User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3284 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 26, 2011
    9
    By far the most comprehensive beautiful rpg world i've ever played. Speechless. This deserves without any doubt GoTY. You won't find any better rpg nowadays.
    Enjoy it ^^
  2. May 26, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game, without the proper tools to do the job, combat can be hard and frustrating in the beginning, but as you level up it becomes extremely enjoyable with lots of different tactical possibilities. Story is rich and deep and draws you in. Graphics are simply stunning, have yet to see such a beautiful and detailed digital world elsewhere. The game is practically bug free. If you like RPG's its a must buy. Expand
  3. May 26, 2011
    9
    Did you like the first game? Well like myself you will more than likely LOVE the sequel. Hell even if you didn't like the first game this is worth giving a go, the combat has received a radical overhaul; from the addition of ranged weapons such as bombs, traps, the new sign or the fact it is actual fighting this time round rather than just one-button combat. The lore in the Witcher series is simply fantastic, from the rich variety of monsters to the religions and various regions within the game, I personally find the series incredibly immersive and it even convinced me to buy the novels the series is based on, which are also excellent. The best part of the game without a shadow of a doubt is the moral choices you make; your action in one section of the game may have rewarding or perhaps dire outcomes later on without you realising earlier on, it makes you feel you really do have an effect on the world. The mini-games such as dice-poker, arm-wrestling and fist fights are also a great little past time and a great way to earn Geralt a bit of cash. Of course the game isn't perfect; the odd bug here and there and the occasionally glitchy animation but nothing to ruin your experience. Any RPG fan should purchase this game, although my biggest criticism is the difficulty of the learning curve, the game actually starts very hard but eases off as you progress. Expand
  4. May 26, 2011
    6
    Hello There
    Witcher is a cool game i must say, I'm from Poland but I wont blindly go with other whos said that Witcher is best game ever blah blah. First of all - Bugs. It should get a title Witcher Bug Catcher. In game is so many bugs: bug in instalation, patcher, DLC, registration. Every one option which is defaut in other games in Witcher is bugged. Its really not cool. OK game has good
    graphics, very clever dialogues, and overall good scenario. Its fun and challenging, in my opinion block system needs to be polished couse in first act game is way to difficult and even two weakest monsters in game are extremly dangerous because Geralt will block after animation attack will end, thats stupid, Should they do something like in Batman Arkham Asylum but hey we get what we get. I should give 9 or 8 score but I cant, I just cant. I know its a polish and I should give nice score but no. Every game deservs a fair score and Witcher didnt devervbe for more than 6. f they repair some of issues You should give 2 more points. Best regards from Poland, sorry for my eng its not perfect Expand
  5. May 26, 2011
    10
    Made an account just to review this game. This is easily one of the best RPGs of the last decade. You can really feel the passion and love the developers put into this game. Everything, every environment, every character has its own unique and interesting personality. The graphics and environments are absolutely breathtaking. They really pull you into the world. The story is mature and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The combat is fast, visceral and exciting requiring fast reflexes and tactical play. It does a great job of being a tactical action RPG, which most games cannot pull off. If you're a serious RPG gamer, you must have this game. Expand
  6. May 27, 2011
    10
    This game is ART... and from gameplay view, it's the best RPG on the market.. how someone can rate this game from 0 till 4 is beyond me.. maybe you angry because a little company from Poland can make better game than the modern Bioware? The combat is the best in a RPG, it's hard, but that's the point.. it is a modern hardcore RPG, so live with it.. you can always read the manual or press the J button and read the Journal.. in the Prolog I died about 6 - 7 times on Normal and that just fine be me.. optimalization is perfect because i have a 3-year old rig, and i can play this game on High a almost everything on (except Ubersampling), with 25 - 35 fps, sometimes it goes to 20 and sometimes to 40 - 50 fps, so I'm very happy with that.. so people, please don't be lazy and play this game the way it's mean to be.. pay attention to Journal, don't just clicking all the time in combat like you would play a Devil May Cry game, but instead play with brain.. even if you don't like this game for some reason, you can't give this game less than 5 points from 10.. if you like hard RPG's, than this is the game for you Expand
  7. May 30, 2011
    10
    Probably one of the best games I'e played in quite awhile. It's beautifully crafted, with greatly defined characters that aren't tacked into the black & white moral sensitivity. The story and plot is great, though the ending is lacking a bit and somewhat disappointing.The graphics are gorgeous. The combat is fun; difficult at times. As some of the exaggerated reviews have stated, it can be a bit lame just dodging and hacking away, but there is still a tactical depth to the game. The combat is still fun, regardless. The ones claiming the Witcher 2 to not being an RPG, are just simply exaggerating and stuck somewhere in the past, thus butthurt along the lines. You can tell the developers put their all into making this piece of art, and they deserve the praise they've gotten so far. Some people just cannot accept change; positive and negative. If you're a fan of most RPGS, and enjoyed the original The Witcher for its storytelling and atmosphere, pick this game up, you won't be disappointed. As for technical issues, most of those have been patched or will be in the future. Some issues are just due to NVIDIA or ATI graphics card drivers; which there are updates for, people just seem to be in the dark on the issue. The developers have stated that all DLC to be released, will be free of charge. Anyway, as I said, fantastic game; definitely game of the year worthy. Expand
  8. May 28, 2011
    9
    One of the best RPG's of the last years. Sure it has some negative points but there are nothing to talk about! If you like Story and deep grown out gameplay then you have to buy it
  9. May 31, 2011
    4
    Unless you hate clever story-telling, smart dialogues, or the English language, avoid this game like the plague! First of all, this game's story is atrocious: it evolves around pseudo-political plot points: why make the main plot about politics in a non-established universe that the game insists on not explaining? I mean we are two games in this series, and we still wonder: WHAT THE HELL IS A WITCHER? Obvious failure. Story: 0/10. The graphics are very pretty, even on a lesser machine like mine. Landscapes are beautiful, and the lighting effects are probably some of the best looking ever. 10/10. Music is boring, and uninspired, the sound-scape is terrible and amateurish 1/10. Now the game-play, let's focus on the broken...ohhh so broken combat system. It sucks...did I tell you It sucks? because it does...even those who "love" this game hate the combat system. The problem with the system is it doesnt know it's if "actionny" "strategical" or even older style "r-p-g-esque", It's a mix, a cross-bread, and in the end, it fails at being any or all of the above mentioned 3 systems. You will end up abusing the shield spell ( the only one needed ) or will end up running around your opponents in a very comedic and cartoony fashion waiting for your meter to recharge. gameplay 2/10. I give it a bonus point for the Morally grey decisions, those are fun and were a trademark of the first game. All and all, the game feels like an Industrial/EBM German robot-vampire love song and doesnt deserve anything more than the 4/10 I give it. Expand
  10. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    I'm not really an RPG fan. Dragon age was a good game, but I just could'nt bring myself to finish it. I bought Oblivion, couldn't get into it. Fallout 3 and New Vegas....didn't finish....you get the drift. Then I read some user reviews of TW2 and decided to give it a go.....I literally think it made me change my mind about RPG's. What a fantastic game. Not only did I finish this Gem, I immediately bought its predecessor The Witcher enhanced Edition and am currently greatly enjoying that game as well.....These guys know how to make games people, give both a try if your on the fence....great stuff! Expand
  11. Apr 17, 2012
    7
    My favorite game on the PC by far. Everything is great! Best graphics, story and gameplay in a game ever created. There is nothing like it on the consoles. Shame this game will be completely overlooked.
  12. Feb 7, 2013
    3
    Witcher 1 was great. RPG game with good character development, story line and atmosphere that differed from all games of the genre at that time. Witcher 2 is a steaming pile of crap that has been polished with nice graphics.
  13. May 26, 2011
    9
    Warning - This game is frustrating. Very frustrating. Early on, you will die. A lot. You will probably want to hit something with your keyboard. The difficulty is rather uneven in places and they don't ease you into learning how to use all your tools very well (and you need all your tools). The difficulty and combat issues aside, this game puts the "RP" back into "RPG". The world is very interesting, with a lot of stuff going on. The characters all have their own motivations. Your choices during the game actually matter, sometimes on a large scale and sometimes simply because you can lie to cover for an NPC. Much like the first Witcher, this is not the most accessable game out there, but it's one of the best at making you feel like you're in the world doing stuff. Highly recommended, and if it frustrates you too much just drop it to easy and play for the roleplaying aspect rather then the combat. Expand
  14. May 27, 2011
    10
    What do you need to know? this is NOT Dragon Age 2 , there is no copy paste or dumbed down gameplay, this is a great contender for game of the year since mass effect 3 is expected to show next year, but judging by dragon age 2 you can fear it WILL be dumbed and its quality compromised, contrary to the witcher 2.
  15. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Expand
  16. May 26, 2011
    3
    I've been looking forward to this one for awhile, and I really wanted to like it, but I'm giving up. The game runs buttery smooth on my rig yet, for some unknown reason, I have to tell Geralt to do something 7 or 8 times before he actually does it. And I mean I literally tell him to do it, because I have time to shout "PARRY! PARRY YOU STUPID SON OF A-" before he gets in the stance. Then I attempt a basic slash and he decides it's the perfect time to practice his Triple Salchow. I also appreciated the way the game attempted to explain the awful controls using the world's smallest font while I was in the middle of combat. Unfortunately, I can't comment on whether or not the controls function properly with a gamepad because it refuses to recognize any. I'm done. The story is...meh, the graphics are pretty, the sound is alright (if you like people constantly shouting "PLOUGH THE LILLIES") and...no, that's it. The rest sucks. Expand
  17. May 18, 2011
    10
    I haven't finished the game yet but I can already tell that this is one if the most engaging games I've played in a long time. Last time I couldn't stop playing even though my eyes hurt like hell was when Black Ops or Halo:Reach came out. I have to admit that I was a bit lost in combat when I started playing but I quickly realised that I have to try harder like in Demon's Souls or Castlevania (on hard) not just mash a button. I like that some developers finally realize that we like challenges nit just running through the game smoothly. On top off that the graphics are so beautiful and full of detail that I enjoy sightseeing in TW2 :))) before I take up a quest. Expand
  18. May 24, 2011
    10
    pretty goddamn cool man. WHAT DOES HE HAVE TWO SWORDS FOR? DOES HE TEND TO LOSE THEM?

    SO I SAID, IM TAKING YOUR PURSE, OR, YOUR PURSE AND YOUR LIFE.
  19. May 31, 2011
    10
    Game is really awesome. Its like a next book, and i hope to see Yeniffer in the next chapter :) Double 2nd chapter is something i never see before in games like this, shokin' and great. This is just a deadly blow for BiowarEA where money comes first, and users 10th at least
  20. May 30, 2011
    9
    Absolutely awesome game from CD Project. My Game of the Year 2011 beside Portal 2. It is the best RPG on the market. The Witcher 2 and Dragon Age Origins are fantastic. Dragon Age 2 is ****
  21. May 17, 2011
    10
    Best game, best world, best epic hero and best combat system forever, this is The Witcher 2 ! Definitely Game of the Year 2011 in RPG and Best Game category!
  22. May 24, 2011
    9
    great game. not without it's flaws....but overall great voice acting, music, freedom of choice, immersion and graphics. Combat can be a little strange (the wrong enemy getting highlighted etc) but this is rare and overall this really is a great experience and one I have very much enjoyed. I hated the Witcher 1 but love this!
    Oh and by the way, I also loved Dragon Age 2 so I don't get all
    the DA2 fanboys bashing this game. I just prefer the Witcher 2. Expand
  23. May 22, 2011
    9
    Great game, improves on his predecessor and by far the best rpg released in years.
    AI should be improved and also combat variety.

    Please buy it on gog.com and support cdproject.
  24. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    One of the best RPG's ever made. It's beautiful, with expansive environments and varied locations. The combat resemble a hack and slash game, but it's more tactical and deeper than one. The combat is also challenging and rewarding. There seems to be almost no bugs at release, and all in all the game looks and runs 100x better than the first game. The story and quests are there to. Gone are the strange Polish to English translations from the first game. The conversations are better written and it seems the voice actors have better direction this time around. A universal improvement from the first game in almost every category. So far, this is game of the year. Expand
  25. May 18, 2011
    10
    this is the best game i have played ever this is how an RPG should be made this is defiantly the GOTY for me everything about this game is quality the graphics are stunning the game play is brilliant and the RPG elements are amazing.
  26. May 17, 2011
    10
    I have been playing this game for 3 hours now and all i can say is, get this game it is a masterpiece. The combat first is hard to get by, especially if you jump directly into the hardest tutorial mission (the tutorial is part of the game and non linear) but after a while you will get a hang of it. This game really feels like the developers went their way instead of doing market research on how to appeal the masses, they simply did their game and it shows off. What we have here is a masterpiece on every angle. Those who complain about bugs, after three hours of gameplay, I have had not a single one.
    All I can say is this game deserves a 10.
    Sorry to say that but if you design a game by focus groups you lose if you design a game with the heart you win. Best RPG since Planetscape Torment - period.
    Expand
  27. May 26, 2011
    10
    You know, this game perfectly illustrates the adage that if you give people a golden goose that lays diamond eggs, there are bound to be a few who complain that the eggs are too hard to eat. The Witcher 2 is probably the best RPG since the Baldur's Gate saga: the graphics are amazing, the gameplay is exciting, voice acting and writing are top notch, and the story line is engaging. The game is also hard. If you're used to playing those bits of entertainment flotsam puked out by Bioware, and think that you're a bad assed hero controller that can take any game on insane level, then you're going to be in for a rude awakening. Playing Witcher 2 on hard is, surprise surprise, ACTUALLY HARD. You're going to have to use everything at your disposal to win fights, and that include your ability to adroitly manipulate the keyboard/mouse/gamepad. If you can't handle that, then play the game on easy, or buy an easier game (I've heard Dragon Age 2 is just about your speed).
    For those of you up to the challenge, Witcher 2 is an immensely rewarding experience. Beating a room full of bad guys with nothing but a hand full of bombs, your wits and a bit of fancy footwork is an experience you won't soon forget. But even that experience pales in comparison to the realization that the peon that you helped way back at the beginning of the game just returned the favor by saving you a whole pail of trouble when you encounter him later.
    To be fair, there are some glitches:SLI wasn't working at release, keyboard customization require you to manually edit some game files, aspect ratios are a little off, and some minor side quests break if you don't do them exactly right. However, I'd rather have a few glitched side quests that have every dungeon look exactly the same **cough**Dragon Age 2**cough**.
    If you are a RPG fan, someone who remembers what a RPG is supposed to be like, you owe it to yourself to play this game and support this company. If you don't, then don't whine and complain when you're given drivel like Dragon Age 2 and told to like it.
    Expand
  28. May 18, 2011
    10
    Im 3 hours in the game and its stunning from graphics to everything else. Its worth every penny and even more. I feel sorry for DA2 fans who cant stand watching how "Real" RPG beats the crap out of "over-hyped" Bioware company name and their DA2 title.

