Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3809 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Witcher 2 is the sequel to developer CD Projekt's mature-themed fantasy role-playing game based on the works of author Andrzej Sapkowski.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    100
    The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings is one of the finest examples of how great an RPG can be.
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    95
    In the end, The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings is a visually impressive game that contains a very sturdy gaming engine. If you haven't played a traditional RPG in awhile, the learning curve is a little steep and challenging at the start but once you have the experience under your belt and selected a direction for your character, battles will slowly become easier but fortunately there is always something along the way to challenge you. This is what RPG's are all about and I sincerely hope that this game will become the template for games to come on the PC.
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    93
    Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings. A true, polished diamond. Watch and learn Bioware. [May 2011]
  4. May 20, 2011
    90
    There's simply no competitor that can touch it in terms of poise, characterisation and storytelling, or the way in which it treats you not as a player - someone to be pandered to and pleased - but as an adult, free to make your own mistakes and suffer a plot in which not everyone gets what they deserve.
  5. 90
    The Witcher 2 provides one of the richest experiences I had with an RPG in recent times, especially in terms of characterization and storytelling.
  6. Jun 30, 2011
    85
    Improves universally over the original, and also manages to be the best looking PC game at the same time. If you're a fan of meaty RPGs or if you've been desperate to stretch your computer's technical legs, you need to play The Witcher 2.
  7. Jul 7, 2011
    55
    While it does indeed take a few steps in the right direction, The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings doesn't live up to its own ambition.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best RPG I have ever played. The graphics are amazing, the combat very satisfying (I only played the enhanced edition), theThis is by far the best RPG I have ever played. The graphics are amazing, the combat very satisfying (I only played the enhanced edition), the story is so deep and mature, its an amazing game and if you are a fan os RPG's, you should not only buy this game, but you should also play The Witcher 1 the get the best experience possible Expand
  2. May 17, 2011
    10
    This definitely is Game of the Year 2011. The single best RPG I have played since Planescape: Torment. The characters are deep and complex,This definitely is Game of the Year 2011. The single best RPG I have played since Planescape: Torment. The characters are deep and complex, the storyline develops depending on your actions and choices. It takes what was good from every single RPG released in the last 15 years and makes it into something better. The graphics are simply the best ever seen in an RPG to date, if not the best that we have so far in any game (compare to Crysis if you want to). The flaws are few if any. The stealth sections are not the best, but they are optional, and there are a few bugs and such. There is no ACTUAL character customization, but you can change what the protagonist is wearing with quite a bit.
    The combat system works quite well. It may not be the best combat system in gaming history, but it does exactly what is is supposed to do. But all that is just beside the point. The atmosphere, the music and the character lines are just amazing, combining to create one of the best RPG's of all time.
    Expand
  3. May 18, 2011
    10
    Very good game, good story, believable and likable characters, Great graphics and gameplay. Few minor glitches here and there but are onlyVery good game, good story, believable and likable characters, Great graphics and gameplay. Few minor glitches here and there but are only small and do not matter. I find the environment in which you play immerses you into the game very well, hearing mutters of a conversation as you walk past etc I will definitely play through again and again. Normally not much of an RPG fan, but this game has surely gotten my attention. I do not understand these people giving it a bad review, either they've got such a crappy system that they cant run it or are bioware nuts or just down right idiotic.

    This game takes the cake in the RPG genre.
    Expand
  4. May 23, 2011
    10
    This game is NOT made for one-time play only. Depends on your choices you get COMPLETELY different quests and even locations. So don't tell meThis game is NOT made for one-time play only. Depends on your choices you get COMPLETELY different quests and even locations. So don't tell me it's short! Play it once again and you will be amazed how big are the sequencer of your decisions.. I played it on hard and find combat extremely satisfying and challenging. There are 16 different endings. Unfortunately the number of it doesn't go with quality. Still it's the best RPG ever made! Expand
  5. May 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing game. Great story, interesting characters nad stunning graphics. Sound track is really impressive. The Witcher 2 has unique atmosphere. Combat system is very demanding at higher difficulty levels. I completely don't understand people who give "0". I definitely recommend this game!!! Expand
  6. May 19, 2011
    9
    Witcher 2 is a game that isnâ
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    0
    This is most likely to be the worst rpg ever made.

    The original concept of witcher is gone game looks like a freak'd up doom 1 and whole
    This is most likely to be the worst rpg ever made.

    The original concept of witcher is gone game looks like a freak'd up doom 1 and whole combat system destroyed. I wonder how is it that both Bioware and Red managed to screw up their best looking rpg games in the history of gaming. I mean for example Baldur's Gate was a perfect game which then was continued same style to Baldur's Gate 2 and that was MAKING gaming history while same company managed then to screw up both Baldur's Gate franchise and after again making a perfect rpg like Dragon Age they yet again manager to screw it up by the dlc and next Dragon Age 2 which I would rate even less than 0 if I could.

    Exact above happens here Witcher was nearly a perfect role-playing game where as Witcher 2 is complete waste of time with idiotic development decisions made by simply keeping old name story and trying to develop completely new while there was never anything wrong with the old with exception of "We want to sell our product to consoles" which literally means that game sucks 9 ways to sun down every time I hear that. Those words alone means no top down NOT AN RPG.. It's an Gothic with new wrap and we all know how that was.

    I would like to grant this title even 1 point but even the engine optimization is so damn bad I simply don't want to.
    Expand

See all 1321 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.