User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2409 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 5, 2018
    10
    A true masterpiece Telltale's the Walking is truly the best story driven game you will ever have the joy of playing. Play it ASAP
  2. Jun 4, 2018
    10
    Ah.. my little new love..Clementine. One of the most precious little girls in comic, movie or video game history. She really makes this, harsh, anger-inducing but GREAT video game memorable.

    The main character, Lee Everett is a good guy that got messed over and I really found playing out his relationship with his ward, student and loving, doting adopted daughter Clementine the most
    Ah.. my little new love..Clementine. One of the most precious little girls in comic, movie or video game history. She really makes this, harsh, anger-inducing but GREAT video game memorable.

    The main character, Lee Everett is a good guy that got messed over and I really found playing out his relationship with his ward, student and loving, doting adopted daughter Clementine the most beautiful part of this game.

    Its to a gift to raise and protect a little girl like this in this game and makes it for me a 9/10
    Expand
  3. May 28, 2018
    9
    asasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasa
  4. May 20, 2018
    9
    Pese a mi cansancio del tema de zombie, esta saga es mi preferida de todas las que tiene Telltale. Buen comienzo para una serie, que prosigue con buen pie, en el segundo juego de Walking Dead. Pese a tenerlo comprado, todavía no he tenido tiempo de jugar "A New Frontier".
  5. May 15, 2018
    9
    Telltale's the walking dead is an incredibly good visual novel with fantastic characters, meaningful characters, and twists and turns that truly take the player by surprise and the player soon figures out no one is safe; the plot shield is weak for the characters here. However, this IS a visual novel, not a game. The only gameplay consists of easy button mashing and point-and-click puzzlesTelltale's the walking dead is an incredibly good visual novel with fantastic characters, meaningful characters, and twists and turns that truly take the player by surprise and the player soon figures out no one is safe; the plot shield is weak for the characters here. However, this IS a visual novel, not a game. The only gameplay consists of easy button mashing and point-and-click puzzles which are very easy so if you're looking for a game with fantastic gameplay, you're in the very wrong place. Thankfuly story and characters are my main review for this kind of game, so this game gets a 9 for me without any doubt Expand
  6. May 15, 2018
    7
    A game that I enjoyed, but many problems are present in the writing and how all your choices ultimately don't matter.
  7. May 10, 2018
    8
    История о дружбе и выживании. Для людей уставших от громких перестрелок, желающих спокойно вечером посмотреть кино на тему зомбиапокалипсиса.
  8. Apr 24, 2018
    10
    Not an exactly game, but storyline is perfect. Not gonna give it a 0/10 cuz it's not a game, right?
  9. Apr 6, 2018
    9
    9/10
    Good game-play, Good graphics (for an old game), Best story, Amazing soundtrack
  10. Feb 23, 2018
    7
    "선택의 착시(Illusion of Choice)"라는 말을 누가 처음 썼는진 모르겠지만 이 게임을 설명하는 데에 이보다 적절한 표현이 있을까. 게임의 세계가 플레이어의 수많은 선택들에 좌우된다는 15시간짜리 트릭쇼인데, 그 트릭이 상당히 감쪽같다. 그래서 이 게임을 처음 접하면 그 속임수에 흠뻑 빠져들고, 그 후 다른 선택을 하면 어떻게 되나 궁금해서 2회차를 하거나 유투브에 검색해보면 환상이 깨진다. 때로는 플레이어가 한 인물의 생사를 손에 쥐고 있는 듯한 드라마틱한 선택지를 주지만, 결국 전체적인 맥락에선 어느 선택지든 오래가지 않아 비슷한 결과가 나온다.

    그러나 이 게임이 제시하는 선택지는 스토리를 만들어가는 선택이 아니라, '나'라는 캐릭터를 만들어가는 선택이다. 좀비
    "선택의 착시(Illusion of Choice)"라는 말을 누가 처음 썼는진 모르겠지만 이 게임을 설명하는 데에 이보다 적절한 표현이 있을까. 게임의 세계가 플레이어의 수많은 선택들에 좌우된다는 15시간짜리 트릭쇼인데, 그 트릭이 상당히 감쪽같다. 그래서 이 게임을 처음 접하면 그 속임수에 흠뻑 빠져들고, 그 후 다른 선택을 하면 어떻게 되나 궁금해서 2회차를 하거나 유투브에 검색해보면 환상이 깨진다. 때로는 플레이어가 한 인물의 생사를 손에 쥐고 있는 듯한 드라마틱한 선택지를 주지만, 결국 전체적인 맥락에선 어느 선택지든 오래가지 않아 비슷한 결과가 나온다.

    그러나 이 게임이 제시하는 선택지는 스토리를 만들어가는 선택이 아니라, '나'라는 캐릭터를 만들어가는 선택이다. 좀비 아포칼립스의 극단적인 환경에서 캐릭터들은 극단적인 선택의 기로에 놓이고, 그 어려운 결정이 플레이어의 몫으로 주어진다. 많은 선택지들이 '개인적인 감정'이나 '현실적인 이득' vs '인간성과 양심'의 구도이기 때문에 상당히 난처한 선택지들이 많다. 그런 논쟁과 어려운 결정들을 거치며 각 캐릭터들에 대해 조금 더 알게 되고 조금 더 애착이 생긴다. 특히 한 여자아이를 중심으로 스토리가 진행되는데, 이 캐릭터의 존재가 플레이어로 하여금 한 번 더 고민하게 한다. '이런 행동을 하면 저 아이의 눈엔 어떻게 보일까? 저 아이에겐 어떤 영향을 미칠까?' 하는 생각이 들기 때문에 매 선택지에 무게를 더해준다. 선택지가 전체적인 스토리엔 큰 영향이 없지만, 세부적으로 주인공과 각 캐릭터 간의 관계나 그 캐릭터들의 행동에 영향을 미치기 때문에 그들과의 관계를 조율하고 지켜보는 재미가 있다. 이음새가 약간 보이지만 제법 괜찮은 인간관계 시뮬레이션이라 할 수 있겠다.

    기존 포인트앤클릭 어드벤처 장르의 고질적인 문제였던 난해한 퍼즐은 과감히 간소화하고, RPG 스타일의 대화 시스템과 3인칭 액션 스타일의 QTE를 섞어 신선한 어드벤처 게임을 만들었다. 워킹데드 원작 만화에 어울리는 독특한 아트 스타일은 덤. 대사가 괜찮고 성우 연기가 훌륭해서 대화 시스템이 더욱 빛을 발한다. 전혀 상반되는 선택지인데도 어느 걸 고르던 대부분 그럴싸한 대사가 이어진다. 스토리도 괜찮다. 때론 상당히 충격적이고, 때론 슬프다. 그리고 헤비 레인 만큼의 구멍 투성이도 아니다. 그래서 2012년에 이 게임을 처음 했을 땐 굉장히 몰입해서 플레이했는데, 최근에 다시 해보니 2회차는 그 마법을 잃는 감이 있다. 왜냐하면 결말을 알아도 다시 보면서 새로 캐치할 복선같은 것도 없고, 선택지를 다르게 고른다고 전체적으로 달라지는 것도 많지 않고, 스토리와 별개로 즐길 수 있는 게임플레이 요소도 거의 없기 때문이다. 소위 말하는 "walking simulator" 장르의 고질적인 한계이기도 하다.

