Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    91
    After conquering Sam & Max, Monkey Island and Back to the Future, Telltale is ready to prove that they know a thing or two about zombies. If A New Day is any indication, then The Walking Dead game is going to be the must-play zombie game of the year. Stylish visuals accompany a well written adventure full of memorable characters and genuine scares!
  2. May 16, 2012
    90
    As an opening act, A New Day did what it was supposed to: get me interested in the next episode even if the overall universe of Walking Dead completely depresses me. It's not that there's no happy ending; it's that there's not even real respite from the horror of what's going on. And that's exactly what happens at the end of the first episode.
  3. May 10, 2012
    90
    Ultimately, my only mark against The Walking Dead is that there aren't a lot of places where players get to use their noggin. With the exception of a scene where you must determine the right sequence in which to dispatch a group of zombies in a parking lot, the game proceeds forward in a linear fashion. Sure, you can mess up and die, but the game isn't difficult, and doesn't have any unconventional puzzle solving, like those found in Telltale's Sam & Max or Monkey Island games.
  4. May 3, 2012
    90
    A New Day is an exceptional start to a five-part series that has me completely hooked and engrossed in a world that I can't even begin to imagine, let alone speculate about where it will go next.
  5. 90
    Some scenes in this game genuinely moved me.
  6. May 1, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead: Episode 1 takes the zombie apocalypse and makes it a story about a man and a little girl trying to survive. It's well done with just a few odd things. It's not an action packed experience and that may turn some away.
  7. May 1, 2012
    90
    By some creative miracle, modest difficulty and interaction are outweighed by genuinely great survival storytelling.
  8. May 1, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead may have more gore than puzzles, but by striking out in a new direction that focuses on atmospheric storytelling, Telltale delivers one their most compelling and enjoyable titles to date.
  9. Apr 26, 2012
    90
    I know retention is a big problem for episodic games, but I wouldn't miss seeing how my story plays out for anything, and I suspect you'll feel the same way.
  10. Apr 25, 2012
    90
    All in all, the first episode of The Walking Dead was a fantastic experience. Fans of a good narrative should look into this game, as well.
  11. Apr 25, 2012
    86
    A triumph of the interactive narrative, good proof that with good writers and a solid direction, letting the player make decisions can make a good story better. An intense game with plenty of tough decisions and consequences that come back to punch you in the stomach.
  12. Jun 20, 2012
    85
    Although protagonists behave irritatingly stupidly, their story is still interesting. Best Telltale game ever. [June 2012]
  13. May 21, 2012
    85
    I have to hand it to Telltale, even though I had my doubts, they pulled this off in fine fashion. They've taken what they do best and managed to fit it to a franchise that would seem to be better suited for a different genre altogether.
  14. May 3, 2012
    85
    The relationship between Lee and Clementine is handled extremely well throughout the game.
  15. Apr 23, 2012
    85
    It has a believable cast of characters and a great look. Sure, the puzzles some adventure gamers love are missing and there will be an audio hiccup here and there, but as an introductory hook to the five-episode series, The Walking Dead Episode 1 has just about everything fans could want.
  16. May 26, 2012
    84
    Telltale Games did a nice job in introducing the characters and the world, and in giving them depth, and while I found the gameplay elements to be a little bit easy, that might be because Episode 1 is an introduction, and the difficulty will ramp up as the season progresses -- or at least I hope so; otherwise The Walking Dead might end up being more an interactive movie than a real game. But regardless, I thought the story was strong enough to support even an easy game, and so I'm optimistic about the season as a whole will turn out. The game's $25 suggested retail price looks more than reasonable.
  17. Apr 27, 2012
    83
    With The Walking Dead, Telltale's experimentation with an unusual formula pays off. With its focus on dialogue choices and puzzles that more naturally fit into a narrative, The Walking Dead is a unique experience. In less than three hours, the game delivers a thoughtful, character-driven story that takes a refreshing look at the zombie apocalypse. And like any great episodic show, I'm eager to see what happens next.
  18. Apr 30, 2012
    82
    Despite a few fumbles, The Walking Dead: Episode 1 is a resounding success. I can't wait for the next installment, and I have found myself reflecting on my choices, pondering at how events could have unfolded differently. This two-and-a-half hour game is most certainly a love letter to fans of TWD and zombies in general, but those who've yet to be bitten by the zombie bug may enjoy the experience as well.
  19. Apr 30, 2012
    82
    The Walking Dead's first episode, 'A New Day', succeeds where some of their past adventures have failed not by fixing the issues that often hold their games back, but by placing a greater importance on the presentation and character work that the team handles best.
  20. Apr 27, 2012
    82
    Personally, I'm counting the days until the appearance of even the next episode.
  21. Jul 8, 2012
    80
    Great both standalone and as a gateway to a larger series. Let's hope it all pans out. [July 2012, p.76]
  22. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    A slow-burn character study, some quick thinking and a constant air of menace make for a gripping start to a new adventure. [July 2012, p.68]
  23. May 10, 2012
    80
    A New Day is more of an 'interactive story' than a true game, but fortunately it's more interactive than Telltale's previous achievements (Jurassic Park and Law & Order) and the story itself is great – emotional and engaging. [June 2012, p.60]
  24. May 8, 2012
    80
    If you love the The Walking Dead comic book or a well written story with a lot of drama and emotional insight, this game is for you. If you're looking for action, puzzles or challenge, run away from any Telltale Games adventure.
  25. May 1, 2012
    80
    The Walking Dead is a fan service carried out perfectly. If you're a fan of zombies created by Kirkman this is a must buy.