    You can live on past glory, cuz some1 else will come and do it properly. Go Go CD Projekt Red show them how to make RPG.

    Witcher is my name!
  29. May 24, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is an amazing RPG. It's certainly been a while since I couldn't put a game down! I definitely recommend this game to all mature RPG fans.
  30. May 25, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is one of the most unique RPGs of the past five years. At first glance you might think it's copying Bioware's tried-and-true formula for action-RPGs, but the details of the game quickly reveal that it deviates quite far from anything Bioware had made recently.

    The most obvious difference is the difficulty. This is a game that stubbornly refuses to hold your hand. It's hard,
    and it doesn't do much to help you figure out how to master it, either. The prologue is, for many, a baptism through fire. Even Demon's Souls, well-known for its difficulty, went to great extents to help the player master the system.

    However, the more I've played TW2, the more I've realized that its approach is not a flaw but a feature--but it's a feature that not everybody is going to like. But that's okay. Not every game has to appeal to every gamer. TW2 is one of those exceptionally rare big budget blockbuster games that deliberately restricts its target audience. If you don't like to play games patiently, methodically, with a lot of trial and error and more than an ordinary share of failure, then you aren't going to like TW2. But if you get giddy at the thought of conquering a particularly tough encounter after 20 tries thanks to nothing but your sheer ingenuity and skill, then there's 40 hours of absolutely engrossing content here waiting for you.

    TW2 is largely iterative rather than innovative, but small glimmers of new brilliance shine through in a few spots. In particular, you will never be asked to kill X instances of creature Y, an old and terrible trope of the RPG genre. Instead, you will be asked to *exterminate* a local species from the area. Most interestingly is that you won't be told how to do it. This was one of my favorite parts of the game, as it actually makes you feel like a witcher (a "professional monster hunter"). You'll need to read literature about the species, scout out underground tunnels they use for hiding and transportation, destroy all entrances to said tunnels, find nests, destroy cocoons, and kill queens responsible for breeding. And you won't be told very much of this. You'll actually have to explore the dense and dizzying forests on your own, looking for nests without a waypoint.

    Unlike Bioware's recent offerings, TW2 doesn't have much backstory. Whereas Dragon Age: Origins was extremely rich on backstory and extremely thin on "frontstory," TW2 swaps this: it doesn't concern you much with the past, and the dialogue all focuses on the present predicament. There isn't a codex with hundreds of entries on fictitious wars. While I think this approach worked quite well in Mass Effect, it didn't chime at all with the atmosphere of Dragon Age for me. I'm much more satisfied with TW2's strategy of simply throwing you into the world, letting the history of the region seep out naturally from character interaction.

    In summary, TW2 is a fantastic and difficult offering that won't appeal to everyone. It's become one of my personal favorites--but you might feel quite differently depending on how you react to its totally serious lack of "hand-holding."
    Expand
  31. May 17, 2011
    10
    Nice graphics, nice fight system, awesome story... Code's optimalization is sux, but Im addicted to The Witcher (WICHA! xD) 2, by the way its a polish game, im the patriot and my score is 10! xD Hail to the king, baby :))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))) 10.0
  32. May 31, 2011
    10
    Game is worthy the highest praise, despite small technical problems work, this game for me became standard of RPG! Playing it you feel, that developers have enclosed not only forces and material means, but also the most important thing, soul. Thanks them for it!
  33. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I cannot say anything bad about this game. Great story, great graphics, awesome combat, etc. I would definitely recommend this game to any rpg fan. The Witcher 2 thumbs up!
  34. May 18, 2011
    10
    Witcher 2 has continued to grow on me, and no, I'm REALLY not advancing the plotline. Just pacing though the original semi-open area, exploring every nook and cranny. Some people might call this a 30 hour game. At the rate I am playing 80. This is like bioshock was years ago, I just adore every single inch and feel incredibly at home. This is incalculably better than anything else I have played for YEARS. The soundtrack is hauntingly flawless, the graphics are simply the best ever conceived (yes, better than crysis 1 on highest) and the combat system is deep and hard-as-nails. The games main downer is that it has to end. I don't want it to end!! If portal 2 was the ingenious of this year, this would be the class. 100% golden plated class. Collapse
  35. May 28, 2011
    10
    Simply an amazing title. Best story and graphics I have ever seen. GOTY 2011 hands down. Bioware might put some money in the market to make it not happen, but the people will know who the real winner is.
  36. May 23, 2011
    10
    As a huge crpg fan i must say this is the best game I played in years. First things first: finally mature game, meant for adults to play and enjoy it, so there are no fairy-tales victories that make everyone happy, no clearly defined good or evil, instead, there are some serious moral dilemmas and real human emotions, not polished cartoonish crap publishers seem to favor nowadays. In fact, the only recent game that gets somewhat close to Witcher2 in this respect must be New Vegas; but it is not as good still (IMHO). Witcher2 is true dark fantasy, very enjoyable and immersive, and the story matches the mood perfectly. Quests are rather detailed, they fit the world perfectly and are meant to enhance your gameplay, not to stretch the game for another 40 minutes while you search for some stupid collectibles.

    Second, this is stunningly beautiful game. The forests are magnificent, the cities are realistic almost to the point where you can feel the scents. Facial animation is not very advanced, but VO just makes up for that.

    Third, combat and QTEs are very engaging and fun. Even arm-wrestling! Sword-fights are especially good - damn hard, fast-paced, and extremely fun. It takes some time to adjust to controls at first and if you're used to point-and-click type of gameplay you're going to be dying a LOT. It never seemed to slow me down, though - once you get the grip of the basics, battles are never tiresome, never boring, always somewhat different from your previous attempts and other battles, so you will NEVER find yourself redoing the same routine again.

    4-th: the music is good. The martial sequence makes me want to take the sword in my own hands.

    In all truthfulness, there are some minor issues - for example, when Geralt runs and turns, the animation switches way too sharply, it is not exactly smooth. Not every quest marker is placed accurately, but then again, the old games we all love had no quest markers at all.

    Performance-wise I had no problems with the game so far (GOG.com version). The only thing I had to turn off was ubersampling, but then - I don't have the latest graphic card, and my i7 CPU is only 2.6 MHz

    Less biased person would probably give this game score of 9, but me - I'm just love the world and am willing to overlook some minor issues.
    Expand
  37. May 30, 2011
    9
    Good: Storyline, graphics & sound, FUN, choices have a major effect
    Bad: Sometimes buggy, controls are clumsy

    Overall this is a fun & enjoyable game despite some issues. Great replay value. The game starts out very difficult (on "Hard" mode) but it eases up as you start to develop your character's abilities. So far the most enjoyable game of '11. Does not give you childish &
    unrealistic dialogue options like DA2. Your choices have a big impact on the game which is what RPGs are all about. Moral choices are not necessarily good or evil, just you deciding what is the best or most realistic decision for Geralt to make.

    Areas needing most improvement: technical issues (a bug affecting mouse controls happens sometimes), some lag and frame rate issues, combat controls leave something to be desired.
    Expand
  38. May 26, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings is how a sequel and fantasy world should look like, Just by staying 10 minutes inside the world of The Witcher you will understand that this game is bigger, prettier, full of life, and more realistic than BioWare and EA could ever hope to achieve in their future games.

    It's amazing how non-linear is the story really, when I first watched the dev diaries
    those guys just kept describing how non-linear is the story and I thought to myself "HA! Those guys are full of **** I'll just wait and see it for myself" thus I started playing the game and after finishing the tutorial I just realized how wrong I was doubting cd projekt developers, almost everything you do inside this game changes it's direction, Some of them even drastically like changing an entire city or an whole chapther. This game is the definition of AWESOME! Stop wasting your time reading reviews and get it! Expand
  39. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    What praise can I give this game that hasn't been given before? Well, let's just say that I bought and played TW1 just to be able to get into the story of this sequel, and it was well worth it!

    Keep it up, CDPR! I look forward to more great stuff by you guys.
  40. May 31, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic game, it's not perfect the inventory system needs a lot of work but it's great. The fact that the inventory system needs more work is kinda weird since the witcher 1 originally had a lot of the same issues but they fixed that with later patches. Hopefully this game gets the same treatment but I'd of expected CDprojectRed to have made a good inventory system a sort of priority this time. But I'm willing to accept that hey maybe they are just to busy making the game awesome to focus on inventory systems as they should. Still 9.5 of 10. Expand
  41. May 26, 2011
    10
    Unlike nearly all fantasy RPG's, this one actually has depth to it's story, depth that i have yet to see in ANY other RPG, why? First of all, it manages to recreate a truely authentic feeling medieval game world, where the land is governed not by your own status as a "hero", but by the kings that rule over them, and your merely just a warrior trying to help along with many others. Not to mention it doesn't carry the fanciful "kiddy" aspects of rpg's such as cut elvish women dual wielding blades while wearing armor that covers less then a quarter of their body, this game takes itself very seriously while also squeezing in some small moments of comedy which helps to diversify the atmosphere and create even more depth. The combat has been majorly upgraded as well, the magic system has been improved so it flows far more fluidly with more intuitive controls allowing for easier and quicker use. Sword-play has been polished and is now smoother then in the original game, allowing for easier encounters with enemies. If you think this game is hard, your not a gamer, simple as that, you may think it's punishing, but there are far more punishing games then this, this game requires a tactically sound mind and quick thinking. Dialogue and NPC character animation are superb, you can see the heart put into each simple little movement such as walking or drinking, each animation finely done to feel realistic and human, with characters speaking in ways which suit them and don't spout over-pretentious monologues which get boring and slow down the gameplay AND the story. (im looking at you Assassins Creed and Metal Gear Solid) I look forward to much more coming from this great polish developer, as they definitely have seemed to of learned from their mistakes in the past. Their future continues to look bright. Expand
  42. May 25, 2011
    10
    Incredible game! Deep, extremely well written plot and well acted voices, great graphics...the game is almost perfect all round. I've been playing RPGs for many years now, though I never played Witcher 1. I saw ads for it, but always thought it was one of those second or third tier RPGs (deeply flawed, appealing to a very limited crowd). Now I wish I had played it. The producers of this game seem to get the idea that there is a market out there for very well made, deep games. If you like RPGs, and don't prefer mindless linear console type games, you will love this game. Expand
  43. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    To be honest with you guys, I am not a huge RPG fan, but this is just........special. Simply jaw-dropping graphics with amazing draw distance, environments and atmosphere, challenging difficulty, great combat, immersive story, engaging characters, and deep RPG mechanics/ customization. This is the game that does everything beautifully. If you are a RPG fan, you are going to admire this without a doubt. If you are not a RPG fan, this will turn you into one. Job well done, CD Projekt. You have a created a title that will remembered and praised for its remarkableness. Expand
  44. May 19, 2011
    10
    The best game I have ever had the pleasure of playing in 14 years of gaming, hands down, nothing else even comes close.

    CDPR poured their hearts and souls into this game and it really shows, the atmosphere and story are completely unmatched by anything else in the entire gaming industry, this is truly a fine example of why some games can be considered art.

    They could of made the game a
    quarter as good as it is and it still would of sold just as many copies and gotten rave reviews, but they kept on going and made it even better.

    Finally, a developer that cares about the game they are making.. feels like I'm ten years in the past.

    The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings, the best game you can ever have the pleasure of buying.
    Expand
  45. May 23, 2011
    10
    Ah, what a game.

    It's a game you must invest some time into, especially if you do not play many RPGs, but it's more then worth it. I'll give you some advice right off the bat: It's pretty hard when you first start out, but don't let it put you off. Press J to bring up your journal and spend some time reading the basic tutorials and learning what each of the spells / powerups do. The
    game does not hold you hand but all the information you need is right there in your journal which updates as you go through the game. This threw me at first because like most I've gotten used to games baby stepping me through them, but it's worth the time invested.