    그러나 오늘날 Life is Strange나 Until Dawn 등의 작품들이 탄생할 수 있었던 배경엔 이 장르를 부활시킨 이 게임의 공이 크다고 할 수 있다. 탤테일의 워킹데드는 이 장르에서 아직까지도 비평적으로나 흥행으로나 가장 성공한 작품이고, 지난 10년간 죽은줄 알았던 어드벤처 장르가 여전히 시장이 있다는 걸 보여줬다.
    Expand
  11. Feb 22, 2018
    2
    When I played the first season of this game I thought it was a great experience. But now I feel that there is sort of an over saturation of storybook games the only good one being Until Dawn
  12. Feb 16, 2018
    10
    wow
    this game show that gaming also can make and impact on people
    great art style, great story, great character and many more
    all of us should try it at least once.
  13. Jan 29, 2018
    10
    this is by the greatest game I ever played. I thought TLOU was good then I realized naughty dog went in telltales dumpster and found the walking dead beta script and used that for their games. Clementine is literally a savage who kills not only dogs but kills naughty dogs, and every time she says **** my penis gets more and more hard until it bursts onto my dualshock 4. It’s so good Ithis is by the greatest game I ever played. I thought TLOU was good then I realized naughty dog went in telltales dumpster and found the walking dead beta script and used that for their games. Clementine is literally a savage who kills not only dogs but kills naughty dogs, and every time she says **** my penis gets more and more hard until it bursts onto my dualshock 4. It’s so good I bought it for my friend because he’s blinded by monster hunter when he should be playing this masterpiece Expand
  14. Jan 7, 2018
    0
    The game is very bad. Because all I wanted out of this game was choices that matter like in Beyond or Heavy Rain. Choices that can alter the way the game goes. And this game, like all other telltale games turned out to be a complete hoax. They tell you that you choices matter, but in the end it all comes down to one preset ending. And no matter what you do you cant save this person youThe game is very bad. Because all I wanted out of this game was choices that matter like in Beyond or Heavy Rain. Choices that can alter the way the game goes. And this game, like all other telltale games turned out to be a complete hoax. They tell you that you choices matter, but in the end it all comes down to one preset ending. And no matter what you do you cant save this person you really wanted to save. Its like watching a movie, just sometimes they let you do a little walking around or a little cut-scene action, like clicking some buttons while the cutscene is being displayed. But really, whats the point of playing a game like this, and paying for it, when there are games like Detroit : Become Human, or many others already out. And they offer a real sense of choice. Im very disappointed by this game because I hoped it would be much more than it actually is... Expand
  15. Dec 30, 2017
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story was absolutely excellent, eliciting real emotions from me. The characters were great, and the variety of game play was great, although not the best (easily overlooked by the great story). However, one thing I feel that was done terribly was the choices and how they affect the game. The ability to make choices is a great concept, but it wasn't executed properly, as it appears to be the mere illusion of choice (e.g. saving Shawn is pointless as he dies anyway, and you might as well steal from the Stranger, because he's going to come after you anyway, so might as well be guilty of stealing) which can easily be seen through. If the story didn't follow a set/linear storyline and had multiple endings that varied greatly from one another, it would've gotten a 9 or 10, but that being said, I was disappointed that your choices didn't matter a whole lot to the story, with only minor changes in dialogue and what happens (the biggest change being the presence of Carley or Doug, depending on who you saved at the drug store). But other than the choices, a great game for those who prioritize story over complexity of game play. Expand
  16. Dec 29, 2017
    8
    Telltale's The Walking Dead season 1 has great story and decent visuals. But out of all 'choice-based narrative experiences' it has one of the least impactful choices.
  17. Nov 8, 2017
    4
    This is not a game. This is stupid TV spot for child with two button keyboard. No action, horrible graphic. If I want read book, i will read book. If I wont watch TV, I will watch TV. If I want play PC game I will not play this.
  18. Nov 5, 2017
    8
    Although the game play is a little lackluster and clunky, the story more than makes up for it. Love-able characters all throughout with plot-twists genuinely surprising and convincing performances by the voice actors. The ability to choose what happens and who does what with your main character, the character building just everything about this game is amazing. Has to be one of the bestAlthough the game play is a little lackluster and clunky, the story more than makes up for it. Love-able characters all throughout with plot-twists genuinely surprising and convincing performances by the voice actors. The ability to choose what happens and who does what with your main character, the character building just everything about this game is amazing. Has to be one of the best stories in all of gaming. Expand
  19. Aug 30, 2017
    10
    Amazing game one of my favourite games EVER!

    Great Story, Great Characters, About 14 Hours of Playtime, Emotional (in a good way)

    This game gets a 10 from me everyday of the week
  20. Aug 29, 2017
    10
    Telltale's The Walking Dead takes the player into a the world of the walking dead onto a beautiful told journey that no one who played the game will forget so soon. The dialogues and the story are written pretty good that lets you as player always wants to know how the story about Clementine, Lee and the other goes on. The game play is typical Telltale very easy and not very complex.
    The
    Telltale's The Walking Dead takes the player into a the world of the walking dead onto a beautiful told journey that no one who played the game will forget so soon. The dialogues and the story are written pretty good that lets you as player always wants to know how the story about Clementine, Lee and the other goes on. The game play is typical Telltale very easy and not very complex.
    The game tells its story in two way's in the first one are sequences were you just be able to choose an dialogue option, that have some effect on how the other folks will interact with you in the future, and sometimes quick time events and in the second one of the game you solve a few minor riddles in some very small areas where you are able to move a little bit "free" around and you mostly you are also able to talk to some folks.
    But like in many Telltale game the decisions and dialogue options you make have often no or nearly no effect for the future game that makes it nearly unnecessary to play the game again because it will end on the same way like before.
    Expand
  21. Jul 30, 2017
    9
    I think that this is truly a unique game and I would recommend that if you are a fan of this type of genre then I think you should give this game a try.
  22. Apr 27, 2017
    10
    First thing is first this game is not for those gamers that want GAMEPLAY and GRAPHICS it's about STORY a fantastic one to be exact,you have to make some hard choises and difficult decisions because it plays out based on your decisions and you gotta make the right decision I had a lot of fun playing it with a controller.
  23. Apr 1, 2017
    7
    The story and characters make this game worth playing. In fact, they make it good. Having said that, as far as a video game goes, it's like watching a season of a television series that makes you press play every few minutes. I don't see why more game elements could not have been added to this game. It's as if they thought they had to choose between narrative and gameplay. If you see itThe story and characters make this game worth playing. In fact, they make it good. Having said that, as far as a video game goes, it's like watching a season of a television series that makes you press play every few minutes. I don't see why more game elements could not have been added to this game. It's as if they thought they had to choose between narrative and gameplay. If you see it for cheap enough, it is definitely worth playing through, for the story. Just be ready for it to be more of a series of interactive cutscenes than a video game. Expand
  24. Mar 17, 2017
    9
    Pros:
    - Impeccable visuals (with low resources use).
    - Telltale's strenght: storytelling, those great moments and make you feel like you're part of the plot. - Good lenght. Cons: - Simple (maybe too simple). - Choose makes you feel good but it could have be more determinant. - No napking gift within the game! xD (it would be a great idea for the phyisical PS3 release haha) -
    Pros:
    - Impeccable visuals (with low resources use).
    - Telltale's strenght: storytelling, those great moments and make you feel like you're part of the plot.
    - Good lenght.

    Cons:
    - Simple (maybe too simple).
    - Choose makes you feel good but it could have be more determinant.
    - No napking gift within the game! xD (it would be a great idea for the phyisical PS3 release haha)
    - Watch the series and remember that TWD game's world is only happening within the game.

    UPDATE:
    "400 Days" DLC is like another episode but it totally worth. Well narrated different little and connected stories. You should check yourself.
    Expand
  25. Mar 6, 2017
    9
    The Walking Dead was my Game Of The Year of 2012 and has become one of my favorite games of all time. This is absolutely one of the best adventure games ever made, and it is a game that takes a toll on you emotionally like no other. No other game or movie has made me feel so attached to a character like TWD. It has an amazingly touching story and great characters. Every decision you makeThe Walking Dead was my Game Of The Year of 2012 and has become one of my favorite games of all time. This is absolutely one of the best adventure games ever made, and it is a game that takes a toll on you emotionally like no other. No other game or movie has made me feel so attached to a character like TWD. It has an amazingly touching story and great characters. Every decision you make will affect how you experience the story for the better or worse. It doesn't matter what type of games you play, this is a game that has to be experienced, it's an unforgettable journey. Don't let the point and click gameplay scare you away. If you wonder why The Walking Dead has received so many awards, it's because the episodic story of this game is unlike anything we've ever seen before. If you want a great story, look no further, Telltale's The Walking Dead is where it's at.

    Personal Rating: 9.5/10
    Expand
  26. Feb 16, 2017
    10
    The Walking Dead: Season 1 is simply a masterpiece of video game story telling. I salute Telltale for their work and I am looking forward/excited to explore season 2. I have to admit that this game was an emotional journey that impacted me a lot in the last couple of weeks. These characters, the decisions they had to make, the consequences they had to live with, all these elements made meThe Walking Dead: Season 1 is simply a masterpiece of video game story telling. I salute Telltale for their work and I am looking forward/excited to explore season 2. I have to admit that this game was an emotional journey that impacted me a lot in the last couple of weeks. These characters, the decisions they had to make, the consequences they had to live with, all these elements made me genuinely care for what would happen to them.

