User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3564 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 20, 2011
    1
    Terrible and booring game.. i want my money back :( Optimize in this game is not good, typical port from console. Animations and controls is really bad.
  2. May 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best game i've ever play.
    I think this is the best game in this decade. (no, sorry the witcher 2 will be better^^)
    The Witcher 2 has very good plot and combat system.
    I recommend that game for every player who like RPG games
  3. May 20, 2011
    10
    I haven't played all the way through obviously, but so far everything is great. Graphics are amazing, combat is fun and challenging. Easily ten times better than either Dragon Age one ore Dragon Age two.
  4. May 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This definitely is Game of the Year 2011. The single best RPG I have played since Planescape: Torment. The characters are deep and complex, the storyline develops depending on your actions and choices. It takes what was good from every single RPG released in the last 15 years and makes it into something better. The graphics are simply the best ever seen in an RPG. Expand
  5. May 20, 2011
    1
    Bad performance bad dialogues tried it for 5 minutes and uninstalled it.
    Had finished the first witcher which was just an okay game.To be honest i didnt expect to be thrilled or excited with this sequel..My curiosity ended I am only suprised to see many to like this game and same people mentioning DA2 as there is a competition or it matters..Maybe the soft porn in witcher series is exciting
  6. May 20, 2011
    8
    un rpg a la vieja escuela q no defraudara a nadie asi no te guste el genero, serio candidato a juego del año el cual dudo q pueda ser superado por sus competidores en juegos de rol, creo que solo Dark Soul podra estar a la altura de este..
  7. May 20, 2011
    10
    OK, maybe this is a little off topic. But why in hell didn't IGN and Gamespot review it the very first day it was released? Whilst lame but corporate-supported Dragon Age 2 gets a top-notch review the very first moment it hits shelves? Do you thin you damn idiots that this masterpiece of a game will get its sales hampered just because of your bribed asses? Not to mention the idiotic 1/10 user reviews...

    Anyway - the game is the best thing that ever happened to us since Arcanum. Nuff said.
    Expand
  8. May 21, 2011
    10
    In one word: GOTY. This is an awesome piece of art: gameplay, graphics and story are all on extremely high levels... simply wonderful. I think it is one of the best RPG of all time.
    Everyone who like RPGs should (i'd rather say "must") buy and play this game.

    @ bioware trolls/fanboys: you are ridiculous: stop whining and trolling, DA2 is an epic fail, while TW2 will probably be a GOTY.
  9. May 21, 2011
    10
    Best RPG game ever, definitely candidate to GOTY 2011!! I can't say any bad word about it its truly masterpiece. This game have a soul!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  10. May 20, 2011
    10
    I've played many RPGs in my life, and The Witcher 2 is one of the best! This game has attitude, and is challenging, with both a strong story and awesome graphics. Its also very immersive, because of the attention to detail and love of the game clearly shown by the developer. If you buy any game in 2011, this would be the one. I sincerely hope other game developers learn from this . . .

    - Tim
    Expand
  11. May 20, 2011
    10
    Mature, intense, non-linear story, what else do you need? Well, the combat mechanics are a vast improvement over the first Witcher. However, mind you, the combat is extremely difficult, although realistic. A few swings from a swordsman can kill you, easily. I'm not going to dwell too much into the game, you have play it, but, so far, this is Game Of The Year. Skyrim might steal that crown, but then again, Skyrim is a completely different game; sure both are RPG, but the mature, gritty nature of the Witcher is not comparable to the more fantasy-like characteristics of the Elder Scrolls.

    Again, non-linear, mature story; difficult, but excellent combat system; 4 beginnings, 16 different endings, over 40 hours of gameplay, plus the developer has officially announced that the upcoming DLCs will be absolutely free of charge, there's really no excuse to not pick this one up if your an RPG fan. This game is one of the greatest of 2011, BioWare and Bethesda should take some notes.
    Expand
  12. May 20, 2011
    10
    Even better than the 1st one...epic game, for me this is the best game of the year(2011)..greatest RPG ever.! Amazing graphics for this kind of game, stunning experience and nice story...enjoyable smooth gaming...!!!
  13. May 20, 2011
    10
    2 words.Perfect game...........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  14. May 20, 2011
    10
    Finally I've played the game which make me really happy because of knowing that I live in Geralt's world full of intrigues and betrayds. Story? Amazing. Graphic? Spectacular. Combat system? Hard and really epic. Fun? For 200% ;)
    That's how the RPGs should look like and I hope it will be Game of the Year 2011.
    PS. Dragon Age, Mass Effect? Not any more.
    10/10
  15. May 20, 2011
    9
    Awesome game, a little on the tough side (which is fine with me) but I take off one point for the horrid quick time events, it might be just me, but I can't stand them. Otherwise awesome game :)
  16. May 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This definitely my candidate for Game of the Year 2011.. The best accion rpg... no drm and Free DLC.

    Bioware fanboys rating this down xD .. My candidate for Game of the Year 2011. 10.0 asdasdsaddsada
    Expand
  17. May 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely breathtaking game, that constantly keeps you interested and immersed within the game world to such a degree that even while your not playing it, your thinking about it! I haven't encountered a game that is as addictive and graphically stunning as this and hopefully it will be a new benchmark for future games to meet. Aside from the graphics, the content within the game itself is top-notch, not just the main quest but also the side-quests as everything builds up into one large adventure. The voice acting and dialogue is up there with the best, but one thing pushes this game infront of the others. That is the amount of choices you, as a player are overwhelmed with throughout the game. You may be like me and spend as much time in your inventory screen as you do when deciding which option to pick in an important conversation. The combat has a fairly steep learning curve which in my opinion is a positive aspect of the game, considering that it actually feels like a challenge and not one of those games you can just hack and slash your way through without much care and it also adds to the replayability (not just the 16 different endings). Once you gain the hang of it you'll be smiling as you send the limbs of your opponents flying off into a pool of blood with some awsome swordplay. For me this game has rekindled my love for the RPG genre and PC games in general. A definate favourite for the year and look foward to the free DLC.
    One bit of advice..... pick it up if you haven't, definatley a game thats worth the dolla!
    Expand
  18. May 21, 2011
    9
    This review score is coming from a console-only player, this game is amazing. I can play it on my with my Xbox 360 controller, and it even changes over the tutorial to include all the appropriate Xbox face buttons, shoulder buttons, etc.! the graphics and the sound design are definitely top notch, and so is the story. my only gripe is the combat is slightly unresponsive at times, and even on normal difficutly I die quite often. Overall this game is amazing and you should play it blah blah, i hope they bring it to the Xbox soon. Expand
  19. May 21, 2011
    10
    One of the best cRPG game I've played since I had a PC in 1995. Story is so deep maybe only Planescape: Torment can match it. Maybe. Graphic is something you just have to see: so far more complex places I've only seen in the real mountains in the real world. What the engine shows us is simply breathtaking. This is an absolute MUST-HAVE for anyone who likes RPG genre.
  20. May 21, 2011
    10
    Really nice game. I've never seen something better. It's just perfect! I think that it'd to be a game of this year. If you have not bought it you should repent
  21. May 21, 2011
    9
    One of the best RPG I have ever played. Fantastic graphics, engaging combat (albeit a bit too difficult, but that's good for me) and a wonderful story.
  22. May 21, 2011
    10
    The Masterpiece. One of few games that make me forget that its just a game. I stop thinking about game mechanics - scripts, triggers, what will the game do if I do something. Detailed game world took me in completely. Thats how games are done and I hope other developers already see the long road before them :)
    Also I like very much that game doesn't treat me like a retarded kid. It's nice
    to see that developer's goal was the quality, not earnings.
    Im glad I could pay them for this game!

