User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1742 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    I can't believe the high scores this "game" has received. It's not a game at all! This "game" took three hours to complete, and I used the mouse/keyboard a total of twenty times. Basically it's a movie that you're allowed to use the mouse in, and that barely does anything. So, it goes something like this: dialogue thirty minutes, click mouse, dialogue thirty minutes, click mouse, etc etc etc, "game" over. I wish I wouldn't have wasted my money! Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    0
    I have one word for this "Game" "GARBAGE." It wasn't worth 25 bucks. It isn't worth 5. You would be better served to burn your 25 bucks for heat than waste it on this trash. The graphics look like some 6th grader went on a Gatorade binge and hyped all over the screen. The game play is non-existent. Way too much dialogue and when you DO finally get to do something it is timed and you do not have time to read all the choices before the timer expires and it chooses for you. Steer well clear of this bomb unless you like watching a movie where you might actually get to do SOMETHING like TRY to read choice before your timer expires I feel like I just took 25 bucks and tossed it out the window into a hurricane. Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2013
    3
    I purchased this game because I love the Walking Dead graphic novels, and because the game had good reviews. Now that I've played it, I just can't believe the reviews. I had to create an account at Metacritic just to inject a tiny bit of honesty in a sea of lies. Only foul play can explain the sheer number of hyper-positive reviews this game has. It is incredibly buggy, to the extent of being unplayable at times, the graphics are sub-par, and there isn't much of a game under there, after all is said and done. Yes, the story and the acting "pulls you in" and it can be enjoyable, but sooner or later a glitch or a crappy, hastily slapped-together animation or the lack of player input kicks you out again. This feels like cheap exploitation of a license to a popular franchise - reminds me of those lousy licensed games from the 80's, just cook up a quick, buggy excuse for a game and slap a popular name on it -> profit. The Walking Dead is not without it's merits, but overall the negatives far outweigh the positives. A bonus gripe of mine: after finishing episode 1, I was treated to a "sneak peek" that spoiled the next episode. At this point I just didn't want to play anymore. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2012
    1
    Outdated graphics that should stay on a mobile platform, like the iPhone/iPad version of the game (which is pretty much the same). Storyline is OK, good only to pass time trying to figure out what happens next out of curiosity. This game is created and targeted towards an audience that pretty much plays no video games. Dumbed down actions and key presses gets old. If you are a fan of the TV series, there goes why the high rating, otherwise from a comparative stand point of PC/Console games in 2012, there is simply not much to praise about. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2013
    3
    This is one game I wish I could delete from my steam account entirely. The fact that this won any plaudits is simply a reflection of the deplorable state of the gaming industry. The game is sickening at every level. Not only is the horror raw and gory and without redeeming value the writing is atrocious, the plotting bogus, and the characters as phoney as a twenty-three dollar bill. The only aspect of this game that deserve mention is the voice acting, which is top of the line. I could explain all my reasons for not liking this game in full detail but honestly I don't want to give it any more of my time. I bought it for less than ten dollars and I still want my money back. All I have to say to all of you people who rated this game highly is that developers are going to give you want you want and give it to you good and hard. You buy crap, you're going to get sold more crap. It's as simple as that. Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    choices dont matter jack, the games a steaming pile. jittery, buggy, and a complete croc of s***. i wish i never spent good hard earned cash on this crock
  7. Jan 30, 2013
    2
    See I love the show so I figured, "Hey the game must be awesome! Can't wait to shoot zombies!" Well don't waste your money. The controls are ridiculously idiotic and it should not be in the third person. There's no character development (none of them are likeable, just annoying) and you hardly do anything in the game anyways! There's no shooting, only derpty doo going to put my little floating d-pad on the zombie and let the game do everything for me! Lee moves as fast as a snail and the areas are always too limited and hard to navigate. I'm glad i got it half off or i would've been really mad. Expand
  8. Jun 2, 2013
    2
    So Walking Dead isn't a game as such, it's more like an interactive movie. There's no gameplay.. it's a matter of choosing dialogue and clicking on objects to interact with them. Need to open a door? Click the door. That's as complex as it gets. My problem with the game isn't that it's light on gameplay, because that's intended and has been executed fairly well. My problem is that it's a story and dialogue-driven experience, and the story is boring. If you've ever read a half decent book, you'll be bored to tears with this material. For the hell of it, imagine you aren't playing a game and instead you're watching an animated movie; you'll soon realise it would be the blandest, most predictable, cliched piece of crap ever created. So if it's light on gameplay, and the story is terrible, what's the point? What's the point indeed. Anyway, you may as well get it since it's $5 on humble bundle and decide for yourself. Expand
  9. Mar 15, 2013
    4
    Know what you're getting: this is not really a game at all, it's a slightly interactive animated horror-comic. You don't really have any options or any choice in what happens, the controls are VERY poor, and the "game" is very short, but there is no denying that it has its scary moments.

