Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    70
    Much of this episode feels forced, with characters being maneuvered into position to wrap everything up in the finale.
  2. Oct 14, 2012
    70
    Probably the weakest episode so far, even though it still keeps its essence and entertains. One way or another, we need to highlight its ending, telling us the final episode will be huge.
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    70
    If you've come this far on Lee's journey, Around Every Corner's ending will make the final chapter a near essential purchase: not just to see how this supposedly reactive, in part player-authored story ends, but to see if Telltale really can pull it off.
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    70
    While the impact is less than that of previous installments, Episode 4 remains a solid and well-written chapter of Telltale's The Walking Dead. Following up the chills of the last episode was always going to be a tall order, and while this entry may be free of major revelations, Telltale has done a commendable job continuing to establish such a hopeless world. At this point, though, it feels as if they're racing to an absolute conclusion.
  5. Oct 12, 2012
    70
    One of the weakest individual episodes but with the best ending by far, and one that suggests Episode 5 will be a finale to remember.
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    72
    Around Every Corner is a layer between the middle and the end of the story, and it's mostly filler.
  7. Oct 15, 2012
    70
    Whilst Around Every Corner relies a bit too much on action sequences and not enough of group-building with its new characters, it effectively manages to draw hope and desperation to new emotional highs and lows, ultimately ending with the most dramatic conclusion so far.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 212 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Breathtaking. The newest addition to The Walking Dead series is a universal acclaim by every manner. The plot and the twists of the episode isBreathtaking. The newest addition to The Walking Dead series is a universal acclaim by every manner. The plot and the twists of the episode is five times better then the actual TV series, and the character design/moral decisions are fabulous. Few times the episode left me thinking of what just happened, and how I actually influenced the chain reaction of events. The ending of the episode however, shows exactly what this game is about: twists. The people you liked - You will not anymore, and the ones that you disliked will most likely prove to be your best friends. If the Episode 5 is just as good as this one, I really do not see why this game could not be the game of the year - It easily has the best plot I have ever seen in the gaming.

    10/10 - Amazing.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    What seems to be the best episode so far, The Walking Dead - Episode 4 got even better than the others. While it was roughly the same lengthWhat seems to be the best episode so far, The Walking Dead - Episode 4 got even better than the others. While it was roughly the same length as the others, being it too long would probably keep you depressed for the entire day. The whole plot immerses you into the game, the characters have gain more emotional contrast. Just... Before you play this, make sure your table isn't weak. Because you're going to flip a table and scream your lungs out. That's what every episode makes you do, at least.
    Brilliant job, TellTale. I can't wait for the next episode.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    To be honest I watched this on youtube as if it was a movie. Got luck enough to find a great walkthrough by this DanQ8000 guy. And I gotta sayTo be honest I watched this on youtube as if it was a movie. Got luck enough to find a great walkthrough by this DanQ8000 guy. And I gotta say it was an A+ game, rock solid from top to the bottom of it. A more intense experience than the last episode, and the end leaves you satisfied but hooked for the next episode. Man, they know how to do cliffhangers. Can't stand the thought how long we will have to wait for the next part. Full Review »