    PS. If Witcher 2 is so excellent, I simply cant imagine Witcher 3 :)
    Expand
  23. May 21, 2011
    9
    If you love gorgeous engrossive environments, characters with rich backgrounds and well fleshed out dialog, quests with multiple paths to take allowing for you to carve your own version of a hero and a dynamic combat system that requires precison planning and preparation before you head into the fray, The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings is for you.

    Built from the ground up with an enirelyly
    new (and incredibly advanced) engine, The team at CD Projekt have come into their own with this masterpiece - that makes such works as Bioware's Dragon Age pale in comparison.

    At launch, it does have a few teething problems, and this was to be anticipated - but with an easy patching system built into the launcher and a promise that all future DLC will be absolutely FREE for players, CD Projekt have excelled even Bioware with this iteration.

    This is definately one to buy!
    Expand
  24. May 21, 2011
    10
    This is the real role playing game. You play the role of Geralt, monster slayer and it is so well done that you really feel as a witcher. This feeling of immersion is the greatest accomplishment of the game and you can see everywhere the work, which was done to give you that immersion. The characters, dialogs, living people, beautiful environments - all of that in other RPG games up to date seems shallow compared to the Witcher.

    The combat system is challenging though, and at the beginning the fights a little too difficult, and at the end a little too easy. But firstly - you play as a witcher, so you should have a skill for slaying monsters - and during the game you feel more and more being Geralt so in second half of the game you should be a killing machine - and you are. Secondly, if you don't like learning combat by Save&Load I recommend for the Prologue switching difficulty level to Easy, and in the 1st Act switching it to Normal.

    All in all, the game is great. It gives you a great adventure, great story and a great, believable world to discover. And it doesn't feel as you were watching movie because you have to make difficult choices constantly and your actions really are meaningful. So if you want the best RPG game, you have it here - some minor glitches don't spoil the experience at all.
    Expand
  25. May 22, 2011
    10
    This game will be GOTY for sure. Best RPG I have ever played. Story is amazing and nonlinear, realistic choices, graphics looks awesome. I cant understood guys, who gives that games "0". And free DLC!
  26. May 21, 2011
    10
    WOW, the butthurt Bioware fans..

    I haven't even played this game to it's full extent, but I like it, but seriously guys? Don't just vote 10 on DA2 then 0 on Witcher 2, NO ONE likes fan boys.
  27. May 21, 2011
    9
    One of the best RPG's I have ever played. The games combat does take some getting used to, in the early hours of the game you are faced with fairly large groups of enemies and the tutorial tips are not very helpful.

    However once you get into the swing of things, it really starts to make sense. Personally i like the more difficult combat its refreshing. In a lot of games recently you can
    just run into a bunch of enemies and wave your sword around like crazy with little consequence.
    This is not the case with The Witcher 2, to defeat packs of enemies you usually need to use everything in your arsenal, traps, signs, dodging, potions, oils etc...

    This game is very re-playable as there are many choices throughout the game and often the consequences are not realised until later in the story. Most of the choices you make are not very "black and white" It is very engaging.

    The story is pretty mature, I wouldn't recommend this game for a younger audience. Not only because of the sexual scenes in the game but also because the story is quite political.

    The graphics are simply amazing, CDProject Red has done an amazing job crafting the locations. There are slight issues with graphical problems at the moment, for example the shadows on my game have some weird dithering effect but i expect it will be sorted out in patches.
    Obviously these high graphics mean you will probably only be buying this game if you have a good graphics card, the game still pretty good on low settings however.

    All in all, an amazing game with a combat system that requires some thought about the fight beforehand and crazy through the roof production values.
    A must buy for any hardcore PC gamer in my opinion.
    Expand
  28. May 21, 2011
    10
    Complex storyline, engaging detailed world, what more could you ask for in an rpg? Some minor problems with item and target selection but nothing too distracting.
  29. May 28, 2011
    7
    The Witcher 2 is an ambitious game that regretfully doesn't deliver a compelling experience on all fronts. It's a fantastic looking game and the story is excellent, the character development, dialogue and player choices are also great. I'd love to give this an eight or nine but it's simply not justified. Standing between you and what should be an immersive and brilliant game-world is a sub-optimal UI/menu system, poor interation model and frustrating combat mechanism. I'm having trouble forgiving the design flaws and it's a real shame, the Witcher 1 was a great game despite it's flaws - the Witcher 2 is only a passable one because of them. I was close to giving it an eight, after all it's an amazing achievement for a small studio such as CDPR, but it's not the scope that is lacking a or vision that hasn't quite been realised - it's the fundemental elements of a computer game that aren't particularly workable and these should have been nailed. Expand
  30. May 21, 2011
    9
    The Witcher 2 utilises a combination of factors to deliver a compelling game, with a solid central story fleshed out via the numerous side-quests. Whilst flawed in places, the undercurrent of excellent game-play decisions make for both a unique and compelling experience. To go into detail about this game's downsides - this game requires a somewhat beefy PC to run at a solid 30 frames per second. The narrative of the game can jar a little at times. The original series of books by Andrzej Sapkowski is a combination of complex politics and quite a few jokes inside a largely serious world that combines a medieval setting with references to far more modern science, and this has been transplanted into the game and can catch you unaware. The game does not walk you through the tutorial, and does expect you to read a large amount of text to grasp the game's concepts. The Witcher 2 centres around Geralt of Rivia - a "Witcher" - a genetically enhanced warrior with access to useful magic and potion-crafting. Geralt is refreshing as an RPG hero who is well defined by both narrative and game-play. One of the game's under-sung strengths is that the developers did not use the Bioware trick of repetitive good/evil options, yet the options in conversation do frequently give you the chance to change the conversation, or to attempt various risky strategies inside those conversations (one of these, comparable to Jedi Mind Tricks, is exceptionally fun to pull off). To give an early example - on confronted with his jailer, who makes a joke at his expense, the player is offered the chance to take the joke in good or bad humour. In my play-through, I selected "Very funny" - the bad humoured response - and Geralt instead replied **** you". Whilst coarse, this really sets up the character who you have only just been introduced to as someone who gets blunt when he's angry. There's numerous more events like this in the game, and this underlines the storytelling skill of this game's writers. Combat is certainly the Witcher's weakest area of core gameplay, but it nonetheless is a solid experience. The combat is sometimes reminiscent of Assassin's Creed 2, but with more technical skill required. Geralt has access to his magic in combat, but by no means is the magic overbearing, rather really acting as tricks to even the odds in large fights. Like Assassin's Creed 2, their is an underlying current of block-and-punish. Unlike Assassin's Creed 2, the blocking is limited and certainly not instant. A badly timed sword swing cannot be rectified easily, and Geralt can be punished in turn. This matters because Geralt is not endlessly popping potions to stay upright - potions can only be drunk in a meditative state prior to combat, and they're more about buff/debuff than your typical tropes of red healing potions and blue mana potions. This helps reinforce the realism of the fight, and prevents Geralt from looking like an unstoppable death machine, or your typical RPG hero that thinks nothing of drinking an entire keg of health potions whilst fighting. Enemies are still relevant and still need to be fought legitimately. This makes the game hard, and prior to the player getting to grips with the combat it's in fact very hard, yet far more involving and rewarding than a great many other RPG combat systems. Like much of the rest of the game, this involving and narrative-reinforcing style is the very best thing about it. To summarise - this game is the most significant PC game this year, and possibly one of the most important RPGs across all platforms. If you have the PC to run it, go pick it up. 9/10. Expand
  31. May 21, 2011
    10
    Best RPG I've played in a LONG time. The story is great, and this is real Dark Fantasy. The graphics are flawless, but what the game really excels at is the living world it places you in. Every part of the forest, cities, caves are alive, the cities especially. The is incredibly scored, the mix of different music styles is great. The combat system takes some getting used to, starting out it can be unforgiving at times even on normal. You can't just hack n slash, but once you learn to use your spells and attacks in tandem it's very fun. There are a few bugs, as there are with any games, but you hardly notice or mind them because the game is that good. CDPR just raised the bar as far as RPGs go. Hopefully others will take the challenge and we'll see a string or great RPGs in the future. Expand
  32. May 21, 2011
    10
    This is simply the best RPG I've ever played on PC if not even the best RPG of all time, anyone with a PC should play this game.. this is truly the "game of the year" of 2011 without a doubt.. 10/10
  33. May 21, 2011
    10
    If HBO made a CRPG, it would be The Witcher 2. A wonderfully realized and textured dark fantasy world, with colorful adult dialogue that transcends the juvenile fare in many rpgs, reminiscent of "A Game of Thrones". Difficult decisions with no simple "good/bad" path spamming, have consequences felt down the road all through the game. Truly beautiful graphics with dynamic real time combat that will see you flying around the battlefield dispatching foes with a dizzying array of lethal moves. Minor difficulty scaling issues can make some earlier parts of the game more challenging than they should be, but it wont be long before the game is making you feel like a true grandmaster of lethal, magically augmented swordplay.

