Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1959 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead brings to life a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive. Play the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a worldBased on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead brings to life a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive. Play the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. With corpses returning to life and survivors stopping at nothing to maintain their own safety, protecting an orphaned girl named Clementine may offer you redemption in a world gone to hell. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    100
    An incredibly powerful, emotionally engaging experience; a watershed moment for videogame narrative and storytelling. [Feb 2013, p.70]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    96
    The Walking Dead represents a jewel in the realm of episodic adventures. This game will shock you. It'll make you cry and curse. One of the most memorable gaming experience we've had in a long time. Don't miss out on it.
  3. Jan 7, 2013
    95
    Overall this game was a unique experience that is not your everyday type of game, but is worth playing and I would suggest this game to almost anyone. It is a game that simply tells a beautiful and tragic story. It sucks you in emotionally and does not let go.
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    There are really too few game elements in The Walking Dead to justify calling it a game. Its amazing world, great voice actors and the tough decisions it throws at you constantly will have you completely forget about this though. It's a compelling story that grabs you from the opening of the game and doesn't let go until its controversial ending in the last chapter. The intelligent choice-system gives you the feeling that you're creating your own story, which is why you'll lose yourself in the characters in no-time. It never gets really challenging, but for those who enjoy a good story, it's a great enrichment of the Walking Dead-universe.
  5. Jan 6, 2013
    90
    A memorable game with a superb, deep story that forces you to make tough decisions and live with them. [CD-Action 1/2013, p.62]
  6. 90
    Possibly the best game series we have played so far – also the most consistent and heart-taking stories you will find in video games. [Christmas 2012]
  7. Jan 18, 2013
    80
    The Walking Dead series offers one of the most intense game story of recent years that is not hardcore on its gamers from the adventure point of view. So relax, seat yourselves and let the zombie-apocalyptic world suck you in.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 341
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I have been playing computer and video games for the last 25+ years. In all that time, I have never once had a game illicit a seriousI have been playing computer and video games for the last 25+ years. In all that time, I have never once had a game illicit a serious emotional response, but this game did thrice: anger when I found what a stranger had done, frustration when I found someone in our party had lied, and regret when I realized I had to let a friend down. And this is the spoiler-free version of the review. After playing this game, you'll no longer wonder why Hollywood is losing out to the video games industry. These are stories *worth* telling. Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    The story and wrting is absolutely amazing. It triggers such emotional responses and is never dull or lackluster. The Characters, while ratherThe story and wrting is absolutely amazing. It triggers such emotional responses and is never dull or lackluster. The Characters, while rather normal people, grow on you. While you don't really care for them at first, they grow on you rather fast and you become very attached to them (in most cases at least). It really hurts to see them leave the group or even get killed.

    This game is one of the best games I ever played, definitely in my top 3, and has the best narration of any game I have ever played. I will definitely buy season 2, I can hardly wait until the first episode is released!!
    Expand
  3. May 3, 2015
    10
    I was pretty reluctant to play this game as I was of the opinion that 1) point-and-shoot games are too straight forward and 2) I've seen theI was pretty reluctant to play this game as I was of the opinion that 1) point-and-shoot games are too straight forward and 2) I've seen the show so there won't be any surprises for me.
    After reading the plethora of praises laid upon this game, I decided to take a chance and I must say I wasn't disappointed.
    Right from the time you start the game from the back seat of a police car to the end, it was an EXPERIENCE. I call it so as I had never in to 15+ years of playing video games did I feel an emotional connect with the characters. Unless you're put off by too much gore, play it. It's definitely worth the money and the time.
    Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    This is an all-around excellent game. The story and characters feel like they adapt to your decisions to create a very engaging experience.This is an all-around excellent game. The story and characters feel like they adapt to your decisions to create a very engaging experience. The "action" sequences are sparsely placed, but you never know what's around the corner. As a result, I felt more tension with this game than I ever did in Skyrim, which perfectly recreates the atmosphere of the Walking Dead. If you appreciate narrative and have an attention span of at least 10 minutes you will probably love this game. If you're looking for a game with action or number crunching you might not enjoy this, but it's still worthwhile to broaden your horizons once in a while. Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    I personally loved this game. I found it much more entertaining than the TV show and liked how much impact your decisions could have.I personally loved this game. I found it much more entertaining than the TV show and liked how much impact your decisions could have. Thrilling game with very well-done emotional side. Would definitely recommend. Expand
  6. AWG
    Jul 14, 2013
    8
    The Walking Dead by Telltale is an incredible game experience (notice, "game experience", not "game") ruined by one of the worst ItalianThe Walking Dead by Telltale is an incredible game experience (notice, "game experience", not "game") ruined by one of the worst Italian localizations I've ever seen in a finished product. Expand
  7. May 29, 2013
    0
    Disclaimer: I write this hoping that I will someday revise this with a higher score. However, at the current time this game is for meDisclaimer: I write this hoping that I will someday revise this with a higher score. However, at the current time this game is for me unplayable. My review is based solely on my experience with this game. Yours (hopefully!) will be different and far less buggy. Even if I revise it, it is highly unlikely that the walking dead for Mac will receive a score above 7.

    I bought this game as a pre-packaged whole rather episode by episode, so I hoped and expected that the major bugs had been worked out. Nooooooope! Through 1 episode this game was everything I'd hoped it would be. And then none of my decisions transferred over into episode 2. None! Since the game is basically a glorified choose your own adventure novel, this completely an utterly destroys any reason you have to play the game. This is a bug so crippling that, for the first time, I give a game a score of 0.

    Now, apparently, not everyone has this bug. But from what I've read it's not limited to the transfer from episode 1 to 2. Second, there are fixes out there for PC. But God help you if you play the game on Mac because no one else will.

    As I've said, I hope that I can find the a fix for this problem and give this game a better score, but until I can I'm not awarding a single point to a choice based game that loses track of my choices. But even I can fix this, I'm going to be far more afraid of this happening again than I am of any walkers.

    There's another serious bug that I have yet to mention, though it's minimal by comparison. When playing in fullscreen, the game's nigh unplayable because the mouse often gets incredibly sluggish. I could rapidly and repeatedly swipe my finger over the length of the mousepad and get minimal movement. This was usually merely annoying but in action sequences it was fatal. So I was forced to play in immersion breaking windowed mode. I was able to fake fullscreen by using Apple's universal access features to zoom in on the window, but it's far from a perfect fix.

    There's no other way to put it: The walking dead is great game weighed down and ultimately utterly crushed by two serious bugs. It is completely inexcusable and an absolute embarrassment that telltale hasn't fixed these bugs yet. I cannot recommend this game to anyone.
    Expand

See all 341 User Reviews