User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1958 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    I have to agree with what many of the critics and other users have said. The game is beautifully written, and remains true to Kirkman's universe. It is emotionally gripping, and balances the story expertly between the desolation and intensity of a post-apocalyptic world. The visual design is highly stylized, and creates some wonderful set pieces. I should preface my criticisms by notingI have to agree with what many of the critics and other users have said. The game is beautifully written, and remains true to Kirkman's universe. It is emotionally gripping, and balances the story expertly between the desolation and intensity of a post-apocalyptic world. The visual design is highly stylized, and creates some wonderful set pieces. I should preface my criticisms by noting that I really enjoying the format of these narrative point-and-click adventures; Some of my early favourites included Myst and the original Monkey Island series. I found that, although immersive and adeptly convincing, my choices often had little effect on the broader outcome of the adventure. The consequences of a poor decision were often minimal and only swapped small pieces of dialogue. This often served to break the experience for me, and I felt as though I wasn't playing a game as much as I was reading a one-shot story arc in the Walking Dead comic book series. The limited puzzle-like content was excruciatingly simple, and felt served up piping hot.
    To cut my ramblings short; Wonderful story, a must-play for fans, and nothing I regret spending time on. I wouldn't suggest approaching it like a true video game, more of an interactive animated series, and at that it TRULY excels.
    Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2013
    6
    You must be shocked. WHY WOULD YOU GIVE THIS GAME A SIX? Heres how ill put it. Storyline is perfect, its amazing, youll love the story. The actual gameplay is complete and utter trash. Its horrible and terrible. None of the decisions you make have any consequence on your survival, hell, they barely even matter. Sure they change how certain scenes end, but the story still drives foreward. IYou must be shocked. WHY WOULD YOU GIVE THIS GAME A SIX? Heres how ill put it. Storyline is perfect, its amazing, youll love the story. The actual gameplay is complete and utter trash. Its horrible and terrible. None of the decisions you make have any consequence on your survival, hell, they barely even matter. Sure they change how certain scenes end, but the story still drives foreward. I dont understand how anyone could look past the terrible gameplay and give this game a 10/10. I understand the conflict, but storyline is ONE ASPECT of video games. Why are all the choices with survivors forced? I knew from the moment I was forced to pick between two survivors to save that the game was going to be a forced story and that my actions would be limited, but hell, I never expected the game to blatently and utterly disregard my choices physically, with only getting some verbal acknowledgment of the choice I made. It honestly does not sit well that a game with such a great story has such terrible gameplay. I am utterly dissapointed. Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2013
    6
    an illusion. that is all this even is. every step of the way the so called "craft able story" it has gone against every thing i have wanted to do. vague dialoge choices never help, believing you will give one response, but Lee actually makes one completely different, un-skippable cut scenes also hinder the experience. under there there may be a good story, and well crafted characters, butan illusion. that is all this even is. every step of the way the so called "craft able story" it has gone against every thing i have wanted to do. vague dialoge choices never help, believing you will give one response, but Lee actually makes one completely different, un-skippable cut scenes also hinder the experience. under there there may be a good story, and well crafted characters, but the sheer imability to craft the story the way i want it to go is frustrating. had i gone into it knowing how linear and uncontrollable it is, i would never have even bothered. i have COD for linear story. Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2013
    7
    What a fantastic Story. But, the story is not difficult. Not bad cartoon Graphics. But, Poor optimization.Sentences that are difficult to. But,not much language support.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    An all right visual novel, with some interesting characters. Sadly your actions don't actually affect the ending, and in a visual novel (and YES, it is a visual novel, not a game) that is pretty important. And in terms of the ending (which I won't spoil) which people constantly say is amazing and emotional, was pretty much nothing compared to many other games, To The Moon being a good example.
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    Ok, I know it may be strange, as my experience while playing the game was a solid 9, maybe even a ten. Wonderful story, wonderful characters, interesting graphical style, and an interesting approach to the adventure game genre. I looked forward to getting off work each day so I could progress further into the story and uncover the next bit of plot. However, I simply can't give this 'game'Ok, I know it may be strange, as my experience while playing the game was a solid 9, maybe even a ten. Wonderful story, wonderful characters, interesting graphical style, and an interesting approach to the adventure game genre. I looked forward to getting off work each day so I could progress further into the story and uncover the next bit of plot. However, I simply can't give this 'game' that high of a score. As an adventure game, it was an absolute flop. The puzzles (if I can even call them that) were not even remotely challenging. In fact, the solution was always given to you (via the cues your mouse overs would give you.) And they never required any effort on the players part to really solve. Also, while you were presented with a lot of choices in the narrative as to what exactly you wanted to do, it's hard to feel like the choices really made any significant difference. I'm almost afraid to give it a second play through just to prove my point further as I feel it would be rather depressing to see how little changes. Now I understand it would be damn near impossible for a developer to make infinite branching possibilities to a game, but there was many times where I could 'guess' where they were trying to lead the plot and was specifically trying to make decisions that would deviate away from that path, but regardless the story would progress down those lines no matter what I said, did, etc. So generally, it felt like I was 'playing' a movie, with light adventure elements and a bit of 'choose your adventure'. In the end, the resultant feeling I got was super 'casual' and so even though I really enjoyed the experience and consider it a memorable experience, I rather get left with the impression it was an awful game. As a game, I'd give it a 4 or 5, as an experience i'd give it a 9 or 10. So in the end I will give it a 7 and certainly give it my recommendation regardless. Expand
  7. May 31, 2013
    6
    Kinda overrated. The Walking Dead has a great story and voice acting to go with it, there is no doubt about that. Just about everything else in the game is bad. The animations and lip syncing are both horrendous. Downright laughable. The graphics are supposed to represent a comic, but i've seen comics that look better than this game. Some of the textures, especially trees and bushes andKinda overrated. The Walking Dead has a great story and voice acting to go with it, there is no doubt about that. Just about everything else in the game is bad. The animations and lip syncing are both horrendous. Downright laughable. The graphics are supposed to represent a comic, but i've seen comics that look better than this game. Some of the textures, especially trees and bushes and the ground, are terrible. And the gameplay, which is the most important part of any game, is boring and sometimes unintuitive. You rarely get something to do, most of the game is watching a cutscene and listening to dialogue. But, when you do get something to do, it's just simply clicking here one to kick a zombie, or some other unimportant thing. It's not fun at all, honestly, i'd rather have just watched the game play before me then having to keep my hand on my mouse and wait an see if there is some QTE that pops up. The game also states that the decisions you make affect the game. This is true to a degree, but don't expect to be able to save one person all the way through to the end, or have your decisions greatly affect the ending. There is one ending to the game no matter what you do. The points in the game where you're supposed to pick one thing or another don't have any bearing on what happens in the end, either. So there's really no "choice" at all. I was super disappointed in this game, honestly. If you want a movie with a good, emotional story and don't care for gameplay, then buy it. But if you really want an experience you can interact with, you'd best look elsewhere. Expand
  8. Jan 15, 2013
    5
    This is NOT a video game... let's just start right there. Do not expect to be hacking and slashing or shooting your way through this game because it can hardly be classified as one, it's more like a glorified t.v. series. I am not saying that this "game" is bad by any means... it's just hardly a GAME, think a tv series you can (somewhat) interact with. It's pretty linear despite the wholeThis is NOT a video game... let's just start right there. Do not expect to be hacking and slashing or shooting your way through this game because it can hardly be classified as one, it's more like a glorified t.v. series. I am not saying that this "game" is bad by any means... it's just hardly a GAME, think a tv series you can (somewhat) interact with. It's pretty linear despite the whole "your actions affect the story blah blah" disclaimer displayed. There will things that will be presented as "choices" but you simply will not have a choice in the matter. At the end of the day you will be forced to preform specific actions because if you choose otherwise the story will not progress. However, the story is good and it truly is entertaining. I found myself playing longer than expected some nights but the riveting game play is not the blame. If you really aren't into playing video games or you want to take a break from having to actually run or jump or do actions then this is your game or if you just want a really elaborate animated story to break up the monotony of your life then this works too. I was majorly disappointed when it came down to game play seeing that it's almost obsolete. How this won game of the year over a real game with GAME PLAY substance and a well written screenplay like ME3 is totally beyond me though. I wouldn't recommend any of my friends to buy this game but I wouldn't say that it's horrible if one of them asked me my opinion on it either. Take it or leave it. Expand
  9. Dec 12, 2012
    6
    Its good, there is no denying that. Animation is smooth, the art is well done, but the game is also limited. - You cannot map your own keys. BIG issue for me. - Some "choices" result in the same outcome regardless of your inputs. - I kept feeling like I was being prodded from behind by the programmers, "Go that way, go that way."
    - Story does not progress until you do the right sequence.
    Its good, there is no denying that. Animation is smooth, the art is well done, but the game is also limited. - You cannot map your own keys. BIG issue for me. - Some "choices" result in the same outcome regardless of your inputs. - I kept feeling like I was being prodded from behind by the programmers, "Go that way, go that way."
    - Story does not progress until you do the right sequence. - You have to solve the puzzles the way they are laid out without deviation. - Combat sequences are inconsistent. First person sometimes, third person in other situation. I usually had to die to figure out what was going on. - I will not spoil the game, but am mad with the Carley outcome. From what I have read on-line I am not alone. I am a huge Walking Dead fan and this It is good. You should not feel cheated in paying for this, but they could have done so much more.