    RPG of the year, hands down.
    Expand
  34. May 21, 2011
    10
    From a Roleplayer's point of view this game definitely is everything Dragon Age 2 should have been. Where DA2 was - by far - the most disappointing title of the last couple of years, the Witcher 2 is - by far - the best RPG-title I've played since Dragon Age - Origins. And I think it will stay that way for a long time, cuz' it's absolutely brilliant. I'm actually pretty much surprised by the fact that there are a few Negative User reviews at all. Either those come from envious DA2-programmers (they did it before *grin*), or they are written by folks who expected a brainless hack'n'slasher with a low-complexity-storyline like DA2. In the latter case, the game is nit to be blamed, but the person who bought the game. I also read one particular review written by a frustrated player whose PC couldn't handle the game's hardware-requirements. Again, don't blame the game but blame yourself. My system is three years old by now, but I'm running Witcher 2 on 'High'-settings without any problem at all. Conclusion : best game of 2011 so far, and of the best all-time-RPGs. I already wonder if Skyrim will be able to equal this RPG-jewel. Expand
  35. May 21, 2011
    10
    Okay, seriously, must I make an account on here to contribute to the troll fight? Honestly, guys.. come on.. judging by the sheer immaturity of all these 0-1 reviews I have to assume you are either 12, a seriously butthurt fan or, even worse, someone employed by EA/Bioware. Let me tell you.. I have played and enjoyed EVERY bioware game that ever came out, and, freakishly enough, even DA2 had its moments.. but honestly.. let's just admit it.. from a hardcore RPG-ers point of view it's a sad, rushed and recycled game, which claws its way to a 7/10 at best through a couple of clever dialogues and one decent party member. Now why this would be so hard to accept that you have to troll the scores of a game which is clearly superior in EVERY aspect, as pretty much agreed on by every non-biased professional reviewer out there is beyond me.. but just stop, please.. you're only embarrassing yourselves. Expand
  36. May 21, 2011
    10
    Extraordinary beautiful scenery, story is mature and game play, while not perfect, is highly enjoyable! TW2 is a real RPG game with huge amount of possibilities, "realistic" NPCs, complex choices that has real consequences on the story. A+++
  37. May 21, 2011
    9
    Finally, a story-driven game that delivers a complete story-based experience, rather than just a plot line and some well developed characters , stuffed haphazardly into the framework of a game.

    Graphically, the game is simply gorgeous, and highlights what can be done with a top of the line card these days. The music is solid and sets the tone of the game play well without being so
    intrusive that it makes me stop what I'm doing just to listen (or to turn it off in the case of games with musical scores that I don't particularly enjoy). The characters I've met so far have been engaging and believable, but my highest praise so far is reserved for the world itself: The world of The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings simply breathes life, and the attention to detail that has gone into it makes everything built upon that world so much more compelling. The graphics are a part of that, but with respect to soldiers being rallied by their King or merely siting by the fire and chatting each other up, all the way to the in-game cut-scenes which show an interrogator pouring a drink, complete with animations, there doesn't appear to be any aspect of this game that has been cut down for the sake of convenience. As far as story-telling in the gaming medium goes, this game is unsurpassed. No longer just plot points strung together by filler combat, this game shows the true potential of gaming as a vehicle for escapism and engagement like no other game in the last 10 years.

    Compared to The Witcher, combat in the sequel has also been refined, the result being more engaging than simply waiting for the string of attacks to end before clicking to add another link to the chain. However, while it is more immediate, there are not so many moves for the player to make that it becomes a frantic button-masher. Timing your parries and rolls (and yes, there is a lot of rolling... perhaps too much for my taste, exciting though it can be at times), as well as making judicious use of Signs, is crucial in this game, but success hinges upon a player identifying and reacting to the styles of attacks (and defenses) used by enemies, rather than on the mechanical style of the first game. In other words: You've got to pay attention to how your enemies are attacking, rather than focus solely on what your Geralt is doing.

    The one true criticism I have for this game so far lies with the quick time events. Frantically right-clicking in response to a mouse-icon on the screen to winch an arbalest, or waiting for the appropriate letter key to begin flashing on the screen during a boxing match, adds little to the experience and nothing to the story, and hearkens back to the emphasis on mechanics, rather than characterization or story (or "immersion", or however you want to label it), that was prevalent in the first game in this franchise.

