The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4254 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 22, 2011
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal game, made â
  2. May 22, 2011
    9
    Great sequel to a solid game. Witcher 2 has breathtaking graphics. Story is great and has much replayability due to your choices. Good community. Only con is a small studio about to be overwhelmed with success. The initial sales has put a lot of stress on their infrastructure.

    A definite buy!!!
  3. May 22, 2011
    10
    In the past few years, RPG fans have begun to worry that their favorite genre is becoming watered down, using recent games like Fable 3 and Dragon Age 2 as evidence. The Witcher 2 breaths new life into the genre. Tactical combat, convincing dialogue, towering boss fights and an intriguing narrative separate this ambitious game from it's competition. If Bethesda's RPGs are the pinnacle ofIn the past few years, RPG fans have begun to worry that their favorite genre is becoming watered down, using recent games like Fable 3 and Dragon Age 2 as evidence. The Witcher 2 breaths new life into the genre. Tactical combat, convincing dialogue, towering boss fights and an intriguing narrative separate this ambitious game from it's competition. If Bethesda's RPGs are the pinnacle of freedom, then CD Projekt Red may just have displaced Bioware as the pinnacle of RPG narrative. Does the future of the RPG genre lie, not in America or Japan, but Europe? The Witcher 2 certainly presents a strong argument for this. Expand
  4. May 22, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great story, fight system, quests, Triss and other NPCs. Graphics is amazing, music and sounds are perfect, minigames are interesting. This game deserves to be Game of the year, but for me, the Witcher is better... Expand
  5. May 22, 2011
    9
    This game went from my favourite to my least favourite game. I played through it thinking there would be a massive battle near the end, but instead you get the 'to be continued' feeling you get from crap tv shows. The only difference, is that with a game you have to wait years rather than days for the continuation. (My review gets better) This was a amazingly good game, don't getThis game went from my favourite to my least favourite game. I played through it thinking there would be a massive battle near the end, but instead you get the 'to be continued' feeling you get from crap tv shows. The only difference, is that with a game you have to wait years rather than days for the continuation. (My review gets better) This was a amazingly good game, don't get me wrong (that's why i still gave it a 9/10): The graphics were rich and colourful, the characters were well developed and intriguing, the voice acting was above decent, the combat system was fun but sometimes a bit glitchy, the storyline was a bit hard to follow, but in no doubt very advanced and deep. I found the tutorials to move a bit quickly, so i had to google how to use mutagens, potions, etc. During dialogue, i found that characters would use the same hand motions each time you would talk to them. Over all, this game is godly, and you should buy it whenever you get the chance (or wait till the third comes out, then play them all in sequence). I do feel like the last several days of mine were wasted however, trying to achieve a goal that didn't even exist. I give 9/10 for the most addictive game of all time, with market-leading graphics that are very memorable. Expand
  6. May 22, 2011
    10
    I didn't play much in the last few years simply because of the fact that there wasn't a game that could keep me entertained for a long time. Luckily it has changed due to W2. There are no words that can describe how good the game is: the plot, graphics and music are very well combined together. It's like in the old times when games where created for gamers by gamers and not only to bringI didn't play much in the last few years simply because of the fact that there wasn't a game that could keep me entertained for a long time. Luckily it has changed due to W2. There are no words that can describe how good the game is: the plot, graphics and music are very well combined together. It's like in the old times when games where created for gamers by gamers and not only to bring profits selling weak products. Don't hesitate and buy W2, you won't regret it. And BTW, good job CDProjekt ! Expand
  7. May 22, 2011
    9
    A few nitpicks aside this is easily one of the best games let alone rpg's of this gaming generation. Great graphics and presentation(make sure you bring a monster rig if you plan to "MAX" it). Good controls and combat mechanics allowing you play with multiple styles and use several types of weapons tho be warned the game doesnt do a great job in teaching these to the player so expect aA few nitpicks aside this is easily one of the best games let alone rpg's of this gaming generation. Great graphics and presentation(make sure you bring a monster rig if you plan to "MAX" it). Good controls and combat mechanics allowing you play with multiple styles and use several types of weapons tho be warned the game doesnt do a great job in teaching these to the player so expect a trial by fire beginning. Great characters with good writing, voice acting and some of the best choice/consequence gameplay in the industry. Refreshingly mature tone that treats the gamer like an adult and doesnt constantly hold your hand. A good 25-35hour singleplayer with nice replay value. The only reason i didnt give it a 10 is because of the last 1/5 of the game in which it feels a bit rushed. Its not horrible, but it should have been fleshed out much better. Expand
  8. May 22, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is an absolutely incredible game, with nearly every aspect surpassing the first game. While the combat is vastly superior to the previous game, there are still issues, primarily with targeting and difficulty ramping. These minor flaws do not however distract from the overall game, including it's incredible story that is probably the best from any game since Baldur's Gate 2 orThe Witcher 2 is an absolutely incredible game, with nearly every aspect surpassing the first game. While the combat is vastly superior to the previous game, there are still issues, primarily with targeting and difficulty ramping. These minor flaws do not however distract from the overall game, including it's incredible story that is probably the best from any game since Baldur's Gate 2 or Planescape :Torment. The game is a definite contender for Game of the Year and so far at least, has absolutely no competition. As for performance - I am using a Nvidia 470GT with the May 17 beta drivers, everything but Ubersampling turned on max the frame rate is at a stable 60 with minimal stuttering during area loads. Expand
  9. May 23, 2011
    10
    Absolutely unequaled in story telling and atmosphere! This game has a level of writing that would be an unachievable goal for a lot of fantasy books. The plot is drawing heavily from the Middle Ages and mixes the fantasy elements seamlessly. You may find the excessive violence and profanity repulsive, but it makes for a lot more realistic and immersive experience - the people in this gameAbsolutely unequaled in story telling and atmosphere! This game has a level of writing that would be an unachievable goal for a lot of fantasy books. The plot is drawing heavily from the Middle Ages and mixes the fantasy elements seamlessly. You may find the excessive violence and profanity repulsive, but it makes for a lot more realistic and immersive experience - the people in this game are far closer to their historic prototypes than the idealized icons we have grown to accept as characters in the cliche fantasy games. They eat, drink, swear, have bodily needs and all the rest of it. I would compare the world to George Martin's fantasy saga. Quite obviously, the authors are very well read in history.

