Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    92
    The Walking Dead Season two Episode one “All That Remains” is a nice start to season two. Full of emotional moments that carry the story forward and keep us interested.
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    90
    The stuttering and freezing issues that have always plagued the console versions are entirely absent from the Steam game, and the game looks gorgeous at a crisp 1080p – its expressive faces and soft colours doing wonders to mask a presumably modest budget.
  3. 90
    The story is compelling, the gameplay engaging, and the experience of playing is riveting.
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    90
    Episode one not only reintroduces us to the world of The Walking Dead, it raises the stakes in such a way that Clementine’s situation is more perilous than ever. We weren’t convinced that season two could eclipse season one, but at least in a few ways, it already has.
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    90
    This episode truly begins to set in place Clementine’s lost innocence.
  6. Dec 17, 2013
    90
    All That Remains has quickly put to bed any worries I had that TellTale would be unable to pull off the same stunt twice. Written with a maturity, intelligence, and above all, restraint, the season opener packs its punches with frighteningly effective precision, and delivers exactly the kind of memorable, beautifully distressing content fans of the first series will have come to expect.
  7. Dec 17, 2013
    90
    The action sequences in the premiere episode are well-paced and fraught with tension. They're streamlined from the first season's experiments, offering a mix of timed clicks, button mashes and swipes, alongside a frantic search for the right weapon in the surrounding area.
  8. Dec 18, 2013
    88
    Despite its flaws, The Walking Dead: season 2: Episode 1 is still an outstanding game. It still makes you feel for its characters in ways no other game on the market does. It’s still one of the best examples of games as art our industry has to offer.
  9. Dec 18, 2013
    88
    We won’t know for sure just how effective the set-up here was until the full season is complete sometime next year, but as it stands right now, we’re totally on board.
  10. Jan 13, 2014
    87
    It’s important to remember that this is the first episode of a new story arc, and as such, its main purpose is to introduce the new characters and set the scene for what’s to come. And it does a fantastic job with that - especially with one hell of a cliffhanger at the end.
  11. Dec 19, 2013
    87
    If you liked Season 1, give Telltale more of your money.
  12. Feb 16, 2014
    85
    A gripping opener that suggests TWD will zombie-dodge tricky second season syndrome. [March 2014, p.75]
  13. Feb 14, 2014
    85
    TellTale has been using and refining the same engine over multiple games and there are still some really awful bugs. Not game breaking by any means, but when non-interactive character models appear, stock still, in the middle of a room it breaks my focus on the story
  14. Feb 10, 2014
    85
    Keeps you on your toes from the first to the last second of a 1.5 hour long playthrough, as usually forcing you to make tough decisions under pressure and dwell on them later. [02/2014, p.57]
  15. Jan 13, 2014
    85
    Taken on its own, “All That Remains” is somewhat problematic, but its flaws are easy to look past if you remember that it is only the first of five episodes.
  16. Dec 30, 2013
    85
    All That Remains is short, roughly two hours long. Yet Telltale Games has done a good job in setting up future episodes by asking tantalizing questions about its plot and cast.
  17. Dec 27, 2013
    85
    A great new beginning for The Walking Dead, with some new and interesting themes and the great writing we have learned to expect from it. The refinements to graphics and interface are welcome, but bugs and technical problems are almost all still there.
  18. Dec 19, 2013
    85
    If you thought the second season of The Walking Dead was going to be more lighthearted, then prepare to be disappointed. All That Remains sees a more mature Clementine battling to survive by herself. As first episodes go, this one definitely gets the job done. The hard part is waiting for the second episode.
  19. Dec 17, 2013
    85
    All That Remains delivers by providing answers to lingering questions from season one and setting up new obstacles for Clementine to face. My biggest reservation is that it features many similarities to the first season; I have to wonder how many zombie fights and new camps of people I can find before they all blend together.
  20. Dec 19, 2013
    83
    Overall I really enjoyed stepping back into the world Telltale carved out for the franchise, and I’m looking forward to continuing my journey with Clementine and the new cast. Time will tell how significant the actions from Season 1 will actually be, but right now they feel more like window dressing than anything important.
  21. Dec 20, 2013
    82
    Quotation forthcoming.
  22. Feb 12, 2014
    80
    Impossible to judge in isolation, but definitely a good start. [March 2014, p.73]
  23. 80
    We were wishing for something a little bit different but in the end, Telltale did good by sticking to their guns – because this looks like another hell of a ride. [Issue#238]
  24. Jan 16, 2014
    80
    This emotional rollercoaster really had me on the edge of my seat.
  25. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    Telltale start the new Walking Dead season with a bang, delivering a tense and gripping episode that thrusts a familiar face into new desperation and dangers.
  26. Jan 2, 2014
    80
    All That Remains is a raw telling drenched with cinematography intricacies. The action and tension are held back, but in this chapter emotions play a bigger role. Playing as Clementine you'll feel at a loss for direction and abandoned, but also ready for everything.
  27. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    First episodes are always going to be hard to evaluate to see where the season is going to go, but as an opening episode for Season Two of The Walking Dead, I feel that it gives a strong first impression.
  28. Dec 24, 2013
    80
    Same strong characters and plotting that made Season 1 so powerful.
  29. Dec 23, 2013
    80
    Dedicated fans who want to know what happened to Clementine (Read: everyone who played the first game) will not be wasting their time with episode one.
  30. Dec 22, 2013
    80
    Utterly brutal, The Walking Dead is back with multiple bangs. Telltale emotionally batter us over the head repeatedly, telling us to forget things that matter to us in real life.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 556 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 98
  2. Negative: 8 out of 98
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    Congratulations, Telltale Games. You did it again. As good as season 1; in other words, perfect. The story seems to be getting on a good wayCongratulations, Telltale Games. You did it again. As good as season 1; in other words, perfect. The story seems to be getting on a good way and Clem is incredible! Except for some graphical glitches it's impeccable. Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    A really good episode of the Second Season. It didn't disappoint me. Unexpected and really cool moments have been going on and i really likedA really good episode of the Second Season. It didn't disappoint me. Unexpected and really cool moments have been going on and i really liked it. Telltale once again did it, but this time even better! Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    0
    This game is too overrated. Too many technical issues that Telltale or their hardcore fans don't address and the characters aren't wellThis game is too overrated. Too many technical issues that Telltale or their hardcore fans don't address and the characters aren't well written. How much do you really know about Clementine? Plus, the choices you make don't make too much of a different. This Season of the game wasn't too good. Started off pretty slow. Full Review »