    Beyond that, however, lies a true gem of PC Gaming, and one that no fan of the genre should miss. But for my own belief that no game is or ever can be perfect, this is surely have been the game that would have earned that score from me.
    Expand
  38. May 21, 2011
    10
    Finished this game, was never able to finish BG, DA, ME, NWN or any other RPG's since Deus Ex. Every one of them gets boring after 50% story. Now onto 2nd play-through.
  39. May 21, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest RPGs of this year so far, Great storyline and good use of decisions to affect the outcome of certain effects, Excellent beautiful graphics and memorable characters, Good side quests keeps things interesting and a good selection of weapons and armor.
  40. May 21, 2011
    9
    I have played this game into the second chapter and while I've run into a few fights that were pretty tough I have no complaints, the game runs smoothly and is absolutely beautiful to look at, the sweeping vistas and grand scale are marvelous, the game play mechanics are easy to master and soon your lobbing bombs and using fire signs with the best of them.

    The characters are well
    portrayed, voiced and animated, the side quests are fun and varied (I love beating people up bare knuckle style so I'm glad that's still in the game) and the NPC's aren't as annoying as they are in other games.

    If your like your Rpg's immersive, fun, mature and beautifully made then the Witcher 2 has everything you need.
    Expand
  41. May 22, 2011
    10
    Very good game, good story, believable and likable characters, Great graphics and gameplay. Few minor glitches here and there but are only small and do not matter. I find the environment in which you play immerses you into the game very well, hearing mutters of a conversation as you walk past etc I will definitely play through again and again. Normally not much of an RPG fan, but this game has surely gotten my attention. I do not understand these people giving it a bad review, either they've got such a crappy system that they cant run it or are bioware nuts or just down right idiotic. This game takes the cake in the RPG genre Expand
  42. May 21, 2011
    10
    An amazing game.
    A game for people that don't need their hands held when they think they need to pee.
    A mature game with grey decisions that have real consequences for the player.
    A mix of control styles for different events.
    Fascinating enemies, huge beautiful areas. (Not the same tiny little zones re-used multiple times)
  43. TMT
    May 21, 2011
    10
    This game should get Bioware worried, maybe it already did if you look at the few over the top negative comments here. The Witcher 2 leaves the original Dragonage behing and Dragonage 2 is not coming even close. Please Bioware get your act together, you've been my number 1 game company in the world. But now my vote goes to CDProject & Withcer 2. Enough said.
  44. May 25, 2011
    8
    I am both amazed at the improvements to Geralt's virtual world as I am disappointed in the new combat system. I was a big fan of The Witcher, and I am learning to enjoy The Witcher 2. The Witcher had me from the first hour of play. The Witcher 2 does not have the same magic, IMHO. I'm sure the forthcoming patch will improve things. Kudos to everything but the dumbed down console style play. The latter along with weakening the character does not make for a great for a better game. The authors should have stuck to PC or programmed a separate track for PC. Still entertaining. Expand
  45. May 22, 2011
    10
    Game looks absolutely fantastic... Great writing... The well narrated non-linear story.. Nice... very nice... I'm love it :) Well done CD Projekt Red !!!!!!
  46. May 22, 2011
    10
    I'v finished the game on hard level. My system is Win7 64. Game never crashed, tiny bug in inventory (bombs in slot). I bouth my computer 1yr ago and im playing on high options and it goes fluently (without camera mblur). Its beautiful game, great story, characters and plot. I reccomend it to everyone.
  47. May 22, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic game. In having played many since Neverwinter Nights through Oblivion and Dragon Age 1&2 this is a great game. Its got a substantial story unlike just a good game like Mass Effect. The books around it are weak as they are around Dragon Age. These characters have a real feel of depth and richness and cruelty. The issues are complex. Some bits are really hard to get through and some battles a true effort. The gameplay is a delight and the graphics fantastic and fast. Its a pleasure not to have endless decisions about what is the character like. Its excellent value. Expand
  48. May 22, 2011
    10
    This game is very good RPG. Beautiful history and super graphics, interesting quests, super gameplay and wonderful atmosphere makes it extremely. CD Project Red, good job!
  49. May 22, 2011
    9
    Stunning graphics, mature story, good and challenging combat system(which still need some fine tuning), choices that are not obvious, plot paths leading to different locations depending on your decisions, all things considered witcher 2 is probably biggest positive supprise of 2011(negative one being DA2 probably), if you love rpgs you must try it..
  50. May 22, 2011
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal game, made â
  51. May 22, 2011
    10
    In the past few years, RPG fans have begun to worry that their favorite genre is becoming watered down, using recent games like Fable 3 and Dragon Age 2 as evidence. The Witcher 2 breaths new life into the genre. Tactical combat, convincing dialogue, towering boss fights and an intriguing narrative separate this ambitious game from it's competition. If Bethesda's RPGs are the pinnacle of freedom, then CD Projekt Red may just have displaced Bioware as the pinnacle of RPG narrative. Does the future of the RPG genre lie, not in America or Japan, but Europe? The Witcher 2 certainly presents a strong argument for this. Expand
  52. May 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I started to play RPG games as a child and I have experienced a lot. I can say that The Witcher 2 is my favourite RPG game of ALL TIME. Graphics, story-line, battle system, characters, music - everything is perfect. I hadn't had so much fun playing for a long time... After I have finished the game, I've started the game again, now on hard difficulty. TW2 ROCKS!! Expand
  53. May 22, 2011
    10
    A great piece of a RPG here. Combat is difficult at first look but when you get into it, it will you reward you with a lot of satisfaction (I`m playing on hard difficulty). It`s not simple hack and slash, you need to think a lot and use all the stuff you have with you to be successful. World and environment are beautiful. Thanks to the new Red Engine graphics will blow your mind if set on high/ultra. But the ultimate flow of this game is the story. I couldn`t stop myself from playing just to see what will happen next. I hadn`t such feeling from times of Planescape Torment and Baldurs Gate. It`s sad to see games like that so rare now days. Recommended for every true ROLE playing gamer out there. P.S. Game has some minor issues but most of them will be patched soon I believe. Expand
  54. May 22, 2011
    3
    The Witcher 2's world is interesting. Yet as it is playing this game is a chore. Technical issues kill the immersion while an awkward UI make the most mundane things painful. You may grind through it for the story's sake. But this won't be pleasant.

    The story's guiding word is 'disillusionment'. The Witcher 2's world is a hard, complicated place to live in. Death is commonplace, little
    exists in the way of values and survival is key. Few people want to do good, and even when they do seldom are there clear cut alternatives. There are meaningful choices to be made, with interesting (if grim) consequences. But the game makes enjoying the story very, very hard.

    The interface is awkward. Picking objects up or speaking to characters forces you to painstakingly position your character, point at things with a sluggish cursor. This is how you'll spend 90% of the time in the game. Think "washing the dishes" level of fun.

    Combat has potential, totally squandered. The system is both action oriented and tactical. Hard. But the character is stiff and awkward. You press a button and find yourself checking whether it's actually executed (I'm pressing the parry button but is this the parry stance or not?), or press one to be completely surprised by the result (accidental target switch, jumping into the middle of a group of enemies... or no action at all). You constantly die due to some random action you didn't want. Seldom do you actually make a mistake in any other sense. Makes you feel clumsy and irritated.