    Personally I'd suggest catching the Walking Dead TV series instead, but if you're in the mood for a
    horror-comic, then by all means try this out.

    But don't expect a survival-horror game. There is little to no game here.
    Expand
  10. Mar 2, 2013
    3
    The Walking Dead not a real game. Its look like a movie and if I want see one I have better Choice I do not like zombie game but this game is disgusting to me for many other reason
  11. Apr 29, 2013
    1
    For a game that advertises itself as being all about choices it really doesn't have any. It's an OK adventure game with some interesting characters and if you are into TWD then you will probably enjoy it. But I bought it because I was intrigued by the "dynamic storytelling" and how my choices would shape the narrative. Well the story is completely railroaded and my choices are dismissed almost immediately. Shame really.... Expand
  12. Mar 27, 2013
    2
    Such a seriously waste of time, money, great potential and from the developers standpoint talent. This is not even a proper game you click one button watch some boring cut scene wait for some drawn out and pointless quick time event and then maybe if you're lucky you get to walk around a bit in a boring and uninspired travesty of a zombie overrun world, rinse and repeat. The only reason this game has gotten any positive attention is obviously because of the excellent TV series and the only reason this game has won any awards apart from the bad ones (Which is the ones that it deserves) is because its different NOT good but different. Hopefully someone will pull themselves together and produce a game worthy of The Walking Dead name. I'm hoping that this was just some sort of speed bump in the progression of gaming cause if what we see is the future then we might as well pack up now and be gone cause no good can come of this. I'm being exceedingly generous by giving this so called "Game" a score of 2. Expand
  13. Mar 22, 2013
    0
    I can't believe the positive reviews this game got. I DO trust you all recall the fiasco when Telltale game devs were caught writing their own reviews for Jurrasic Park on this sight? This is at best, a decent story, that semi-allows you to interact with it as it goes along. Overall it's poorly done with consoles in mind.
  14. Mar 10, 2013
    0
    I can't believe the high scores this "game" has received. It's not a game at all! This "game" took three hours to complete, and I used the mouse/keyboard a total of twenty times. Basically it's a movie that you're allowed to use the mouse in, and that barely does anything. So, it goes something like this: dialogue thirty minutes, click mouse, dialogue thirty minutes, click mouse, etc etc
  15. Apr 1, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly, when I first heard of this game, I didn't think it would end up as a good game. It is good at first, although what I didn't like is the way you play, the whole "Point 'n Click" ain't exactly the best way to play. After a while, the story becomes lame. And also, they tell you that the story is tailored by your decisions: LIE. Your decisions only change some minor, lame details, and the only choice that affects your ending must be made 10 minutes before you end the game. And both endings are the same, only you have three possibilities to die: Being eaten by walkers, becoming a walker or being shot by Clementine. So, in my opinion, DON'T BUY THIS GAME UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES Expand
  16. May 2, 2013
    0
    Just WOW... Didn't see that coming today I tell ya.We are in 2013 what kind of is this,They made these sort of games 16 years ago when I was kid.I feel scammed.

    The graphics are such crap that I would prefer reading the comic than finish this game and the game play is so simple that a 2 year old could do this...

    I still cant believe how this rating is so high.Are they paying you for
    these good rating?Seriously wtf! Collapse
  17. May 21, 2013
    0
    Bugs, bugs and bugs, If a company can't release something that works and saves properly, and doesn't even attempt to fix it, then screw it. Absolutely inexcusable.
  18. Aug 15, 2013
    3
    Playing through episode 1 of this series: liked the quirky, cartoon artwork. Found the characters and scripts good. Enjoyed the pace of the game and the contrast between quiet scenes and action. This made me eagerly anticipate the coming chapters.

    Yet when I moved on to chapter 2 the game had failed to retain the effect of decisions I had made in episode 1, essentially rendering my
    influence on the plot useless. After googling this problem I see it's an issue shared by many and for which no official solution has been provided. Unfortunately I haven't continued to play the rest of it as I couldn't fix the issue and it put a real dampener on my involvement with the game.