  26. May 1, 2012
    80
    A gripping story, a dark, gritty comic book look, good voice over work and Telltale's understanding of the atmosphere and tone of The Walking Dead makes this a great package, and I'm excited to see what's in store for coming episodes.
  27. Apr 27, 2012
    80
    Despite introducing so many characters in a short space of time, Telltale has managed to plant the seeds of emotional connection; which I can only hope leads to more intense drama and difficult decisions. Its limited opportunities for interaction is probably its biggest failing beyond the bugs, but there's a lot of potential here.
  28. Apr 26, 2012
    80
    Its dialogue is superb and really gives credence to the choices you make, and we can only hope Telltale makes good on its promise to have these decisions mean something, and to impact the world and the way other characters view you.
  29. Apr 25, 2012
    80
    Bloody, brutal, and hard to put down.
  30. Apr 25, 2012
    80
    The game perfectly captures the most important part of the books: the tone and atmosphere. Fans of the comics will appreciate the familiar faces and places that do pop up, but even those of you that have completely avoided the stellar comics and so-so AMC TV series will be engrossed.
  31. Apr 24, 2012
    80
    A great adaptation of Robert Kirkman's comic, one that isn't a chore to play and is genuinely absorbing across its two-hour entirety, even with its hiccups. Also, if you're looking for the most depressing dad sim on the planet, The Walking Dead: Episode 1 is for you.
  32. Apr 29, 2012
    78
    I can forgive The Walking Dead: A New Day's weak puzzles and occasional technical issues because of all the other things it gets right. By focusing on moral choice and character relationships, Telltale has managed to remain faithful to the source material while simultaneously crafting a zombie game that feels fresh compared to its more action-oriented brethren.
  33. Apr 24, 2012
    76
    As a fan of the comics, the game absolutely nails the tone and setting. Important characters like Hershel and Glen make an appearance, and they act just as you would expect them to. The voice acting is great, and the models are very expressive.
  34. May 8, 2012
    73
    As long as you know you're going into an interactive story experience, you won't be let down.
  35. Jun 28, 2012
    72
    Rich atmosphere compensates for poor gameplay mechanics of The Walking Dead.
  36. 70
    Telltale Games reborn? Hopefully they have finally realized what their main strength is and discovered that the QTE sequences alone don't make a good game. [June 2012]
  37. May 28, 2012
    70
    It could have been enriched with puzzles and endowed with a different interface, thus prolonging the experience and branding it a full-blooded adventure game. [June 2012]
  38. 70
    This is a must buy for any fan of the series, as the game captures its pace and tension perfectly. For everyone else, this is a good if a bit short experience that's definitely worth a look.
  39. May 2, 2012
    70
    As it is now, The Walking Dead is a good choice only for adventure maniacs with a hook for the zombies. Everyone else is advised to wait for the release of at least a pair of additional chapters and wait for our final review.
  40. Apr 26, 2012
    70
    It's a lot more wordy than you might expect from a survival horror, and there's fewer puzzles than a true graphic adventure, but this is the best zombie game for years.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 726 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 165
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    This is a game style which you either like it or hate it. I think if you don't like this style of game you shouldn't rate the game, because you're not rating its quality, but rating by your taste over its genre. I personally liked it a lot, it's mainly based on your choices throughout the game, and it's more focused on the story than killing zombies like a retarded. Full Review »
  2. Apr 25, 2012
    3
    In my opinion the game is falsely marketed. The choices you are presented with are forced and out of place. It is not tailored to you like it claims, it simply puts a ridiculous situation in front of you and forces you to literally pick left or right. The movement of the characters is extremely limited and geared completely towards consoles. The fact that it shows you an XBOX controller in the menu even though you are on a PC tells me that they didn't give two sh*ts about PC gamers when they ported it. The puzzles are random and illogical. It takes more brute force than thought when it comes to solving them. All in all I wouldn't recommend this purchase. It's a crap game built around a great show and comic book. It's a forced story line, with absolutely no openness at all. I know movie/tv/book based games are known to be bad, but this one takes the cake on that badge. The only reason I give it a three is because of the name. Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2012
    4
    The story and the art of this game are great, and so are many of the interactions, but after having played seasons 1-4 I can tell you with certainty that most of the major decisions are decided for you. Certain characters will die regardless of how you try to save them. This is disappointing as the game heralds "adapting to your choices" when in reality practically ALL of your choices are superficial and have no bearing on how the game actually plays out.

    Having watched seasons 1-4 of the walking dead by Myndflame on Youtube, I made a concerted effort to pick the OPPOSITE choices. Yet, in spite of this, my game has been practically identical save for a few superficial differences.

    Another major problem with the game is that MOST of it is cut scene. In the places that you are given control of your character, generally, you are stuck with ONE option to solve the puzzles or progress to the next scene. Often times you'll run into invisible walls, whether it be in the environment or in the choices the game will allow you to make. Too many times I was greeted with Lee telling me "This is probably not a good idea right now..." So what? I thought this game was about making choices?

    Although I find the game, the world, and the story fascinating I am disenfranchised with this promise of "choice". When you compare it to other great games like Fallout or Mass Effect the game falls short on its promise. The story doesn't really change. The results are almost identical, and what you do doesn't really matter.
    Full Review »