    The graphics look great, the game runs very nicely and has tons of tweaking options. The story is gripping even for those that didn't play much of the first Witcher. A game that's well worth buying at full price if you are even remotely interested in RPG's.
    Expand
  46. May 18, 2011
    10
    Witcher 2 is probabyl the best RPG for any newcomer to this genre for being a game that challenges you as an adult. As an action/adventure player, my first foray into RPGs has been the mass effect series which I liked. I did play the witcher 1 but quickly got overrun by the excruciating details and frankly uninteresting standard stat based RPG combat. Same to do with mass effect 1. ME2 got it right with nice action elements. With that, I went into DA2 without prior playing of DA1. But DA2 felt very tedious and just got boring. I finished the game, but wasn't too satisfied with the presentation and mechanics. It felt like a standard RPG. Witcher 2 on the other hand is unique. Never have I been challenged soo much in combat being a veteran action/adventure gamer (DMC3/4, GOW123, Darksiders..player). The combat is intense...satisfying. The graphics are if I may say, the BEST in this generation. The art direction is fantastic and the game reeks of polish.
    CDProject have outdone themselves and set a new bar for action RPGs. I only hope that the game reaches its full potential and rewards them with adequate sales and recognition. Congratulations CDprojekt for a spectacular masterpiece.

    BTW...shame on you bioware for bashing CDprojekt.
    Expand
  47. May 18, 2011
    10
    masterpiece of a game. deep mature storyline, fantastic combat and incredible graphics. its a must buy for pc gamers. i cant stand that all of these people are trolling this game with low scores. its ridiculous.
  48. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Finally, a game that does not hold your hand but forces you to interact with the created world to survive. I love this game. Fantastic graphics, great story and characters, great combat. If your computer can handle it, buy this gem. Game devs need to learn from this title...this is how you get players to explore and appreciate the created world: you make them figure stuff out as they go. Props to CDProjeckt, you have created a truly fantastic game. This is kinda like Monster Hunter Freedom, also a great game, but far better graphics, controls, and world. It has that same sense of masculinity and intelligence that American game devs think todays gamers cant handle. 10 out of 10, and truly one of the best games ever made. Expand
  49. May 18, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, not a thing to criticise yet. Totally caught me off-guard and improved basically ALL the negative points I found while playing the first installment.

    Without a doubt, CD Projekt LEARNED a lot since the first game and watched what people have been saying about other RPGs these past years. The Witcher 2 really knows how to impress!
  50. May 18, 2011
    10
    ED Studio takes the best of the achievements of BioWare and Obsidian Entertainment, introducing a ton of their ideas and outstanding artistic setting. The Witcher 2 impresses on so many levels that it is hard to clearly identify its strongest point.
  51. May 18, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is without a doubt one of the greatest RPGs of this generation, if not downright THE greatest. It has an absolutely phenomenal combat system that trumps just about every RPG to come out this generation due to the fact that there is a strong emphasis on tactics while not sacrificing any of the tense, exciting action that the combat delivers. The world is one of the most lively video game worlds that has ever been created. Not only is the game universe so rich in detail, but CDP went to extremes with its attention to the smallest details. For instance, blowing out a camp fire that a group where huddled around would result in them trying to light it back up. All AI units have a schedule and feel like individual people. In the end, I don't think there is a single criticism one can have of the game world. Lets just say there are very few RPG's in which I have done as many side quests as in Witcher 2. It is THAT good. The RPG mechanics in the witcher are great, with 3 specialized talent trees and 1 general "witcher" tree. Combat depends on Geralt's stats and not only on his ninja gaiden skills, so it never really descends into a action adventure game like Bioware's Mass Effect series. All the variety in weapons expected from a good RPG is here: throwing weapons, bombs, magic spells and of course your usual melee weapons like swords, axes, clubs, etc. Not only that, but the game has an absolutely amazing alchemy and crafting system in which the quests make strong use of (making specific poison/bomb for mission) and you would also need to use them in order to survive some of the tougher fights. NOTHING is left to feel as though its just in there for the sake of it. Even the BOOKS have use as when you go monster hunting, you gotta look up the creatures you want to kill and research about them in the books to be able to get more details about their lairs, behaviors, etc. The story is non-linear and epic. For those who don't know, it has 16 varied endings depending on the choices made throughout the game. That alone makes the Witcher 2 have one of the deepest storylines offered this generation. The story kicks off with a bang and with the aid of the game world, remains constantly immersive. The plot always has some new revelation to throw at you every step of the way and the excellent characters and voice acting give further life to the story. The Witcher 2 has an epic tale that none should miss.

    In conclusion, if you are a PC gamer and don't own Witcher 2, shame on you.
    Expand
  52. May 18, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece of RPG genre. CD Projekt delivered everything they promised and more, one of the best RPG's i have played in recent years. Definitely a game of the year 2011 candidate.

    Shame the score is being destroyed by some idiots.
  53. May 18, 2011
    9
    Masterpiece. One of the best games ever - engaging, realistic, mature and beautiful. This is how modern RPG should look like.

    (I wanted to give it a "9", but when I saw those Bio Ware fanboys/employees/WOMM-guys giving it zeros, I realized that only a score of "10" would be fair).
  54. May 17, 2011
    10
    This is the best RPG game ever (believe me I am a big RPG fan). CD-PROJECT RED is the new leader in creating such games. This is the firs game where you can actually play as you like, creating a new reality with each decision you make (sic!). I hope I wont blow out of proportion if I say that this game define RPG term. 10 points is way to low. (And last thing: every downloadable content like new adventure, new "sword" or new "armour" will be for free!) Expand
  55. May 18, 2011
    10
    Truly amazing game, with amazing graphic and with one of the deepest story ever told for the PC. Absolute must-have for any PC-player who likes mature cRPG. Bioware: on your knees. Watch, learn and beg for forgiveness for what you've done with DA2.
  56. May 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely the best game I've ever played, the game surefire candidate for 2011. A significant jump up after and so perfect a part of this game will be remembered for a very long Expand
  57. May 17, 2011
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. IMO one of the best cRPG's. I recommend it to everyone who seeks good story, cool characters and awesome graphics too. A "must have" game !!
  58. May 18, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is what RPGs and PC gaming are all about, this game is a must have for everyone and Iâ
  59. May 20, 2011
    10
    what else i can say for witcher 2 other than it is pure perfect? graphics? if you have the rig they are eye blowing (playing at ultra settings myself:P), and you will be happy to see what your beast pc can pull out music? perfect combat? hard yes but rewarding (no more ROARRR I CHARGE YOU DIE NPCs) story? deep and cool (no more I SAVE THE WORLD archetype) main character? geralt is one of the best created characters in the gaming industry (very close or equal to shephard)
    other story related characters? they have their own personallity and seem "real"
    dialogs? funny and mature :P the witcher2 is one of the best games ever created in the cRPG universe :)

    thnx CDProjekt keep up the good work :)

    ps. buy the game , support developers who respect their customers ;)
    Expand
  60. May 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing game.From the graphics to the combat their have been innumerable improvements from the first. Customization of the character may pass on changing race sex and face but it has a deep and well structured skills/abilities and mutagen system that provides real choice and differences in game play. The icing on the cake is the story and especially characters. CDproject RED deserves many awards for this game. The graphical settings allow for use on a wide range of systems. While the norm seems to be max everything and complain the options given here allow even slower systems to run the game and look very good in my opinion, while higher settings allow for some of the best visuals Ive have seen. It has taken a long time for crysis to be matched this games to me at least does just that is not surpassing it.

    Bugs at launch yes a few but all fixable (for me anyway),There are a few quest bugs but nothing major. There were some graphical bugs related to both nvidia and ati rather than the game, Nvidia had new drivers out on launch day and ati hot fix regularly.

    A great experience
    Expand
  61. May 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing game!!. Work that has been done by CD Projekt to give such great entertainment deserves 10. I'm just wondering why there are almost only "10" and just few "0" and nothing between?
  62. May 17, 2011
    10
    I have actually been enjoying this game so much that I felt compelled to make a metacritic account to express just how GOOD this game is. It is so obvious that this game was developed by a team that actually cares about it's story, it's settings and most importantly it's characters. This is a game built with love and it really makes this game special. I have been playing games for a long time but this is certainly one of the best games I have ever played. If you have the proper rig ( hell go buy a good one just for this game) you must play this game. You will be doing yourself, fellow gamers and independent developers a huge favor. Trust me. Go get it. Expand
  63. May 17, 2011
    9
    Well, what I can I say to be different than others already expressed? This is a RPG lesson that must be taken by Bioware and Bethesda in the near future, and I hope they caught it. This is what I call a true branching storyline, offering a fair amount of delayed consequences following your choices. They made it even better than in the first game. Combat, magic and alchemy system are greatly improved as well, making the game chalenging and rewarding. I didn't finished the game yet, but I'm almost there. Expand
  64. May 17, 2011
    10
    david gaider voted zero for this game.

    just check this link: http://dragonage.wikia.com/wiki/David_Gaider

    this is getting ridiculous and bioware is slowly becoming the most hated studio if they go on like that. terrible losers they are.

    10
  65. May 17, 2011
    10
    bioware fanboys made me register at metacritic and write this review. first of all if you havent bought this game yet then you are depriving yourself of not just one of the greatest rpg but one of the greatest game of the decade Every single thing that you want to know is evident in every single positive user review. even though i have only completed almost 10 hours of the game, but they say that the First impression is the last impression. its an amazing game a must buy! Expand
  66. May 17, 2011
    10
    Witcher 2 is an amazing game in all aspects. Beautiful graphics and landmarks.......enjoyable quests, no load screens and above all they've improved the combat system that some people were complaining about in the first game(although i liked the combat system).
  67. May 17, 2011
    10
    I had just finished Dragon Age 2 like 4 days ago, and i believed to be "great" but after playing throughout half of The witcher 2, don't take me wrong, but i just can't go back, the graphics and artistic design are too impressive, and the game play on par or better, although a sightly difficult game (to be on normal difficult setting) and very demanding on the computer, can't complain the graphics are superb, the story so far so good, just waiting for the credits to roll out but that won't change my perception of the game which i believed to be not just great but nothing short of "AMAZING". Expand
  68. May 17, 2011
    10
    this game was a fantastic blend of all things rpg, truly a mind-blowing work of passion from the people at cdp. Keep up the great work(and thank you for the love to the pc crowd!)
  69. May 18, 2011
    9
    The best RPG game since the days of ps2!! If not the GOTY will at least be in the competition for top positions! CD Projekt Red Studio is to be congratulated for the quality of your product and even more because of all the DLC except expansions are free.
  70. May 17, 2011
    10
    A crowning achievement in both development and distribution. Environments are richly colorful as they are beautiful. Combat mechanics are as simply devised as they are complexly augmentative. CD Projekt has certainly outdone themselves in every respect. With this stunning title and sister outfit, GOG.com, the Polish company has cemented themselves in the spotlight and hearts of both modern and classic PC gamers alike. Keep an eye closely on them as they understand their demographic more than any developer today (save only Valve). Expand
  71. May 18, 2011
    10
    The best cRPG game I have ever played. beautiful graphics, epic history, very good sound and perfect game play. I hope, this is the game of 2011. Noting more to say.
  72. May 17, 2011
    10
    Let's be honest. Are you looking for one of the best true cRPGs in history? You want absorbing fights with high level of difficulty? Then don't look anymore because The Witcher 2 is here. There's no way you're gonna find anything as good as this at this moment. Forget about useless c**ps from bioware- they already proved with DE2 that they have already forgotten what a true cRPG is.
  73. May 18, 2011
    10
    This game is a beautiful and atmospheric realisation of Low Fantasy that can't be found in other developer's games. The characters are not idealised, they're like real people with all the complexities and motivations that real people have.
  74. May 18, 2011
    10
    Please, check reviews i_hate_poland & Bioware (lol). Gentelmen for BioWare dontt like to lose. The witcher 2 it's probably GOTY 2011. And this is a first game with free DLC :P Michasacuer
  75. May 18, 2011
    10
    Brilliant, enough for me to sign up and leave a review. I've just made it passed the prologue, and am very very impressed. Key points for me are:
    - Graphics are subtly but firmly better than the current generation of rpg's.
    - Everything about the game feels really well produced.
    - The collectors edition is such a good show to the player base, they've thrown in everything and the kitchen
    sink. Great gesture of thanks/reward for supporting the game.

    Given that they're a pc developer, and the crap that's come out of bioware recently, awesome stuff, we need more like this game.

    What i really wanted to say is this.. being a pc gamer.. the thing that really strikes me about the witcher so far is.. graphically.. its ALMOST the Crysis 2 we should have got. The lighting effects and the amount and quality of the details in the environment have an uncanny resemblance to the original crysis, in terms of the graphical calibre.

    I had a blast tweaking the game and seeing Geralt getting hit in the gut a few dozen times while working out the best configs.. The fact that the game didn't disappoint after this is the reason for the 10. The soundtrack is enjoyable to listen to also..
    Expand
  76. May 18, 2011
    10
    The best, complexed, and nonlinear story in cRPG since the long time. I might even say, since good old cRPG times (Baldur´s Gate, Torment, etc). Definately a game of the year. Or, perhaps, even years.
  77. Ex_
    May 19, 2011
    9
    Revised rating. Pros of the game: improved combat system that's fast paced, forces player to pay attention to enemies, doesn't spoon feed you; mistakes are also felt in the game (you die on a boss fight, you start the boss fight over again, not from a check point and there aren't frequent autosaves although some may see this as a con); engaging story and graphics; decent use of quicktime; supports the 360 gamepad with control mapping and UI. Cons of the game: has a somewhat steep learning curve that may be off-putting to impatient players; menu loading can take longer than normal a lot of the time; uses a configuration utility instead of allowing detail changes within the game; ONLY supports the 360 controller. All in all, a good game. P.S. most of the negative reviews are from people who never played the game, are Bioware fanboys, or just didn't take the time to play more than the intro quest before getting their ass kicked, discovered that the game requires skill and not mindless hacking slashing, quitting and refunding. Expand
  78. May 18, 2011
    9
    One of the best game I've ever played! Story is great and adult! Graphic is gorgeous! I've found only little glitches in controls - I'm using xbox controller and sometimes I have problem with choosing right spell or target loot/doors/chest ect. I guess it will be fixed shortly.
  79. May 18, 2011
    10
    Excellent!
    Much better than Arcania or DA2, it's not only true, pure RPG, this is great hope for this genre! Epic story, realistic combat, funny e-eggs, interesting world, charismatic hero ...and is so beautiful!
    Game of the Year, and the best RPG since Planescape!
  80. May 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sensational game. CD Projekt will be rubbing shoulders with Blizzard and Valve soon if they keep up this quality. The attention to detail throughout is on a new level, you can't help but stop and gaze through a markets goods or simply watch villagers as they go about their day-to-day business. The story so far is enthralling and the character design is Blizzard standard. Expand
  81. May 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ive have the privilege to play in a long time, this is the future of gaming. Well done in taking RPG to the next level. Kind of weird to see so many weirdos from BSN here rating a great game down, just feeling butthurt i guess cause DA2 was a flop.
  82. May 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have waited a long time for this game, and my expectations were very high. And now after playing Witcher 2, I can say that I'm satisfied with every aspect of this game. The Witcher 2 should become an example for other developers, what RPG game should be. In one word, it is masterpiece. I haven't doubt that Witcher 2 will be the game of the Year 2011. Expand
  83. May 18, 2011
    10
    Excellent game, about time we had a good RPG this year so 8 of 10 from me. BUT for all those scoring 0 I'll just have to add +2 to balance things out.
  84. May 18, 2011
    10
    Absolutely stunning game , there is no game that can compare to The Witcher 2.Coming as only 2nd from pretty fresh developer it is truly a miracle i can't wait what CDPR has prepared next for us.
    Gameplay is solid , tough it could use some improvement.Combat is definitely a huge improvement from TW1 it's both entertaining and challenging.Mini games are nothing impressive really , but those
    are nice addition to the game.
    Story is spectacular , can't say anything else without spoiling. Graphics , well i can say few things 1.It looks better than Crysis 2.It has best art style in any game to date IMO.Basically it is best looking game to date.Of course there is a difference between FPS and 3rd person game graphics , but Witcher 2 focuses more on small details than any game before (keeping in mind size of the locations).

    I can honestly say , if you don't play it , you are missing out a gem of a decade.
    Expand
  85. May 18, 2011
    10
    Witcher 2 will be simply the best RPG of all time. Wonderful graphics, deep characters and living world from Sapkowski's books. It consumes you as you play with incredible plot and addicting gameplay. Simply the best! Wonderful graphics, deep characters and living world from Sapkowski's books. It consumes you as you play with incredible plot and addicting gameplay. Wonderful graphics, deep characters and living world from Sapkowski's books.
    It consumes you as you play with incredible plot and addicting gameplay.
    Expand
  86. May 18, 2011
    10
    If I could give this game an 11 I would in a heartbeat. The Witcher 2 is what happens you some of the most quality game developers actually care about their customers, and release a game that reflects that in every way.
  87. May 18, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is a really complete RPG with loads of different elements that ensures that you get involved both with Geralt and the world of the Witcher 2. The action is tight and it actually takes some skill to kill your opponents. You may not be a juggernaut, but you can be sure that you have to the tools to kick ass. Six guards with attitude comes to kick your ass? Use the shield spell and mind control one of them to do your dirty work and BAM, the odds are now in your favor.

    Over all the Witcher 2 is a stunning looking, great playing and amazingly sounding game. Check it out or you'll be sorry.
    Expand
  88. May 18, 2011
    9
    I had to register and post my opinions on this game to counterbalance some of this dragon age/witcher stuff even though i am only 4-5 hours in. It is a real treat to play a game this loved by the developers, you can tell in every detail that it was given real thought and attention. The menus (confusing as they are) show this love and attention to detail just as much as the combat engine and the astoundingly beautiful areas (the forest especially takes my breath away).

    Combat: Hard but fair. This is not a game where you can play a tank or a spell caster or a rogue you have to play as a witcher and as such fight like one, using cunning, traps, magic and potions just as much as your sword. If you can't do that this game isn't for you. Often even during the start i found myself dying during fights only to go back and try a new strategy, its very rewarding to finally have a game that challenges you. This really is the polar opposite of other fantasy games like fable.

    Story/Voice acting. This aspect is significantly improved over its predecessor, the voice acting especially being some of the best in recent years, although there is the odd poorly done character but typically reserved for minor characters. Only 5 hours in and the story is good, once again its a chase after someone who has wronged you but seems well paced, i especially like the motion comic flashbacks.

    Dragon age: Is it better? That depends, i played both for me DA2 is a solid 7.5 as it had no real story no motive that failed to drive me. All i ask is that you look at the 0 reviews of the witcher 2 (and probably some of the 10's) with a little scepticism a quick glance shows a lot of these have given DA2 a 10 W2 a 0. If the witcher 2 continues to hold my attention for its duration then it will be one hell of a game.
    Expand
  89. May 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best cRPG I have ever played. Stunning visuals, immersing world, great music and voice acting. Ther are some minor flaws to, but Red's showed us that they support they products like no other studio. Its 9/10 in my opinion, but someone need to balance DAII fanboys.
  90. May 18, 2011
    10
    Witcher is an icon of polish fantasy/science fiction. Thanks to CD-PROJECT we have a chance to experience it at our computer screens. So far, the best Polish game and one of the top around the globe. I could tell you that "Witcher 2" gives you wonderful experiences and sensations, bla, bla.. but I think that any of this words cannot explain it. The only way to understand what I am trying to say is to take a part
    in this amazing adventure. Its a graphic masterpiece - you cant missed it.
    Expand
  91. May 18, 2011
    10
    A real breath of fresh air in a market of dumbed down , sorry "streamlined" franchises, The Witcher 2 gives a fine example of an immersive, challenging, strategic and above all fun game with a real break from the linearity of it's counterparts.
  92. May 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPGs to date. It's actually rather sad that a game as superb as this one has the unfortunate honour of being the subject of trolls who write bogus reviews in an attempt to advertise another game that performed poorly in its user rating (and rightly so).