    Pros:
    + Characters that we care for and get attached to (or love to hate!)
    + Clementine & Lee
    + Voice actors are doing an amazing job at humanizing these characters
    + Dialogue system and quick decision time
    + Creates a true emotional involvment from the player
    + Relationship between the members of the group
    + Easy gameplay that serves a robust scenario first and foremost
    + Different decisions leading to different paths (though the overall story line stays the same)

    Cons:
    - Gameplay could have been more developed/fleshed
    - Some slow/uninspired moments
    - Technically not a revolution.... Nonetheless, I liked the cell shedding style.

    Verdict: A+
    Expand
  27. Jan 27, 2017
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just one word to describe game?
    ANNOYING!
    First of all there is no video game elements except shooting.
    And my choices matters? Alright maybe video game industry ****** up this decision driven system as Mass Effect 3, Life is Strange endings but it's worst decision driven game! I don't want to leave my weapon on sink, i don't want go to place where i know i'm gonna ***** up. And balcony just breaks after 4 people got jumped on? Gimme a Break! You can predict what the heck is gonna happen before it happens. You will go alone to the woods for wood? You are gonna be slaughtered. Oh B**** I Told YA! We have hundreds of zombies in house! Great! We have 23 bullets in total. Let's fight them off! This game makes everything to make you emotionally drained. Nothing other than that. Logic? No! Physics? Hell no! It's such a huge disappointment.
    You want decision based game? Try Mass Effect except final mission in ME3, try other telltale games. But this one? Carley Will Remember That. (gets head shot after 5 seconds no matter what you do)
    Expand
  28. Jan 20, 2017
    10
    this game is legendary with a tightly written story great characters and a fun vibe overall even though it's sad.
    once more telletale has done well with this one .
  29. Jan 13, 2017
    2
    Hated it played the first episode it was awful. Way worst then the show most overrated game ever .
  30. Jan 9, 2017
    9
    A Telltale Games újra dicső, régi, nagy fényükbe hozta vissza a méltatlanul háttérbe szorult kalandjátékokat. Engem nem érdekel, hogy nem is mondják játéknak, hanem inkább egy interaktív filmnek.
  31. Dec 27, 2016
    3
    Sorry folks, not for me at all. This is an interactive comic. To tell you the truth, I didn't stick around to see if the decisions i made had any effect down the line because the game bored me to tears/uninstalled in 20 minutes flat. I found the scale claustrophobic, to the extent that you are trapped in a frame of a comic, with limited movement within that frame, and occasionally there isSorry folks, not for me at all. This is an interactive comic. To tell you the truth, I didn't stick around to see if the decisions i made had any effect down the line because the game bored me to tears/uninstalled in 20 minutes flat. I found the scale claustrophobic, to the extent that you are trapped in a frame of a comic, with limited movement within that frame, and occasionally there is a button to click, sometimes repetitively. I just don't fit the niche that this interactive comic is intended for, and quite frankly, i don't see the appeal at all. I'm assuming it's a port , because I had problems with a mouse and keyboard also. I have to go against the grain on this one, and rate it as i see it.... a total bore and a 20 minute uninstall. Expand
  32. Nov 11, 2016
    8
    First's thing first - this is a minimally interactive visual novel rather than a game in its classical sense. Seat back, relax, take the gamepad in one hand and a cup of tea into the other, click a button once in a while and enjoy a good story.

    While some of the criticism mentions that the choices you make are nothing more than a superficial gimmick and have no effect on the overall
    First's thing first - this is a minimally interactive visual novel rather than a game in its classical sense. Seat back, relax, take the gamepad in one hand and a cup of tea into the other, click a button once in a while and enjoy a good story.

    While some of the criticism mentions that the choices you make are nothing more than a superficial gimmick and have no effect on the overall story, i must again point out that this is not an open-world game like Fall Out. This is a very well written gruesome and powerful story where you as the protagonist drive the narrative through dialogue choices. The dialogue and action choices do have some minor immediate effects on the story, but do not effect the overall arch of the main narrative.

    Nonetheless, voice acting is exemplary, the story grabbing, characters are believable, can be related to, and really grow on you pretty fast. I played through all 5 Episodes without a break, and suggest anyone looking into getting The Walking Dead do the same - this episode/season business is really a lame vogue.

    Recommend.
    Expand
  33. Nov 9, 2016
    9
    This is a great game and a turning point in how interactive fiction is made now.

    Two most important things that made it so good are: - relation between two main characters, Lee and Clementine, an adult taking care of a child, feeling responsibility for someone, gives great framework for emotional engagement - something rather hard for me to get in computer game - game made really bold
    This is a great game and a turning point in how interactive fiction is made now.

    Two most important things that made it so good are:
    - relation between two main characters, Lee and Clementine, an adult taking care of a child, feeling responsibility for someone, gives great framework for emotional engagement - something rather hard for me to get in computer game
    - game made really bold step to depart from gameplay being a hindrance to the story. You see, in most games, gameplay (being fight in rpg and inventory puzzles in adventure games) is something that slows your progress through the story. This somewhat masks the fact that most stories are written very poorly (even in games critically acclaimed as having Great Writing - Mass Effect, Pillars of Eternity). When mixed with some shooting or spellcasting it makes an "ok" experience. Walking Dead has a good (not great) story that is not watered down by "do some repetitive boring stuff in order to get another part as a reward". Result is well above average.

    There are probably better games in similar spirit now (Life is Strange) but still this one is well worth your time. Enjoyed it a lot even though I hate TV series.
    Expand
  34. Nov 7, 2016
    8
    TellTale Inc only create a master pieces and piles of garbage. This is a masterpiece!

    Brilliant story - well told and your decision matter. Every Walking Dead fan should play this game, even if gaming isn't there thing.
  35. Nov 3, 2016
    9
    Da uma dimensão muito maior à série e uma imersão maior do que os quadrinhos. A história é muito boa, os personagens marcantes e os gráficos são lindos. Suas escolhas, por mais que não alterem completamente os fatos te deixam dar uma personalidade diferente para o personagem a cada playthrough. Uma bela experiêmcia
  36. Oct 31, 2016
    9
    Fantastic adventure game - interactive story book. It has neat comic book inpsired visuals that wont blow you away but do their job flawlessly. Its one of the most heart breaking, warming and emotional journeys ive taken in gaming. All the characters are exceptionaly well written and you care for nearly all of them, even the ones you might not like at first glance. All the choices you makeFantastic adventure game - interactive story book. It has neat comic book inpsired visuals that wont blow you away but do their job flawlessly. Its one of the most heart breaking, warming and emotional journeys ive taken in gaming. All the characters are exceptionaly well written and you care for nearly all of them, even the ones you might not like at first glance. All the choices you make feel significant and most importantly impact the story and its outcome so as the characters who'll judge you by your choices. Game plays without any issues on PC and save system works wihtout a problem carrying your progess episode to episode.

    If you loved old school adventure games, youll love this aswell. Its a masterpiece in my books pure & simple.
    Expand
  37. Oct 23, 2016
    9
    This game The Walking Dead is to be congratulated, we can not really control the Lee, but the strong point is the story. The story is amazing, and the graphics have left me impressed, because it is different from the graphics of the games, it's kind of designed, not modeled, and beyond history and stunning graphics, has a good playability.
    One thing that is half bad the gameplay is the
    This game The Walking Dead is to be congratulated, we can not really control the Lee, but the strong point is the story. The story is amazing, and the graphics have left me impressed, because it is different from the graphics of the games, it's kind of designed, not modeled, and beyond history and stunning graphics, has a good playability.
    One thing that is half bad the gameplay is the camera, which is not the best, but you can use it, and one thing I really like the Telltale Games is the fact that depending on what you talk to the other characters You can change the ending. This is something that I loved. So he deserves a 9.
    Expand
  38. Aug 28, 2016
    8
    A worthy offspring Telltale Geyms . This is a game where you do not without possible moymete pripodnosit great story and the characters . Each character is felt in its own way to each needs its own approach . Mandatory to pass if you like the game .
  39. Jul 15, 2016
    8
    I do not like zombie games but I decided to give it a try and I was really surprised. I enjoyed this interactive series a lot. Interesting characters.
  40. Jul 5, 2016
    10
    This game is just awesome. It features a great plot, pretty goddamn good soundtrack, and incredible graphics. You will experience a dramatic story which lead you to shocking condition. This game made me to start wathcing The Walking Dead TV show which is now one of my favourite TV Shows ever. If you haven't ever watched TV Show or read the comics, this game will make you to do it. A masterpiece.
  41. Jun 29, 2016
    10
    Great game,great story! If you played this I'm sure you can't say that it's a bad game. You have hard decisions to take but in the end you will see the face of every character you met. The game follows the evolution of a little girl found and raised by someone who helps it untill death. Also both seasons follows in main among others the evolution of Clementine(main character) from a littleGreat game,great story! If you played this I'm sure you can't say that it's a bad game. You have hard decisions to take but in the end you will see the face of every character you met. The game follows the evolution of a little girl found and raised by someone who helps it untill death. Also both seasons follows in main among others the evolution of Clementine(main character) from a little helpless girl to a real survivor, all settled in an apocalyptic zombie world. By the way I think the game could make a little psychological profile of yours using the decisions taken in some circumstances. (10/10 for me) Expand
  42. Jun 14, 2016
    10
    Great game. the story is very great, its not another survival game while you just killing zombie to surivive, but its more focused on the people itself, not the zombie . and just like a real life when you are in that situation u wil feel emotion, frustation, panic, traitor, is a part of the group story.
    the graphic is great, its very artistic. in the end this is the best zombie survival
    Great game. the story is very great, its not another survival game while you just killing zombie to surivive, but its more focused on the people itself, not the zombie . and just like a real life when you are in that situation u wil feel emotion, frustation, panic, traitor, is a part of the group story.
    the graphic is great, its very artistic. in the end this is the best zombie survival game i ever played
    Expand
  43. Jun 10, 2016
    9
    Açıkçası duyguyu yansıtma açısından oynadığım en başarılı oyunlardan birisiydi. Oyun başta karakterler ve hikâye olmak üzere atmosfer konusunda da çok başarılı. Bunların yanı sıra "Zombi Dünyasında" geçen bir çok yapıt gördük. Fakat bu oyunlarda zombiler genellikle süs eşyası olarak gösteriliyorlardı. Korkutucu ve çaresiz bırakıcı yanları yoktu. Bu oyunda ise zombiler size gerçektenAçıkçası duyguyu yansıtma açısından oynadığım en başarılı oyunlardan birisiydi. Oyun başta karakterler ve hikâye olmak üzere atmosfer konusunda da çok başarılı. Bunların yanı sıra "Zombi Dünyasında" geçen bir çok yapıt gördük. Fakat bu oyunlarda zombiler genellikle süs eşyası olarak gösteriliyorlardı. Korkutucu ve çaresiz bırakıcı yanları yoktu. Bu oyunda ise zombiler size gerçekten çaresizliği ve stresi yaşatıyor.
    Karakterlere biraz daha değinmek istiyorum. Her karakter hem kişilik hemde seslendirme açısındam çok başarılı. Ama Lee ve Clem tek kelimeyle muhteşem karakterler. Kısacası unutulmazlar. Lee, bazen geri planda kalsada liderliği tekrar ele geçirebilen, kötü bir geçmişi olsa bile yaptıklarıyla herkesin güvenini kazanmış, kendini düşünmeyen, duygusal yanı ağır basan bir karakter. Clem ise hayatta kalmanın zorluğunu insanları severek aşıyor. Tanıştığı herkese iyi duygular besliyor. Buna rağmen yalnız hissediyor çünkü uzaklarda bir yerlerde ailesinin onu beklediğine inanıyor. Böylesine 2 güzel karakter var bu oyunda.
    Oyunu atmosfer konusunda da başarılı bulsam da müzik konusunda biraz geri buluyorum. Açıkçası Last of Us'daki gibi etkileyici müziklerin olmasını isterdim.
    Sonuç olarak oyun gerçekten etkileyici bir oyundu ama maalesef eksik olduğu konularda vardı. Mesela hikâyede bazı yerler gereksiz uzatılmış gibi hissettiriyordu. Bunun dışında seçeneklerin etkisi olsada yine bazı yerlerde etkisi olmadığını düşündürüyor. Ama yine de seçenek konusunda en iyi Telltale oyunu olduğunu söyleyebilirim.

    Kısaca:
    +Dokunaklı hikaye
    +Duyguyu aktarabilmesi
    +Unutulması zor karakterler
    +Seçimlerin karakter kişiliklerine etkisini görebilmek

    -Teknik hatalar
    -Hikayenin bazı yerlerde gereksiz yere uzatılmış olabileceğini düşündürmesi
    -Müzikler
    Expand
  44. Jun 6, 2016
    8
    I won't be original by saying this game puts story telling once again a level higher and harder for everyone that will try to make story based game in the future. You play a role but without side quests or exploring. Simple mechanic, click and listen, retro style of the background. The hardest thing is to keep the player focused and intrigued, Telltale games managed to pull this off inI won't be original by saying this game puts story telling once again a level higher and harder for everyone that will try to make story based game in the future. You play a role but without side quests or exploring. Simple mechanic, click and listen, retro style of the background. The hardest thing is to keep the player focused and intrigued, Telltale games managed to pull this off in this one. For every player a must play. Expand
  45. May 28, 2016
    9
    Not so much a video game as an interactive, animated novel, The Walking Dead marries what's best about the source material with frantic button-mashing and choose-your-own-adventure style choices. One of the best games of its type.
  46. Mar 27, 2016
    10
    This game brings one of the greatest story on games. It makes you to play it until you finish it, and emotions are a huge part of it. Some moments that you have to decide a very tough choice, some that you laugh, and some you cry. For story games lovers, is one of the best choices. I loved every part of it.
  47. Mar 7, 2016
    8
    My first experience with a point and click adventure game and I enjoyed it. The game has nothing to do with the show although there are a few nods to it (the Asian guy called Glenn for example). It's more of a TV show that you control rather than a game and honestly that wasn't a problem, I went in knowing what to expect and I enjoyed it more because of that. The story was interesting andMy first experience with a point and click adventure game and I enjoyed it. The game has nothing to do with the show although there are a few nods to it (the Asian guy called Glenn for example). It's more of a TV show that you control rather than a game and honestly that wasn't a problem, I went in knowing what to expect and I enjoyed it more because of that. The story was interesting and you really started to care about the characters by the end, there was moments where I was genuinely sad after someone died. I have to say it was a nice change of pace just chilling in bed playing a casual game, and I'm very much looking forward to starting season two ASAP.

    I have to say the game ended on a high note, the final episode was fantastic and I was left with "feels" by the end of it, which is always a sign of a well told story. The game was solid throughout though with some very memorial bits that would have been great in the actual TV show (the farm, enough said). The follow up DLC 400 days wasn't anything special but it sets up season two nicely so was worth the £1.50 or whatever it cost, even if it was very short. It was basically 5 mini stories that introduced you to the cast of season two, and there are definitely a couple of characters I'm interested in although my first impression is the season one cast was stronger but it's really too early to say.

    The game did have one major issue and that was the engine, apparently Telltale are known for their poor technical ability and I can see why. The game suffered heavily from this weird character stutter/shimmer which was extremely off-putting, it definitely hurt the game overall. I think with how successful all their games have been it's maybe time for them to work on a new engine with current gen in mind. Saying that the technical issues didn't come close to ruining the game, even for me and I'm very anal about this sort of thing. I may have scored it higher though had the game been as technically sound as it was in every other department.

    Overall if you want a change of pace and to play something a little more laid back I would highly recommend this game while it's on sale, at £4.75 it's an absolute steal.
    Expand
  48. Feb 28, 2016
    10
    This is my favourite game ever. It has the most emotional and fantastic story in any game to date. You will be blown away by the choices you make and how devastating they can be. If you are a PC gamer then this is truly the game to get.
  49. Jan 27, 2016
    9
    This game is close to perfection. The story itself and the gameplay (letting you chose your actions), will make you feel and live the zombie apocalypse better than ever. You are playing as Lee Everett, and you start off right at the begining of the apocalypse. You will meet people, and you will for sure experience great emotions. You will either like some people, or dislike them: and it'sThis game is close to perfection. The story itself and the gameplay (letting you chose your actions), will make you feel and live the zombie apocalypse better than ever. You are playing as Lee Everett, and you start off right at the begining of the apocalypse. You will meet people, and you will for sure experience great emotions. You will either like some people, or dislike them: and it's up to you what you do with them. Expand
  50. Dec 30, 2015
    9
    I kept putting off buying this, but an awesome person gifted it to me, so I finally got around to playing it.
    So yeah, after finishing it I had to leave a positive review. It would be a crime not to. The way your choices affect everything is done extremely well, there's a good plot, and great characters.
    A game has never gotten me emotionally involved like this. The characters and choice
    I kept putting off buying this, but an awesome person gifted it to me, so I finally got around to playing it.
    So yeah, after finishing it I had to leave a positive review. It would be a crime not to. The way your choices affect everything is done extremely well, there's a good plot, and great characters.
    A game has never gotten me emotionally involved like this. The characters and choice system combine to make everything feel realistic and personal. I legitimately teared up at some parts. No shame, that's amazing. A fictional story has never done that to me before.

    If you're remotely a fan of narrative driven games, you HAVE to play this. I know I regret not playing it sooner.
    Expand
  51. Dec 25, 2015
    9
    The Walking Dead is one hell of an example for the talent of Telltale Games at telling an emotional story that can steal people's heart easily without expensive features.
  52. Dec 7, 2015
    10
    This game is hyped for a real good reason - it is plain amazing. If you are looking for the story not the mechanics that is. And I, for one, sometimes feel too old for learning complex mechanics and this was entertaining as hell. I really invested into characters and we played together with friends and all were very impressed with the game. Same thing for the other Telltale games postThis game is hyped for a real good reason - it is plain amazing. If you are looking for the story not the mechanics that is. And I, for one, sometimes feel too old for learning complex mechanics and this was entertaining as hell. I really invested into characters and we played together with friends and all were very impressed with the game. Same thing for the other Telltale games post that, Wolf Among Us being my favorite, probably. Expand
  53. Nov 28, 2015
    10
    Telltale's first installment for Robert Kirkman's famous comic perfectly pulled it off and flawlessly set the foundation for TTG's own The Walking Dead Universe. A game worthy of being one of 2012's Game of The Year, it just leaves you collecting different emotions, mostly negative emotions because you can really feel the pressure of the story on your character, Lee Everett.
  54. Nov 27, 2015
    3
    It looks great, it sounds great, it's well told and atmospheric, but... it's not a game. Therefore, it's a swindle. It's a slightly interactive TV program. I will now boycott Telltale Games, forever.

    You can't save, so you can't explore. Of course, since there is nothing to explore. You watch and listen, and once in a full Moon you click somewhere. The little playing there is is
    It looks great, it sounds great, it's well told and atmospheric, but... it's not a game. Therefore, it's a swindle. It's a slightly interactive TV program. I will now boycott Telltale Games, forever.

    You can't save, so you can't explore. Of course, since there is nothing to explore. You watch and listen, and once in a full Moon you click somewhere. The little playing there is is essentially reflex-based.

    Now, even this most extremely limited gameplay, they managed to fail:
    - In this fake 3D, the diagonal movement is clumsy;
    - your field of vision is terribly limited;
    - the keyboard mapping is incongruous;
    - you'll have to hammer the keys like a maniac to achieve something during "combat;"
    - choices are disguised screw jobs. Basically, 2 characters are in danger, choose which one you save, and therefore which one you kill. Wow ! What a subtle way to create an emotional investment...
    - it doesn't matter; people will die because of them, yet these choices are purely cosmetic;
    - and the crime de la crime: When asked to make a quick choice, you don't even have enough time to physically read the options.

    In the end, I had no problem choosing anything: First answer in a list without even reading the rest. And when asked to save either the guy on the right or the guy on the left of the screen, I clicked on the right. Because I'm right-handed, maybe, but mostly because I didn't have time to toss a coin.

    It's 95% video and 5% playtime, and still this game manages to offer the most pathetic gameplay in the history of video games.
    Expand
  55. Nov 24, 2015
    8
    Walking Dead(ly) Decisions

    Overall: 77% (80.8/105)

    Atmosphere: 9.2/10
    Graphics: 7.3/10
    Level Design: 6/10
    Music: 5/5
    Voice: 5/5

    Controls: 6.6/10
    Mysteries: 8/10

    Animations: 6.2/10

    Replay Value: 7.5/10
    Story: 9.5/10
    Variety in Items: 6.5/10

    Cost-Benefit Ratio: 3/4
    System Requirements: 1/1
  56. Nov 9, 2015
    10
    This game is pure interactive story more than anything. There are a few puzzles, some quicktime sequences to keep you on your toes, but more than anything it's a game that sells itself entirely on the strength of its narrative. If that's not what you're looking for, this won't be for you.

    Character models and animations are a bit dated, lip-syncing is pretty average, nothing about this
    This game is pure interactive story more than anything. There are a few puzzles, some quicktime sequences to keep you on your toes, but more than anything it's a game that sells itself entirely on the strength of its narrative. If that's not what you're looking for, this won't be for you.

    Character models and animations are a bit dated, lip-syncing is pretty average, nothing about this game on a technical level really stands out. But as an interactive story, I can honestly say I've never felt so invested in a group of fictional characters before. Everyone is flawed but usually sympathetic, and the protagonist and his constant child companion are some of the most likeable characters in games.

    Even if Lee isn't a generic "everyman", you learn to very quickly identify with him and see things from his perspective, and Clementine is perhaps the only well-done child character in any video game ever. She's realistic, she's cute, she's scared, and she looks up to you. Every action you end up taking will end up going through the filter of "what will Clem think?", and the writing and acting does a wonderful job making you really live with your decisions.

    Despite the many player choices, this isn't a heavily branching story. The overall plot remains relatively the same regardless of what you do, though the fate of the supporting cast can vary. More than a branching plot, it wants to make it feel like your story, that everything that happens is a result of your choices, and it loves to make you feel guilty, whatever you end up doing. The writing and acting are excellent, and it's an emotionally brutal story in a way so rarely pulled off in games. Even if you don't like this kind of game, even if you don't even like zombies, this is a devastatingly sad tale that really needs to be experienced for yourself, if you can see past the limitations of the game built to tell it.
    Expand
  57. Oct 27, 2015
    10
    Awesome game! It's like to play a TV episode of Walking Dead. One of the best adventure games that I have played. You will love the characters, starting with Lee and Clementine. I recommend to play TWD Season 1
  58. Oct 18, 2015
    5
    Found it really boring and like what I did, did not matter. Story was okay........ but would have rather read or watched it. I have no idea how people love this "game" so much...
  59. Oct 15, 2015
    10
    This game is my second favorite game. Story, characters, dialogues, atmosphere, soundtrack, emotions. Everything is insanely good. Everyone MUST play this game.
  60. Oct 5, 2015
    10
    Not a single game I've played has made me think about my life, and I sure as hell have never cried as much playing a game as TWD has. This game has one of the most beautiful, yet depressing stories ever. As well as that, the player's choice mechanic offers so much opportunity. This game is amazing, and everyone MUST play this.
  61. Oct 2, 2015
    4
    Easily one of the most overrated games of the past five years. Look, I love stroy-driven games. I love Telltale style games. This game is RIGHT up my alley, or at least it should be, but in reality it is an incredibly weak offering and one of the worst Telltale games despite being perhaps the most well-known. I feel like most of these positive ratings are just pure fans of the show orEasily one of the most overrated games of the past five years. Look, I love stroy-driven games. I love Telltale style games. This game is RIGHT up my alley, or at least it should be, but in reality it is an incredibly weak offering and one of the worst Telltale games despite being perhaps the most well-known. I feel like most of these positive ratings are just pure fans of the show or comic and will gobble up anything with Walking Dead slapped on it.

    Here's my beefs: For starters, this game is on rails more than any other Telltale offering (many of which are way better in this regard). The Telltale formula always involves the illusion of choice, and that's fine because these games are all about how you reach your destination, not where the destination leads to, but WD does a poor job disguising the illusion of choice. Instead, all your choices feel meaningless and forced and the tasks put in front of you are far too often tedious and boring. Please, I beg anyone, before buying this game try instead some other FANTASTIC Telltale games, like The Wolf Among Us or Tales From The Borderlands. Or, dip outside of Telltale and fall in love with Life is Strange. I promise you, if you buy any of those games you wilo not be disappointed, and if you make the mistake of playing The Walking Dead after you will certainly understand why my review is so critical.
    Expand
  62. Sep 16, 2015
    10
    One of the most immersive and captivating experiences in any story focused medium. Fantastic story, characters, setting and music. As captivating as the game of thrones books.
  63. Sep 10, 2015
    6
    Neat concept. Poor execution. The game is an interactive story. Cool, can't wait to make some decisions while watching a good story unfold, right? No. No decisions for you. Plenty of Quick Time Events (QTE) but few decisions. Any decisions you do make that have any real consequence are quickly made irrelevant as the game ushers you along the railroad its set out for you. I can't reallyNeat concept. Poor execution. The game is an interactive story. Cool, can't wait to make some decisions while watching a good story unfold, right? No. No decisions for you. Plenty of Quick Time Events (QTE) but few decisions. Any decisions you do make that have any real consequence are quickly made irrelevant as the game ushers you along the railroad its set out for you. I can't really give any examples without ruining the story and that is the only saving grace this game has. It probably would have been better as an animated series rather than a game.
    Overall, the game commits what, for me, is the worst crime a game like this can commit, it renders all choices you make in the game feel unimportant. Time and time again. By the end I didn't feel like participating and only did so to see the story through. Save your money, watch a walkthrough on YouTube or Twitch.
    Expand
  64. Aug 29, 2015
    10
    This game has simply revived my love of video games. I have almost put it aside, as the lack of depth and devs' urge to create something meaningful has plagued many titles beginning of this decade for me. Beginning with the first encounter with Clem, it changed completely.
  65. Aug 21, 2015
    6
    I love this game, the characters have believable personalities and react in an expected maner to events (in fact some of the best character development I have ever seen). The graphics are novel and interesting. With that said why the low score? well for 2 reasons:
    1) The gameplay is poor, there is no challenge, the puzzels are easy and the action sequences are mostly button bashing quick
    I love this game, the characters have believable personalities and react in an expected maner to events (in fact some of the best character development I have ever seen). The graphics are novel and interesting. With that said why the low score? well for 2 reasons:
    1) The gameplay is poor, there is no challenge, the puzzels are easy and the action sequences are mostly button bashing quick time events.
    2) The glitches and errors. I lost my saved game first time playing and I also had issues getting the game to work with a particular screen I was using (odd I know it was nothing to do with the resolution just refused to launch). Also my choices moving from chapter 4 to 5 were lost and the game just made up some for me. This isn't just me as well, check the forums and you can see how many issues people have had with this game.

    CONCLUSION:

    Overally good game, poor gameplay and problems with the game itself experianced by multiple players lowers the rating.
    Expand
  66. Aug 8, 2015
    9
    While the game has bugs that can create unintentional laughs, The Telltale Games’ adaptation of the popular The Walking Dead franchise is an excellently executed video game with a serious, dark, well-written story as well as the emotional father-daughter like bond between the main characters Lee and Clementine that makes the players emotionally invested.

    Rating: 9.5/10 Pros: +The
    While the game has bugs that can create unintentional laughs, The Telltale Games’ adaptation of the popular The Walking Dead franchise is an excellently executed video game with a serious, dark, well-written story as well as the emotional father-daughter like bond between the main characters Lee and Clementine that makes the players emotionally invested.

    Rating: 9.5/10

    Pros:
    +The writing of the game is well-written and the plot points are excellently planned.
    +The father-daughter like bond between the main characters Lee and Clementine is not only something that makes the players emotionally invested, it’s also breaks the stereotype of video games as a childish hobby.
    +Telltale’s signature continuity where the players’ choices can affect the whole plot of the game is mind-blowing.

    Cons:
    -Lots of bugs in the game where it can sometimes create unintentional laughs during very high stakes scenes.
    Expand
  67. Jun 27, 2015
    10
    Superb game. One of the few where i have really cared for the characters and actually gave a damn over what i was doing. Its basically an interactive movie. I laughed a bit, but i cried more. It is compelling in a way that even films struggle to convey.
  68. Jun 27, 2015
    9
    - Good: Story, Characters, Atmosphere, Art direction, Writing
    - Mixed: Gameplay
    - Bad: ---

    Best game from Telltale, with decent gameplay compared to other titles from them. Fantastic story and characters.
  69. Jun 26, 2015
    5
    Good story. Great atmosphere. The cell shading is awesome. I shed some tears. But it begs the question: what makes a videogame, a videogame? Because even though I liked it, it looked like a giant cutscene which is interactive. Call me purists, but I think a videogame needs to be more "game" than "video."
  70. Jun 13, 2015
    10
    Todo el mundo a dicho todo lo que se puede de este juego, no perderé mi tiempo repitiéndolo punto por punto. Seré breve. No tendrá jugabilidad mas allá de unos QTE, pero tus decisiones si importan, definen tu trato con estas personas, en quienes confías y como te trataran. Debería dejar a esta traidora morir a manos de zombies? Debería dar mi única comida a alguien mas? Seré neutro ehTodo el mundo a dicho todo lo que se puede de este juego, no perderé mi tiempo repitiéndolo punto por punto. Seré breve. No tendrá jugabilidad mas allá de unos QTE, pero tus decisiones si importan, definen tu trato con estas personas, en quienes confías y como te trataran. Debería dejar a esta traidora morir a manos de zombies? Debería dar mi única comida a alguien mas? Seré neutro eh intentare hacer que todos estén juntos y sobrevivan? Me quedare con unos pocos que confió con mi vida y dejare a los otros detrás? Mientras que otros juegos te lo cuentan todo a través de cinemáticas y solo te llaman a la hora de matar, aquí no es así, y aunque eso hace que su jugabilidad sea limitadísima y pobre, haciendo que apenas pase como "juego" como uno esperaría, lo vuelve una historia mucho mas personal, capaz de darte golpes por una mala decisión, por que los errores que comete el protagonista se vuelven los tuyos, lo acompañas en el viaje volviéndote el, y de verdad sientes la experiencia. Mientras que otros juegos se basan por completo en la jugabilidad, la cual con pocos años se vuelve un coñazo, este sabe que una buena historia durara mucho mas, y trascenderá mas que el juego mecánico mas innovador de la fecha... Y en lo personal, es mi juego favorito del 2012.

    10/10

    Aunque tiene sus gliches y problemas... Y la traducción que tiene es mala... Pero para eso esta la comunidad de Taringa... Supongo...
    Expand
  71. Jun 1, 2015
    10
    As far as the story goes for 'The Walking Dead' this is one of the best in gaming. You feel wrapped up in the world of the walkers, and you feel every emotional hit, as you try doing what's best for yourself, and Clementine, the little girl you are protecting. It is bitter sweet, but you carry on, because you want to see this get to an end. When you play this video game you will be theAs far as the story goes for 'The Walking Dead' this is one of the best in gaming. You feel wrapped up in the world of the walkers, and you feel every emotional hit, as you try doing what's best for yourself, and Clementine, the little girl you are protecting. It is bitter sweet, but you carry on, because you want to see this get to an end. When you play this video game you will be the edge of your seat. Nothing about this is easy, and that's what it makes it so good. Definitely worth a try. Expand
  72. May 10, 2015
    10
    A game I would show to someone who complains that games aren't art. The characters are all amazingly written and react to each other realistically.The relationship between Lee Everett ( A man who was convicted of murdering his wife but was saved from prison by the zombie apocalypse) and Clementine (A little girl who hid out in her treehouse to get away from the zombies) is touching. TheA game I would show to someone who complains that games aren't art. The characters are all amazingly written and react to each other realistically.The relationship between Lee Everett ( A man who was convicted of murdering his wife but was saved from prison by the zombie apocalypse) and Clementine (A little girl who hid out in her treehouse to get away from the zombies) is touching. The story is gripping and the cel-shaded art style really emulates the look of the comics. The scenarios create tension and despite the episodic format you are constantly worried for the safety of Lee and the crew (with the exception of a few...). A masterclass on tugging the heartstrings. Bring out the tissues. Expand
  73. May 3, 2015
    10
    I was pretty reluctant to play this game as I was of the opinion that 1) point-and-shoot games are too straight forward and 2) I've seen the show so there won't be any surprises for me.
    After reading the plethora of praises laid upon this game, I decided to take a chance and I must say I wasn't disappointed.
    Right from the time you start the game from the back seat of a police car to the
    I was pretty reluctant to play this game as I was of the opinion that 1) point-and-shoot games are too straight forward and 2) I've seen the show so there won't be any surprises for me.
    After reading the plethora of praises laid upon this game, I decided to take a chance and I must say I wasn't disappointed.
    Right from the time you start the game from the back seat of a police car to the end, it was an EXPERIENCE. I call it so as I had never in to 15+ years of playing video games did I feel an emotional connect with the characters. Unless you're put off by too much gore, play it. It's definitely worth the money and the time.
    Expand
  74. Apr 18, 2015
    10
    The nice about this game is that it allows you to make even the most useless choices. What your response is going to be is your option. The story is being developed though the gameplay and not though cutscenes. Also your reactions are changing the flow of the story making it more interesting. Thats the main reason I realy enjoy this game and I think deserves 10. However thats my opinionThe nice about this game is that it allows you to make even the most useless choices. What your response is going to be is your option. The story is being developed though the gameplay and not though cutscenes. Also your reactions are changing the flow of the story making it more interesting. Thats the main reason I realy enjoy this game and I think deserves 10. However thats my opinion and should not affect or bother you Expand
  75. Apr 4, 2015
    10
    For me this was the single best experience of 2012 and into 2013 and the chapters rolled in. The emotions involved, the characters and the quality going into them... and the hard choices. Oh, those choices.
  76. Mar 30, 2015
    8
    There's something to be said about the boundary between movie and game. When should a stylized game just settle for being a movie? Not here. The Walking Dead (Season 1 ONLY) belongs as a game and is emotionally gripping in its medium.
  77. Feb 11, 2015
    8
    Platform: Steam
    PROS: + Sacrifices almost all gameplay to tell a story + Visual Style is compelling
    CONS: - Sacrifices almost all gameplay to tell a story - Serious installation and running issues. I shouldn't have to patch my own game It's no secret that this game aims to tell a story, and the developers apparently felt that too much walking or fighting would get in the way of that.
    Platform: Steam
    PROS: + Sacrifices almost all gameplay to tell a story + Visual Style is compelling
    CONS: - Sacrifices almost all gameplay to tell a story - Serious installation and running issues. I shouldn't have to patch my own game

    It's no secret that this game aims to tell a story, and the developers apparently felt that too much walking or fighting would get in the way of that. It's a risk that mostly paid off in this case. The fact that people like it in spite of a nearly total lack of gaming (hammering the "Q" button does not count as playing a game) should tell you something about how compelling that story is.

    It isn't perfect, yet by far the worst thing about this game is trying to get it to run in the first place (hint: download the dinput8.dll library free from the internet). Telltale games/steam shouldn't make me work so hard to play a game bought and paid for.
    Expand
  78. Feb 6, 2015
    8
    It's a lovely experience. On PC however I had a large amount of bugs that really did annoy the crap out of me. The game looks very good, using the comic book style from the original source material. All the voice actors do a pretty good job, and I absolutely love the music, as little as there is, in this game. The story really is the main focus for this point and click adventure, and as anIt's a lovely experience. On PC however I had a large amount of bugs that really did annoy the crap out of me. The game looks very good, using the comic book style from the original source material. All the voice actors do a pretty good job, and I absolutely love the music, as little as there is, in this game. The story really is the main focus for this point and click adventure, and as an overall, it's great. The ending is something that'll stick with you for a while. I Expand
  79. Feb 6, 2015
    9
    This here is an amazing game that will leave you thinking about what you did, even after finishing the game.
    The mechanics are not innovative or great, they're pretty basic. But the story and decisions are more than enough to create a masterpiece.
  80. Jan 13, 2015
    9
    It's a compelling, emotionally charged, and very well-written story, but much more a visual novel with limited interaction than a game. Telltale does an amazing job of making you consider your choices, but their games don't follow through much in terms of the consequences, and you can't get off the rails they've set for you.

    Regardless, if you're looking for an engrossing story, this
    It's a compelling, emotionally charged, and very well-written story, but much more a visual novel with limited interaction than a game. Telltale does an amazing job of making you consider your choices, but their games don't follow through much in terms of the consequences, and you can't get off the rails they've set for you.

    Regardless, if you're looking for an engrossing story, this is a winner.
    Expand
  81. Dec 30, 2014
    9
    Well this small gem piece is more like watching serie and making some serious decisions.
    It has very strong script and characters. It makes you think about yourself, how would you behave in really difficult situations.
    Really good adventure game.
  82. Dec 26, 2014
    9
    Such an amazing narrative. It will make you sad, then happy, then angry, then sad again, then maybe happy, and it will be a roller-coaster from start to finish. My only nitpick: it has some graphical and audio issues, but is an amazing experience, and is really open for everybody -even people that don't play video games that much.
  83. Dec 13, 2014
    1
    i dont understand the high score, the game is bad even if you read the comics.... is boring,pure talking, bad voice acting,its depressing!!(may be was intended to be) i was specting a graphic adventure game instead i received a movie(a bad one) you barely do things and then 20 min of more talking then you click 2 or 3 items and again 20 minutes of chating and so on .... skip it!!! if youi dont understand the high score, the game is bad even if you read the comics.... is boring,pure talking, bad voice acting,its depressing!!(may be was intended to be) i was specting a graphic adventure game instead i received a movie(a bad one) you barely do things and then 20 min of more talking then you click 2 or 3 items and again 20 minutes of chating and so on .... skip it!!! if you loved the dig,full throttle,grim fandango, monkey island you wont find that magic here... Expand
  84. Dec 2, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story in this game is the draw. It doesn't have flashy game play, or much game play at all as a matter of fact. You play this game for an engaging story, and it definitely delivers. Where i have a hard time giving it over an 8, is that the choices really don't effect the final outcome. No matter what you choose, the same thing is going to happen, just in a slightly different way. Your choices make a little difference in the short term, but long term you wont see a difference. If you get this game, expect a great story, don't expect you to make a major impact in the outcome. Expand
  85. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    One of the most engaging, emotional and story driven experiences I've ever had. The writing is superb, the music draws you in and the characters make you feel like there are actual consequences to every decision you make. Amazing game.
  86. Oct 19, 2014
    8
    it's rear to encounter such a great story every character is so well done there is nothing to say but!!! if you prefer more gameplay over story then this game is not for you if you prefer the gameplay and you think you won't enjoy the story even do the story is amazing you won't enjoy... if the gameplay was better i would have rated this 10/10 but it's not
  87. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    The Walking Dead Game is a masterpiece, never before has a narrative driven me to depression like this one! With lovable and unlikable characters, the story-line drives the entire game, whereas game-play does lack, but it doesn't matter - if you love stories, this is one you need to be told...
    10/10 - Ben Hazelden
  88. Oct 4, 2014
    9
    Let's be honest, in 2nd season the choices matter even less than in season 1, but who cares? It's a great story again and it's totally worth playing this game just to see it. For me the 1st season is game of the year 2013, hands down.
  89. Oct 2, 2014
    7
    All the choices in the game is an illusion, they have the same effect, always. The exception is the end of the game, the last 10 minutes, there you make two choices that are meaningful. It's the only choices in the game that are real choices, the other choices is an illusion, fake. In summary, by 99% of the time you do not have any choice, 99% choices = fake, same as other choices. JustAll the choices in the game is an illusion, they have the same effect, always. The exception is the end of the game, the last 10 minutes, there you make two choices that are meaningful. It's the only choices in the game that are real choices, the other choices is an illusion, fake. In summary, by 99% of the time you do not have any choice, 99% choices = fake, same as other choices. Just ending is real. Expand
  90. Sep 29, 2014
    9
    Game: The Walking Dead
    Genre: Point and Click Adventure
    Developer: Telltale Games System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 89/100 Value Score: 8.9/10 • Story: 10/10 • Characters: 10/10 • GamePlay: 7/10 • Graphics: 8/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 8/10 • Length: 8/10 • Replay Value: 10/10 • Player Value: 8/10 Pros +Great storyline that ties well with The Walking Dead Universe
    Game: The Walking Dead
    Genre: Point and Click Adventure
    Developer: Telltale Games
    System: Steam (PC)
    Total Score: 89/100
    Value Score: 8.9/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 7/10
    • Graphics: 8/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 8/10
    • Length: 8/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 8/10

    Pros
    +Great storyline that ties well with The Walking Dead Universe
    +Different Interactions that affect the storyline as a whole increases replayability
    +Fitting music for the mood and tone of the storyline and the universe
    +Great visual art style and design that ties closely to the comic book series
    +Ability to choose to go back to certain scenes to replay again
    +400 days DLC content consists of at least 1 hour additional of gameplay
    +Fantastic voice acting