    The game's performance is uneven, and generally bad. Lowering the settings to a level where 90% of the game gets you 30 fps won't prevent random stuttering. This kills all immersion, especially since this often happens during cutscenes.

    All this makes The Witcher 2 a hard game to enjoy. I feel as if it was a prototype of something really nice. If you're the person who loves a new gadget and doesn't care that it doesn't work half the time, and is a pain to use anyhow - go ahead.
    Expand
  55. May 22, 2011
    10
    I didn't play much in the last few years simply because of the fact that there wasn't a game that could keep me entertained for a long time. Luckily it has changed due to W2. There are no words that can describe how good the game is: the plot, graphics and music are very well combined together. It's like in the old times when games where created for gamers by gamers and not only to bring profits selling weak products. Don't hesitate and buy W2, you won't regret it. And BTW, good job CDProjekt ! Expand
  56. May 22, 2011
    10
    this game is an absolute masterpiece...i have cried because it is that awesome....the beginning can be a little hard for noobs, since the game doesn't hold your hand in any way. Combat is challenging, voice acting is top notch, specially for the main characters. The other npcs's could use a little animation work, but who cares, because once you get into the cities you will be blown away. I cried when I got to Vergen. You thought Orzammar was nice in Origins? wait till you see a real dwarven city. Bioware, learn you stuff...in terms of decision making and story, you do not hold a candle to the witcher 2. The music, it is one of the most breathtaking pieaces you will hear in any game. It is not a ripoff of Lord of the rings, or some this like that like dragon age. The world is a living masterpiece. From npc's to birds, to the level of detail which, i dare say, looks dx11 sometimes. In terms of graphics, this game destroys crysis 2 and sometimes even crsysis 1. If you have the pc to run it, like I do, consider yourself lucky to be playing such a beautiful game. I am almost done with chapter 2, and the build up, is one of the most rewarding experiences in any game. The witcher 2, is now, my GOTY choice and it will stay like that, because no bioware game will ever come close to this, ever. Expand
  57. May 22, 2011
    10
    It is grotesque how fanboys trying to discredit this great and beautiful game! Jealousy .... jealousy:)
    Now the trick they played in TW1. And they say "Oh yeah, I played in TW1. The Witcher 2 is much worse .... etc That I'm disappointed .. blah ... blah blah ... I will give only 1"
    Blah .. blah .. blah ... Really poor game play are rated higher. People do not be ridiculous! This game is
    the worst case can be evaluated on the 7th Oh .. no, rather, on the 8th This is the truth! You know it! You should be ashamed!
    And something about the game - is so great that it will defend itself.

    It is much better than DA2. Who knows, you might be better than Skyrim. I still do not know ... but I know TW2 is unique.
    Expand
  58. May 22, 2011
    10
    This is a truly awesome game, one of the best cRPGs, I've ever played. I was sucked in from the beginning and simply cannot stop playing. The dialogues are the strongest part of that game. I laughed a lot! Action oriented game play is also something fresh in this genre. I enjoyed killing monsters and the bad guys a lot.
  59. May 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best game ever. I never play such a good rpg since BG2. This game have everything. Realistic world, nice graphics.I love geralt and CD projekt.

    Realy good work. Thx
    Expand
  60. May 22, 2011
    10
    game of the year, rpg of the year...bioware is jealous and they cant handle how amazing this game is...as far as i am concerned, bioware is dead for pc gamers, and all hail the new king! phuck you bioware!
  61. May 23, 2011
    9
    First things first. The whole atmosphere is fascinating, the story couldn't be better, the characters are believable, the synch is more or less ok. This game is a must buy category you cant miss it. But there are some drawbacks also. The combat system is a mess especially the targeting system. If you are about to look around in combat to see how many dudes are going to hit your back the targeting system screws up and starts jumping between all characters and tags the farest. It wouldnt be the ultimate problem but if you move your mouse just little it switches target. The boss fights are also a little too challenging. But it worths your many anyway. Just dont be too disappointed with the ending. Expand
  62. May 28, 2011
    7
    I finished the game last night for the first time and I have to say I'm disappointed. Last night I completed Act III AND the Epilogue. Yes, they are short enough to complete in one night, about 2.5 hrs in fact. What happened CDProject? Did you run out of money? Time? Enthusiasm? The ending is piss-poor. The story is such a huge build up, the King has been killed, all other lands will be fighting over the Kingdom, we have to find the Kingslayer. Then at the end, nothing. Nothing is resolved. You get a cut-scene where a few people are talking, you have a bit of a fight then that's it. The Epilogue is you finding the Kingslayer. And even selecting every conversation option it only lasts 5 minutes. You get a crafting diagram for some really good armour but you only get to wear it for 5 minutes. You get a crafting diagram for a really good silver sword but you don't get the final ingredient until the very end of Act III but there's no one round to make it so what's the point? Unless the free DLC's that CDProject keep going on about extend the end of the game and aren't just some stupid additional quests that last about an hour, then CDProject turned this game from GOTY material into just another good RPG. Which is a real shame as up to the end of Act II it's amazing and deserves 10/10. So disappointing. I give it 7.5/10. I think a lot of these reviews are over-generous. And that's probably because a lot of them haven't played it through to the end yet. Oh well, guess I'll go back to the Witcher 1. Expand
  63. May 23, 2011
    10
    I find it very strange that aslkaz has written the exact same review for the Witcher 2 and Dragon Age 2, just changed a few words here and there? In both of the reviews he says the game is rubbish and you should get the other one instead. Yet he has only given The Witcher 2 a 2 rating and Dragon Age 2 a 4 rating? Weird. I think someone is trying to rile up the natives.

    Anyway, this
    game is brilliant. The combat is better than in the first one as it is more intuitive. The graphics are amazing. Conversation options really help you to get into the story, I find myself doing 'just one more quest' before turning off my pc. I'm really enjoying the fact that you can change all Geralts clothing this time round and you can also make a lot of really good stuff. Anybody who is having problems with the weight limit, their is a fix you can download off the web which reduces all timber, iron, cloth, etc to 0.1 instead of 1. I found the link on gog.com.

    I like the fact that you can eradicate monsters from an area this time round by destroying their nests. You feel like you are really doing something to help the locals rather than just 'kill drowner, rinse and repeat' ad infinitum.

    I'm finding it very hard to make some of the big decisions, guess I'm just going to have to play it through a few times! There are 4 beginnings and 16 endings so plenty of replay value.

    I would urge you to get this game, you won't regret it.

