• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2008
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 950 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 950

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they are so much better even though this game is older. The music is a masterpiece and fits perfectly everywhere ... it really makes you feel like the places actually exist and gives the game a very unique and special feeling. The characters are very
    interesting and you want to know more and more about them all the time (very much as in Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn). The story is also awesome ... I don't want to spoil anything but it really is great.

    If you like RPGs then buy this game. It's a masterpiece and one of the best RPGs ever made (Baldur's Gate II and Morrowind are the only RPGs I recon beats this game).
    Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    The developing back story of the character and the world the story is set in is very intriguing. Along with a gripping story line and many secondary quests to extend the duration of play, the Witcher is a great RPG to add to your collection.
  3. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    Ah, the Witcher. The game I would love to love. This is my third time picking it up in the past few years. The first two times I couldn't make it past the second chapter. I could rave on and on about the good stuff: yes, it's pretty. Yes it's nice to have a world where real people hate each other for real reasons. Yes, there is a LOT of character customization options. The flaws are there, however, and for me at least, they bog down the game to no end. 1) The fighting: As a few other reviews have said, the fighting is at first a breath of fresh air. The timed click events are unique to the RPG realm, as far as I know. The problem is the lack of fluidity. Want to cast a sign? Make sure that you're done with your swing. Want to switch styles? Make sure you're done with your swing. Want to ... You get the idea. Add this to the inevitable boredom that comes with all gameplay styles eventually, and I was craving an autoattack. 2) The voice acting: Normally, I would brush over this. But this stuff is BAAAAADDDDD. I respect the fact that it probably sounds great in Polish, but really... Youtube some cutscense if you don't believe me, then imagine those voices for 40+ hours. I have to listen to it in French so I don't punch Geralt. The problem is that if you don't read fast enough, you're toast for the rest of the conversation. Add this to the fact that there are a ton of cutscenes, and you've got a HUGE problem. 3) The storytelling: This is different than the story, which is actually quite good. You know when your grandpa used to tell that awesome story, then you try to tell it to your buddies and it just doesn't come out quite right? That's the Witcher. The tone is off, the writing style is off, there are words that are out of place for characters, there are words that are out of place for the world, it's just sad. No, really, I mean sad. The story really is relatively deep. But it is better told on the wikia site. 4) The girls: I've got no problem with a little hanky panky in my games, but this is nuts. It really takes away from the reality of the background. The problem isn't that girls throw themselves at you, it's that they throw themselves at you at oddball times and in oddball ways. It's mature, but in a sappy sense. Sure, you can ignore them, but you can't ignore that they threw themselves at you. 5) The supposed choice system: It's not that it's not there. It's that it's missing a key piece: neutrality. There was time and again where I wanted to say "Ya'll are idiots," and the only options are to pick a side. There might be a lack of a morality meter, but trust me, the morality is there. Again, this isn't a big deal expect for the backstory. You're a sellsword for god's sake! Act like one!


    I tried this game again so I would know what was going on when I gave the Witcher 2 a try. I plugged through it for that reason. It's palpatable for that reason. But for those of you looking for a fresh take on RPG's, look elsewhere. The pros where enough to garner a loyal following back in the day, but the cons will turn off those who weren't interested from the start. It's not a horrible game, but it's not one that ages well. Here's for hoping that #2 is better.
    Expand
  4. May 10, 2012
    3
    It was amazing how this game, with its reputation for being original, intelligent, and mature, turned out to be an unimaginative exercise in tedium and sexist "badass" wankery. Packed to bursting with cliches, saddled with more bugs than a stray cat, dragged down by combat that's about as exhilirating as learning to type, and unaware of its offensively adolescent portrayal of female characters. It's the 21st century. Curse words and low-cut tops don't make something "mature" to anyone older than 15.

    This is one giant fetch-quest divided into a milion little fetch quests, broken up occasionally by a mouse-calibration exercise disguised as combat, hilariously awkward dialogue, random transitions, and a tacky soft-porn fetch quest disguised as romance. More development resources seem to have gone in to the first cutscene's jiggling cleavage than in to the entire combat system.

    The alchemy and potion system, at least, is genuinely interesting. The choice system is intriguingly amoral, and seems to have real impact on the story. The graphics are nice, especially the environments. And this game could probably still help stave off full-blown insanity in people locked in solitary confinement. So I'll give it a 5, minus 1 to counterbalance its reputation, and minus another 1 for the casual misogyny.

