User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 337 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 337

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Props for Telltale for the new awesome episode of the walking dead game. seriously i haven't had so much fun playing a game in ages!! I hope they don't delay Episode 3 for another month..
  2. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    This episode was much more memorable than the first one, and having only seen the TV show, I did not expect the series to take such a twisted turn. And I really liked the atmosphere and tension Telltale created. The suspicious characters, the dialogue, well created settings, and good direction really created a nice ambience.
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Absolute amazing episode. This episode is well worth the entire prize for the 5 episodes. There really wasnt any thing i didnt like about it. The choses are importent and meaningfull, the story is superb.
  4. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Step aside Mass Effect 3. This game ACTUALLY reflects the choices you've made throughout the entire story. For a zombie survival game, it actually has a decent plot, well written characters and a nice dose of suspense & gore. I keep on replaying it to get the best choice possible. Only part that sucks is I have to wait again for the next episode to get my Walking Dead fix! (Hopefully it'll be released faster than this one) Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    3
    Just as bad as the first in my book, extremely limited in what you can do, it seemed like every time I had to make a decision the one I would of made was not an option. I don't feel like retyping everything I thought was wrong so if you want a list go there and see, there are several others at least with the same complaints about the game. If you want a visual book, this is the game for you, if not stay away. Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2012
    6
    It's ok - but it's not actually a "game" is it? Anyone remember the film "Big" with Tom Hanks where a kid in the body of his dad (after some swap) pitches a game idea to these suits...well this is the animated version of that game - it didn't sound like a game in the mid 1980's - and it doesn't sound or play much like a game now. Nice walk through a story, but you do nothing, make little or no choices that matter, no tactics, no strategy, no action..nothing really. Looking for a story - it's pretty decent. But game it aint Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    Immersive, shocking & emotionally exhausting: The Walking Dead Episode 2 is a masterpiece. It's tense from beginning to end and you can't stop playing. A near-perfect game that exceeds the quality of the previous episode.
  8. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    It just keeps getting better. I love how no matter what choice you make, it seems like something bad is going to come out of it. This chapter was so engaging that I completed it in a single sitting. The voice acting and character development continues to astound me
  9. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    I haven't seen storytelling this good since Half Life 2. Telltale really shocked us with The Walking Dead game. I'd call it their breakthrough series. The sales probably prove it. The interactivity is greatly improved in episode two. Also, all your episode one choices play a bigger role it seems. One thing you say at the beginning of the episode could affect your outcome through the (it shouldn't be spoiled, it's that good) ending. Here's to looking forward to episode 3. And trust me, when episode 5 comes out, you're gonna want to play this whole thing again. Expand
  10. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    Another great addition to this series. The storyline is fantastic. This is such an awesome and unique game. I cannot wait for the next episode, hopefully we don't have to wait as long!
  11. Koo
    Jul 5, 2012
    10
    At least as good as the first episode. Riveting storytelling, superb pacing, and tension galore. My one caution would be, if you're using an XBox 360 controller for the PC, be careful what button you push! I switched between using the keyboard and mouse to the 360 controller and pressed the wrong key at a crucial point. The game informed me that the decision I made (by mistake) was taken by just 12% of all players! Ah well. I guess that's just life. Expand
  12. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    Great storyline that explores some darker themes. My only complaint is just who the heck was Mark? Beyond his couple lines of background exposition, he was a pretty underdeveloped character.
  13. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    In my honest opinion, the second Episode of The Walking Dead is a welcome improvement. All the characters have continued development and feel real. The storyline is great and is understandable for the most simplest of minds. The gameplay stays the same, the action sequences are as great as they were before. Like earlier, the game could use a bit more polish in terms of graphics, but that does not matter whatsoever. Expand
  14. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Telltale Games is doing an excellent job. This game just gets better and better with each new episode. There's something big and new in every episode which grabs your attention till the very end and you are tempted to go for the next episode. I am new to point and click adventure games and all i can say is "The Walking Dead" is an awesome game.One of the best games of 2012 in my opinion. Its not over-hyped.Its everything you have heard about it.Nothing less..! Go For It...! Expand
  15. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    ====================================
    Am gonna make this short and easy...

    "Well done, must have"

    Enough said...
    ====================================
  16. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    A much more deep and immersive experience than the first episode, focusing a bit more on the human survivors than the zombies. It features a great storyline that keeps you interested with some really hard decisions to make. A must buy if you liked the first episode!
  17. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Wow... just wow! This game is possibly the most emotionally immersive I've ever played. And the key decisions you make have a very direct impact on the storyline. I have never felt a true sense of regret when I made a quick decision in a video game before. Never. But in this game, I felt emotionally connected to the consequences of the actions I choose to take, thus when I was forced to make a difficult and quick decision, there were several occasions when I truly felt a deep emotional surge of regret. While the gameplay of this game is relatively simple and may not be appreciated by video gamers who are more into the fast-paced first person shooter type games, the emotional impact and incredibly well put together story-telling elements put this game in a league of it's own. I can't wait to sit down with episode 3 (and 4 and 5) when I have another free day! That'll be a good day... Expand
  18. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    Very limited gameplay and a few technical issues on the ps3 version ( some long loading screens mid gameplay ) don't prevent this being a whole ton of fun, great story and dialogue with some pretty damn brutal moments combine to make this zombie survival a whole ton of fun, loving the series so far, just don't make me wait so long for the next. !
  19. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    As a long time fan of telltale games, i found the first episode to be quite good but episode 2 really makes you think (if there is time) about your choices. The wait between episode 1 and 2 was worth it.
  20. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    This game is basically tries to sell on a big lie, that you can impact the story.
    And not only do they lie to you in the marketing, they also lie to you when you play the game.
    The game pretends that you have a lot of big choices but its easy to see that you cannot make any impact. If you replay the choices you will see black on white that the result is always the same.

