The Walking Dead: Episode 1 - A New Day Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 786 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Episode one of a five-part game series set in the same universe as Robert Kirkman’s award-winning series. Play as Lee Everett, the convicted criminal who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. Experience events, meet people and visit locations thatEpisode one of a five-part game series set in the same universe as Robert Kirkman’s award-winning series. Play as Lee Everett, the convicted criminal who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. Experience events, meet people and visit locations that foreshadow the story of Deputy Sheriff Rick Grimes. A honed game experience in which actions, choices and decisions you make will affect how your story plays out across the entire series. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    91
    After conquering Sam & Max, Monkey Island and Back to the Future, Telltale is ready to prove that they know a thing or two about zombies. If A New Day is any indication, then The Walking Dead game is going to be the must-play zombie game of the year. Stylish visuals accompany a well written adventure full of memorable characters and genuine scares!
  2. May 1, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead: Episode 1 takes the zombie apocalypse and makes it a story about a man and a little girl trying to survive. It's well done with just a few odd things. It's not an action packed experience and that may turn some away.
  3. Apr 25, 2012
    86
    A triumph of the interactive narrative, good proof that with good writers and a solid direction, letting the player make decisions can make a good story better. An intense game with plenty of tough decisions and consequences that come back to punch you in the stomach.
  4. Apr 24, 2012
    80
    A great adaptation of Robert Kirkman's comic, one that isn't a chore to play and is genuinely absorbing across its two-hour entirety, even with its hiccups. Also, if you're looking for the most depressing dad sim on the planet, The Walking Dead: Episode 1 is for you.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 8, 2012
    80
    Great both standalone and as a gateway to a larger series. Let's hope it all pans out. [July 2012, p.76]
  6. May 1, 2012
    80
    A gripping story, a dark, gritty comic book look, good voice over work and Telltale's understanding of the atmosphere and tone of The Walking Dead makes this a great package, and I'm excited to see what's in store for coming episodes.
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    70
    It's a lot more wordy than you might expect from a survival horror, and there's fewer puzzles than a true graphic adventure, but this is the best zombie game for years.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 165
  1. May 11, 2012
    10
    Amazing start to a promising series.Was very sceptical since i hated back to the future, and jurassic park. But i loved the Monkey IslandAmazing start to a promising series.Was very sceptical since i hated back to the future, and jurassic park. But i loved the Monkey Island ones. They really captured what i felt was the essence of what the walking dead is about! I await the second episode eagerly!! Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. Not only is it fun and imersive but you really get involved and get genuine feelings for the characters and events. Love it.Amazing game. Not only is it fun and imersive but you really get involved and get genuine feelings for the characters and events. Love it. Can't wait for season 2. Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    This is a game style which you either like it or hate it. I think if you don't like this style of game you shouldn't rate the game, becauseThis is a game style which you either like it or hate it. I think if you don't like this style of game you shouldn't rate the game, because you're not rating its quality, but rating by your taste over its genre. I personally liked it a lot, it's mainly based on your choices throughout the game, and it's more focused on the story than killing zombies like a retarded. Expand
  4. May 10, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'll be serious. I'm not into zombie games; I get bored of the same old hack n' slash action and the witty one-liners. But TellTale Games' "The Walking Dead" is something else - it's not just the 'same old' - its an episodic well-done masterpiece - action, adventure and even an element of puzzle. Presented in a comicy graphic style, the game opens with Lee, a convicted murderer, driving out of Atlanta on the way to prison. During this scene, you're introduced to the choices that shape the story (although, these ones don't have any effect on the rest of the story), prompting a different response which the character will remember. This is the case when choosing who should live and who should die, or sticking and siding with a certain character - if you are loyal, you will be rewarded. The thing for me that sets the game apart from others is the emotional value of the characters - by the end of the first episode, I had begun to develop a sense of care for Clementine and emotion for the entire ensemble. Then again, its not just the other characters - you begin to develop a bond with Lee, the main character, especially when you go and start a second game - you try to make him a tough, no-nonsense kind of guy, who doesn't care about anyone but himself - but you don't, because it doesn't feel right. I cannot critique the game's story or characters or game-play in any way - but I did experience a couple of problems with the game's performance - despite being perfectly matched to my laptop's specs. Sometimes the game's cutscenes lagged and paused, or sometimes the sound was repeated or out-of-sync - only small problems, but nevertheless problems that could be fixed with a simple patch.

    Despite those defects, The Walking Dead is definitely a fantastic game that spins off from the zombie genre gamers have come to know and love. I personally can't wait for episode two (each episode is released monthly) and another couple of hours of gameplay. I'd definitely recommend you to buy this (even though the season pass is about £21 on Steam and even if you haven't followed the franchise), because this is an excellent game-changer from that zombie genre we're all too familiar with.
    Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2012
    8
    Not nearly as good as Episode 2, but still well written and a good start to a hopefully/probably good game. Due to the episodic character ofNot nearly as good as Episode 2, but still well written and a good start to a hopefully/probably good game. Due to the episodic character of the game, this exposition was a bit too short for my taste and there was not yet enough dramatic development. Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2012
    7
    I bought this game because I really liked the show, and the good thing about this game is the amazing story line. Some of the episodes in theI bought this game because I really liked the show, and the good thing about this game is the amazing story line. Some of the episodes in the game I found to be more interesting than those of the show. However I don't feel like your choices really changed the game, some of the situations had the same outcome no matter which option you chose. I won't lie though there are places where the things you choose change, but it is mostly to do with your group. At the end of the episode you will still end up in the same place and have achieved almost the same thing. This doesn't mean that the game isn't enjoyable over all, it's actually quite fun.

    If you want a game that will give you lots of play time like COD or L4D2 however, I don't believe this is it, it is not created to be a full out slaughter of zombies. It's original though and if you like the show or have read the story, I would recommend playing it.
    Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    0
    I hope you enjoy having your saves rendered unplayable because that's what this game is all about. Your hard earned progress is likely to beI hope you enjoy having your saves rendered unplayable because that's what this game is all about. Your hard earned progress is likely to be wiped by a faulty save system when you try to resume playing. And guess what? YOU CAN'T SKIP DIALOGUE OR CUTSCENES. Unbearable. Such a great game but so terribly implemented. Expand

See all 165 User Reviews