    As a side note, I have nad no problems installing and running this game. Installation and online certification went smoothly, downloaded a small patch and installed, downloaded the Troll DLC and my free pre-order bonus with no problem. Have been playing now for 30+ hrs and had no crashes, no stuttering, just a beautiful game.
    Expand
  64. May 23, 2011
    10
    This game is brilliant. I've been waiting for it for a long time. Finally, when Witcher 2 came to me I just say "OMFG thats osom". Very interesting and mature plot. Combat system is much more different than in other cRPG games. If you want to survive you have to think, not just click a mouse button. Graphics is beautiful. I've never seen so colorful and detailed world in game. The best thing about this game it's nolinear - there are 16 various endings! I recommend Witcher 2 for everyone who likes cRPG games, but if you don't like that type it doesn't matter - just buy it - you won't be regret. 10/10 Expand
  65. May 23, 2011
    9
    What I can tell ? This game is great for me. Dialogs, combat system, story, animations, graphics. On my old PC i can play with high details. Optimization is great. For me, game is candidate for Game of the Year. I think it can be one of the BEST PC game EVER.
  66. May 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. bardzo mi siÄ Expand
  67. May 23, 2011
    9
    Amazing story, game and sound, the characters are designed very well. little weak final and sometimes long distances to walk. To understand the story you have to listen very carefully to every dialogue, and you should play the witcher 1 first, but its worth it!
  68. May 23, 2011
    10
    Best RPG i ever played in a long time. My candidate for Game of the Year 2011. Beautyfull graphics, nonlinear and addictive story, innovative combat system, great dialogs are just a few of many advantages.
  69. May 23, 2011
    10
    GOTY 2011. I read through comments and i can only add that the game world artistic style is incredible. This is something that is rarely seen in any other game if ever, and it is all around you everywhere you turn. Get it and feast your eyes on the best looking world transferred into silicon chipsets
  70. May 23, 2011
    10
    This game is by far the best fantasy RPG on the market right now. It has the most beautifully detailed and immersive environments I've ever seen in a game. The characters and acting are also top notch. All NPC's are all unique and beautifully realized. The story is very well written. Plenty of extra stuff in there if you've played the first game or read any of the books. Combat is more action oriented and an improvement over the first games. All in all, I've haven't been this sucked into a game in a long time. Love the fact that a second play-through will let me see whole cities and characters that you didn't see in your first play-through simply by making different decisions. A great moment for PC gaming and for the fantasy RPG genre in general. If more developers put even have the love in their games that CDPR does, we'll be all better for it. Expand
  71. May 23, 2011
    10
    Witcher 2 is an amazing game in every aspect.CDPR have outdone themselves with this on. Its got beautiful graphics, unforgettable landmarks and enjoyable quests and so much more. There is no load screens between areas and above all of these they've improved the combat system that some people were complaining about in the first game(although i liked the combat system). This game is truly a mature game made for adults. Unlike other RPGs, there is no good or evil in witcher 2. You will have to make your own choices and most of the time they could be very tough.

    To AMD graphic card users, AMD has already begun working on the new driver and crossfire profile for Witcher 2. So be patient. It will get a big performance boost once the driver is out.

    Words said. Go Out and Buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  72. May 23, 2011
    10
    Kudos CD Project. Awesome game, GOTY in my book. It is what an RPG is all about, in depth story and amazing game play. Choices impacts the game so much that you can see different towns all together. Graphics are amazing and it's by far the most gorgeous, I'm on GTX560 Ti and its really beautiful on medium specs (if you can run it on High, you're in for a treat). Dragon Age 2 was a huge letdown, but this game definitely brought a tear to my eye. GO GET IT! Expand
  73. May 24, 2011
    10
    The best cRPG of decade. GOTD (Game of the decade) Amazing story, brillant graphic- This game is must-buy!!!! and i agree with @RogerEbertJr Bioware fanboys ratting game down.
  74. May 24, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is simply everything PC gaming was waiting and dying for. And the best thing is that CD-Project didn't have the funds to overhype this game. All the publicity it got and gets is just because of one reason; The Witcher 2 breathes quality. Sure, it has a few bugs and minor downfalls; sometimes Geralt gets stuck, the game crashed to my desktop once and the fighting isn't fantastic.. but hell; the story(telling) is epic, you really get the feeling that your choices do influence the story, the characters are great and the atmosphere is fantastic. And off course the graphics.. AWESOME! This is one of the reason why I play my games on a PC! It really shows what a game can be when it gets developed only for PC only and doesn't have to make concessions for those bloody consoles. In my opinion this game is one of the best games for the last couple of years and deserves to become GOTY 2011.
    KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK CD-PROJECT!
    Expand
  75. May 24, 2011
    10
    This game is groundbreaking and unique. Best RPG I have ever played!
    Difficult! Demanding! Intelligent! Funny! Intriguing! Epic and beautiful!
    Heh ... The Witcher 2 "Assassin of Kings. "
    Yes! Witcher Geralt of Rivia - Assassin of RPG "Kings" such as Bioware:)
  76. May 24, 2011
    10
    GREAT GAME, MUCH BETTAR THAN OUR PIECE OF **** DWAGON AGE 2 THAT WE PRODUCE IN OUR STUDIOS. MAKE SUW TO BUY ALL OF OUA DLC FOR DWAGON AGE 2: THE REVENGE OF THE ANCIENT EVIL OR WE BAN YOU. END OF RINE
  77. May 24, 2011
    10
    I am a bit disappointed with the second part of The Witcher Saga. It's still a great game but some things really piss me off. My biggest problem is the length of the game, its shorter than the first one but at least the authors got the balls to admit it (watch dev diary). My only hope lies in those free DLC's with extra side quests. The story tries to be as much enjoyable as the original books by Sapkowski but fails miserably in some points along the way. Anyone who read the books will admit that some dialogues feel clumsy and totally unnecessary. Bestiary is full of monsters but what about some regular animals that can be dangerous as well, no wolves, no bears no other predators. Even monsters are limited in variety. Again, there were much more types of monsters in the book, heck even the first game had them more. Some people bash the meditation system (drinking potions before the fight no potions in the actual battles) but that how it works folks read the books and you will know.
    Overall the game is good but I'm thinking about Extended Edition like with the first one. Improved inventory, better locking system, more balanced difficulty levels, smaller saves (16MB for a single save WTF??). Until then only 8.0 but a real strong one.
    Expand
  78. May 24, 2011
    6
    Witcher series is going down with this one. From the start you can tell it is "console" oriented - fist fights dumbed down with some button mashing, the same with first boss fight(forgot its name). But the worst part is that this game is unfinished - lots of bugs, clunky interface, clunky movement, clunky combat, most annoying doors in any computer game i have played and quest tracking from hell. Not to mention loot picking. I loved first part but this game is far far away. Big step backwards. I've fooled myself that it would get better later on but i gave up at the end of act 2.
    Watching all the positive reviews I am really sorry that my favorite genre is going that way. Biggest disappointment of the year.
    I am really sorry that i wasted ANY money on this game.
    Expand
  79. May 24, 2011
    10
    this game pretend to be game of the year. why? it's not perfect, got some flaws. but i can count by fingers on my hand games, that have soul and will be remembered very long time. trust me Witcher saga will be. put those DA or Skyrims away with their boring gameplay, made for cash. real games created with passion are very rare today. it's in our hand to help small studios like CD Projekt with their awesome work in future.

    and everybody now f*** Jim Sterling (from Destructoid) who gave 6/10 to this game. propably no balls or no skills or both. probs he took cash for it from someone.
    Expand
  80. May 27, 2011
    10
    I must admit that I am not a hardcore RPG fan and that might be why the high tempo fighting was a huge pro for me. The inventory system can be a bit tedious at times but it doesn't take anything away from this masterpiece.