    I cant believe
    this got such a high rating. Most likely it have been doped by the developer.
    If I ever see a game made by telltale ever again I will stay miles away.
    Expand
  21. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    This is not so much a game as an animated comic. Voice acting - 9 Excellent. Story & Art - 7 Good. User dialogue options - 2 Appalling. Trite coin flipping. Users get to play the dumbest person in the world. Game Mechanics - 3 Clumsy. Poor interface interferes with execution. Usability - 3 Poor If you want to rewind, You have to watch the same sequence at real time and have no option to speed things up. Expand
  22. Feb 10, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My favourite Walking Dead episode. The character development in this episode is at it's best. The canniblism was a surprise to most, but for some reason I could spot it less than half way into the episode. The characters are so realistic and creepy. As I had to save clementine from eating the human meat, I felt emotions I didn't know a game could make me feel. Expand
  23. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    The story continues on from the first episode with an equally promising direction. Your choices feel real and the story line continues to get better.

    The attachment with the characters grows even further to a point where you cant help but want to play episode 3 straight away.
  24. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Really good story - tv series is pretty good, but i loved the comic much more, and this, while not written by Kirkman (don't think so anyway), has the tone pretty much just right. Like the first one, it's pretty much an interactive story instead of a game per se, but its awesome. I haven't felt this emotionally engaged with game characters for a long time. Like scruxty (see other review) I think this is really more of an animated comic - I for one love it. Expand
  25. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    This was a pretty damn creepy episode. I won't go in to too much detail anyway, but It was weird.

    There wasn't a whole focus on the zombies in this episode. It was more to do with the creepy ass family in the farm, which wasn't a bad thing at all. But, I wished they'd done more parts where you sneak around zombies plotting how to kill them (like episode one).
  26. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    Like the first episode, this is worth playing for the story even if you don't follow the Walking Dead comics or TV show. The only real problem with this episode is its insistence on including 'action' click-here-to-not-die quicktime events, which the engine does poorly enough to guarantee a few death/reload cycles. It's worth fighting through those to see the rest of the story though.
  27. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Just wow a must play 100 times better then the first episode, and epis
    ode 1 could hold its own as a great game! can not wait for episode 3!
    Buy buy buy buy! :-)
  28. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    this one was best one mind blowing as ever i hope this game get Goty edition hoping australia would sell it here mind u....


    i love shooting zombie part really great
  29. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    The game is absolutely gorgeous,comparing with first one Episode 2 start three months after the events of the first one,now with most of the gameplay taking place in broad daylight giving a new fresh approach of the storyline,a very well approached screenplay an amazing concept art and a great voice acting,gives you one hour and a half of pure entertainment.
  30. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was surprisingly good - I am usually not a fan of these types of games but the writing and animation is just about the best I've EVER seen in a game of this sort. The dialogue is unrivaled by any game I've ever played, characters are well thought out and believable (for the most part). The setting that it creates truly immerses you totally into the game, and you feel an actual connection for the characters. The game is not without its fair share of flaws though. For starters, in episode 1 I clearly defended Kenny's son Duck against Larry, but somehow in episode 2 it made it seem as if I hadn't, and Kenny was pissed at me for not standing up to Larry (even though I clearly did). To me this is absolutely inexcusable, something as simple as a truth table should NOT be buggy this far into the release of a game that really isn't that long, all it would take is a simple playtest to find this bug. On top of that my only other real qualm is perhaps just a stylistic choice - but the game is marketed as a game where you make difficult choices that effect the outcome of the game. While it's somewhat true, it's severely overstated. In the end, nearly every choice you make virtually ends you up at the same exact place. Most choices in the game end up being pseudo - choices. Like in episode one if you choose to go at day or night there really is no major consequences, and if you choose to save sean or duck, sean still ultimately ends up dying no matter what you do. Same goes for whether or not you trust the farmers or not in episode 2, you'll still end up going to the farm no matter what you choose, you'll still end up finding out about them eating humans no matter what you choose, and larry will still get crushed by kenny no matter what you choose. To me that's pretty lame, but the incredible character development and storywriting more than make up for it. Personally I would have liked it to be much less linear and to have the simple bugs fixed (I often also saw scenes where a gun was missing from multiple character's hands even though they clearely should be holding one) - change those 2 things and it'd be a perfect 10 (something you never see these days in games). A shame really, but still well worth the purchase, this game is awesome even though I rag on it for its flaws. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    94
    Episode 2 delves less on the zombies and more on the relations between humans. In that it succeeds and manages to pull off some of the best writing and atmosphere seen in games this year. Even if you don't care about the subject matter, episode 2 is most definitely worth a look. [Oct 2012]
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    89
    If the first episode made us face difficult situations, the second one assaults us with a symphony of horror. [September 2012]
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    77
    The drama is well-directed, but as soon as The Walking Dead tries to straighten its shoulders, it immediately runs into technical issues, like stiff animation, poor facial gestures, and the lack of ambient sounds.