    Graphics are extremely impressive, both artistically and technically. Music is of the highest quality and it is used very well, complementing the experience - joyful in the taverns, creepy in the dungeons and aggressive during fights. Voice acting is very good with minor exceptions, but fortunately Geralt's voice is perfect throughout.

    The character development has been revamped from the first game - there are a lot more options and now we have a vast array of items, some of which are crafted. The fighting is more interesting than the first game, though a bit less visually impressive. It feels a bit unresponsive at times, but this is no fighting game, so that can't be considered a big drawback.

    Other problems worth mentioning are a few minor bugs and the performance - there are framerate drops in some areas.

    Another personal issue I found was Geralt's face, which seems to me a step back from his looks in the first episode. I managed to get used to it and for most people it wouldn't even make a difference.

    In conclusion, I must say that "The Witcher 2" is a must play game for all RPG fans and anyone interested in mature story telling and depth of characterization.
    Expand
  10. May 23, 2011
    10
    This game is brilliant. I've been waiting for it for a long time. Finally, when Witcher 2 came to me I just say "OMFG thats osom". Very interesting and mature plot. Combat system is much more different than in other cRPG games. If you want to survive you have to think, not just click a mouse button. Graphics is beautiful. I've never seen so colorful and detailed world in game. The bestThis game is brilliant. I've been waiting for it for a long time. Finally, when Witcher 2 came to me I just say "OMFG thats osom". Very interesting and mature plot. Combat system is much more different than in other cRPG games. If you want to survive you have to think, not just click a mouse button. Graphics is beautiful. I've never seen so colorful and detailed world in game. The best thing about this game it's nolinear - there are 16 various endings! I recommend Witcher 2 for everyone who likes cRPG games, but if you don't like that type it doesn't matter - just buy it - you won't be regret. 10/10 Expand
  11. May 23, 2011
    9
    Amazing story, game and sound, the characters are designed very well. little weak final and sometimes long distances to walk. To understand the story you have to listen very carefully to every dialogue, and you should play the witcher 1 first, but its worth it!
  12. May 25, 2011
    9
    At start i was a bit worried if the game will match it predecessor Witcher 1 but already after few minutes within the prologue i knew this was it. The first thing that strikes you is the graphic ofc stunning textures, lights, shadows and it runs smooth like a butter on an old ahtlon 5600+ (2cores) and radeon 4870x2 +4gig ram. The voice acting and character acting is tons better then in theAt start i was a bit worried if the game will match it predecessor Witcher 1 but already after few minutes within the prologue i knew this was it. The first thing that strikes you is the graphic ofc stunning textures, lights, shadows and it runs smooth like a butter on an old ahtlon 5600+ (2cores) and radeon 4870x2 +4gig ram. The voice acting and character acting is tons better then in the first part. You dont have anymore the feeling that your in some bad doll house. I never felt Witcher 1 to be OMGRPGSTRATEGIC etc...it was just as much as dynamic as Witcher 2 is. The difference is the removal of the active pause (you get a nice slowmotion now wich is awsome made and gives you an in-action feeling) and the rythmic click wich i hated tbh in Witcher 1. If anyone claims thats what made Witcher 1 a better cRPG then Witcher 2 is then he has no clue what cRPG is and was about. The combat is now more action based i give that but it dosent lack the fun from the first Witcher and the changes CDP implemented are quite good (compared to how dragon age 2 got changed or mass effect 2 > Expand
  13. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    !! Game of the Year !! Epic story , great gameplay and amazing graphics . It's all you need to say that fresh game can be still created among all those fps. waiting to see the Witcher 3, cause this game is the best what gamer can get into his hands