    In a nutshell, The Witcher 2 has great interactive story, fluent exiting combat and a lot of room to develop your character towards your desired path.
  81. May 24, 2011
    10
    I loved The Witcher, Part I. In the Witcher II, The story is very mature, well-rounded, and very rich. The environments in The Witcher II are especially breathtaking. Everything in the environment is mired in the world they live it - it all simply looks like it belongs. It runs perfect on my two year old machine. No lags, no stutter, and the load times are FANTASTIC - there really aren't any.

    The combat system is great, though it's very unforgiving, and you will have to make sure you have enough bombs, traps, and potions to survive even minutes in the swamp. Where Drowners may have been killed six at once in the first game, they will be killing you this time if you aren't prepared. Every conflict is life-or-death. Being outnumbered 3 to 1 is a serious problem, and you'll have to plan your way out if you want to stay alive!

    My only complaint is the menu system and the lack of storage in the game. The Witcher II makes a much bigger deal of crafting than the first game, thus should have put a bigger emphasis on in-game storage. With all the items you need to craft in the game, it's nearly impossible not to get frustrated with having to run back and forth between missions to sell your stuff just to be able to run again. Most of the stuff you end up selling, you'll inevitably need to buy again to craft (at ten times the sale price!). I usually don't mod my games, but CDProjectRed has made modifications very simple. I found a mod that made items weightless, which took care of this problem. I really hope they add a storage chest to the game, as it's a major fallback for people like me who are pack rats. The menu system is unintuitive compared to The Witcher I. One of the things I noticed right away was that when I read a book, I had no way of knowing it had already been read. I just don't sell my books anymore, just in case I miss one.

    Other than the storage and menu issues, it's bound to be my favorite game of the past several years. Games like this are one in a million, despite it's few minor flaws in the face of it's successes. I'm a lifetime gamer, and own several tens of thousands of dollars worth of PC games. This one is in my top ten. For me, that's huge.
    Expand
  82. May 24, 2011
    10
    Best RPG I have played in years. I easily give this game a 10. The best way to describe it would be... Baldur's Gate 2 in a fully realized, beautiful 3D world, with more grit and consequence for your actions. This game will not hold your hand, it will test your intelligence, and if you have been stuck in that easy kills/easy rewards mode from playing more recent RPGs, it will be a breath of fresh air. Sure it's not perfect, but most of its imperfections lie in some menu technicalities, which in my opinion should not bring the score down when compared to all the things this game does in an amazing way: the story, the graphics, the characters, the challenge, and the satisfaction you feel when you slay a group of tough enemies. No joke, this game will have you grinning as you play it. EPIC. Expand
  83. May 24, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I decided to make an account to give a fair review of the game (Iâ Expand
  84. May 24, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings is simply one of the best games ever made! Very complex story, awesome fighting system, really beautiful graphics - this game has it all. Game of the year IMO.
  85. May 25, 2011
    10
    The best game of 2011 so far. TW1 was the best RPG since old Interplay games, TW2 even better.
    Designers need to be praised in all the ways, they did fantastic work, amazingly beautiful game!
  86. May 25, 2011
    10
    Just finished it for the 1st time and I know I'll do it at least once more. It's not perfect, still the best game I've played for a long long time. The Witcher's world is a beautiful place with amazing sights (the graphics is jaw-dropping), but far from a fairy tale. It's a cruel, complex world with vivid characters and great non-linear storyline. And it's true: it's not for those who cover their ears when someone swears, or close their eyes while seeing naked woman (or man) in a movie. It's an adult game including strong language, sex scenes and really mature approach to the in-game reality. But if it's acceptable in Hollywood blockbusters, why wouldn't it be in computer games? Expand
  87. May 25, 2011
    10
    Sensational game. CD Projekt will be rubbing shoulders with Blizzard and Valve soon if they keep up this quality. The attention to detail throughout is on a new level, you can't help but stop and gaze through a markets goods or simply watch villagers as they go about their day-to-day business. The story so far is enthralling and the character design is Blizzard standard. Hat's off to CD Projekt, I've not been so happy with a purchase in as long as I can remember.â Expand
  88. May 25, 2011
    0
    I was really hyped up for this game. I played through Witcher 1 three times when it first came out, because the game was so engaging and the combat so fluid. However, I have to say I am extremely disappointed in Witcher 2. For one, it feels like a console port. Moving with WASD seems more like moving with a D-Pad on a controller, than the smooth FPS style movement of the first game. The key binds are even setup outside the game in a console port style. The combat has been nerfed to the point of being trivial. In the first game you had three stances with stacking combos. In Witcher 2, you have two attacks. LMB is fast, RMB is slow. Also forget parrying or dodging in a sword fight, if you do not hit the button several seconds before being attacked, expect to be hit. What happened to spontaneous parrying and dodging that was so fun in the first game, and is expected in an action RPG? Only CD Projekt can answer that one. Game play aside, there are many game breaking technical issues. I have an i5 760, 4GB RAM, and an nvidia 460. I should be able to run the game flawlessly on High, or at least Medium settings. However, I barely get 15 FPS in Low settings. This seems to be an issue for many nvidida users, with no current fix from either nvidida or CD Projekt. Another troubling bug is if you have a 7.1 headset. The game is not compatible with these headsets and will result in no game audio. The only suggested fix I found from CD Projekt on the official forums was to disable 7.1 with the headset software, or use on-board audio. Unfortunately the G35 does not have any way to revert to or force stereo or 5.1 audio. Using on-board would be great, if I had it. I would not be concerned with this incompatibility if this was some obscure brand headset. However, this is a Logitech Gaming series headset. It is beyond me how this was not caught in internal testing.

    Buyer Beware. The game is pretty, and from what little I saw, probably has a good story. Hard to tell with no sound though. While the Critical Reviews might be good, I'd strongly advise caution with game stopping bugs like these. In addition if you think it will play anything like the first game, you are in for a disappointment.
    Expand
  89. May 25, 2011
    10
    Brilliant game after the disappointment of Dragon Age 2. An involved Story with memorable characters, stunning graphics and an immersive world where the residents actually feel alive. The combat takes some getting used to and makes you plan for encounters before jumping in.

    Not a fan of the 'quick time events' particularly and would recommend a thorough read of the manual before
    playing. The standard premium edition box makes a pleasant change from the usual crappy standard plastic DVD case and disc and represents brilliant value for money.

