Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    72
    Around Every Corner is a layer between the middle and the end of the story, and it's mostly filler.
  2. 90
    Adventure series comes with another episode – and this one is the best one so far in every aspect. Can't wait for the finale! [Dec 2012]
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    89
    While not as gripping as the first three episodes, Around Every Corner remains a strong chapter of The Walking Dead. Unfortunately, too much of the game involves new characters that don't seem vital to the end game storyline. Still, this is an episode that sets up what is sure to be an incredible season finale!
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    90
    Around Every Corner is about 3 hours long and it definitely felt like the longest episode yet. And I can't wait until the next one. As terrible as things get, I can't wait to see how it all ends.
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    85
    A chapter that adds questions instead of giving answers. We'll see.
  6. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    In this episode everything conspires to lure us into a final trap that hits straight to the heart.
  7. Oct 18, 2012
    80
    Ultimately, serious though they are, the bugs won't stop me from playing. After the huge cliffhanger this episode ended on, I cannot wait for the next one to see how the series concludes. I said it in my last review and I'll say it again here; Telltale's The Walking Dead is one of 2012's best surprises.
  8. Oct 18, 2012
    80
    I have no idea where the story is going next, and I'm itching to find out.
  9. Oct 17, 2012
    75
    It's exciting, and damn is it important, but it's still the weakest of the bunch.
  10. Oct 16, 2012
    90
    This playable tale once again dares to discuss the more substantial implications of the survival-horror scenario, a setting that was once mostly defined by scarcity of ammunition. I'd lie if I professed that The Walking Dead had anything to do with "fun" in the traditional sense, but here for once, it's a glowing compliment. I'm not looking forward to accompany these Walking Dead on their last steps to the conclusion. But I wouldn't want to miss it for anything in the world.
  11. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  12. Oct 16, 2012
    70
    While the impact is less than that of previous installments, Episode 4 remains a solid and well-written chapter of Telltale's The Walking Dead. Following up the chills of the last episode was always going to be a tall order, and while this entry may be free of major revelations, Telltale has done a commendable job continuing to establish such a hopeless world. At this point, though, it feels as if they're racing to an absolute conclusion.
  13. Oct 15, 2012
    87
    Any detachment we may have felt as we slowly immersed ourselves into this hellish world should be lost here. Those who've hungered for each coming episode may experience some tunnel vision as they dive into their monitors and become a part of the group's lives.
  14. Oct 15, 2012
    70
    Whilst Around Every Corner relies a bit too much on action sequences and not enough of group-building with its new characters, it effectively manages to draw hope and desperation to new emotional highs and lows, ultimately ending with the most dramatic conclusion so far.
  15. Oct 15, 2012
    70
    If you've come this far on Lee's journey, Around Every Corner's ending will make the final chapter a near essential purchase: not just to see how this supposedly reactive, in part player-authored story ends, but to see if Telltale really can pull it off.
  16. Oct 15, 2012
    95
    As I say in all my reviews of every episode of The Walking Dead I play, if you're a fan of a good narrative and character interactions, you need to play this series. Fans of the comic and television show should not hesitate to pick this game up.
  17. Oct 14, 2012
    70
    Probably the weakest episode so far, even though it still keeps its essence and entertains. One way or another, we need to highlight its ending, telling us the final episode will be huge.
  18. Oct 12, 2012
    90
    Fans of the comic should feel a deep resonance with Episode 4, as it channels aspects of the early story directly, in the way the group explores the house, a la the Wiltshire Estates, and the inclusion of the self-obsessed, Governor-like figure briefly mentioned in the middle of the game.
  19. Oct 12, 2012
    70
    Much of this episode feels forced, with characters being maneuvered into position to wrap everything up in the finale.
  20. Oct 12, 2012
    70
    One of the weakest individual episodes but with the best ending by far, and one that suggests Episode 5 will be a finale to remember.
  21. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    As the series gears up for its conclusion, in which even formerly "safe" characters' fates will be up for grabs, Episode 4's cliffhanger ending sets a new tone of urgency. At this point, I won't even hazard a guess as to what's around the next corner for our survivors, but don't count on a happy ending.
  22. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    It's worth it just to see where the story goes.
  23. Oct 10, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead delivers a dramatic and emotionally exhausting experience that few, if any, games have achieved. Forming a close bond with the characters over 12 hours of game play makes the countdown clock for each decision even more stressful. As the psyche of each survivor has slowly been reduced to tatters, every choice has positive and negative impacts for all.
  24. Oct 10, 2012
    95
    Around Every Corner isn't simply the best episode of The Walking Dead yet – it's the single most significant game I've played so far this year, and perhaps the most emotionally devastating gameplay experience I've ever had.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Breathtaking. The newest addition to The Walking Dead series is a universal acclaim by every manner. The plot and the twists of the episode isBreathtaking. The newest addition to The Walking Dead series is a universal acclaim by every manner. The plot and the twists of the episode is five times better then the actual TV series, and the character design/moral decisions are fabulous. Few times the episode left me thinking of what just happened, and how I actually influenced the chain reaction of events. The ending of the episode however, shows exactly what this game is about: twists. The people you liked - You will not anymore, and the ones that you disliked will most likely prove to be your best friends. If the Episode 5 is just as good as this one, I really do not see why this game could not be the game of the year - It easily has the best plot I have ever seen in the gaming.

    10/10 - Amazing.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    What seems to be the best episode so far, The Walking Dead - Episode 4 got even better than the others. While it was roughly the same lengthWhat seems to be the best episode so far, The Walking Dead - Episode 4 got even better than the others. While it was roughly the same length as the others, being it too long would probably keep you depressed for the entire day. The whole plot immerses you into the game, the characters have gain more emotional contrast. Just... Before you play this, make sure your table isn't weak. Because you're going to flip a table and scream your lungs out. That's what every episode makes you do, at least.
    Brilliant job, TellTale. I can't wait for the next episode.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    To be honest I watched this on youtube as if it was a movie. Got luck enough to find a great walkthrough by this DanQ8000 guy. And I gotta sayTo be honest I watched this on youtube as if it was a movie. Got luck enough to find a great walkthrough by this DanQ8000 guy. And I gotta say it was an A+ game, rock solid from top to the bottom of it. A more intense experience than the last episode, and the end leaves you satisfied but hooked for the next episode. Man, they know how to do cliffhangers. Can't stand the thought how long we will have to wait for the next part. Full Review »