User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4598 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 19, 2011
    10
    I can only say - wow... This game is the best game in this year. At now I am in end of act 1 and I am curious next storyline. I dont believed, so people can give this game 0. Ok - mayby 9,8,7 but not 0... I hope this is a begining of new era of rpg games. Mayby other studios (yes yes - its You BIOWARE) will do titles as good as The Witcher 2.
  2. May 17, 2011
    10
    Great story, realistic characters, nice graphics, wonderful locations and fun gameplay. Certainly surpasses not only Dragon Age 2 (by far) but Dragon Age 1 and and Mass Effect 2.

    10/10
  3. Wik
    May 17, 2011
    10
    The best solo player game for years. The graphics is one thing, but the world, the characters and combat is amazing. I cant find any bad things to say about this game.
  4. May 17, 2011
    10
    Best RPG i ever played and probably GOTY of year 2011 in category cRPG. Epic story, great gameplay, and amazing graphics. This game show bioware how Dragon age 2 should looks like. Must have
  5. May 19, 2011
    9
    CD Projekt made a very good job, Witcher 2 is a fantastic game, definitely RPG of 2011, graphics is awesome - one of the best in RPGs I've ever seen, too bad some Bioware fanboys scoring zeros
  6. May 19, 2011
    10
    This game has so much going for it it become hard to fail. On an aesthetic level, CD Project RED has built a completely new engine, one which renders the game absolutely beautifully. A note here-if you can't run the game on high, try turning the settings to low, go to advanced options, put the textures at at least medium, put texture compression at none, and when you go back to the game itThis game has so much going for it it become hard to fail. On an aesthetic level, CD Project RED has built a completely new engine, one which renders the game absolutely beautifully. A note here-if you can't run the game on high, try turning the settings to low, go to advanced options, put the textures at at least medium, put texture compression at none, and when you go back to the game it looks nearly as good as on high, but runs much better. On a combat level, the Witcher 2 has gone away with the timed combos, relying now on a basic buttonmash. At first I was a bit disappointed by this, as I thought the timed combos where kind of cool. However, what CDPR does to counter the fact that it has a simplistic combat system is that it makes the fights absolutely brutal. Any slip up during combat, even on normal, can have you at the loading screen in seconds. The use of the combat wheel is also an extremely nice addition, as using powers, traps, and bombs is necessary to win in this game. The final thing which the Witcher really has going for it is the story. The story in this game is absolutely incredible. The thing is that there is no black-and-white good or bad, with nothing in between. Everything is a shade of grey. Sure, a village is being attacked by a group of elves. But the elves had been persecuted for centuries before they started fighting back. So through the absolutely stunning graphics, brutal combat, and epic story, I really don't see how this game could be anything less than a perfect 10/10. Expand
  7. May 19, 2011
    10
    This game is all about what I expected from today's role-playing game. I think it has everything you can expect from such a game, as a MATURE player. Without a doubt, The Witcher 2 will be one of the best games in 2011. Congratulations to the Poles, who once again created something so addictive.
  8. May 19, 2011
    10
    Definitely GOTY so far. I had some issues getting it to run decently at first (I have an 8800GTX, Core 2 Quad 2.6, 4GB RAM, 3D Vision). All the settings on the newest beta drivers ran terribly until I uninstalled the 3D vision drivers. Then, I was able to run on High/Medium settings flawlessly. I really liked the previous Witcher game (even before the EE), so I had high hopes for thisDefinitely GOTY so far. I had some issues getting it to run decently at first (I have an 8800GTX, Core 2 Quad 2.6, 4GB RAM, 3D Vision). All the settings on the newest beta drivers ran terribly until I uninstalled the 3D vision drivers. Then, I was able to run on High/Medium settings flawlessly. I really liked the previous Witcher game (even before the EE), so I had high hopes for this one. The combat came off as a little rough in the first 3 battles, but after that you learn what works and what doesn't. You have to roll a lot and play a bit of "cat and mouse" in order to single out enemies. The RPG aspects are second to none. TONS of character development, choice, and plot to keep you interested. Those who are complaining because you "can't make a character" are missing the point. Geralt is a potion swilling, sign waving Swordsman. It's part of the character. You're able to develop those traits as you see fit, but this isn't a Paladin or a Mage. He's who he is, and I actually liked developing HIM more so than the standard "silent protagonist" that most games include. Anyway, it's definitely worth the money, and with a little bit of forum research (before the upcoming patch) it will run fine, even on older rigs. Expand
  9. May 21, 2011
    10
    Extraordinary beautiful scenery, story is mature and game play, while not perfect, is highly enjoyable! TW2 is a real RPG game with huge amount of possibilities, "realistic" NPCs, complex choices that has real consequences on the story. A+++
  10. May 20, 2011
    9
    Fun combat, mature storytelling thats actually mature, choices that matter with real consequences, and likable well fleshed out characters make this an obvious candidate for GOTY. It really lives up to the hype and expectations, but unfortunately bugs, shoddy AI, and an engine that could be optimized better prevent it from getting a 10 by me.
  11. May 21, 2011
    10
    One of the best, if not the best game of the 2011. From the first moment you feel ultimate climate of the game. Since release of the first Witcher developers improved almost everything: - combat is more challenging, -graphic is brilliant and whole experience from the game is much better. Even tho there are some minor flaws (DLC problems), in compare to first Witcher buggy at release gameOne of the best, if not the best game of the 2011. From the first moment you feel ultimate climate of the game. Since release of the first Witcher developers improved almost everything: - combat is more challenging, -graphic is brilliant and whole experience from the game is much better. Even tho there are some minor flaws (DLC problems), in compare to first Witcher buggy at release game developers achieved world level. I was really scared that CDP Red would not handle task of providing better game than first part but now I am happy to recommend this game to everyone who enjoy top-level cRPG games!

    PS. PC platform games can still beat any console game!
    Expand
  12. May 18, 2011
    10
    http://www.gamesradar.com/pc/the-witcher-2-assassins-of-kings/review/the-witcher-2-assassins-of-kings-review/a-201105171466879070/g-20100323131251436086/p-2 This is a link to a very detailed review of the game, specifically page 2. If the pictures in the center of the page offend you (you'll know the ones) then don't buy or comment on this game. The former because thehttp://www.gamesradar.com/pc/the-witcher-2-assassins-of-kings/review/the-witcher-2-assassins-of-kings-review/a-201105171466879070/g-20100323131251436086/p-2 This is a link to a very detailed review of the game, specifically page 2. If the pictures in the center of the page offend you (you'll know the ones) then don't buy or comment on this game. The former because the game is not your style, and the latter because no one cares about your moral high ground. For that matter, if anything in that review offends you, just quit now for everyone's sake. For everyone else... This is my Pre-Skyrim pick for Game of the Year, hands down! It's really the RPG you don't want to miss. Not kidding. Just get it, you'll see what I mean. Expand
  13. CBZ
    May 20, 2011
    9
    First of all, I'm not a fan of RPGs. This said, I absolutely love this game.
    To summarize what many others have already said, it offers great graphics, well written and engaging story and an incredibly fun gameplay. This will be with no doubts, game of the year, and it will be very hard to make a better game in the next few years.
    Its a must have.
  14. May 20, 2011
    10
    This is absolutely the game to beat right now. All game devs should be setting their sights on The Witcher 2. I was breathless when Geralt walked out of the tent in the beginning of the game. The graphics are unbelievable on any setting but fortunately my system can play it on high (X4 965, crossfire 6850s, 8 GB ram). Ultra slows down the frames a lot but, it makes the game look almostThis is absolutely the game to beat right now. All game devs should be setting their sights on The Witcher 2. I was breathless when Geralt walked out of the tent in the beginning of the game. The graphics are unbelievable on any setting but fortunately my system can play it on high (X4 965, crossfire 6850s, 8 GB ram). Ultra slows down the frames a lot but, it makes the game look almost like a Pixar animation! Hopefully, AMD will put out the Witcher 2 crossfire application profiles soon so I can maybe play on ultra.

    Combat is innovative and has a bit of a learning curve. Make good use of W,A,S,D double taps to dodge! Also use those signs to slow down & incapacitate your foes. Try to avoid being surrounded and use terrain or objects in game to your advantage. All in all this is a must buy and I have been telling all my gamer friends to get it. Witcher 2 has reset the bar for SPRPGs!
    Expand
  15. May 17, 2011
    10
    Absolutely stunning, movie-like experience. The game looks gorgeous even on low graphics settings. Pacing is good and story is brilliant. GOTY for sure.
  16. May 19, 2011
    10
    I' ve just played for about 8 hours without a brake. This game is truly amazing. Why would anyone give a masterpiece like that a 0?I feel sorry for you. Get a life. adfasdfasdfasdf
  17. May 17, 2011
    10
    This is amazing game. I am not remember when i play in so excting game.
  18. May 20, 2011
    10
    the best rbg in my life . all site give this game review less then 95 . there are wrong
    The characters are deep and complex, the storyline develops depending on your actions and choices. It takes what was good from every single RPG released in the last 15 year
  19. May 20, 2011
    10
    I have played many RPG's in my life, but i have to say, this is the best yet. I won't go into details as the many other positive comments echo my sentiments. Those who moan about the combat, you need to learn how to play. The controls are responsive, and the player needs to use ALL his abilities to survive, this is not a hack-and-slash. Get lost in this game, you will love it!
  20. May 20, 2011
    8
    un rpg a la vieja escuela q no defraudara a nadie asi no te guste el genero, serio candidato a juego del año el cual dudo q pueda ser superado por sus competidores en juegos de rol, creo que solo Dark Soul podra estar a la altura de este..
  21. May 20, 2011
    10
    OK, maybe this is a little off topic.

    But why in hell didn't IGN and Gamespot review it the very first day it was released? Whilst lame but corporate-supported Dragon Age 2 gets a top-notch review the very first moment it hits shelves? Do you thin you damn idiots that this masterpiece of a game will get its sales hampered just because of your bribed asses? Not to mention the idiotic
    OK, maybe this is a little off topic.

    But why in hell didn't IGN and Gamespot review it the very first day it was released? Whilst lame but corporate-supported Dragon Age 2 gets a top-notch review the very first moment it hits shelves?

    Do you thin you damn idiots that this masterpiece of a game will get its sales hampered just because of your bribed asses?

    Not to mention the idiotic 1/10 user reviews...

    Anyway - the game is the best thing that ever happened to us since Arcanum. Nuff said.
    Expand
  22. May 20, 2011
    10
    Pros: Visually stunning(even on low settings). Much better written than the first game(or possibly better translated?) Your choices mold the story. Combat is proactive, you can switch targets very quickly and Geralt is designed to cover ground just as quick. You can play a swordsman, a alchemist, or a spellcaster, even though Geralt is mainly a swordsman you can get through just aboutPros: Visually stunning(even on low settings). Much better written than the first game(or possibly better translated?) Your choices mold the story. Combat is proactive, you can switch targets very quickly and Geralt is designed to cover ground just as quick. You can play a swordsman, a alchemist, or a spellcaster, even though Geralt is mainly a swordsman you can get through just about any encounter if you decide to focus on just one skill tree. You'll care for your friends, they're well written and voiced. Cons: Recipe ingredients slowly crawl up, making crafting a little tedious. Enemy AI a little clunky. Opening doors and using environment ledges and ladders, also clunky. Some bugs involving inventory and traps/bombs. Game is a brutal teacher, you'll get your ass handed to you while learning the game(read manual). Insane difficulty permanent death, they could have had Insane difficulty and then Hardcore difficulty.

    If you ask anyone who's played The Witcher 1 if they expected this from The Witcher 2, I can guarantee you that most of us are surprised with how much better this game is than we expected and that CDProjectRED didn't drop the ball, but they outdone themselves with this one.

    Let's hope The Witcher becomes a franchise!
    Expand
  23. May 21, 2011
    10
    Best RPG game ever, definitely candidate to GOTY 2011!! I can't say any bad word about it its truly masterpiece. This game have a soul!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  24. May 21, 2011
    10
    Complex storyline, engaging detailed world, what more could you ask for in an rpg? Some minor problems with item and target selection but nothing too distracting.
  25. May 22, 2011
    10
    this game is an absolute masterpiece...i have cried because it is that awesome....the beginning can be a little hard for noobs, since the game doesn't hold your hand in any way. Combat is challenging, voice acting is top notch, specially for the main characters. The other npcs's could use a little animation work, but who cares, because once you get into the cities you will be blown away.this game is an absolute masterpiece...i have cried because it is that awesome....the beginning can be a little hard for noobs, since the game doesn't hold your hand in any way. Combat is challenging, voice acting is top notch, specially for the main characters. The other npcs's could use a little animation work, but who cares, because once you get into the cities you will be blown away. I cried when I got to Vergen. You thought Orzammar was nice in Origins? wait till you see a real dwarven city. Bioware, learn you stuff...in terms of decision making and story, you do not hold a candle to the witcher 2. The music, it is one of the most breathtaking pieaces you will hear in any game. It is not a ripoff of Lord of the rings, or some this like that like dragon age. The world is a living masterpiece. From npc's to birds, to the level of detail which, i dare say, looks dx11 sometimes. In terms of graphics, this game destroys crysis 2 and sometimes even crsysis 1. If you have the pc to run it, like I do, consider yourself lucky to be playing such a beautiful game. I am almost done with chapter 2, and the build up, is one of the most rewarding experiences in any game. The witcher 2, is now, my GOTY choice and it will stay like that, because no bioware game will ever come close to this, ever. Expand
  26. May 23, 2011
    10
    GOTY 2011. I read through comments and i can only add that the game world artistic style is incredible. This is something that is rarely seen in any other game if ever, and it is all around you everywhere you turn. Get it and feast your eyes on the best looking world transferred into silicon chipsets
  27. May 23, 2011
    10
    The combat is demanding and and requires strategy and a use of all your available tools, but the game is infinitely rewarding. This game has better production values than any other RPG you will encounter. Everything from the voice acting to the graphics and lovingly crafted environments are better than even most of the content produced by top tier developers like Bioware
  28. May 24, 2011
    10
    Best RPG I have played in years. I easily give this game a 10. The best way to describe it would be... Baldur's Gate 2 in a fully realized, beautiful 3D world, with more grit and consequence for your actions. This game will not hold your hand, it will test your intelligence, and if you have been stuck in that easy kills/easy rewards mode from playing more recent RPGs, it will be a breathBest RPG I have played in years. I easily give this game a 10. The best way to describe it would be... Baldur's Gate 2 in a fully realized, beautiful 3D world, with more grit and consequence for your actions. This game will not hold your hand, it will test your intelligence, and if you have been stuck in that easy kills/easy rewards mode from playing more recent RPGs, it will be a breath of fresh air. Sure it's not perfect, but most of its imperfections lie in some menu technicalities, which in my opinion should not bring the score down when compared to all the things this game does in an amazing way: the story, the graphics, the characters, the challenge, and the satisfaction you feel when you slay a group of tough enemies. No joke, this game will have you grinning as you play it. EPIC. Expand
  29. May 26, 2011
    10
    I was quite surprise how good this game is. Regardless what some sites, critics or DA2 fanboys(that are tring to bring the score down) say, its a great game that deserve more than a 89. Storyline, graphics, fun, it goes on.
  30. May 20, 2011
    10
    Do you enjoy games with good graphics? Do you enjoy a compelling, dark, fantasy storyline? Do you enjoy characters that don't feel like they were written by ten year olds? (I'm looking at you Dragon Age 2) Then I think the Witcher 2 is a perfect game for you! Despite some steep hardware capabilities, this is a fantastic game made by a great developer that will have free DLC and is alreadyDo you enjoy games with good graphics? Do you enjoy a compelling, dark, fantasy storyline? Do you enjoy characters that don't feel like they were written by ten year olds? (I'm looking at you Dragon Age 2) Then I think the Witcher 2 is a perfect game for you! Despite some steep hardware capabilities, this is a fantastic game made by a great developer that will have free DLC and is already quite expansive. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 21, 2011
    93
    Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings. A true, polished diamond. Watch and learn Bioware. [May 2011]
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    92
    The Witcher 2 easily stands amongst the big boys in the CRPG crowd and is also the best Action RPG to come out since Mass Effect 2.
  3. Sep 7, 2011
    90
    The Witcher 2 offers awesome sword fights, cool graphics, charming characters, a compelling story, lots of bare skin and a decent shot of vulgar conversations. Damn good.