Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 538 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Walking Dead: Season Two continues the story of Clementine, a young girl orphaned by the zombie apocalypse. Left to fend for herself, she has been forced to learn how to survive in a world gone mad. Many months have passed since the events seen in Season One of The Walking Dead, and Clementine is in search of safety. But what can an ordinary child do to stay alive when the living can be just as bad – and sometimes worse – than the dead? As Clementine, you will be tested by situations and dilemmas that will test your morals and your instinct for survival. Your decisions and actions will change the story around you. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    92
    The Walking Dead Season two Episode one “All That Remains” is a nice start to season two. Full of emotional moments that carry the story forward and keep us interested.
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    90
    The action sequences in the premiere episode are well-paced and fraught with tension. They're streamlined from the first season's experiments, offering a mix of timed clicks, button mashes and swipes, alongside a frantic search for the right weapon in the surrounding area.
  3. Feb 14, 2014
    85
    TellTale has been using and refining the same engine over multiple games and there are still some really awful bugs. Not game breaking by any means, but when non-interactive character models appear, stock still, in the middle of a room it breaks my focus on the story
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    80
    A strong return for The Walking Dead, and proves that Clementine was a fantastic choice for this season's protagonist.
  5. Dec 24, 2013
    80
    Same strong characters and plotting that made Season 1 so powerful.
  6. Dec 19, 2013
    78
    It may not be the best episode of The Walking Dead, but it still has some good moments in it. Hopefully the glitches will be worked on and the setups established will have some payoffs. If you’re a fan of The Walking Dead and enjoyed what you played of the first season, chances are you need to pick this episode up. Just keep in mind; it may not be as polished as the previous outings.
  7. Dec 17, 2013
    60
    The episode's focus is clearly on setting up the characters and conflicts that might pay off in later chapters; it serves a narrative purpose, but isn't especially effective on its own terms.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 98
  2. Negative: 9 out of 98
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    Congratulations, Telltale Games. You did it again. As good as season 1; in other words, perfect. The story seems to be getting on a good way and Clem is incredible! Except for some graphical glitches it's impeccable. Collapse
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    This episode represents promising characters for the future. The action sequences were exciting and the story seems promising. This episode looks like a great start to the season two! Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    First episode was absolutely amazing. My expectations were definitely met and surpassed. I've never felt so invested a story in my whole life, I was cheering, crying and scared and it made the experience that more sweeter. Definitely recommend. Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    Telltale have once again created another great game. I was a little unsure as to what it would be like to play as Clementine but Episode 1 has shown me that Season 2 will be another fantastic series from Telltale. I give it a 9 out of 10 as i wish that there was more chances to be able to talk to the new characters to get to know them as the lack of dialogue options make the S2 E1 30mins shorter than S1 E1 as you got more chance to talk to everyone and get to know them a little better. Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    finally the long awaited second season of telltale's masterpiece The walking dead is here but the question is is it as good as the first season and let me answer yes it is after only 10 minutes of playing you'll be stunned and amazed by the presentation of the game the graphics are a little bit better but you don't play this game for graphics you play it for the story and it is as good so far as the first season and as always it will keep you dying for the next episode to come welldone telltale games
    now we will have the wold among us in a month and the next month we will have the walking dead 2014 seems promising to me already
    Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    A very credible continuation to the previous season. The story does neither feel forced nor like a gratuitous sequel. One of my greatest fear for this season was Clementine being the central character and I must say that, given how difficult an accurate portrayal of a child's reaction can be, Telltale did a wonderful job in making Clementine a strong, realistic character. As for the story itself, given that this first episode is some sort of introduction to the second season, I feel it's been told with an appropriate pace (some action takes place, but nothing feels rushed and the story builds itself in a natural manner, with small and interesting events). That being said, if the previous season has been criticized for it's lack of actual and meaningful interactions, this one feels even more close to a movie than a game. The choices are very few and most of them seems to lead to the same conclusions for this very reason, I would give a 7.5 out of 10 if it was possible on Metacritic. Anyhow, I believe that, as for the previous season, the real experience can only be enjoyed if you play all the episodes in a row (hence 7.5 out of 10 means nothing by itself). In the end there is too little content in this two hour episode to really make up your mind about it, it's a great introduction but good introductions will always be unsatisfying teasers. My recommendation to anyone considering to play the Walking Dead Season 2 would be: just wait until all the episodes are out if you can. With the Wolf Among Us being released in parallel to this series and with the many side projects that Telltale just signed on, I guess the wait between episodes will be long and equally frustrating if you got engaged by this first one. Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    0
    This game is too overrated. Too many technical issues that Telltale or their hardcore fans don't address and the characters aren't well written. How much do you really know about Clementine? Plus, the choices you make don't make too much of a different. This Season of the game wasn't too good. Started off pretty slow. Expand

See all 98 User Reviews