Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3671 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Witcher 2 is the sequel to developer CD Projekt's mature-themed fantasy role-playing game based on the works of author Andrzej Sapkowski.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    100
    The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings is one of the finest examples of how great an RPG can be.
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    95
    In the end, The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings is a visually impressive game that contains a very sturdy gaming engine. If you haven't played a traditional RPG in awhile, the learning curve is a little steep and challenging at the start but once you have the experience under your belt and selected a direction for your character, battles will slowly become easier but fortunately there is always something along the way to challenge you. This is what RPG's are all about and I sincerely hope that this game will become the template for games to come on the PC.
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    93
    Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings. A true, polished diamond. Watch and learn Bioware. [May 2011]
  4. May 20, 2011
    90
    There's simply no competitor that can touch it in terms of poise, characterisation and storytelling, or the way in which it treats you not as a player - someone to be pandered to and pleased - but as an adult, free to make your own mistakes and suffer a plot in which not everyone gets what they deserve.
  5. 90
    The Witcher 2 provides one of the richest experiences I had with an RPG in recent times, especially in terms of characterization and storytelling.
  6. Jun 30, 2011
    85
    Improves universally over the original, and also manages to be the best looking PC game at the same time. If you're a fan of meaty RPGs or if you've been desperate to stretch your computer's technical legs, you need to play The Witcher 2.
  7. Jul 7, 2011
    55
    While it does indeed take a few steps in the right direction, The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings doesn't live up to its own ambition.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    One of the best RPG's I've played, a game that forces you to make meaningful choices that have a huge effect on the game. Combat took a bit ofOne of the best RPG's I've played, a game that forces you to make meaningful choices that have a huge effect on the game. Combat took a bit of getting used to since I started just going in button mashing and ending up dead. had to sit back think about all the tools in my arsenal and play with a bit of thought. Tracking an elite hunt? Set some traps and ambush it. Use your abilities, signs and weapons

    It is great I would recommend it to anyone, and it still looks beautiful even today.
    Expand
  2. May 17, 2011
    10
    This definitely is Game of the Year 2011. The single best RPG I have played since Planescape: Torment. The characters are deep and complex,This definitely is Game of the Year 2011. The single best RPG I have played since Planescape: Torment. The characters are deep and complex, the storyline develops depending on your actions and choices. It takes what was good from every single RPG released in the last 15 years and makes it into something better. The graphics are simply the best ever seen in an RPG to date, if not the best that we have so far in any game (compare to Crysis if you want to). The flaws are few if any. The stealth sections are not the best, but they are optional, and there are a few bugs and such. There is no ACTUAL character customization, but you can change what the protagonist is wearing with quite a bit.
    The combat system works quite well. It may not be the best combat system in gaming history, but it does exactly what is is supposed to do. But all that is just beside the point. The atmosphere, the music and the character lines are just amazing, combining to create one of the best RPG's of all time.
    Expand
  3. May 19, 2011
    10
    Just bought this game this morning at my local Gamestop. couldn't find it elsewhere and wanted a physical copy. It has been years since IJust bought this game this morning at my local Gamestop. couldn't find it elsewhere and wanted a physical copy. It has been years since I have played a game this well made. I have never seen so much detail put into the ambiance and life of a town (haven't got that far yet). I'm so glad that are some dedicated developers out there still, they seem to be a dying breed. Really looking forward to finishing it and replaying for the multiple endings and outcomes. Expand
  4. May 27, 2011
    10
    This game is ART... and from gameplay view, it's the best RPG on the market.. how someone can rate this game from 0 till 4 is beyond me..This game is ART... and from gameplay view, it's the best RPG on the market.. how someone can rate this game from 0 till 4 is beyond me.. maybe you angry because a little company from Poland can make better game than the modern Bioware? The combat is the best in a RPG, it's hard, but that's the point.. it is a modern hardcore RPG, so live with it.. you can always read the manual or press the J button and read the Journal.. in the Prolog I died about 6 - 7 times on Normal and that just fine be me.. optimalization is perfect because i have a 3-year old rig, and i can play this game on High a almost everything on (except Ubersampling), with 25 - 35 fps, sometimes it goes to 20 and sometimes to 40 - 50 fps, so I'm very happy with that.. so people, please don't be lazy and play this game the way it's mean to be.. pay attention to Journal, don't just clicking all the time in combat like you would play a Devil May Cry game, but instead play with brain.. even if you don't like this game for some reason, you can't give this game less than 5 points from 10.. if you like hard RPG's, than this is the game for you Expand
  5. May 19, 2011
    10
    I can only say - wow... This game is the best game in this year. At now I am in end of act 1 and I am curious next storyline. I dont believed,I can only say - wow... This game is the best game in this year. At now I am in end of act 1 and I am curious next storyline. I dont believed, so people can give this game 0. Ok - mayby 9,8,7 but not 0... I hope this is a begining of new era of rpg games. Mayby other studios (yes yes - its You BIOWARE) will do titles as good as The Witcher 2. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    In my opinion, Witcher 2 is maybe not one of the very best, but for sure one of the best RPGs released in 2011. Great graphics and fantasticIn my opinion, Witcher 2 is maybe not one of the very best, but for sure one of the best RPGs released in 2011. Great graphics and fantastic story make me proud to be Polish during playing this game ;). After few patches optimalization is great, there are less bugs than in any other role-playing game I've ever played. What's more, CDP added free DLCs them, so all people, not only these, who bought the premium edition, can enjoy full potential of the game. My grade for Assassin's of Kings is 9, because for me, it has less 'slavic climate', than the first Witcher. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2012
    0
    I have put more time than I would like into trying to get the game to run. I have downloaded it twice now since buying it. The 2.1 patchI have put more time than I would like into trying to get the game to run. I have downloaded it twice now since buying it. The 2.1 patch supposedly broke the game for many steam users, and the only way to make the game go is a workaround that disables achievements and doesn't always work for everyone. There's no 2.2 patch to fix the game. As old as the issue is there is no official fix, and so I guess there is no plans for one either. All I can do is say that the game is unplayable and give it an awful rating. Expand

See all 1311 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.