Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 322 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a world infested with the undead. With corpses returning to life and survivors stopping at nothing to maintain their own safety, protecting an orphaned girl named Clementine may offer him redemption in a world gone to hell. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    100
    It's extraordinarily rare for a game to possess scenes of such powerful emotion, but Telltale have managed something special with The Walking Dead finale, and it'd be a tragedy to miss it.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    100
    I'm not going to mince words anymore: The Walking Dead is the best game of 2012. If you care about video games as an expressive medium, you need to play this game. It's too important to avoid. If you are sick of zombie stories, you need to play this game. If you hate video games and despise the thought of playing one, you need to play this game.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    100
    The tale is twisted and terrifying, heart-wrenching yet timeless, much like the infinite, undead existences of the series' antagonists. If stronger emotions have been wrenched from your gut while visiting an art gallery, I'd love to hear about it.
  4. Nov 22, 2012
    90
    I felt Telltale's occasionally heavy hand throughout the story, but I view this limitation as a work in progress. Despite this, they put together a powerful package that I hope surpassed Robert Kirkman's expectations, because it sure did mine.
  5. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    No Time Left is the ending that all fans were expecting. Simply the highest moment of all the series.
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead: The Game won't just go down as one of the best examples of gaming as a storytelling medium, it isn't just one of the best licensed games ever made, and it won't just be known as one of the best games of 2012 (if not the best). It'll also be the only game ever that made me think, made me laugh, made me jump out of my seat, made me cry, and made me want to vomit. That's Telltale's real achievement in my view.
  7. Nov 26, 2012
    70
    Despite a highly emotional finale this is arguably the worst episode of the season, although the overall storytelling remains some of the strongest in gaming.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 66
  2. Negative: 6 out of 66
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Episode 5, the finale... without spoiling anything, it's a satisfying conclusion, even if you think you already know what's going to happen. I'll remember this game for a very long time. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    One of the best ending of all time, that's for sure. And I'm keeping it real, I cried. I really cried at the ending. Congrats Telltale Games for making this awesome game. And my last words: Game of the Year. Collapse
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. There is always something going on and you never get bored of it. The TV series were boring and i almost fell asleep on every episode so this game was how the series should be like and not a soap opera with a little who.re Carl. I cant wait for season 2. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    The final instalment of a really fantastic game! The final "episode" was able to bring a good mix of everything, from the tear jerkers to the edge-of-seat action! It will make the manliest of men be reduced to tears.
    Throughout all the games I have ever played, The Walking Dead by Telltale Games is, by a country mile, my all time favourite.
    Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Wheezy247
    9
    I am going to be honest. Until the Walking Dead game series that Telltale has brilliant crafted, I cannot remember the last time
    I played a point and click adventure game, but I sure am glad I tried it again. Throughout the entire series, I saw my choices have an influence on what happened later in the episode or in later episodes, but never as much as that that is seen in the final episode "No Time Left." Telltale has successfully created a game that blends a unique art style, wonderful voice acting and a story that is probably the best story you'll play this entire year to create a series that, I believe, will have an impact on the future story development of video games. After playing through all of the episodes, I can definitely say that this was the most enjoyable episode, previously episode 2. It is such a delight to see how Telltale managed to bring the entire story together. The emotion that is brought out by the story and voice acting is so powerful, I almost cried at certain parts. I don't want to spoil the ending, but let's just say I can't wait for Telltale's newly announced Season 2. If you haven't played this game yet, you owe it to yourself to play all of the episodes. Telltale's series is not perfect, but the way they brought it all together at the end makes you understand why this game should be considered for game of the year. I would give it a 9.5/10. Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 7 out of 10, Fun: 8 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 9 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 5 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10

    I have a low re-play score on this game because when you re-play the game (which there is a strong desire to re-play this game to try other choices) the new different choices you make either 1) don't make much difference and/or 2) the way the main character and other characters act/re-act for non-mainstream choices is highly unrealistic. I really loved this game and would of given it a 9 for my over-all score, but the re-play that I was anxious to try was a real dud and took away from my original experience; thus giving the game an over-all score of 8.
    Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After essentially raping the player with the illusion of choice and that decisions make a different in the earlier episodes and then suddenly revealing that nothing you do makes any difference whatsoever, and then providing lackluster gameplay with horrible controls and shallow characters who you can't affect in any way, and then rushing the player through extremely scripted events and an extremely linear and disappointing story, the last thing you want to do is attempt to create a emotional and impactful ending. This "sad" ending just completely destroys the only aspect of the game I enjoyed. When the rest of the game is such garbage, the least you could provide the player is a satisfying resolution to the story in which the player feels like what they did throughout the episodes was not for naught, and in the end their efforts would actually result in something. Do not simply kill off every character and then leave the player without a proper resolution to the story. Absolutely disappointing. Not only is the story weighed down with a negative tone, but the entire series is just trash. In a nutshell, the Walking Dead game series is a complete waste of money and time. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews