors who through random chance spend at least a little time in or around a lonely countryside gas station and diner during the first 400 days of the outbreak.
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    83
    A fantastic return of The Walking Dead, letting Telltale experiment with form without losing any of the magic.
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    80
    Even though you'll never spend more than 30 minutes with any of the characters, you'll still find that you're invested in their well-being.
  5. Jul 5, 2013
    77
    400 Days shows the same strengths as the whole first season: The decision are painful! The merciless fight for survival still is depicted brutally honest. Nonetheless this interlude lacks challenge and freedom of action.
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    By telling five different shorter stories Talltale manages to accelerate the pace of the The Walking Dead series. It has its complications but mostly feels fresh and exciting. 400 Days may not be as well written or as emotionally resonant as the episodes in season one but as an appetizer for the upcoming second season it works very well.
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    65
    The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a good expansion, but definitely not good enough. This DLC is very short and does not use the full potential of new characters (there isn't enough time to care for any of them). What's more, every piece of the game allows to play with the gameplay mechanic in different ways. The most important thing are the dialogues and attempts to introduce character in a very short time span. All in all (despite its flaws) 400 Days is a must buy for fans of the series that want to continue the story.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 61
  2. Negative: 5 out of 61
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    An interesting bit of DLC. some of the choices you can make don't necessarily feel like choices at the time. the characters are all nicelyAn interesting bit of DLC. some of the choices you can make don't necessarily feel like choices at the time. the characters are all nicely fleshed out, and yet again the quality of voice acting and setting are top notch. I'm definitely eager to play Season 2. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    400 Days is a nice little add-on to gear us up for Telltale’s season 2 of The Walking Dead and I’m hoping that the outcomes of this expansion400 Days is a nice little add-on to gear us up for Telltale’s season 2 of The Walking Dead and I’m hoping that the outcomes of this expansion do reflect how we start the next game… Overall though, Telltale has kept the quality super high… In fact I found the characters presented even more interesting than anyone from the original game… So, even though total gameplay is around an hour and a half at the most (which is 10-15 minutes per character story) it’s a simple reminder of how fantastic this game was at telling a story, putting you in control of a situation and making you think how you want to do things! It’s a great deal of fun, I can’t recommend this DLC enough and I’m frankly stoked for future instalments of ‘The Walking Dead’ from Telltale! Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    I didn't have the same emotions as in the first 5 parts, maybe because I miss Clementine und Lee so much! But this episode is realy good andI didn't have the same emotions as in the first 5 parts, maybe because I miss Clementine und Lee so much! But this episode is realy good and it comples to make real very,... very hard decisions. I was realy lost in the few moments, what I have to do! This part is not so gourgeus and not so long, but it's deserved to be played! I'm waiting impatiently for the next season! Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2014
    7
    I usually love The Walking Dead, but however the charm of the characters we all knew and loved have gone, as they're replaced by other newI usually love The Walking Dead, but however the charm of the characters we all knew and loved have gone, as they're replaced by other new characters. However, what keeps this as a 7 is Russel's story, and the prison guy's story. The rest aren't worth writing home (or to metacritic) about. Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2013
    7
    A very entertaining and well written DLC, but because the stories are so short, you don't find yourself connecting to them like you did whenA very entertaining and well written DLC, but because the stories are so short, you don't find yourself connecting to them like you did when you're playing as Lee Everett. The heavy choices you have to make are still there, but they don't carry as far like the first season. I say it's worth the $5, especially since the choices are planned to carry into Season 2. Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2013
    6
    I adore Telltale's Walking Dead game. I convinced all of my close friends to buy, and play through it just so we could talk about the story.I adore Telltale's Walking Dead game. I convinced all of my close friends to buy, and play through it just so we could talk about the story. It is one of the few stories in gaming that's really, really engaged me. I was also really impressed with the way they handled the idea of episodic gaming. The way each episode ended was perfect for a continuing story, and for 2 or 3 hours every two months they had my complete, undivided attention.

    When I saw them announce at Sony's 2013 E3 conference that there was going to be a bridging episode between the first and second season, I was immediately on board. When it came up on Steam, I immediately purchased it.

    After 2.5 hours of playing, I can honestly say I wasn't satisfied.

    (I apologize if you consider describing the structure as spoilers; but I will be absolutely spoiler-free in terms of story)

    The structure of the episode is to break everything up into small, succinct stories each with their own cast of characters. This is a fairly impressive task that they came up with a bunch of scenarios; but I feel like the execution was poor. All of the decisions felt very contrived, some of the voiceover was extremely weak, and by the end of it, I didn't want to play anymore. I had to force myself through the last two scenarios because I had nearly ceased caring by that point.

    On my Macbook Pro (2011), there were a lot of framerate issues, as well as some buggy graphics and really janky movement issues. I would rather have played it on my PC, and maybe those issues are fixed there; but this happens to be where my save lives, and at that moment in time I didn't feel like migrating it haha. Though those don't affect the story/writing at all, it impacted my experience.

    I'll sum it up here and say that this episode seems like it could have some interesting bearing on the coming season; but I found my experience with it to be fairly negative. That is not to say it isn't "good," the writing quality is still pretty good; but I felt no connection to any of the scenarios.

    I gave this game 3/5 because I feel that the quality is there, it just really didn't appeal to me and there were some things I really disliked about it.
    Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    0
    Bought this when it was released but have not had a chance to try it until recently. Now the game just hangs up at a black screen whenever IBought this when it was released but have not had a chance to try it until recently. Now the game just hangs up at a black screen whenever I try to start an episode and it seems this is a common problem that has popped up since 400 days. I played the game with absolutely zero problems before installing 400 days, and now I can't even refresh on the base story so I can play the new season because 400 days broke the game. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews