User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 228

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this was the worst episode of the three that has been released so far. And I say that because in this episode they took away your options to choose, and change stuff. I had two totally different play-through and at the end of this episode there were almost no difference between them. No matter what you do, you can't save Carley/Doug who dies in a stupid and pointless way, nor Katja and Duck. This episode want to break our mind and heart and doing this by ruining the premise of the game, that your choices matters. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    6
    I have to say this is the weakest episode so far. Episodes 1 and 2 evoked real emotion; it looked as though your choices would have future implications and you really began to form attachments with some of the characters. I loved the style of the games and how they really made you think about what you were about to do or say. Unfortunately, Episode 3 is a mess. You end up finding that manyI have to say this is the weakest episode so far. Episodes 1 and 2 evoked real emotion; it looked as though your choices would have future implications and you really began to form attachments with some of the characters. I loved the style of the games and how they really made you think about what you were about to do or say. Unfortunately, Episode 3 is a mess. You end up finding that many of the choices you made have very little impact on the outcomes - the same major events end up happening whether you tried to stop them or not. Characters interact with you the exact same despite how you treated them. The game starts to feel less interactive, and more like a movie at times. Despite my criticisms, the action sequences are still good and the presentation still excellent, and the overall interaction with other characters is still interesting, if a little confused. Everything just feels less organic than previous episodes, and I hope they can rectify that for the remaining episodes. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2012
    6
    This Episode clearly showed me that nothing you ever did or said has any impact on the outcome. All choices are purely cosmetic and don't change anything. Before this I still had hopes in my game differing from a friends game when we choose different things. But as it turns out that is not the case which is a major disappointment in my book. If you want an interactive movie, a nice story,This Episode clearly showed me that nothing you ever did or said has any impact on the outcome. All choices are purely cosmetic and don't change anything. Before this I still had hopes in my game differing from a friends game when we choose different things. But as it turns out that is not the case which is a major disappointment in my book. If you want an interactive movie, a nice story, and don't care about extremely linear gameplay you will still be satisfied. Just bare in mind that choices in this game don't matter at all. Collapse
  4. Oct 8, 2012
    6
    Deaths feel somewhat cheap. As if it was easier for Telltale to kill certain characters than to continue their stories. Won't say exactly who, but it feels very cheap. Was a decent episode, but felt very weak.
  5. Sep 24, 2012
    5
    I was really enjoying the script this game has, until my girlfriend decided she wanted to play too. She made a different choice in pretty much every single decision, and by the middle of chapter 3 we ended up with exactly the same outcome. As it turns out, our choices dont matter at all. So, this is not a graphic adventure, since the puzzles are way too easy (hell, everybody around tellsI was really enjoying the script this game has, until my girlfriend decided she wanted to play too. She made a different choice in pretty much every single decision, and by the middle of chapter 3 we ended up with exactly the same outcome. As it turns out, our choices dont matter at all. So, this is not a graphic adventure, since the puzzles are way too easy (hell, everybody around tells you exactly what you have to do next, even your own character does), and this is not an interactive story either, since even if a few non important conversations play a little different in each playthrough, the major outcome will always be the same. Considering all this game had was the "make your own choices and get your own scenario" thing, chapter 3 feels as lazy as it can get. I give it a 5 because the story is still worth watching, but thats all there is: A story that demands you to click around to unfold. What you choose to click does not matter at all. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    7
    Limited, but beautiful story. As a game however, it falls short on some very important moments. It's frustrating to see the main character forced to act other then you would do/seems sane, and it breaks the immersion on the most important moments. The zombies are a joke and unbelievable (extremely slow and stupid, very easy to distract), but then again, most zombies are.
  7. Sep 6, 2012
    0
    This Episode clearly showed me that nothing you ever did or said has any impact on the outcome. All choices are purely cosmetic and don't change anything. Before this I still had hopes in my game differing from a friends game when we choose different things. But as it turns out that is not the case which is a major disappointment in my book. If you want an interactive movie, a nice story,This Episode clearly showed me that nothing you ever did or said has any impact on the outcome. All choices are purely cosmetic and don't change anything. Before this I still had hopes in my game differing from a friends game when we choose different things. But as it turns out that is not the case which is a major disappointment in my book. If you want an interactive movie, a nice story, and don't care about extremely linear gameplay you will still be satisfied. Just bare in mind that choices in this game don't matter at all. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 90
    Perfect storyline, strong emotions and connection to previous episodes – adventure series of The Walking Dead grows better and better with every new part. [Oct 2012]
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    92
    This is better - so much better - than the AMC series, and it's quickly become some of the most essential gaming of this, or indeed any other, year. [Dec 2012, p.90]
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    90
    If you hate sadness and heartache, then Long Road Ahead is not for you. This is a journey fraught with triumphs and setbacks, often happening simultaneously. This is yet another strong episode that reinforces my opinion that The Walking Dead is one of the best games of the year!