    Anyway, this game has it all. The dialogue, the characters, the graphics (superb!) and the gameplay have clearly been
    refined to the point of near perfection. The attention to detail that the developers have invested in this game is truly astounding. The backdrops are vibrant and really rather incredible, making the game an absolute pleasure to play. If your desire to buy RPGs has been crushed by the very game mentioned by the 0-rating trolls, fear not; there's no copied and pasted environments in this game. This is what a RPG should be and other developers should be taking note. Overall, I would give this game a 9.8/10 but Metacritic doesn't allow for decimal points in their review system and I feel 9/10 is too low for a game of this quality, so I'm rounding up. 10/10. Expand
  93. May 18, 2011
    10
    For a full and honest review from someone who has actually played the game and isn't a troll named anything refering to bioware check out my blog on IGN.com user kane_darkhorn. Trust me its worth it.
  94. May 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Witcher is an icon of polish fantasy/science fiction. Thanks to
    CD-PROJECT we have a chance to experience it at our computer screens. So
    far, the best Polish game and one of the top around the globe. I could
    tell you that "Witcher 2" gives you wonderful experiences and
    sensations, bla, bla.. but I think that any of this words cannot explain
    it. The only way to understand what I am trying to say is to take a part
    in this amazing adventure. Its a graphic masterpiece - you cant missed it.
    Expand
  95. May 18, 2011
    10
    This game is a clear example of what a good PC game is. CD Projekt RED has done an awesome job with the story, graphics, and design of the game. The graphics engine, dubbed "RED Engine", allows you to customize a myriad of features ranging from screen space ambient occlusion to depth of field. Best of all, any future DLC for The Witcher 2 will be free (just as it should be for every PC game). If you're looking for a fresh, immersive, and complex RPG... then The Witcher 2 will keep you busy for hours. Expand
  96. May 18, 2011
    10
    Well I'm just so stunned by the game, that I had to sign up and share. I believe it to be the first game since Baldurs Gate II that I just unconditionally love. I played the original Witcher and as a devoted Sapkowski's fun I liked it a lot, but was aware of and annoyed by its faults. With this game it's different. I know there are some (very few and minor) aspect that could be done better, but I just don't give a damn about them. This game is like a dog. A very nice dog that all the neighbors envy you. A pet, that will always have a special place in your heart even when it's long gone. As I said, for a decade I haven't felt like this about a game. I don't mind the lack of character customization, it never bothered me in RPGs. Back in the day of Baldur's Gate it was easy to do, no one required a game to have all the dialogs voice-acted. Now in games like the first DOA or KOTOR, it just pissed me of that almost all characters had voice and the one I'm supposed to feel the most bonded with is a fricking mute. I don't mind the difficult combat. It brings back memories of the great games of old, when you would load a save for a hundred times, mad with frustration, just to die again in what seemed to be an impossible challenge But in the end, you would win and feel pure pride and satisfaction.

    I love the story, the looks and all the small and big improvements made by the Reds. I feel like if all the errors of the original Witcher had to be made to allow the second one to be the game it is. I love the developers approach, so uncommon these days, to just ignore all the weekend gamers and just focus on us, dedicated gamers, who see games as something more than just a way to kill time or release some steam after a tough day.

    This game makes me proud to be Polish and right now I just don't care about all the things that Poland can't be proud about. You guys make us shine. I hope you continue creating games like this and remain a beacon for all gamers tired of developers treating games like a solely commercial product.
    Expand
  97. May 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPGs I've ever played and the only RPG I've played in recent years that has kept my attention from the beginning and held it. As for the combat, it is engaging and fun while maintaining a nice balance of strategy and action. On the "normal " game difficulty setting, the combat was just difficult enough to keep me challenged. The combination of magic / swordplay / traps & bombs is a lot of fun and gives you many options to use during the midst of combat.

    As for the graphics, they are breathtaking. The attention to detail is bar none. The uniforms and patterns are incredibly detailed and well thought out. The environments feel so real and the dungeons give me a bit of a shiver with the perfectly reverberating sound and realistic atmospheric effects like fog / haze. There have been some complaints of graphical glitches, control bugs and other bugs... but I haven't experienced any bugs whatsoever. The load times are excellent on my mid-range rig and I'm able to run the graphics on "medium" and have perfectly smooth frame rates. I'm running an Intel Core-i7 870, 8 gigs of ram, ATI 5870 and Creative Soundblaster Fatility.

    Thank you cdprojekt! THANK YOU!
    Expand
  98. May 18, 2011
    10
    For now I can only say - masterpiece...The game is so beautiful, so very well rounded. Dialogue - well written, very brilliant and sprightly, and immersive. Living world, interesting plot, all that atmosphere - great job. There are of course minor bugs, but I don't care ;) One of the best game I've ever played.
  99. May 18, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is the best-looking game ever! It kicks BioWare's ass in many aspects! First, of course, the graphics are amazing! Second, the decision we make in The Witcher 2 are way more serious and change much more than we experienced in Dragon Age 2. So think more than twice about what you are going to say/do! Third, I like the combat! It's not that easy-going combat from Dragon Age 2! When we are facing many enemies at once it's not like: "So.. that's all you got?". We are no superhero. We experience how hard it is to fight so many opponents. We have to dodge them an hit 'em from behind. Plant traps and sometimes, we even need to step back for a moment. It's way more intense. Fourth, the story! It's a suspenceful story! I really like the turns in it and the long dialogues are the best I've seen so far. I really like RPGs that have not that stupid one-liner we all now!
    What's with that stupid female crap MarianHawke is writing about? Insulting? The female character aren't insulted in any way in this game! We have strong female characters, who are smart and are fully emancipated. So, play this game again and think about it. Thanks!
    Expand
  100. May 18, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, full of graphical splendor and deep storytelling. I really can't endorse this product enough, this will be an instant classic for any RPG fan.
    I also have to mention the savegame carry-over system. Save games change EVERYTHING based on what you did in the last game, a really satisfying experience for long-time fans.
  101. May 18, 2011
    0
    Witcher 2 has continued to grow on me, and no, I'm REALLY not advancing the plotline. Just pacing though the original semi-open area, exploring every nook and cranny. Some people might call this a 30 hour game. At the rate I am playing 80. This is like bioshock was years ago, I just adore every single inch and feel incredibly at home. This is incalculably better than anything else I have played for YEARS. The soundtrack is hauntingly flawless, the graphics are simply the best ever conceived (yes, better than crysis 1 on highest) and the combat system is deep and hard-as-nails. The games main downer is that it has to end. I don't want it to end!! If portal 2 was the ingenious of this year, this would be the class. 100% golden plated class. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    93
    Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings. A true, polished diamond. Watch and learn Bioware. [May 2011]
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    92
    The Witcher 2 easily stands amongst the big boys in the CRPG crowd and is also the best Action RPG to come out since Mass Effect 2.
  3. Sep 7, 2011
    90
    The Witcher 2 offers awesome sword fights, cool graphics, charming characters, a compelling story, lots of bare skin and a decent shot of vulgar conversations. Damn good.