    I imagine my score would have been around 6 or 7 or maybe higher had I managed to enjoy the whole game but because of this fundamental flaw which rendered my experience a waste of time, I must mark the game accordingly.
    Expand
  19. Apr 18, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game is terrible, since it is a point a click the game NEEDS to have an amazing story, but its awful.

    There's this false impression that your choices change the story, but all it does is show you a different dialogue. One example: That crazy woman kills another member of your party, then you have to choose: Leave her behind or take her with you. If you leave her behind you simply don't see her anymore, if you take her with you, after a while she steals you car and ... you simply don't see her anymore ...

    Clementine bonds too easily with Lee, at the end of the game she sees her zombie parents and all she does is a sad face and says comment "I saw my parents", no crying, no emotions, nothing. After a while Lee dies and she cries from sadness. Srlsly? Did she seriosly love this person she met a few weeks before more than her parents?

    Oh, and the hero, Lee, the game seems to try to make you cheer for this guy, even other characters do this. He lied to you, and in the moment he couldn't lie anymore he tells you he killed some1. At some point they start treating him like a leader, the next moment he slips into something and falls, then some1 dies because of him being stupid, the next moment some1 else is in danger, then he stumbles into something, hit his head and some1 else dies. Srlsy, this guys slips A LOT.

    And the link between the game and the series/hq doesn't exists. Glen and Hershel, the first one appears for 5 minutes, you barely get to know him, and Hershel, from what i've seen, after the game started taking heavy weeds, cuz he's forgot everything that happend during the game, in the series/hq he's too "over it", doesn't feel like his son just died, but since the hq came before, they shouldn't have made his son's death so dramatic.

    I'm sorry but I advice anyone who rated this game 5 more to read the HQ and then review your score.
    Expand
  20. Oct 29, 2013
    4
    A bunch of characters who say stupid things for the sole purpose of making you choose a side to be on. None of these characters are interesting or worth any sympathy. A sad humorless script. The acting is a by the numbers affair.

    I did not get any bugs, I quite liked the graphics and, to an extent, to gameplay. I have nothing but admiration for games of this genre's right to exist (as
    opposed to the many who expected an FPS or something), but and I am clearly in the minority, I think that if you want to make a game centred on a story line you should make that story good and populate it with great characters, not morons who flip-flop to suit the needs of the contrived plot or the need for another "decision". Expand
  21. Dec 18, 2013
    2
    Broken & horribly optimized, the game screwed my saved file 3 times in a row and I literally had to edit the games programming just to make the damn game functional.
    While the story was good, story alone is not worth the massive acclaim this game is getting, if anybody thinks this broken game is worth a 10/10 then you have the worst possible taste in gaming ever.
  22. May 29, 2013
    0
    Disclaimer: I write this hoping that I will someday revise this with a higher score. However, at the current time this game is for me unplayable. My review is based solely on my experience with this game. Yours (hopefully!) will be different and far less buggy. Even if I revise it, it is highly unlikely that the walking dead for Mac will receive a score above 7.

    I bought this game
    as a pre-packaged whole rather episode by episode, so I hoped and expected that the major bugs had been worked out. Nooooooope! Through 1 episode this game was everything I'd hoped it would be. And then none of my decisions transferred over into episode 2. None! Since the game is basically a glorified choose your own adventure novel, this completely an utterly destroys any reason you have to play the game. This is a bug so crippling that, for the first time, I give a game a score of 0.

    Now, apparently, not everyone has this bug. But from what I've read it's not limited to the transfer from episode 1 to 2. Second, there are fixes out there for PC. But God help you if you play the game on Mac because no one else will.

    As I've said, I hope that I can find the a fix for this problem and give this game a better score, but until I can I'm not awarding a single point to a choice based game that loses track of my choices. But even I can fix this, I'm going to be far more afraid of this happening again than I am of any walkers.

    There's another serious bug that I have yet to mention, though it's minimal by comparison. When playing in fullscreen, the game's nigh unplayable because the mouse often gets incredibly sluggish. I could rapidly and repeatedly swipe my finger over the length of the mousepad and get minimal movement. This was usually merely annoying but in action sequences it was fatal. So I was forced to play in immersion breaking windowed mode. I was able to fake fullscreen by using Apple's universal access features to zoom in on the window, but it's far from a perfect fix.

    There's no other way to put it: The walking dead is great game weighed down and ultimately utterly crushed by two serious bugs. It is completely inexcusable and an absolute embarrassment that telltale hasn't fixed these bugs yet. I cannot recommend this game to anyone.
    Expand
  23. May 28, 2013
    3
    Boo. I guess if you've never played an adventure game before and are a diehard zombie fan, there might be something here for you. If you've played any decent adventure game before, though, stay away. What's wrong with this game? First of all, it's painfully boring, and there is a lot of pointless dialogue. The voice acting is (mostly) very good, which helps a bit, but the dialogue really isn't written to a very high standard. What's worse is the "game" aspect of it: there's very little that you do, the "puzzles" are rudimentary at best, and your "decisions" don't change anything important. As an example, early in the game you are given the opportunity to help one character or another escape from a zombie. Regardless of your choice, the same character is saved. Bottom line: If you're a fan of adventure games, pass on this. If you're an adamant fan of The Walking Dead, and find this on sale for $5 or less, go ahead and pick it up but prepare to be disappointed. Telltale's recent other adventure games aren't groundbreaking or fantastic, but they're much more cohesive, interactive, and fun than this. Expand
  24. Jul 17, 2013
    0
    Complete dump, nothing you do affects the story. Barely even a game, you hardly do anything at all but click a button once in a while. Don't know how this got high reviews
  25. Jul 7, 2013
    1
    Game really bites...Extremely linear game with 90% video and 10% interactive. Not the game I choose to play. Lost money on this buy. Do not recommend for anyone.
  26. Nov 10, 2013
    4
    Theres alot to like in the walking dead but as soon as you realise none of your choices make any odds you quickly lose interest in the game. I also found it annoying how some characters act completely irrationally for example i made all but one choice in kennys favour and he still dislikes me. Combat is pretty pointless and im sick and tired of quick time events.

    Maybe all this wouldn't
    be so bad had the puzzles been remotely interesting but when all that separates you from boring combat and choices that don't matter is boring and not even remotely challenging puzzles i quickly lose interest. Many people argue that the walking dead isn't a game and shouldn't be reviewed as such and in which case it shouldn't have game in the title. Expand
  27. Jul 14, 2013
    4
    First off... people shouldn't expect it to be a full on "game" as it's from telltale who specialize in choose your own adventures.

    I found myself immersed in parts or the story and completely just bored with others. Sometimes the game makes you just do a second or two of pointless walking between cut scenes that serves no purpose other than to keep the player awake. My biggest gripes
    about this game are that

    1. Your choices have very little effect on the story and ultimately no effect on the outcome.
    2. Feels like they took a lot straight out of the comic/show without really creating anything original other than the relationship between the two main characters.
    Expand
  28. Jul 30, 2013
    0
    I was unable to play the game because it doesn't let you change the default key bindings at all. They are set to WASD(QZ) by default and the mouse has no option to change it to inverted for those who desire. In 2012 I cannot give a game with no abilitiy to rebind keys anything higher than a 0 rating no matter how good it might be because I (and many others) are simply unable to play it. It is like having a game that can only be played on an Intel CPU or an nVidia video card without telling the customers about it ahead of time or giving any way to get a refund. Expand
  29. Apr 19, 2014
    1
    This game, like the TV show, is heavily contrived, not very creative at all with a horrible story that has holes everywhere which is lacking in emotional depth. This is corporate shenanigans at its best/worst, cashing in on a trend (zombies) and not giving two **** about the depth or believability of the story.
  30. May 2, 2013
    0
    Just WOW... Didn't see that coming today I tell ya.We are in 2013 what kind of is this,They made these sort of games 16 years ago when I was kid.I feel scammed.

    The graphics are such crap that I would prefer reading the comic than finish this game and the game play is so simple that a 2 year old could do this...

    I still cant believe how this rating is so high.Are they paying you for
    these good rating?Seriously wtf! Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 80
    It’s not perfect but The Walking Dead is one of the most important advances in interactive fiction for a generation, with some of the most memorable characters of any video game.
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    80
    The Walking Dead is a serious, solid, but clay-footed work; in truth, it wouldn't stand out from the crowd if video game storytelling wasn't so impoverished to begin with.
  3. Feb 10, 2013
    90
    A test of your moral fortitude in a world that's gone to the dogs. [March 2013, p.76]