Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. May 2, 2012
    70
    As it is now, The Walking Dead is a good choice only for adventure maniacs with a hook for the zombies. Everyone else is advised to wait for the release of at least a pair of additional chapters and wait for our final review.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    70
    It's a lot more wordy than you might expect from a survival horror, and there's fewer puzzles than a true graphic adventure, but this is the best zombie game for years.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 18, 2012
    70
    Telltale Games reborn? Hopefully they have finally realized what their main strength is and discovered that the QTE sequences alone don't make a good game. [June 2012]
  4. May 8, 2012
    73
    As long as you know you're going into an interactive story experience, you won't be let down.
  5. 70
    This is a must buy for any fan of the series, as the game captures its pace and tension perfectly. For everyone else, this is a good if a bit short experience that's definitely worth a look.
  6. Jun 28, 2012
    72
    Rich atmosphere compensates for poor gameplay mechanics of The Walking Dead.
  7. PC Master (Greece)
    May 28, 2012
    70
    It could have been enriched with puzzles and endowed with a different interface, thus prolonging the experience and branding it a full-blooded adventure game. [June 2012]
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 794 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 165
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    This is a game style which you either like it or hate it. I think if you don't like this style of game you shouldn't rate the game, becauseThis is a game style which you either like it or hate it. I think if you don't like this style of game you shouldn't rate the game, because you're not rating its quality, but rating by your taste over its genre. I personally liked it a lot, it's mainly based on your choices throughout the game, and it's more focused on the story than killing zombies like a retarded. Full Review »
  2. Apr 25, 2012
    3
    In my opinion the game is falsely marketed. The choices you are presented with are forced and out of place. It is not tailored to you like itIn my opinion the game is falsely marketed. The choices you are presented with are forced and out of place. It is not tailored to you like it claims, it simply puts a ridiculous situation in front of you and forces you to literally pick left or right. The movement of the characters is extremely limited and geared completely towards consoles. The fact that it shows you an XBOX controller in the menu even though you are on a PC tells me that they didn't give two sh*ts about PC gamers when they ported it. The puzzles are random and illogical. It takes more brute force than thought when it comes to solving them. All in all I wouldn't recommend this purchase. It's a crap game built around a great show and comic book. It's a forced story line, with absolutely no openness at all. I know movie/tv/book based games are known to be bad, but this one takes the cake on that badge. The only reason I give it a three is because of the name. Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2012
    4
    The story and the art of this game are great, and so are many of the interactions, but after having played seasons 1-4 I can tell you withThe story and the art of this game are great, and so are many of the interactions, but after having played seasons 1-4 I can tell you with certainty that most of the major decisions are decided for you. Certain characters will die regardless of how you try to save them. This is disappointing as the game heralds "adapting to your choices" when in reality practically ALL of your choices are superficial and have no bearing on how the game actually plays out.

    Having watched seasons 1-4 of the walking dead by Myndflame on Youtube, I made a concerted effort to pick the OPPOSITE choices. Yet, in spite of this, my game has been practically identical save for a few superficial differences.

    Another major problem with the game is that MOST of it is cut scene. In the places that you are given control of your character, generally, you are stuck with ONE option to solve the puzzles or progress to the next scene. Often times you'll run into invisible walls, whether it be in the environment or in the choices the game will allow you to make. Too many times I was greeted with Lee telling me "This is probably not a good idea right now..." So what? I thought this game was about making choices?

    Although I find the game, the world, and the story fascinating I am disenfranchised with this promise of "choice". When you compare it to other great games like Fallout or Mass Effect the game falls short on its promise. The story doesn't really change. The results are almost identical, and what you do doesn't really matter.
    Full Review »