Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    100
    The Walking Dead Episode 2 is a perfect, three-hour nugget of story-driven adventure gaming. The immediacy of the gameplay and writing make it easy to boot up the game and instantly become engrossed in a world where nothing is sacred, and anything can happen at any moment. No tutorials needed.
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    The controls could do with a bit of work and I still think that vastly increased challenge either through puzzles or conflict would more appropriately match the tone of the game, but all of these are things I thought after I was done with it. None of them got in the way of the experience.
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    90
    If the forthcoming episodes keep this emotional rollercoaster so unpredictable and surprising, we've got a strong candidate for the adventure game of the year award. [September 2012, p.78]
  4. Jul 6, 2012
    85
    More brutal and dramatic than ever, Starved for Help put the player in uncomfortable situations, forcing him to take decisions that could easily regret later.
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    82
    Simply, if you enjoyed the first game and haven't pre-ordered the rest of the episodes, then this is a must-buy. The game has only gotten better, though the true lack of choice is a little more evident.
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Luckily, action sequences have been tightened up considerably from the first episode, with interactive points actually on the object in question and not somewhere nearby. And there are just enough quick-time events to keep you on your toes, though they are less frequent than before. The focus is on the slow burn of a terrible, desperate situation; the realization that no matter how many obvious monsters you've sheltered yourself from, a worse one might be standing right next to you.
  7. 70
    Even more personal and emotional than the first episode with the same random flaws in interface and playability. E2 deserves an applause but it is not standing ovations yet. [Issue#220]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Props for Telltale for the new awesome episode of the walking dead game. seriously i haven't had so much fun playing a game in ages!! I hope they don't delay Episode 3 for another month.. Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    As a long time fan of telltale games, i found the first episode to be quite good but episode 2 really makes you think (if there is time) about your choices. The wait between episode 1 and 2 was worth it. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Telltale Games is doing an excellent job. This game just gets better and better with each new episode. There's something big and new in every episode which grabs your attention till the very end and you are tempted to go for the next episode. I am new to point and click adventure games and all i can say is "The Walking Dead" is an awesome game.One of the best games of 2012 in my opinion. Its not over-hyped.Its everything you have heard about it.Nothing less..! Go For It...! Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    This was a pretty damn creepy episode. I won't go in to too much detail anyway, but It was weird.

    There wasn't a whole focus on the zombies
    in this episode. It was more to do with the creepy ass family in the farm, which wasn't a bad thing at all. But, I wished they'd done more parts where you sneak around zombies plotting how to kill them (like episode one). Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    Very limited gameplay and a few technical issues on the ps3 version ( some long loading screens mid gameplay ) don't prevent this being a whole ton of fun, great story and dialogue with some pretty damn brutal moments combine to make this zombie survival a whole ton of fun, loving the series so far, just don't make me wait so long for the next. ! Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    The story continues on from the first episode with an equally promising direction. Your choices feel real and the story line continues to get better.

    The attachment with the characters grows even further to a point where you cant help but want to play episode 3 straight away.
    Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    0
    I hope you enjoy having your saves rendered unplayable because that's what this game is all about. Your hard earned progress is likely to be wiped by a faulty save system when you try to resume playing. And guess what? YOU CAN'T SKIP DIALOGUE OR CUTSCENES. Unbearable. Such a great game but so terribly implemented. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews