Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 282 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound andTerminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound and smell. As Daryl, players will need to tread carefully throughout each new area they explore. Once discovered, it doesn’t take much to attract an unstoppable horde of undead walkers, so every threat needs to be assessed, and every situation analyzed. Players will have to choose between whether to stay and fight while risking a gruesome death or using stealth to avoid the undead. No place is truly safe for Daryl as he makes his way through the Georgia countryside in this new, post-apocalyptic world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Mar 28, 2013
    53
    I'd rather stick with zombie alternatives like Left 4 Dead, just because I can because in co-op play against the undead.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    45
    A handful of interesting (although poorly developed) ideas are the only bright spots in a game that disappoints in almost every possible way. Sadly, Terminal Reality offers one of the ugliest survival horror games ever.
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    40
    Though there are flashes of interesting ideas, none are fully realized and they are hidden behind a technically shoddy and boring shooter.
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    40
    It's not zombies you need worry about in the painfully dull The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct.
  5. May 13, 2013
    40
    None of its elements is done well enough. The combat system is primitive and slapdash, there’s practically just one enemy type with several skins and the level design based on simple greyish blocks is trivial. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.68]
  6. 38
    What’s frustrating is that Terminal Reality, whether you believe it or not, had laid the foundations for an extraordinary game. WD:SI includes all the activities that a decent zombie survival game should have. [May 2013]
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    20
    After the excellence of Telltale’s The Walking Dead, it’s clear that Survival Instinct is the weaker of this species.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 63
  2. Negative: 45 out of 63
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    To start off, this is no Telltale game so don't expect it to be. Once we got that out of the picture now lets actually look at the game. TheTo start off, this is no Telltale game so don't expect it to be. Once we got that out of the picture now lets actually look at the game. The game plays fairly well, although the one issue I have is that a lot of times that I hit a walker, it doesn't really feel like the hit connected. Other wise it's solid. Graphics aren't revolutionary but aren't bad either, Voice acting is great, combat for the most part works and it introduces good survival concepts. All in all it has its flaws but is still fun to play and a must have if you're a fan of the T.V series. Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    7
    The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is an enjoyable game that combines the claustrofobic feeling of being chased by walkers and the need toThe Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is an enjoyable game that combines the claustrofobic feeling of being chased by walkers and the need to scavenge in a good way, but the graphics are very dated and some issues keep the experience from its prime. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    5
    Honestly do not blame the company they were clearly rushed to push the title out to shelves before the season ended Alot of good ideas poorlyHonestly do not blame the company they were clearly rushed to push the title out to shelves before the season ended Alot of good ideas poorly executed like having people in your group but only being able to tell them to go look for stuff while you risk your life alone. Do not understand why it was build as 2 brothers surviving together and all u see is merle standing outside the mission zone. The water/food idea good but again poorly executed. Like the scavaging aspect AGAIN POORLY EXECUTED. Found myself running through majority of herds. The ability to choose your route is cool but should have been 2 endings 1for each route u took. BIGGEST GRIPE. You tell me I GET TO BE DARYL which is my favorite and lots of peoples fav. His signature weapon is what? THE CROSSBOW!....When do you get the crossbow....AFTER YOU BEAT THE ENTIRE GAME! Seriously!!! Co-op LESS BUGS and not being rushed so much would have gotten at 6or7 from me for at least trying to give us what you built the game up to be. for now A 5 OUT OF 1O & Lucky for it. Only positive is it is not 2 long has easy achievements for you hunters out there. and you do get some pretty bloody zombie kills and will get ur hands on a somewhat decent variety of melee weapons and slightly less variety of guns. UNTIL OF COURSE YOU BEAT THE GAME. cheap way to get replay value almost brought me to give them a 4 but To be honest a 5 to me means not total garbage & unplayable but not something i'd play multiple times over or recommend to people

    My youtube has tons of gaming videos some for walking dead to search SAME NAME AS THIS PROFILE thx and xbox live guys add me Bluntz4breakfas
    Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    It's like Day of the Dead (horrible zombie-game on Unreal engine 2), but with «updated» graphics (still looks horrible).
    The rush with which
    It's like Day of the Dead (horrible zombie-game on Unreal engine 2), but with «updated» graphics (still looks horrible).
    The rush with which game was made shows. It's glitchy as hell. Shallow and repetitive gameplay.
    Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    1
    this game really reminds me of the good old Medal of Honor on PS1, compass, graphics, it's almost the same, it would have been the best FPS inthis game really reminds me of the good old Medal of Honor on PS1, compass, graphics, it's almost the same, it would have been the best FPS in 1998 before Half-Life, now it's just garbage, the only good Walking Dead is from Telltale Games, this is complete waste of time, exactly like the tv show. Expand
  6. May 6, 2013
    1
    A game with some nice ideas but the developers totally it up. It's a horrible game with awful graphics and a bad KI. Although i only playedA game with some nice ideas but the developers totally it up. It's a horrible game with awful graphics and a bad KI. Although i only played the tutorial and the first mission i had to exit the game because it was too awful i would say it's a monotonous and boring game. Some ideas are really nice but the developers did not realise they're on the wrong way. 1 point for some good ideas but the implementation failed. Just a try to make money with the "Walking Dead" name. Poor! Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2014
    0
    The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is that game that rips off. it just lying to you making you think that you bought the walking dead seasionThe Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is that game that rips off. it just lying to you making you think that you bought the walking dead seasion 1. this game sucks. awful story and the graphics are bad for the wii u and ps3. on pc at least i can see fine. gameplay is so repetitive. one of the worst enemy AI every in gaming. the walking dead season 1 is just at 30$ and it was so much better than this disgusting 50$ generic ass game. that's why there are speed runs for this game on youtube. IN UNDER 45 MINUTES ! 4-5 M-I-N-U-T-E-S Expand

See all 63 User Reviews