  14. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    I really must congratulate CDprojekt they have done an outstanding job. This is definitely the best game I have ever played. The graphics made me spend hours wandering in the forests of Flotsram ( I admit they are so good I actually got lost in the forest), the combat is what all RPGs should have, not the DPS type but actual swordsmanship you strike, you duck or you die. The other aspectsI really must congratulate CDprojekt they have done an outstanding job. This is definitely the best game I have ever played. The graphics made me spend hours wandering in the forests of Flotsram ( I admit they are so good I actually got lost in the forest), the combat is what all RPGs should have, not the DPS type but actual swordsmanship you strike, you duck or you die. The other aspects of traps, bombs, signs, potions and oils etc are also a welcome addition to the complexity of battle ( I was getting frustrated with the mindless consolized games that are coming out of late with dummed down combat, no need to state names DA2 you know yourselves) And last but not least the story just wraps it all up into one amazing spectacle of brilliance. Expand
  15. Aug 10, 2011
    8
    Very good game and worth your money. The story is interestin, characters are very memorable and all in all a very good game. A bit to short but thats about the only negative thing there is to say.
  16. May 8, 2012
    9
    Excellent game all around.

    Excellent graphics, very good combat system. Great voice acting and character design. Beats Skyrim on all fronts. My only gripe with it is the story it wasn't as engaging as the one in original Witcher and the ending is something murky. That was however to be expected since there is no doubt will be the third installment in the game and developers wanted to
    Excellent game all around.

    Excellent graphics, very good combat system. Great voice acting and character design. Beats Skyrim on all fronts.

    My only gripe with it is the story it wasn't as engaging as the one in original Witcher and the ending is something murky. That was however to be expected since there is no doubt will be the third installment in the game and developers wanted to keep storylines open for that.

    Worth every cent of it.
    Expand
  17. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    My problem with this game is this: I like it too much. The game is so awesome, now I have read people saying that it doesn't have the charm that TW1 does. To me, it is the opposite, I bought TW1 in spring, before TW2 came out. I played it, since I could get it rather cheaply, to see if I could enjoy the combat system (it is rather unique for an RPG). I thought that it was ok, but I haveMy problem with this game is this: I like it too much. The game is so awesome, now I have read people saying that it doesn't have the charm that TW1 does. To me, it is the opposite, I bought TW1 in spring, before TW2 came out. I played it, since I could get it rather cheaply, to see if I could enjoy the combat system (it is rather unique for an RPG). I thought that it was ok, but I have only 3 hours logged in TW1. I have 28 hours in TW2, and they just keep rolling in.
    I will say what I dislike: I dislike the fact that it crashes sometimes, sometimes when finishing dialogue I get a black screen, sometimes my char doesn't do what I tell him to do (controls could use some work). None of those dislikes matter one bit though. I keep wanting more, I keep wanting to play more, I keep trying to figure out ways to get the graphics to look even better than they do (to me its a game that needs to be played as maxed out as possible, because it is gorgeous). I have been able to run it at max settings without uber sampling, by tweaking windows settings and such. The game is jaw droppingly beautiful. It has a distinctly RP feel to it, and you quickly get caught up in the story and all of its intricacies.

    I think the best way I can put this is like this: I played TW1 and decided that TW1 and 2 was probably not for me, no harm down. I later on bought TW2 and have played it extensively since, I have decided that this game is exactly a game for me, I have also decided to try and delve deeper into the story by playing TW1 (get a save game for TW2 and then play TW2 AGAIN! hehe), and quite possibly buying the books too.

    10/10 from me.
    Expand
  18. May 31, 2011
    9
    Almost perfect game. Beautiful, state of the art graphics and masterful art. Mesmerizing story and memorable characters. Playing as Geralt of Rivia is both a rewarding and an unforgettable experience. Quests are deeper and more realistic than any other game outside. Treats the player as an adult. Combat is hard yet enjoyable and challenging. Very unlinear story, good choice&consequence andAlmost perfect game. Beautiful, state of the art graphics and masterful art. Mesmerizing story and memorable characters. Playing as Geralt of Rivia is both a rewarding and an unforgettable experience. Quests are deeper and more realistic than any other game outside. Treats the player as an adult. Combat is hard yet enjoyable and challenging. Very unlinear story, good choice&consequence and tons of replay value.Free DLC! Amazing premium and collector's edition content. The Cons: Still 1.1 version hasn´t solved all the bugs; there're not many, but some. Expand
  19. May 28, 2011
    10
    Perfect RPG, from the adult oriented story to the superb graphics. GOTY for sure. No other game comes close to touching TW:AoK. Do yourself a favor, trade in your copy of Dragon Age 2, or simply break it in half, then go get The Witcher 2. Do it to it.
  20. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    This game has a fantastic story for you to become apart of, the way you interact with npc's is very binding and holds you further into the game, the lifespan of the game is very short, the game is relatively easy and the side missions are stories within themselves, however, this game i felt lacked in a certain area, don't get me wrong this game is fun to play looks fantastic and draws youThis game has a fantastic story for you to become apart of, the way you interact with npc's is very binding and holds you further into the game, the lifespan of the game is very short, the game is relatively easy and the side missions are stories within themselves, however, this game i felt lacked in a certain area, don't get me wrong this game is fun to play looks fantastic and draws you into a very deep story, the lack however comes from a lot of new rpgs will allow more freedom and places to go, for example Assassin's Creed Brotherhood which came out at similar time to The Witcher 2, offers you a epic story better fighting, and the freedom to go to multiple towns etc, Another thing i felt hurt this game a little was the graphics, they look FANTASTIC, but i am running a hi spec machine and some things still became laggy and put stress on the GPU, people playing this game on laptops and middle ranged PC's will struggle to enjoy this game. All in all, this game is brilliant with some minor annoyances that can be easily forgiven and ignored. Can't wait for the third installment. Expand
  21. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    I never did play the first game and picked this one up on a whim. So glad I did though, this game is amazing. From the graphics and sound to the game play this is one of the better games I've ever played. Like another person on here stated this is what Dragon Age II should of been like. I'd defiantly have to put this in the running for game of the year.
  22. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    If you enjoyed The Witcher (1), The Witcher 2 will be an absolutely thrilling experience.

    The Gameplay: While the combat system in the series has never been my personal favorite, it has been massively improved from the original game. The controls in general were much easier to handle, and the use of signs and fast/strong sword style was much easier. The skill trees were balanced and made
    If you enjoyed The Witcher (1), The Witcher 2 will be an absolutely thrilling experience.

    The Gameplay: While the combat system in the series has never been my personal favorite, it has been massively improved from the original game. The controls in general were much easier to handle, and the use of signs and fast/strong sword style was much easier. The skill trees were balanced and made much more sense than its predecessor. If you play the game on easy mode, it will seem very hack-and-slash like. Playing on normal balances out the "hack and slash" and the need for signs and potions in combat. For a genuine challenge, the difficult setting makes every combat experience strategic and epic. The Graphics/Settings:

    Stunning. Each map/chapter is completely unique, and much larger than it may initially appear. You can see that a lot of work went into the design. There is so much to explore. It's not an open-world game like Oblivion or Fallout:New Vegas. However, for being enclosed, it sure does have a lot to offer. The characters look very realistic... to the point where I can't even bare to look at DA2's anymore without feeling they are either way cartoony or outdated. Also, The Witcher 2 isn't afraid to show you some T&A, or even some good ol' bump and grind. Now DA2 looks *really* silly in that regard.
    The Characters:
    You play as Geralt in the series, but not without your own flavor of his reactions/personality. He is always somewhat sarcastic, but you can be the "good/fair" guy or the "do this or I'll beat you senseless" guy. Also, using the Axii sign in conversation (think Obi Wan's "These are not the droids you are looking for") makes it a nice middle-road option to get straight to the point/your objective. The dialogue can also be quite humorous. The non-playable characters are well drawn out and believable, with many facets to their person other than the limited persona we see all too often. The voice acting is incredible.

    The Story:

    This is the best part of the game. There are multiple storylines to follow, so multiple play-throughs will be necessary to get the entire experience. What you do/the decisions you make can have a huge effect on what will come next, where you will be, and the quests that will be available. Regardless of which path you take, this game is so engrossing you'll easily lose track of time as you play.

    Comparison to DA2... (for the curious)

    What can I say? At first, I thought DA2 was OK -- Dragon Age gone Mass Effect 2. Experiencing the graphics, characters, and storyline from Witcher 2 makes me feel like I wasted my money/time playing DA2. However, I personally prefer a more mature game with a preset appearance/character because I'm not looking to create an identity within a game. For gamers looking for more customization of their character -- DA2 is better, but not nearly as good as DA:O.
    Expand
  23. TIZ
    Jul 3, 2011
    9
    This game doesn't get a 10 for a few simple reasons...but first graphics, gameplay and storyline are very good no complaints there. Only have to say a bit broken mechanics and its actually very harsh marking it down by even 1 point on this but still had 2 find something wrong haha...graphics are amazing no lag on Ultra and my computer is not special or a mini supercomputer or anything likeThis game doesn't get a 10 for a few simple reasons...but first graphics, gameplay and storyline are very good no complaints there. Only have to say a bit broken mechanics and its actually very harsh marking it down by even 1 point on this but still had 2 find something wrong haha...graphics are amazing no lag on Ultra and my computer is not special or a mini supercomputer or anything like that. My system is i5 760 @3.3GHz (Overclocked) , 8GB, GTX560 (overclocked) Expand
  24. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my opinion, the best rpg game of all time and presumably GOTY 2011 winner, CDProject Red took what is best from the Sapkowski's sage, combined it with great graphics , created a beautiful story that is deeply rooted in the Witcher's universe, the Witcher 1 was great, the Witcher 2 is much better, however not perfect, but let's be honest, have you seen a game without errors? I haven't.. The demanding combat system, user-friendly crafting, beautiful sceneries and figures, all of that induce to the above score . and don't listen to the haters all around there, support CDPR, buy the Witcher 2, experience the adventure of your life and allow them to create another astonishing part of this game. Expand
  25. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    CD Projekt drew a line in the sand with this masterpiece, and the RPG world will never be the same again. The graphics and game play are everything they said it would be and beyond anything I imagined possible. This game makes sweet love to your system. Stunning graphics and an innovative, almost alien, game engine puts this game on the pantheon with the other great RPGs of the lastCD Projekt drew a line in the sand with this masterpiece, and the RPG world will never be the same again. The graphics and game play are everything they said it would be and beyond anything I imagined possible. This game makes sweet love to your system. Stunning graphics and an innovative, almost alien, game engine puts this game on the pantheon with the other great RPGs of the last decade, the provocative, engaging, and mature storyline, puts it head and shoulders above them. Gamers are growing up, I am 28 now, it's great to have a game developer growing with us. Thank you CD Projekt. Expand
  26. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. very good maded history, there is some technical bugs like a thievery the houses, high rigs requirements, no possibility to drink mixtures durring fight so you have to be prepared for all the time , poor equipment, no tutorial so for me it was annoying think to have full equip and dont know how to use it, specially mixtures, very hard fight against many even week enemies, etc... but the story and great music compensate thoose thinks, ANYWAY it was so close to made PERFECT GAME..... Expand
  27. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    The witcher 2 is certainly a great improvement and worthy sequel of the original game. There really isn't much to say that hasn't already be said. Visually (if your PC can handle it) it's one of the most beautiful game I've seen for awhile. As for the gameplay itself, there is a learning curve in the beginning, but it would only get easier. I for one enjoy the difficultly of the gameThe witcher 2 is certainly a great improvement and worthy sequel of the original game. There really isn't much to say that hasn't already be said. Visually (if your PC can handle it) it's one of the most beautiful game I've seen for awhile. As for the gameplay itself, there is a learning curve in the beginning, but it would only get easier. I for one enjoy the difficultly of the game because it require you to think and be wary of your actions. Simply put, this isn't Star Wars force unleash where you can dive into 50 enemies and comes out unscratched. For those new to RPG, I recommend turning down the difficulty but trust me, that in the end you will actually feel a sense of accomplishment. The only bones I have to pick with this game is of the story narration. If you're not familiar with the background story, even if you played the original game you would feel lost often because there are simply just too many names being thrown around. I had to read up on wiki and play the game a few times just to understand everything involve. The gameplay itself isn't perfect either. When in battle, sometimes it's very difficult to target a single enemy even if you lock on them. Also, the inventory interface is just too clunky and should be sorted better. If you picked up too many items, especially junk item, it's a pain to find it in your inventory to sell/drop them. Overall despite some of these problems, it does not take much away from how good the game is. I will not spoil anything but this is one of the few games that requires multiple play-through to fully enjoy everything the developers have put into it. In conclusion, this is a must buy RPG game. Expand
  28. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    I write this, having just finished the game but a moment ago.
    I would give this game a 9.7
    Visuals: The vistas have but one description that can suit them: epic. You will visit some masterfully crafted environments, and I had several moments where I had to stop and just, gaze. The graphics are on par with the best the system can throw at you. Audio: The voices are well done, though the
    I write this, having just finished the game but a moment ago.
    I would give this game a 9.7
    Visuals: The vistas have but one description that can suit them: epic. You will visit some masterfully crafted environments, and I had several moments where I had to stop and just, gaze. The graphics are on par with the best the system can throw at you.
    Audio: The voices are well done, though the developer is Polish the game avoids the "poor voice over" syndrome so commonly found in ports. The voices are strong enough that they feel natural and at no point interfere with immersion.
    Story: There are some meaningful themes that run across the series, and often there is no right, only the lesser of two evils. Though I do not know how much my choices truly changed the outcome, the story is still one of the best of all the games I have ever played. This game is a saga of the White Wolf, and it made me think.
    Between the story, and the audiovisual component, this game puts CDProject Red on par with Bioware as master story craftsmen. Gameplay: Once you get used to the controls, the fighting is seamless enough, though this is where the .3 was subtracted from the game as artifacts of the eventual port to 360 are present in the PC version. The mouse feels "off" as best I can describe it, too fast when selecting but too slow a camera if you adjust for the selection. The interface lacks a few basic things, like quickload. The game doesn't do as good a job as I'd have liked of explaining some of the more complex components, it was not until the third act that I figured out how to use mutagens. The mouse feels underused, and there is a sense that the game is designed with a gamepad in mind but not to such an extent as other similar ports. The developers seem to have at least tried to stay true to the PC roots.
    There is a reason that my cons contribute but 3% of the score. When the game is taken as a whole, the massive amount done right far outweighs the little annoyances. If you like deep, meaningful RPGs, this game is a godsend.
    I'm now going to go design my own dice poker board.
    Expand
  29. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    It's been four years since the first Witcher game opened to warm reception in 2007. The PC exclusive action-RPG featured a new combat style, deeply evolving and open-ended paths, and a powerful protagonist with some brutal decisions to make.

    The Witcher 2 has proven CDProjekt as a powerhouse developer in the RPG arena. This fledgling developer has improved upon the original Witcher in
    It's been four years since the first Witcher game opened to warm reception in 2007. The PC exclusive action-RPG featured a new combat style, deeply evolving and open-ended paths, and a powerful protagonist with some brutal decisions to make.

    The Witcher 2 has proven CDProjekt as a powerhouse developer in the RPG arena. This fledgling developer has improved upon the original Witcher in almost every way possible, bringing us a climactic and thrilling adventure that both action and RPG fans alike will appreciate.

    See the full text of the review here: http://boredomsadvocate.blogspot.com/2011/06/review-witcher-2-tw2.html
    Expand
  30. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Brilliant game, great pacing, great quests, my favorite part? The ambiguity of what it means to be "good" or "evil". Instead of the usual choice between "goodie two shoes" and "completely evil bastard" with nothing in between, you actually have to make choices between shades of grey and live with the consequences. I was actually beginning to lose hope that we'd never see a truly great RPGBrilliant game, great pacing, great quests, my favorite part? The ambiguity of what it means to be "good" or "evil". Instead of the usual choice between "goodie two shoes" and "completely evil bastard" with nothing in between, you actually have to make choices between shades of grey and live with the consequences. I was actually beginning to lose hope that we'd never see a truly great RPG again. Definitely raises the bar of what an RPG can be. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 21, 2011
    93
    Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings. A true, polished diamond. Watch and learn Bioware. [May 2011]
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    92
    The Witcher 2 easily stands amongst the big boys in the CRPG crowd and is also the best Action RPG to come out since Mass Effect 2.
  3. Sep 7, 2011
    90
    The Witcher 2 offers awesome sword fights, cool graphics, charming characters, a compelling story, lots of bare skin and a decent shot of vulgar conversations. Damn good.