Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 261 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound and smell. As Daryl, players will need to tread carefully throughout each new area they explore. Once discovered, it doesn’t take much to attract an unstoppable horde of undead walkers, so every threat needs to be assessed, and every situation analyzed. Players will have to choose between whether to stay and fight while risking a gruesome death or using stealth to avoid the undead. No place is truly safe for Daryl as he makes his way through the Georgia countryside in this new, post-apocalyptic world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Mar 28, 2013
    53
    I'd rather stick with zombie alternatives like Left 4 Dead, just because I can because in co-op play against the undead.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    45
    A handful of interesting (although poorly developed) ideas are the only bright spots in a game that disappoints in almost every possible way. Sadly, Terminal Reality offers one of the ugliest survival horror games ever.
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    40
    Though there are flashes of interesting ideas, none are fully realized and they are hidden behind a technically shoddy and boring shooter.
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    40
    It's not zombies you need worry about in the painfully dull The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct.
  5. May 13, 2013
    40
    None of its elements is done well enough. The combat system is primitive and slapdash, there’s practically just one enemy type with several skins and the level design based on simple greyish blocks is trivial. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.68]
  6. 38
    What’s frustrating is that Terminal Reality, whether you believe it or not, had laid the foundations for an extraordinary game. WD:SI includes all the activities that a decent zombie survival game should have. [May 2013]
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    20
    After the excellence of Telltale’s The Walking Dead, it’s clear that Survival Instinct is the weaker of this species.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 61
  2. Negative: 43 out of 61
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    To start off, this is no Telltale game so don't expect it to be. Once we got that out of the picture now lets actually look at the game. The game plays fairly well, although the one issue I have is that a lot of times that I hit a walker, it doesn't really feel like the hit connected. Other wise it's solid. Graphics aren't revolutionary but aren't bad either, Voice acting is great, combat for the most part works and it introduces good survival concepts. All in all it has its flaws but is still fun to play and a must have if you're a fan of the T.V series. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    I had accepted that it wasn't going to be good because of everyone on discussions but it's actually somewhat good.
    I witnessed no bugs
    whatsoever which is a good thing. I never dropped below 60fps with vsync on and everything maxed. EVGA 660.
    The storyline is good, the areas are well developed. The graphics aren't great but if you like the borderlands and telltale TWD art style then you'll like this.
    The back story doesn't dissapoint. We learn more about Daryl and Merle as I wanted.
    The ending, without spoiling anything, leads to the show. It shows how they came to be in Atlanta.
    Overall I'd give it a 7 out of 10. Skyrim being a 10, WarZ being a 1
    Expand
  3. Aug 2, 2013
    5
    Activision ponownie chciało zarobić na kurze znoszącej złote jaja. Wpakować popularną nazwę i zarabiać miliony, cóż nie zawsze to tak działa. Po pierwsze, słaba grafika, chodź to nawet nie grafika stanowi największego problemu. Strasznie nudny, monotonny, głupi model kampanii. Głupie, niedopracowane elementy survivalowe, bugi, niedopracowania. Już z daleka widać że gra była robiona na szybko. Na szczęście gra jakoś się ratuje. Jest rzeczywiście trudna, postawia na pewne ciekawe elementy survivalowe, i trochę ciekawiej pokazuje zombie niż w wielu innych grach. Moja ocena 5/10 Collapse
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    2
    The Kings of Cash-In have done it again. I seriously believe that this is what Activision has been reduced to: making bad games to cash in on licenses. This newest FPS cash in is very short so I will make this review short and spoiler free in regard. Walking Dead: Survival Instinct doesn't deserve $50 nor does it deserve $10. Survival Instinct is a complete disrespect to the license and its fans. On the PC version, you will experience horrendous frame rate drops from dated graphics that look like they could have been made for the PlayStation 2 and XBOX. A lazy story that ends abruptly with loose ends (though I seriously doubt Activision is going to release any DLC for this disaster). Terrible voice acting with some of the worst AI I've ever encountered because on five different occurrences, the Walkers in this game RAN....yes RAN!!! Also keep in mind that Terminal Reality is used the same engine that was used for Star Wars: Kinect. With that in mind you will experience badly timed QTEs and mini games that probably come from iPhone games and climbing mechanics straight out of Minecraft. If you are a fan of the series then stick with Telltale's version of The Walking Dead. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    1
    this game really reminds me of the good old Medal of Honor on PS1, compass, graphics, it's almost the same, it would have been the best FPS in 1998 before Half-Life, now it's just garbage, the only good Walking Dead is from Telltale Games, this is complete waste of time, exactly like the tv show. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    Awfull really bad, boring, killing moves are kinda cool but get very repative. I really think this is one game you avoid. I got it on xbox and brought it back to the shop after 1 hour. I love zombie games and The walking dead but this is just terrible. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    0
    Bad game if you really want to play it because you are a fan of the Tv show just watch some gameplay and cutscenes i couldn't bare much and gave in, horrible game.... Expand

See all 61 User Reviews