    Expand
  10. Jan 27, 2013
    5
    Interesting semi-interactive game with a lousy interface. The fact that you cannot skip cutscenes really ticks me off. The choices you can make during the game are limited.
  11. Jan 27, 2013
    6
    Terrible gameplay, but excellent story. I'm not a fan of point and click casual games, but they did a really nice job with the story. I would consider this to be more of a visual novel than a game.
  12. Dec 24, 2012
    7
    If you love the TV series, you'll love the game. The story is interesting since you're the main character and what you do effects the game along the way. Some may not like the game due to the short play of each episode and would have to wait and then pay for a new episode. For me, that is the case. I love playing the game, but I'm not that keen on getting new episodes as they come out.If you love the TV series, you'll love the game. The story is interesting since you're the main character and what you do effects the game along the way. Some may not like the game due to the short play of each episode and would have to wait and then pay for a new episode. For me, that is the case. I love playing the game, but I'm not that keen on getting new episodes as they come out. Better to wait for bundle offers and then buy them in packs. All-in-all, it's a good game. Not for everyone. Expand
  13. Dec 31, 2012
    5
    The voice acting, character design, level design, all great. Quick time events are annoying. Lack of inverted mouse or gamepad controls makes the few gunfights difficult. Pathetic that inverted controls are not an option.
    However the game got a bad score from me for really just one reason. Player decisions do NOT make a difference, despite what is constantly prompted to players
    The voice acting, character design, level design, all great. Quick time events are annoying. Lack of inverted mouse or gamepad controls makes the few gunfights difficult. Pathetic that inverted controls are not an option.
    However the game got a bad score from me for really just one reason. Player decisions do NOT make a difference, despite what is constantly prompted to players on-screen. The problem here is that this is the key feature of a point and click adventure like this. Take any major event in the game for example. Typically there will be a series of 6 to 10 dialogue or action sequences, each with up to 4 choices. That's great in theory, but your selections make no difference on how the story unfolds. **** is going to unfold how the writers want it no matter Lee's actions. Sure it may seem like you have choice at times, such as choosing between saving one persons life over another, or choosing to kill someone or not, but by the next scene it makes no difference. Those are only a few canned events. You'll still be headed down the same linear path. Nothing dynamic about it. There was more freedom of decision with consequence playing Leisure suit Larry 15 years ago.
    Expand
  14. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    This is basically a 'choose your own adventure' type of game, much like the kids books from the early and mid 1980s. People looking for a FPS or action game will be disappointed. Its fair to say this isn't a game in the traditional sense, its more like a story you help craft. No serious consequences if you die, you will just automatically restart at the most recent auto-save point in theThis is basically a 'choose your own adventure' type of game, much like the kids books from the early and mid 1980s. People looking for a FPS or action game will be disappointed. Its fair to say this isn't a game in the traditional sense, its more like a story you help craft. No serious consequences if you die, you will just automatically restart at the most recent auto-save point in the game. People complaining about the story being 'forced' must be forgetting that this is a story about a ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE...talk about forced, lol. After each chapter you get to see the results of your choices compared to other players. In this way its kind of like seeing the results of a moral social experiment. At the very end of the game you get to see a very brief list of how your choices effected each character and how the dead characters died. But Clementine is not on this list!! You have to wait until all the end credits are done, then you watch a brief scene that is ambiguous at best. I would like to see just a tad of RPG elements added to this type of game. So after each chapter the choices you made have an impact on what type of skills or traits you can further develop. This genre of 'game' is not bad imho, but it could have a bit more complex gameplay. Expand
  15. Sep 2, 2013
    5
    This game is just like an extended episode of the tv series. I played all 5 episodes in about a week (about 13 hours total) and I found the story to be mediocre. It's true that a few parts pulled the emotional heartstrings, but this moments took hours to come across. The rest of the gameplay I found lacking. Just because characters are willing to talk about everything going on doesn'tThis game is just like an extended episode of the tv series. I played all 5 episodes in about a week (about 13 hours total) and I found the story to be mediocre. It's true that a few parts pulled the emotional heartstrings, but this moments took hours to come across. The rest of the gameplay I found lacking. Just because characters are willing to talk about everything going on doesn't mean it's worth your time to talk to them. All in all, I did best buy burning through as quick as possible. As a side note, being able to determine who lives and who dies in this game is a gimmick. The outcomes for most of the characters is set. Expand
  16. Dec 30, 2012
    7
    Excellent story and character development. But a very limited gameplay, filled with quick time events, and some serious design flaws.
    The graphics are poor, with plenty of low resolution textures, stiff character animations and bad facial expressions.

