The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct Image
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 304 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound andTerminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound and smell. As Daryl, players will need to tread carefully throughout each new area they explore. Once discovered, it doesn’t take much to attract an unstoppable horde of undead walkers, so every threat needs to be assessed, and every situation analyzed. Players will have to choose between whether to stay and fight while risking a gruesome death or using stealth to avoid the undead. No place is truly safe for Daryl as he makes his way through the Georgia countryside in this new, post-apocalyptic world. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Walking Dead Debut Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Mar 28, 2013
    53
    I'd rather stick with zombie alternatives like Left 4 Dead, just because I can because in co-op play against the undead.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    45
    A handful of interesting (although poorly developed) ideas are the only bright spots in a game that disappoints in almost every possible way. Sadly, Terminal Reality offers one of the ugliest survival horror games ever.
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    40
    Though there are flashes of interesting ideas, none are fully realized and they are hidden behind a technically shoddy and boring shooter.
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    40
    It's not zombies you need worry about in the painfully dull The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct.
  5. CD-Action
    May 13, 2013
    40
    None of its elements is done well enough. The combat system is primitive and slapdash, there’s practically just one enemy type with several skins and the level design based on simple greyish blocks is trivial. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.68]
  6. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 5, 2013
    38
    What’s frustrating is that Terminal Reality, whether you believe it or not, had laid the foundations for an extraordinary game. WD:SI includes all the activities that a decent zombie survival game should have. [May 2013]
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    20
    After the excellence of Telltale’s The Walking Dead, it’s clear that Survival Instinct is the weaker of this species.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 65
  2. Negative: 46 out of 65
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    To start off, this is no Telltale game so don't expect it to be. Once we got that out of the picture now lets actually look at the game. TheTo start off, this is no Telltale game so don't expect it to be. Once we got that out of the picture now lets actually look at the game. The game plays fairly well, although the one issue I have is that a lot of times that I hit a walker, it doesn't really feel like the hit connected. Other wise it's solid. Graphics aren't revolutionary but aren't bad either, Voice acting is great, combat for the most part works and it introduces good survival concepts. All in all it has its flaws but is still fun to play and a must have if you're a fan of the T.V series. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    I had accepted that it wasn't going to be good because of everyone on discussions but it's actually somewhat good.
    I witnessed no bugs
    I had accepted that it wasn't going to be good because of everyone on discussions but it's actually somewhat good.
    I witnessed no bugs whatsoever which is a good thing. I never dropped below 60fps with vsync on and everything maxed. EVGA 660.
    The storyline is good, the areas are well developed. The graphics aren't great but if you like the borderlands and telltale TWD art style then you'll like this.
    The back story doesn't dissapoint. We learn more about Daryl and Merle as I wanted.
    The ending, without spoiling anything, leads to the show. It shows how they came to be in Atlanta.
    Overall I'd give it a 7 out of 10. Skyrim being a 10, WarZ being a 1
    Collapse
  3. Aug 2, 2013
    5
    Activision ponownie chciało zarobić na kurze znoszącej złote jaja. Wpakować popularną nazwę i zarabiać miliony, cóż nie zawsze to tak działa.Activision ponownie chciało zarobić na kurze znoszącej złote jaja. Wpakować popularną nazwę i zarabiać miliony, cóż nie zawsze to tak działa. Po pierwsze, słaba grafika, chodź to nawet nie grafika stanowi największego problemu. Strasznie nudny, monotonny, głupi model kampanii. Głupie, niedopracowane elementy survivalowe, bugi, niedopracowania. Już z daleka widać że gra była robiona na szybko. Na szczęście gra jakoś się ratuje. Jest rzeczywiście trudna, postawia na pewne ciekawe elementy survivalowe, i trochę ciekawiej pokazuje zombie niż w wielu innych grach. Moja ocena 5/10 Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    It's like Day of the Dead (horrible zombie-game on Unreal engine 2), but with «updated» graphics (still looks horrible).
    The rush with which
    It's like Day of the Dead (horrible zombie-game on Unreal engine 2), but with «updated» graphics (still looks horrible).
    The rush with which game was made shows. It's glitchy as hell. Shallow and repetitive gameplay.
    Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    1
    this game really reminds me of the good old Medal of Honor on PS1, compass, graphics, it's almost the same, it would have been the best FPS inthis game really reminds me of the good old Medal of Honor on PS1, compass, graphics, it's almost the same, it would have been the best FPS in 1998 before Half-Life, now it's just garbage, the only good Walking Dead is from Telltale Games, this is complete waste of time, exactly like the tv show. Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2015
    1
    2013 title with game engine from 2004 that was un-optimised for the PC platform the graphical detail would have been fine but hell the2013 title with game engine from 2004 that was un-optimised for the PC platform the graphical detail would have been fine but hell the performance for that detail was shocking on any machine, The price is way out of what the category of this game is, Interaction and handling probably has something to do with CONSOLIFICATION PORTING etc Bad mess of crap

    DON'T BUY THIS
    Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2014
    0
    The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is that game that rips off. it just lying to you making you think that you bought the walking dead seasionThe Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is that game that rips off. it just lying to you making you think that you bought the walking dead seasion 1. this game sucks. awful story and the graphics are bad for the wii u and ps3. on pc at least i can see fine. gameplay is so repetitive. one of the worst enemy AI every in gaming. the walking dead season 1 is just at 30$ and it was so much better than this disgusting 50$ generic ass game. that's why there are speed runs for this game on youtube. IN UNDER 45 MINUTES ! 4-5 M-I-N-U-T-E-S Expand

See all 65 User Reviews