The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4690 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Witcher 2 is the sequel to developer CD Projekt's mature-themed fantasy role-playing game based on the works of author Andrzej Sapkowski.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings - Hope Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    100
    The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings is one of the finest examples of how great an RPG can be.
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    95
    In the end, The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings is a visually impressive game that contains a very sturdy gaming engine. If you haven't played a traditional RPG in awhile, the learning curve is a little steep and challenging at the start but once you have the experience under your belt and selected a direction for your character, battles will slowly become easier but fortunately there is always something along the way to challenge you. This is what RPG's are all about and I sincerely hope that this game will become the template for games to come on the PC.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 21, 2011
    93
    Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings. A true, polished diamond. Watch and learn Bioware. [May 2011]
  4. May 20, 2011
    90
    There's simply no competitor that can touch it in terms of poise, characterisation and storytelling, or the way in which it treats you not as a player - someone to be pandered to and pleased - but as an adult, free to make your own mistakes and suffer a plot in which not everyone gets what they deserve.
  5. 90
    The Witcher 2 provides one of the richest experiences I had with an RPG in recent times, especially in terms of characterization and storytelling.
  6. Jun 30, 2011
    85
    Improves universally over the original, and also manages to be the best looking PC game at the same time. If you're a fan of meaty RPGs or if you've been desperate to stretch your computer's technical legs, you need to play The Witcher 2.
  7. Jul 7, 2011
    55
    While it does indeed take a few steps in the right direction, The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings doesn't live up to its own ambition.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    The best game I played since Baldur's Gate 2. This is the only game ever made that comes this close to Baldur's Gate 2 in epicness. EverythingThe best game I played since Baldur's Gate 2. This is the only game ever made that comes this close to Baldur's Gate 2 in epicness. Everything is amazing; from storyline, choices, progression, characters, graphics, difficulty, economy... there is NOTHING bad about this game. I'd love to see an RPG where I can create my own character though. That'd be epic epicness. Great game! Expand
  2. May 17, 2011
    10
    This definitely is Game of the Year 2011. The single best RPG I have played since Planescape: Torment. The characters are deep and complex,This definitely is Game of the Year 2011. The single best RPG I have played since Planescape: Torment. The characters are deep and complex, the storyline develops depending on your actions and choices. It takes what was good from every single RPG released in the last 15 years and makes it into something better. The graphics are simply the best ever seen in an RPG to date, if not the best that we have so far in any game (compare to Crysis if you want to). The flaws are few if any. The stealth sections are not the best, but they are optional, and there are a few bugs and such. There is no ACTUAL character customization, but you can change what the protagonist is wearing with quite a bit.
    The combat system works quite well. It may not be the best combat system in gaming history, but it does exactly what is is supposed to do. But all that is just beside the point. The atmosphere, the music and the character lines are just amazing, combining to create one of the best RPG's of all time.
    Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    The Witcher 2 is the best sequel I have seen in a very long time. The story is phenomenal, the game play can be set to be extremelyThe Witcher 2 is the best sequel I have seen in a very long time. The story is phenomenal, the game play can be set to be extremely challenging or to be more of a story telling situation. The side quests involved with the game are meant to be more investigative rather that go here, collect this or go there, kill that. Although, there are some quests that do involve simple killing, it is in line with the work of Geralt. Above all I love that this game has stepped away from good or bad decisions, but really relies on shades of grey choices. There is no good, no bad, but only choices that shall affect the story that you chose for Geralt. That alone makes this by far one of the best games I have ever played. Expand
  4. May 22, 2011
    10
    Finally we have a real game being released in 2011. I was beginning to give up hope. This game clearly shows that if developers just put someFinally we have a real game being released in 2011. I was beginning to give up hope. This game clearly shows that if developers just put some effort into their games, instead of releasing the same game every year, they can easily be GOTY. The graphics are spectacular, even on medium mode. The storyline, the characters and the environment are so amazing, the entire atmosphere made me get really into it. Combat is better than the first one. I sort of wish you could drink potions in combat, since that kind of makes sense, but whatever. Expand
  5. May 19, 2011
    10
    A truly amazing game. Unlike some other RPGs that hold your hand throughout and have terrible acting and writing (Dragon Age 2 I'm looking atA truly amazing game. Unlike some other RPGs that hold your hand throughout and have terrible acting and writing (Dragon Age 2 I'm looking at you) this game actually feels like an RPG should. Your actions effect the game, your previous actions aren't retcon'd, and the game has a wonderful sense of freedom to it. If you're looking for an awesome modern RPG look no further. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    Well, this game is awesome! If I were to choose between Skyrim and it for RPG of the year, I would have no doubt in saying that The Witcher 2:Well, this game is awesome! If I were to choose between Skyrim and it for RPG of the year, I would have no doubt in saying that The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings was my choice! The game really shows that "small" game industries such as CD Project can have their moments. The Witcher 2 has awesome graphics, and an incredible story with 16 different endings! While choosing between killing a king or a monster or letting them live, you really feel as you were Geralt of Rivia. Of course, as all the other games, The Witcher 2 is not perfect. Its fighting system is pretty complicated and annoying, so most of the gamers would only start liking it by the middle of the game. The bad regulated difficulties (easy, medium, hard, and insane) may give you a hard time, making you hate some bosses or even simple road-bandits, but once you have chosen one of them you can enjoy this incredible game without huge problems. I really hope that The Witcher 3 is realised soon, because, man, what an amazing game! Expand
  7. ABR
    Jul 7, 2018
    0
    Combat system - trash. Graphics - trash. Simulator of Press a button to: open the door, climb the hill (repeat each 5 minutes).

See all 1347 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.