Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 285 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join five new characters as they struggle to survive in The Walking Dead: 400 Days
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jul 5, 2013
    90
    The extent of your enjoyment will largely hinge on whether you view 400 Days as an odd footnote to an incredible first season, or as the prologue to an even higher-stakes follow up this Fall.
  2. This two-hour episode introduces players to a quintet of new characters, individual survivors who through random chance spend at least a little time in or around a lonely countryside gas station and diner during the first 400 days of the outbreak.
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    83
    A fantastic return of The Walking Dead, letting Telltale experiment with form without losing any of the magic.
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    80
    Even though you'll never spend more than 30 minutes with any of the characters, you'll still find that you're invested in their well-being.
  5. Jul 5, 2013
    77
    400 Days shows the same strengths as the whole first season: The decision are painful! The merciless fight for survival still is depicted brutally honest. Nonetheless this interlude lacks challenge and freedom of action.
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    By telling five different shorter stories Talltale manages to accelerate the pace of the The Walking Dead series. It has its complications but mostly feels fresh and exciting. 400 Days may not be as well written or as emotionally resonant as the episodes in season one but as an appetizer for the upcoming second season it works very well.
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    65
    The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a good expansion, but definitely not good enough. This DLC is very short and does not use the full potential of new characters (there isn't enough time to care for any of them). What's more, every piece of the game allows to play with the gameplay mechanic in different ways. The most important thing are the dialogues and attempts to introduce character in a very short time span. All in all (despite its flaws) 400 Days is a must buy for fans of the series that want to continue the story.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 5 out of 58
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    An interesting bit of DLC. some of the choices you can make don't necessarily feel like choices at the time. the characters are all nicelyAn interesting bit of DLC. some of the choices you can make don't necessarily feel like choices at the time. the characters are all nicely fleshed out, and yet again the quality of voice acting and setting are top notch. I'm definitely eager to play Season 2. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    400 Days is a nice little add-on to gear us up for Telltale’s season 2 of The Walking Dead and I’m hoping that the outcomes of this expansion400 Days is a nice little add-on to gear us up for Telltale’s season 2 of The Walking Dead and I’m hoping that the outcomes of this expansion do reflect how we start the next game… Overall though, Telltale has kept the quality super high… In fact I found the characters presented even more interesting than anyone from the original game… So, even though total gameplay is around an hour and a half at the most (which is 10-15 minutes per character story) it’s a simple reminder of how fantastic this game was at telling a story, putting you in control of a situation and making you think how you want to do things! It’s a great deal of fun, I can’t recommend this DLC enough and I’m frankly stoked for future instalments of ‘The Walking Dead’ from Telltale! Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    I didn't have the same emotions as in the first 5 parts, maybe because I miss Clementine und Lee so much! But this episode is realy good andI didn't have the same emotions as in the first 5 parts, maybe because I miss Clementine und Lee so much! But this episode is realy good and it comples to make real very,... very hard decisions. I was realy lost in the few moments, what I have to do! This part is not so gourgeus and not so long, but it's deserved to be played! I'm waiting impatiently for the next season! Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    7
    I was torn here, between a 7 and an 8. 7 seems too little, but 8 feels like major praise. It is, after all, 9 minus 1 (maths!), and how oftenI was torn here, between a 7 and an 8. 7 seems too little, but 8 feels like major praise. It is, after all, 9 minus 1 (maths!), and how often do you see a 10? Regardless, I went with a 7, because 400 Days while compelling at times has some heavy flaws. The different stories are an interesting experiment, and not wholly unsuccessful. Each character -- though as you'd expect semi-avatar and customizable in nature -- has their own clear personality, so they don't all feel like Lee Mark 2. The crossover between the episodes is, if a bit cheesy at times, pretty nice. Finding out about the source of a certain bloodstain in another character's story...

    The real downer is the length. The stories are all fairly short, which has a ripple effect on other elements. The game is good about getting you to care about it's characters in spite of that (you won't care as much as you did Lee and Clem, but you'll still hope that most of them don't all die), but the fragmented nature of the stories also means every one of them has to start before moving on. Consequences don't have the chance to truly have any impact. Cast in point: Vince's story, while fairly interesting and ending on a dramatic note, may as well have been just one conversation. Its last choice is a tricky one, but never will you see its consequences. The same for almost everyone but Shel, who probably has the best choice and consequence (taking place during its rough middle). However, in the end her resolution in the Epilogue is disappointing.

    And so it is for everyone, as the Epilogue is lacking and almost tacked-on. It offers some interesting comments about how the stories turned out, but isn't sufficiently explained and highlights the lack of proper consequence caused by the DLC's short length. It ultimately serves to skim over your choices and end the thing with a sudden sequel hook (assuming it pops up in the sequel, if not just a sudden mystery).

    I *would* recommend 400 Days. But it's not a must-have, and expect to blow through it pretty quickly. It recently went on Steam sale, -75% off, so consider look out for when it's available for a £1; £4, while not ridiculously overpriced, might leave you feeling as though it'd been a bit wasted.
    Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2013
    7
    The writing, the art style, the atmosphere, the tough decisions all the things that made The Walking Dead The Game so great are still thereThe writing, the art style, the atmosphere, the tough decisions all the things that made The Walking Dead The Game so great are still there in 400 Days, but what's lost is a sense of investment in the characters and their struggles. Because their stories are so short, you don't really get a feel for character development, so while the stories and characters are quite good, it's tough for me, the player, to emotionally connect to any of them the way I did to Lee, Clementine, Kenny, and even lesser characters in TWD Game. But the Shel chapter, the fact that your decisions will affect Season 2, and the very reasonable $5 price tag make it well worth your time. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2015
    6
    Ultimately, I found 400 Days underwhelming, paling in comparison to any of the episodes in season 1. Each new character that's introduced justUltimately, I found 400 Days underwhelming, paling in comparison to any of the episodes in season 1. Each new character that's introduced just receives too little screentime for you to build a rapport with. Furthermore, the game jumps straight into each character's story usually with little to no context and you're often left wondering what the hell is going on and why this character is doing what they're doing. 400 Days manages to link each character's story together by the end, although never bothers to describe how they ended up together. As a result, the ending scene seems like a clumsy way to finish up the episode.

    Overall rating: 6.5/10 (rounded down)
    Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    0
    Bought this when it was released but have not had a chance to try it until recently. Now the game just hangs up at a black screen whenever IBought this when it was released but have not had a chance to try it until recently. Now the game just hangs up at a black screen whenever I try to start an episode and it seems this is a common problem that has popped up since 400 days. I played the game with absolutely zero problems before installing 400 days, and now I can't even refresh on the base story so I can play the new season because 400 days broke the game. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews