The Walking Dead: A Telltale Games Series Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2271 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead brings to life a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive. Play the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a worldBased on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead brings to life a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive. Play the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. With corpses returning to life and survivors stopping at nothing to maintain their own safety, protecting an orphaned girl named Clementine may offer you redemption in a world gone to hell. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Feb 6, 2013
    100
    An incredibly powerful, emotionally engaging experience; a watershed moment for videogame narrative and storytelling. [Feb 2013, p.70]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    96
    The Walking Dead represents a jewel in the realm of episodic adventures. This game will shock you. It'll make you cry and curse. One of the most memorable gaming experience we've had in a long time. Don't miss out on it.
  3. Jan 7, 2013
    95
    Overall this game was a unique experience that is not your everyday type of game, but is worth playing and I would suggest this game to almost anyone. It is a game that simply tells a beautiful and tragic story. It sucks you in emotionally and does not let go.
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    There are really too few game elements in The Walking Dead to justify calling it a game. Its amazing world, great voice actors and the tough decisions it throws at you constantly will have you completely forget about this though. It's a compelling story that grabs you from the opening of the game and doesn't let go until its controversial ending in the last chapter. The intelligent choice-system gives you the feeling that you're creating your own story, which is why you'll lose yourself in the characters in no-time. It never gets really challenging, but for those who enjoy a good story, it's a great enrichment of the Walking Dead-universe.
  5. CD-Action
    Jan 6, 2013
    90
    A memorable game with a superb, deep story that forces you to make tough decisions and live with them. [CD-Action 1/2013, p.62]
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 21, 2012
    90
    Possibly the best game series we have played so far – also the most consistent and heart-taking stories you will find in video games. [Christmas 2012]
  7. Jan 18, 2013
    80
    The Walking Dead series offers one of the most intense game story of recent years that is not hardcore on its gamers from the adventure point of view. So relax, seat yourselves and let the zombie-apocalyptic world suck you in.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 369
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I have been playing computer and video games for the last 25+ years. In all that time, I have never once had a game illicit a seriousI have been playing computer and video games for the last 25+ years. In all that time, I have never once had a game illicit a serious emotional response, but this game did thrice: anger when I found what a stranger had done, frustration when I found someone in our party had lied, and regret when I realized I had to let a friend down. And this is the spoiler-free version of the review. After playing this game, you'll no longer wonder why Hollywood is losing out to the video games industry. These are stories *worth* telling. Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt the best game I've played in recent memory. Won't spoil anything, but rarely have I felt so emotionally connected to fictionalWithout a doubt the best game I've played in recent memory. Won't spoil anything, but rarely have I felt so emotionally connected to fictional characters, and certain moments made me cry my eyes out. Had to make a metacritic account just to review this game, absolutely fantastic. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2016
    10
    Fantastic adventure game - interactive story book. It has neat comic book inpsired visuals that wont blow you away but do their jobFantastic adventure game - interactive story book. It has neat comic book inpsired visuals that wont blow you away but do their job flawlessly. Its one of the most heart breaking, warming and emotional journeys ive taken in gaming. All the characters are exceptionaly well written and you care for nearly all of them, even the ones you might not like at first glance. All the choices you make feel significant and most importantly impact the story and its outcome so as the characters who'll judge you by your choices. Game plays without any issues on PC and save system works wihtout a problem carrying your progess episode to episode.

    If you loved old school adventure games, youll love this aswell. Its a masterpiece in my books pure & simple.
    Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    This is an all-around excellent game. The story and characters feel like they adapt to your decisions to create a very engaging experience.This is an all-around excellent game. The story and characters feel like they adapt to your decisions to create a very engaging experience. The "action" sequences are sparsely placed, but you never know what's around the corner. As a result, I felt more tension with this game than I ever did in Skyrim, which perfectly recreates the atmosphere of the Walking Dead. If you appreciate narrative and have an attention span of at least 10 minutes you will probably love this game. If you're looking for a game with action or number crunching you might not enjoy this, but it's still worthwhile to broaden your horizons once in a while. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    Great story, realistic characters and excellent voice acting make this one of the best games I ever played. It might be more accurate to callGreat story, realistic characters and excellent voice acting make this one of the best games I ever played. It might be more accurate to call this an interactive story than an adventure game though. So if you're looking for tough puzzles or gameplay, this is not the game for you. The game is easy enough that anybody can finish it without giving it much thought but despite that, it is pretty immersive and emotional. You WILL get attached to certain characters and panic when they are in danger. When something bad happens to someone you like, you will keep wondering whether you could have done anything differently to save them. This is a must-buy if you enjoy good storytelling and I hope developers make more games like this. Expand
  6. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    This isn't for everyone. If you're simply looking to kill hordes of zombies then look elsewhere. This is a game with a limited amount ofThis isn't for everyone. If you're simply looking to kill hordes of zombies then look elsewhere. This is a game with a limited amount of action, but with a fantastic story. It can be a bit slow at times, but it was a lot of fun being forced to make split second decisions and live with the consequences. Plus, the ending was great. Expand
  7. Jul 17, 2013
    0
    Complete dump, nothing you do affects the story. Barely even a game, you hardly do anything at all but click a button once in a while. Don'tComplete dump, nothing you do affects the story. Barely even a game, you hardly do anything at all but click a button once in a while. Don't know how this got high reviews Expand

See all 369 User Reviews