    Cons
    -A few bugs such as the loading bug may occur which is fixable with changing of the exe settings
    -By choosing to go back to certain scenes to replay again you also delete any scenes that occur afterwards due to the changes of decisions that may occur
    -Very annoying mini game in the DLC
    Expand
  91. Sep 18, 2014
    8
    Just ended this game, as a fan of zombies stuff I have to say the game is really cool but it makes me a little upset that whatever you choose to do the epilogue and most of the main happenings will still be the same.
    It might change the episode you are playing itself, but the game plot will not be totally changed by your decision.
    I mean, even deus ex had multiple endings... The game
    Just ended this game, as a fan of zombies stuff I have to say the game is really cool but it makes me a little upset that whatever you choose to do the epilogue and most of the main happenings will still be the same.
    It might change the episode you are playing itself, but the game plot will not be totally changed by your decision.
    I mean, even deus ex had multiple endings...
    The game itself is quite nice thought, basically it is a little movie.
    Good plot, many plot twist and you really feel into the game sometimes.
    Some parts are like playing monkey island or broken sword, not that hard thought (and I am glad of that)

    Buy if you love ALL about zombies and want to try something different and hear a story that you can decide what to do or to say often, but dont expect replayability.
    Dont buy if you love SHOOTING zombies or you are looking for intense action (in that case I suggest Left for Dead or Dead Rising)

    77/100
    Expand
  92. Sep 4, 2014
    3
    Tedious - I gave up somewhere in the middle of Ep 2 or 3. Reminded me of a kids edutainment piece of software with cut-scenes. No idea what the fuss is about.
  93. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    This game is not an ordinary game, it's a master piece, the story is the strongest point in this game, and it's well told. The voices here are very well chosen and the dialogs are very well written, the playability is very good for an point and click game.
    it's HQ atmosphere is amazing.
    i really recommend for players that loves a good story and to get involved emotionally.
  94. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    i have never played a game before, that had an ending that made my teary eyed, at least not before The walking dead from Telltale Games. And i do not even like point and click adventures.
    (for maximum tears play all the episodes in a row, on the same day).
  95. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    This is among the finest examples of computer game story telling there is. It draws you in, builds you up and tears you down as you follow the fascinating tale of Lee and Clementine as they fight for survival in the early days following the apocalypse. Clementine works brilliantly as a type of moral mirror for Lee and has the player constantly question the merits and implications ofThis is among the finest examples of computer game story telling there is. It draws you in, builds you up and tears you down as you follow the fascinating tale of Lee and Clementine as they fight for survival in the early days following the apocalypse. Clementine works brilliantly as a type of moral mirror for Lee and has the player constantly question the merits and implications of choices made.

    The story is thrilling, the conclusion epic and the characters are well made, well expanded and also well concluded. The atmosphere of the game is truly stunning, both visually and audibly, and the interaction with the game feels natural and intuitive.

    This is a must play game if you're into story telling at all.
    Expand
  96. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this game is excellent because while it occasionally lacks in game play the story completely immerses you inside it. While some complain that the choices you make don't matter ,they are wrong the choices form you as a person and your relationships with other people. You play as a convict who murders his wife called Lee Everett on his way to prison during the zombie apocalypse and then there is the little girl you meet called Clementine. When you meet Clementine she is an innocent 8 year old surviving in a tree house after her babysitter "turned". Throughout your journey you choices also affect her personality and relationships towards others as well as your own personality. The back stories and events are completely believable for the situation and when they die they make you genuinely feel something. I recommend this to anyone who likes a good story. Go on try it for yourself make your choice. Expand
  97. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    I loved this series! It was amazing! The story was great! The game play was really slow, like walking to this thing then the next but still loved this game. The graphics could have been done A LOT better, and the swearing could just be left out. I mean swearing? If there was a 0/100 score I would just give it a 90 because the swearing and violence is unbelievable. But people have got toI loved this series! It was amazing! The story was great! The game play was really slow, like walking to this thing then the next but still loved this game. The graphics could have been done A LOT better, and the swearing could just be left out. I mean swearing? If there was a 0/100 score I would just give it a 90 because the swearing and violence is unbelievable. But people have got to understand that you DO NOT play this for the game play. You play this for the story. Just some people don't get it. And I also loved how you spread the game out, makes it so you can't beat the game in one day, or a week. Expand
  98. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    If you like story-based games you will love this game. The most interactive game i ever played, and your choices really have a huge impact in the story
    The only downpoint is that it is (in my opinion) too expensive, for it has no combat mechanics (focused in story). It still remains a great game to play, however you should only buy it during a discount (i bought it for 5 dollars, so that
    If you like story-based games you will love this game. The most interactive game i ever played, and your choices really have a huge impact in the story
    The only downpoint is that it is (in my opinion) too expensive, for it has no combat mechanics (focused in story). It still remains a great game to play, however you should only buy it during a discount (i bought it for 5 dollars, so that was 10/10 to me)
    Expand
  99. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    The Walking Dead from Telltale Games is a phenomenal example of the uniqueness of video games. No other form of media can do what this game does. It is a player driven story, often drawing real emotion from the player and the choices they make. I can count on one hand the number of times I was seriously emotionally stirred by a game. This game puts all the others to shame. The writing isThe Walking Dead from Telltale Games is a phenomenal example of the uniqueness of video games. No other form of media can do what this game does. It is a player driven story, often drawing real emotion from the player and the choices they make. I can count on one hand the number of times I was seriously emotionally stirred by a game. This game puts all the others to shame. The writing is that good.

    Of the few negatives I found in this game, the main one was how little some things matter in the end. I would have liked many things to end up differently in this game, but more often than not I found out it was impossible to change the outcomes to my liking.

    I also don't appreciate the "episode" style of the game. I would much prefer just one continuous adventure. Wasting time in between episodes and spoiling plot points is very lame. This isn't a TV show, it's a video game.

    Regardless, this is an experience any story-loving gamer should check out.
    Expand
  100. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    Great story, realistic characters and excellent voice acting make this one of the best games I ever played. It might be more accurate to call this an interactive story than an adventure game though. So if you're looking for tough puzzles or gameplay, this is not the game for you. The game is easy enough that anybody can finish it without giving it much thought but despite that, it isGreat story, realistic characters and excellent voice acting make this one of the best games I ever played. It might be more accurate to call this an interactive story than an adventure game though. So if you're looking for tough puzzles or gameplay, this is not the game for you. The game is easy enough that anybody can finish it without giving it much thought but despite that, it is pretty immersive and emotional. You WILL get attached to certain characters and panic when they are in danger. When something bad happens to someone you like, you will keep wondering whether you could have done anything differently to save them. This is a must-buy if you enjoy good storytelling and I hope developers make more games like this. Expand
  101. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    Seldom is a game released now where you actually care about what happens to the characters. This game so surpasses the television show, it's astonishing. It's the first game, and I'm not afraid to admit it, that made me tear up. The writing is that good. I actually emailed the writer and got a response back, it was very nice to see the creators/writers respond to fans (maybe because itSeldom is a game released now where you actually care about what happens to the characters. This game so surpasses the television show, it's astonishing. It's the first game, and I'm not afraid to admit it, that made me tear up. The writing is that good. I actually emailed the writer and got a response back, it was very nice to see the creators/writers respond to fans (maybe because it was positive feedback) but still I was extremely moved by this story. I found the game play to be very tense at times, akin to that of Heavy Rain (another amazing game, amazing story). The graphics are fine, people are upset because they want the Crysis 3 or Battlefield whatever with every game nowadays. I look for a story where I can come away with something meaningful and memorable. Sure, how the game plays is important but if you're looking for a game without a lot of dialogue and with fast action, Michael Bay-esc movie then don't spend your money on something like this. But if you want a story, this is a great game and it can become quite tense at times. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 80
    It’s not perfect but The Walking Dead is one of the most important advances in interactive fiction for a generation, with some of the most memorable characters of any video game.
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    80
    The Walking Dead is a serious, solid, but clay-footed work; in truth, it wouldn't stand out from the crowd if video game storytelling wasn't so impoverished to begin with.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Feb 10, 2013
    90
    A test of your moral fortitude in a world that's gone to the dogs. [March 2013, p.76]