    Only worth for the story and characters. The rest is a pain to watch and play.
  17. Dec 28, 2012
    7
    Great art and a great look throughout the game. Story is well written and most of the instructions are well done, few are lacking direction though. Sometimes the reaction doesn't fit what you thought it should have been...
    Sorry, but this "game" could have been done in flash and put on Kong for free. Not enough "meat" for me being a gamer, this is an interactive comic. However, I am using
    Great art and a great look throughout the game. Story is well written and most of the instructions are well done, few are lacking direction though. Sometimes the reaction doesn't fit what you thought it should have been...
    Sorry, but this "game" could have been done in flash and put on Kong for free. Not enough "meat" for me being a gamer, this is an interactive comic. However, I am using it to introduce my wife into games as she is a big Walking Dead fan.

    I give it a 7 as it really is an overpriced interactive book, pick it up on sale.
    Expand
  18. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Whilst I did enjoy the game, the animations and graphics left a lot to be desired. If you want an easy going game to pass the time then you might want to give it ago. It's a simple point and click adventure game, nothing taxing and easy puzzles. Some episodes felt too short and lucklustre especially the last episode. It's a nice attempt at something new but I wasn't blown away like most people seem to be. I'd give it a 6/10 because you get to make your own choices/decisions and it's a good concept but the wooden animations and sketchy art style prevented me from getting truely engaged with the story and develop much care for any the characters.

    Yes I chose to drop Ben to his death, he was too damn annoying...
    Expand
  19. Feb 5, 2013
    5
    The Walking Dead: A Telltale Games Series has beautiful art voice overs and remains true to Robert Kirkman's vision.

    If you enjoyed games from the late 1990's like Kings Quest and Leisure Suit Larry you'll love this.(If you don't mind bugs) Personally I was annoyed at the bugs/glitches I found in the game such as not being able to clear the zombie off me at the motel in Starved for
    The Walking Dead: A Telltale Games Series has beautiful art voice overs and remains true to Robert Kirkman's vision.

    If you enjoyed games from the late 1990's like Kings Quest and Leisure Suit Larry you'll love this.(If you don't mind bugs)

    Personally I was annoyed at the bugs/glitches I found in the game such as not being able to clear the zombie off me at the motel in Starved for help episode 2 so mark could kill it with the axe.

    It's a slow paced game and combined with the glitches and clunky navigation I couldn't bare to crawl through more then 1 Episode completely.

    Only reason I gave it a 5 was because of the voice acting and art.
    Expand
  20. Mar 6, 2013
    6
    Bugs, glitches and broken aspects to this game should be a reflection on the user reviews, yet they are rating this game well above what it deserves. Obviously there are many fans of the whole 'zombie invasion' genre out there who will blanket this game 10s 100%. In reality, the game was released too early and needed much fixing before it is worth more than a 6 out of 10.
  21. Jun 30, 2013
    6
    This game is fantastic amazing story and all but the bugs kill it, you can get black screens or your choices wont carry over and stuff like that but overall the bugs it deserves in my opinion a 6/10 honestly not the best game but the story is amazing and the decisions they make you make are intense so I would recommend this game to any RPG person out there that wants to create a story evenThis game is fantastic amazing story and all but the bugs kill it, you can get black screens or your choices wont carry over and stuff like that but overall the bugs it deserves in my opinion a 6/10 honestly not the best game but the story is amazing and the decisions they make you make are intense so I would recommend this game to any RPG person out there that wants to create a story even though the bugs might be a problem. Other thing is that the game is like really short so it can take you up to 5 hours to finish so this isn't a long game and some of the choices aren't really important as they might seem. Expand
  22. Dec 2, 2013
    7
    Good, but way overrated. The major problem with this game is that it strongly suggests that your choices affect the story, but if you replay it again with different choices it is obvious that your choices didn't matter at all. I think that linear stories are fine, but if you explicitly advertise the story as being player-driven and interactive (which they do at the start of every episode)Good, but way overrated. The major problem with this game is that it strongly suggests that your choices affect the story, but if you replay it again with different choices it is obvious that your choices didn't matter at all. I think that linear stories are fine, but if you explicitly advertise the story as being player-driven and interactive (which they do at the start of every episode) it better be that.

    I appreciate that making the story actually branching and having different outcomes requires an insane amount of content and can be incredibly expensive, but I don't understand the need for what is essentially false advertising of a feature that is pretty much absent.

    I had the same problem with Mass Effect series.

    Other than that and some clumsy controls on the PC, I think the game is very enjoyable.
    Expand
  23. Feb 17, 2013
    7
    One of the better games made out there, the game has very suprisingly very few cons and massive, massive pros.For starters the game is unbelievably simplistic and enjoyable and yet allows players to feel immersive and convinced. But despite the immersive element, the role playing sections felt slightly above average at best, it lacks punishment or consequences for decisions as in the endOne of the better games made out there, the game has very suprisingly very few cons and massive, massive pros.For starters the game is unbelievably simplistic and enjoyable and yet allows players to feel immersive and convinced. But despite the immersive element, the role playing sections felt slightly above average at best, it lacks punishment or consequences for decisions as in the end most decisions tend play out the same, and I felt that this severely prohibited me from really getting back into the game as I felt a little ticked off when I heard from friends that my decisions made no difference to how the plot continues. However, what the game fails to hold up to in decision making, it easily makes up for it's incredible ability to draw emotional responses. The game greatly succeeds in giving the player the true emotional stress of the apocalyptic situation, as the player no longer has the time to "think" but is instead forced to just act on instinct and bias, and the decisions while generally lacking in diversity, does help build extremely heavy emotional attachment and tension to characters, which are an entirely new list of pros and cons. The characters are done absolutely well, and if I may argue, play a larger part than the plot itself. Not only are the characters interesting and varied (despite some very generic characters...ahem... Mark), but more importantly the characters are not kiss ups, players will feel then massive tension between characters and are forced to choose based on real life bias, and not just choose "the hot girl" or the "ultimate nice guy". However character's do get very boring after a few hours into the game, you completely figure out what their going to be like by the time your in chapter 3, and after that players will no longer be interested in sharing and talking with them other than cutscenes, all the characters save Clementine and Kenny. The story shines amazingly, pulling emotional moments everywhere and succeeding in showing the true desperation of the characters. However, the gameplay suffers... Early in the game, the simple and artistic look will drag players into the game like mad. However, the gameplay itself gets tremendously tedious after a few chapters, and players seem to be driven entirely by plot and characters, and not by fun and exciting moments, like in other titles such as Mass effect 3 and Halo 4 (I am not advocating the said games, merely stating how both manage to draw a better than usual plot [save Mass effect 3's horrendous ending] while keeping gameplay oddly addictive [probably the shooting], in fact I'd say both games have an overall weaker plot than that of tthe Walking Dead). In conclusion, the game is excellent in it's immersive aspect and very well done in emotional tension, mental stress and general plot and character development, however the repetitive gameplay and annoyingly slow movements make the game feel less of a proper game and more of a really really really well done interactive TV show. So get the game but don't expect fun fun fun, but instead get some tissues and try not cry all the time. Expand
  24. Oct 5, 2013
    6
    Ok, let's take a look to this game's merits & defects. First of all the merits: a great plot. An engaging and fascinating plot. Vote to the plot: 9.
    Other merits? No. That's all.. The gameplay doesn't exist.. You have to click something one time every 5 minutes.. So also the difficulty doesn't exist. The game is also very very slow, and a lot of times it appears very very boring.. A very
    Ok, let's take a look to this game's merits & defects. First of all the merits: a great plot. An engaging and fascinating plot. Vote to the plot: 9.
    Other merits? No. That's all.. The gameplay doesn't exist.. You have to click something one time every 5 minutes.. So also the difficulty doesn't exist. The game is also very very slow, and a lot of times it appears very very boring.. A very slowed rithm.
    Finally.. Not really a game, what the hell.. This is an interactive telefilm, so I vote "8" as a Telefilm, and "6" as a game..
    Expand
  25. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    I had a lot of fun going through all the episodes, but I feel that too many choices you make have a very minimal impact on the plot, so there is basically no reason to play it again. Because of that, I can't give more than 7 to this game.
  26. Sep 18, 2013
    7
    I got the series in a steam sale minus the 400 days episode. So far I've only played the first episode but it's pretty compelling. This is a point and click adventure/interactive movie but the story is fairly well done thus far. I watched the first season the TV show though and there is some overlap in the characters. The controls are awkward and have caused me to make decisions II got the series in a steam sale minus the 400 days episode. So far I've only played the first episode but it's pretty compelling. This is a point and click adventure/interactive movie but the story is fairly well done thus far. I watched the first season the TV show though and there is some overlap in the characters. The controls are awkward and have caused me to make decisions I didn't intend a few times as a result. They're not re-mappable and all of them are not listed in the menus so I took off a point for that. Expand
  27. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    This is a fantastic game, although it's more of an interactive movie. There is little gameplay but the story is very engaging, immersive and amazingly written. You really feel as if you are Lee Everett and every decision seems to matter, as you are often the person who decides who lives and dies. Unfortunately this is also where one of the games biggest faults comes in. It's amazingThis is a fantastic game, although it's more of an interactive movie. There is little gameplay but the story is very engaging, immersive and amazingly written. You really feel as if you are Lee Everett and every decision seems to matter, as you are often the person who decides who lives and dies. Unfortunately this is also where one of the games biggest faults comes in. It's amazing how Mass Effect 3 was torn apart for it's ending but this game escaped almost unscathed. The ending wasn't bad or poorly written, but in a game where it seems as if every choice matters, there is no unique ending. Every players ending will be the same. The same people will always die, the same people will always survive. If saving one person causes another to die later, choosing to not save that person will still result in the other's death. There is only one ending, and the way this game was made, that should not have been the case. The ending could not have been more disappointing, it has single handedly knocked 3 points off my score for it. Even with that fault though, this is still an amazing game, and should be purchased. You will laugh, and this game WILL make you cry at some point.

    As this game has multiple chapters I will put ranks for each chapter, as well as the overall for metacritic:

    Chapter 1: 10/10
    Chapter 2: 10/10
    Chapter 3: 8/10
    Chapter 4: 7/10
    Chapter 5: 3/10
    Expand
  28. Jul 16, 2013
    5
    The walking dead series is a game built by episodes, quite similar to a TV series. It's more of a story than a game to be honest. The choices you make doesn't really affect the outcome of the game, but it's a linear puzzle game where you can make a few choices that can made graphical difference (what characters that are visible) or attitude difference (how the virtual character react).The walking dead series is a game built by episodes, quite similar to a TV series. It's more of a story than a game to be honest. The choices you make doesn't really affect the outcome of the game, but it's a linear puzzle game where you can make a few choices that can made graphical difference (what characters that are visible) or attitude difference (how the virtual character react).