    I'm already looking forward to the next game
    Expand
  90. May 29, 2011
    10
    BioWare could learn from CDPR how to make a real deep RPG game. This is the best game I've played since... The Witcher! Good job CDPR- I'm waiting for 3rd part (alternatively some kind of big expansion :))
  91. May 25, 2011
    9
    At start i was a bit worried if the game will match it predecessor Witcher 1 but already after few minutes within the prologue i knew this was it. The first thing that strikes you is the graphic ofc stunning textures, lights, shadows and it runs smooth like a butter on an old ahtlon 5600+ (2cores) and radeon 4870x2 +4gig ram. The voice acting and character acting is tons better then in the first part. You dont have anymore the feeling that your in some bad doll house. I never felt Witcher 1 to be OMGRPGSTRATEGIC etc...it was just as much as dynamic as Witcher 2 is. The difference is the removal of the active pause (you get a nice slowmotion now wich is awsome made and gives you an in-action feeling) and the rythmic click wich i hated tbh in Witcher 1. If anyone claims thats what made Witcher 1 a better cRPG then Witcher 2 is then he has no clue what cRPG is and was about. The combat is now more action based i give that but it dosent lack the fun from the first Witcher and the changes CDP implemented are quite good (compared to how dragon age 2 got changed or mass effect 2 > Expand
  92. May 25, 2011
    3
    Well made story line, although does fall short at the ending. Good looking graphics. But thats about it for the positives. I had to spend a few hours just trying to get this game to work right. It would not play sound through my headset, and there was a random bug which cause my fps to drop into the single digit range (Radeon 6870). Also for the negatives, theres terrible mouse acceleration or something going on which causes the mouse to 'slide' around and making controlling anything, especially in menus, a pain. Also, the combat is horrid. Expand
  93. May 25, 2011
    10
    I'm writing this little review simply because I believe that you can never say enough positive things about this game. I run a mid-range PC (with a 3.2 Ghz phenom x4 cpu and Radeon HD 5770 gfx card) and I played this game at the recommended (high) settings and I never ran into any problems. The game is gorgeous, the characters are believable and sympathetic, the story is enthralling, and it's a helluva lot of fun. You'll feel like your choices have impact and you'll want to play again and again to see how the story can unfold. It's clear that the developers put a lot of love into this game. If you're a fan of well-made, mature RPGs, then this game is right for you. Do yourself a favor and pick this game up. Expand
  94. May 26, 2011
    9
    This definitely is Game of the Year 2011. One of bests game ive played after a long time, the graphics are amazing, everything is made with passion, so deep and immerse. TW1 is good, but TW2 is better in all aspects. Thank you CD PROJEKT. You are amazing.
  95. May 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bioware fanboys trying to lower score of Witcher , its only shows how this game is great. CDP RED is new king of cRPG's and nothing change that... This game is a absolutely brilliant. 10/10. Expand
  96. May 26, 2011
    4
    The combat system is terrible. Absolutely terrible. More super mario than an RPG. Solution: they need to add a cheat code so players can bypass the terrible combat sequences. At least then, players can at least access the storyline w/o a hassle. The first Witcher was an amazing. A labor of love. A joy to play from start to end.

    This one was damaged by the whims of marketing
    weenies. It is a terrible shame. This was built to the specifications of 12 year olds, instead of being built for the adults that are the real fan base of this series. All they needed to do was upgrade the graphics, smooth out a couple of bugs, and give us more story!!!! I wouldn't buy this series again. I'm also sorry I tarnished the memory (the sheer joy) of the first game with my experience on this one. Expand
  97. May 26, 2011
    9
    By far the most comprehensive beautiful rpg world i've ever played. Speechless. This deserves without any doubt GoTY. You won't find any better rpg nowadays.
    Enjoy it ^^
  98. May 31, 2011
    9
    Almost perfect game. Beautiful, state of the art graphics and masterful art. Mesmerizing story and memorable characters. Playing as Geralt of Rivia is both a rewarding and an unforgettable experience. Quests are deeper and more realistic than any other game outside. Treats the player as an adult. Combat is hard yet enjoyable and challenging. Very unlinear story, good choice&consequence and tons of replay value.Free DLC! Amazing premium and collector's edition content. The Cons: Still 1.1 version hasn´t solved all the bugs; there're not many, but some. Expand
  99. May 26, 2011
    9
    I have played every notablle crpg since the late 80s. I can tell you this: the game belongs to that small exclusive clubb of games that represent a quantum leap beyond what has come before it. Super mario 3, zelda link to past, ff-6, starcraft, counterstrike, mario64, baldurs gate 2, DA:O, and now The Witcher 2. This game is made for the intelligent gamer. I usually agree with professional critics but I suspect that thereis some very serious bias going on here as far as the scores this gamehas gotten from ign, and pcgamer and a few others. A 90 is a good score...but if u play this game it will be clear to you why that score is a threat to high quality productions like Witcher 2. It puts them on the same level as gammes like DA 2 and need for speed. Progress in gaming depends on recognition being given where recognition is due. That may be at the cost of say ign getting a Preview exclusive next time EA rolls out a big release, but honesty is what jnournalism, even gaming journalism needs to be about. Pretending like this game is just another aaa release like MW3 is not jjust a diservice to gamers, its a danger to the progression of gaming into an art form.


    CDProjeckt Red has very clearly raised the bar in a huge way. Its incidentally a welcome rebuke to the notion that x dollars = y quality game. For approx 10m in development costs these guys mixed in genius and have come out with the best game in years.
    Expand
  100. May 26, 2011
    10
    Although I never played the first Witcher and have never read any of the written works, I found myself absorbed by the world in The Witcher 2. A consistently gritty, mature atmosphere is present in every gorgeous moment of gameplay. The art design and level of detail at every turn is astounding, though it will strain many machines to the breaking point until the game receives some optimization. The game suffers only a few small missteps; the prologue is very difficult and doesn't offer much in the way of information to help. Inventory management can be a pain, as well as the weight cap. The final act also ends quickly and does not live up to the incredible standards established by the previous chapters. Nevertheless, I would say it is the best RPG I have played since Mass Effect 2, and is a game that puts Dragon Age 2 to absolute shame. If a small Polish game developer can make a game of this astounding quality, how did a storied and respected company like BioWare err so badly with a similarly-intentioned game? If you are a fan of hard, dark, uncompromising RPGs and can maintain the patience to get used to The Witcher 2's systems, you will have a nearly unparalleled experience. Expand
  101. Apr 29, 2012
    0
    The game is mediocre at best, due to developers never stopping to think what would actually be fun in a game. Would it be fun to wander around without knowing which way is north? No, but that's what you are forced to do. Would it be fun to not be able to drink potions in battle? No, but you have to spend a minute navigating menus and watching Geralt take a sip and a breath every time you do. You also have to repeat the process every 10 minutes. Would it be fun to have size 3 font at HD resolutions? No, but that's how it is. Would it be fun to be unable to attack at full strength after using signs? No, but, inexplicably, that's how it is. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    93
    Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings. A true, polished diamond. Watch and learn Bioware. [May 2011]
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    92
    The Witcher 2 easily stands amongst the big boys in the CRPG crowd and is also the best Action RPG to come out since Mass Effect 2.
  3. Sep 7, 2011
    90
    The Witcher 2 offers awesome sword fights, cool graphics, charming characters, a compelling story, lots of bare skin and a decent shot of vulgar conversations. Damn good.