User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 171

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    What seems to be the best episode so far, The Walking Dead - Episode 4 got even better than the others. While it was roughly the same length as the others, being it too long would probably keep you depressed for the entire day. The whole plot immerses you into the game, the characters have gain more emotional contrast. Just... Before you play this, make sure your table isn't weak. Because you're going to flip a table and scream your lungs out. That's what every episode makes you do, at least.
    Brilliant job, TellTale. I can't wait for the next episode.
    Collapse
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Breathtaking. The newest addition to The Walking Dead series is a universal acclaim by every manner. The plot and the twists of the episode is five times better then the actual TV series, and the character design/moral decisions are fabulous. Few times the episode left me thinking of what just happened, and how I actually influenced the chain reaction of events. The ending of the episode however, shows exactly what this game is about: twists. The people you liked - You will not anymore, and the ones that you disliked will most likely prove to be your best friends. If the Episode 5 is just as good as this one, I really do not see why this game could not be the game of the year - It easily has the best plot I have ever seen in the gaming.

    10/10 - Amazing.
    Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    To be honest I watched this on youtube as if it was a movie. Got luck enough to find a great walkthrough by this DanQ8000 guy. And I gotta say it was an A+ game, rock solid from top to the bottom of it. A more intense experience than the last episode, and the end leaves you satisfied but hooked for the next episode. Man, they know how to do cliffhangers. Can't stand the thought how long we will have to wait for the next part. Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely the best episode of what's shaping up to be my favorite game in the last ten years, maybe even of all time. The character development in this episode is just fantastic, the story as you on the edge of your seat every second as always, and overall it maintains the hopeless feeling of the Walking Dead quite nicely. My only complaint is that I do feel like they killed off all the characters from the previous episodes besides Clem and Kenny, just to keep from taking past choices into account. Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    this deep into the game series i feel like my choices are no longer my own anymore; this action is what "my Lee" would do, that's why i choose it. the characters are so good that i no longer look at them based on how useful they might be. i make decisions based on whether they need ME. that goes pretty deep for a video game based on a comic book about zombies. i just hope i wont be forced to choose between red blue and green explosions in episode 5 Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    An Absolute Pleasure Of a Game.... I am a fan of the tv series walking dead, and telltale games has put it to Shame. The reason I think it works So much better than the tv series(and maybe the comics plz don't kill me for saying so.) is that you are completely involved in creating the situations and the resolutions to the world around you. The characters have Never been better in this game the writing was Top Notch. Gary Whitta has done and Amazing job at writing. blending humorous situations in the bleakest of times and just basically putting you on an emotional roller coaster. Also in the episode I have never felt such an amazing connection between Clementine and Lee and I have never felt so dedicated to protecting a fictional character.(No Spoilers) but the ending had me in emotional flames and has never had me So on the edge of my seat waiting for the next episode. CANNOT WAIT So if you want something original and a Huge step forward in storytelling in gaming pick it up Now. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    Love this game! nothing more to say. its the best game i ever played. episode 4 is the best episode then 2 then 3 and then 1 but all the episodes are really awesome! BEST GAME EVER !!!!!!!!!
  8. Koo
    Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Episode 4 is fantastic. I thoroughly enjoyed playing through this episode and couldn't wait to play episode 5. If you liked the other 3 episodes, this one is no different... in fact, having played through to the end, I would say it is as engaging as any of them.
  9. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    An absolutely engrossing story. I can't really say more without spoilers, but you're beginning to see the ramifications of a lot of your choices throughout the series, and the ending for this episode has a huge twist. The next episode promises to be wild, and I hope it can live up to the hype. I only marked episode 4 down a point because Kenny is sometimes schizophrenic about whether or not I did "certain actions" with his family. Expand
  10. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead Around Every Corner is even better then the other episodes! Its real rare in games is that every game/part gets better and better. Choices are becoming perniment and no game over screens when you do them. All I can say in this short review is that its amazing and it almost inores fps problems. Overall amazing game. The Walking Dead: Episode 4- Around Every Corner 9.2/10.
  11. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    mind u i like this one its get far more existing each corner u dont know what happening then when it happen u least suspect it went diffrent route which mind blowing it open
  12. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    Much improved on episodes 2 and 3. The action feels as visceral and exciting as ever. Characters are well developed, and interaction between them, for the most part, feels organic and well-rounded. I like the idea to still introduce new characters - albeit I am slightly disappointed that another interesting plot line disappears abruptly towards the end of the episode. My biggest criticism of the last 2 episodes was that the choices you made didn't have enough weight. This episode that was rectified to a certain degree; big decisions appear around almost every corner, and most have big significance in the plot. I am wholly impressed by this episode and let's hope that episode 5 is a befitting finale. Expand
  13. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Telltale earned a fan with this game. It is simply amazing, one of the best game experiences Ive ever had. Metacritic is making me write more but nothing else needs to be said.
  14. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    The Walking Dead: Episode 4 - Around Every Corner really has a surprise around every corner. There were only a few bugs and did not get in the way of the experience. The gameplay is still the same, with one new idea, first-person shooting. I did not care for it mainly because it feels so out of place. The story has you on your toes and will have some of the hardest decisions to make in the series. By the end your jaw will be on the floor. The Walking Dead: Episode 4 - Around Every Corner is a set up episode for the fifth episode, and really makes me want to play episode 4 more. Expand
  15. Oct 10, 2012
    0
    What seems to be the best episode so far, The Walking Dead - Episode 4 got even better than the others. While it was roughly the same length as the others, being it too long would probably keep you depressed for the entire day. The whole plot immerses you into the game, the characters have gain more emotional contrast. Just... Before you play this, make sure your table isn't weak. Because you're going to flip a table and scream your lungs out. That's what every episode makes you do, at least.
    Brilliant job, TellTale. I can't wait for the next episode.
    Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    72
    Around Every Corner is a layer between the middle and the end of the story, and it's mostly filler.
  2. 90
    Adventure series comes with another episode – and this one is the best one so far in every aspect. Can't wait for the finale! [Dec 2012]
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    89
    While not as gripping as the first three episodes, Around Every Corner remains a strong chapter of The Walking Dead. Unfortunately, too much of the game involves new characters that don't seem vital to the end game storyline. Still, this is an episode that sets up what is sure to be an incredible season finale!