    The fictional choices I could make promised way more than it delivered. Telltale games also over sell this part of the game. In the first episode (for example) I could make two choices on who to save in a crisis. The first choice had no effect on the outcome (same person died both time) and the choice of the second choice turned to have very little effect as the character saved didn't have any "air time" in the 2nd episode and disappeared in episode 3. I can understand why Telltale Games does this because they feel that it would be too much work to make different graphical sequences with different characters and choices. But it ruins the feeling of me making choices.

    Similarly the choices I make as a survivor is just for show. It's a point and click adventure. When asked to solve tasks like distributing food (scarce) the best way it's a social game and not a real dilemma. In other words, the performance for the characters left hungry isn't affected, which is why it's easy to avoid giving food to oneself.

    Overall an average game for me. It would have been better if Telltale games hadn't oversold the game so much, promising my choices have consequences. They only have effect if you are VERY generous with that expression.
    Expand
  29. Dec 8, 2013
    6
    I don't get all those high scores... It offers a decent storyline, but absolutely NOTHING more. The game has no puzzles, no real choices, and his technical side is really bad. I can't consider this a good game (in my book, it hardly qualifies as a game). I mildly enjoyed it while advancing in the story, so it ends up being an ok "game" (more like a "choose your own adventure" book, withI don't get all those high scores... It offers a decent storyline, but absolutely NOTHING more. The game has no puzzles, no real choices, and his technical side is really bad. I can't consider this a good game (in my book, it hardly qualifies as a game). I mildly enjoyed it while advancing in the story, so it ends up being an ok "game" (more like a "choose your own adventure" book, with your path highly fixed no matter what you do), I guess... Expand
  30. Oct 2, 2014
    7
    All the choices in the game is an illusion, they have the same effect, always. The exception is the end of the game, the last 10 minutes, there you make two choices that are meaningful. It's the only choices in the game that are real choices, the other choices is an illusion, fake. In summary, by 99% of the time you do not have any choice, 99% choices = fake, same as other choices. JustAll the choices in the game is an illusion, they have the same effect, always. The exception is the end of the game, the last 10 minutes, there you make two choices that are meaningful. It's the only choices in the game that are real choices, the other choices is an illusion, fake. In summary, by 99% of the time you do not have any choice, 99% choices = fake, same as other choices. Just ending is real. Expand
  31. Jun 26, 2015
    5
    Good story. Great atmosphere. The cell shading is awesome. I shed some tears. But it begs the question: what makes a videogame, a videogame? Because even though I liked it, it looked like a giant cutscene which is interactive. Call me purists, but I think a videogame needs to be more "game" than "video."
  32. Jun 12, 2013
    0
    The graphics, storytelling, scriptwriting, voice acting and characters in this game are amazing!

    You can relate to the characters and their personalities do grow throughout the story. The moral choices you have to make really influence your further interactions with you fellow survivors and to some degree how the story evolves. Every action has a reaction and some moral choices are key
    The graphics, storytelling, scriptwriting, voice acting and characters in this game are amazing!

    You can relate to the characters and their personalities do grow throughout the story. The moral choices you have to make really influence your further interactions with you fellow survivors and to some degree how the story evolves. Every action has a reaction and some moral choices are key to how the story goes on. Every scene, every gesture on the characters face, every interaction between Lee (your character) and the other survivors is meaningful and properly written. True storytelling in games redefined.
    Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 80
    It’s not perfect but The Walking Dead is one of the most important advances in interactive fiction for a generation, with some of the most memorable characters of any video game.
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    80
    The Walking Dead is a serious, solid, but clay-footed work; in truth, it wouldn't stand out from the crowd if video game storytelling wasn't so impoverished to begin with.
  3. Feb 10, 2013
    90
    A test of your moral fortitude in a world that's gone to the dogs. [March 2013, p.76]