    It's not broken, it's just buggy, boring, asinine, and frankly embarrassing.
    Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Oh boy was I surprised when I bought this game this year and found a pearl! This game instantly became one of my fav games of all the times! Everything about this game screams fantastic! Loved the story,game mechanics and graphics are not that bad for old game like this one. If u are the fan of the RPG's and like me missed this stunning game please do me a favor go and buy it now!!!!!!!!!
  6. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    One of the most interesting role-playing games that I played. Non-trivial plot, lot of skills, charismatic characters, non-linear quests, moral choices and perfect soundtrack. Well done, CD Projekt.
  7. Dec 23, 2010
    3
    I was excited to pick up The Witcher Enhanced Edition as part of one of Steam's holiday deals, as I had considered buying it at full price not long ago. But after playing it for a few hours, I have to admit that I regret buying it even at the discounted price. It's true; parts of the game look great, even two years after its release. The long opening sequence is excellent, and the character animation in that scene is expressive and nuanced. The graphics in-game are great as well, especially the human characters who are all very detailed and different--no cut and pasted or randomly generated facial features; they were all carefully and personally designed. The story may be good, although I have to admit I didn't see enough of it to judge adequately. The music is rich and dramatic, the voice acting is good, though not outstanding. The game has quite a lot going for it. The problem is the combat, and for a role playing game where combat makes up the majority of the action, a boring combat system is a fatal flaw. This is how combat works: you left click on an enemy. You watch as your character takes a few swings and you try to click during the final swing. If successful, then you watch as your character takes a few more swings. If unsuccessful, then your character pauses for a moment and you have to click on the enemy again to start the process again. While you do have three different combat stances, and you can purchase new moves, these are merely cosmetic differences; in combat, the process is always the same. Click... wait... watch for the last swing... now click again... wait again... and click. Repeat. Then repeat again. Then repeat again. Then repeat again. You are going to spend a lot of time doing this throughout the game. The bottom line: the fighting in Witcher is so boring that it actually made me long for the comparatively exciting monotony of the Diablo-style, "click-as-fast-as-you-can" hack and slash. Add to this huge flaw the fact that you are always rooted to the ground (no jumping, no climbing, no ducking... a knee-high brick is as insurmountable an obstacle as a towering mountain) and are mostly rooted to a linear map system, and the result is a dry, repetitive game... even if it is superficially appealing. If you're more interested in high production values than gameplay, or if you feel the need to get every RPG released, then you may be interested in this game. But if you're deciding between it and another game of the same type, you might want to give it a pass. Expand
  8. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    This is a game made by RPG fans for RPG fans. Unfortunately for the PC gaming layman or those coming from other genres this game will seen complex, slow, and unbalanced. But for those few with RPG game logic, patience, and willpower, that have been gained through years of BG2, Diablo, or NWN (one of course, possibly 2) this game will be a welcome breathe of fresh air that has been absent from the mainstream gaming for the past couple of years. Those things which non-RPG fans will find so frustrating about this game are exactly what RPG fans have been missing from titles like Oblivion or Dragon Age. Expand
  9. Oct 23, 2012
    1
    "The Witcher: Enhanced Edition" is really just enhanced garbage. How people can rate this unpolished and mediocre turd of a game so highly is beyond me. The character you play as, "Geralt", is about as interesting as watching paint dry. I couldn't be bothered to give a f*ck about him or anyone else in this game. The side quests are mostly boring fetch quests, and the main quest is boring and unimaginative, plus the way the game handles quests is annoying as hell. Trust me, when you click on "Quests" and 400 quests show up (side quests + main quests mixed all over the place) you just feel like turning the f*cking game off... which I found myself doing quite often. Then there's the sex: every woman in this game wants to have sex with your character (apparently women go crazy whenever they see a guy with long white hair, lizard eyes and no personality whatsof*ckingever (ah, so THAT's what I've been doing wrong all these years, thanks for the tip developers!)) and as a "reward" (besides herpes and god knows what else) you get a "sex card" (you don't actually get to see your character having sex, instead you get to see a card where the woman you just boned shows you her **** Wow... I'm so excited... but I'm sure the 10-year-olds who gave this game an 8 or higher are enjoying themselves. After all, we can't have a "mature" RPG without including sex, can we? Idiots... "mature game", my *ss. I payed 3 Expand
  10. Sep 9, 2010
    1
    Seeming to be a critically acclaimed game, I picked up the Witcher relatively cheap, expecting to be pleasantly surprised. Instead, I was shocked and numbed into absolute boredom and disgust. In a word, the Witcher is bland.

    Dialog is utterly monotonous. Literally. I heard the main character use one tone of voice for nearly the entire game, as well as an utter lack of facial expression.
    Apparently voice acting was left on the roadside for this one.

    Combat is paced clicking. Tactics are only present slightly, and you may be required to swing your sword to different patterns if you fight different enemies.

    Storyline... An article that RPGs should be known for, considering at their core they should bring the player into playing a role, and making the player feel attached to the game world, it's characters, and it's struggles. However, I found myself not only not feeling attached, but rather bored, and at times disgusted at how a game this bland could achieve critical acclaim. Suffering from "repetitive level syndrome," perhaps is what plagues this game. A wash-rinse-repeat combat system, presenting "complex moral choices," in which everyone is guilty almost always. The storyline, is quite frankly, common. No true surprises await with this title.

    A bargain bin game in every sense, the Witcher is great for wasting time installing, uninstalling, and using to collect dust.
    Expand
  11. Jan 4, 2011
    3
    First of all, I must state, I enjoy rpg's and have played nearly all of the highly acclaimed games of the genre to come out in the last 10 years. That being the case, I found it my "civic" duty to try this, seemingly, underrated title. I started the game with an open mind, and was bored out of my skull almost instantly. Deciding to stick it out,because that's what some games take, I continued to press through. I'm very sorry I did it. This game is boring boring boring boring boring boring. I hear people praising it's amazing story. It's an okay story,I suppose, but all you need to do is open "A Game Of Thrones" by George R. R. Martin to find a 100% better, mature, engaging story. The combat is uninspiring and overall some of the worst I've seen in a video game so highly acclaimed. The npc's all look the flipping same, it's just silly. I don't want to walk up to a guy and see his exact twin x300 walking in the background. It ends up completely ruining the atmosphere for me. I'm giving this game a three because of the Biowareesque choice system. It really matters what you do, and it doesn't actually give you a specific moral code you have to follow. That is true choice. All in all though one good part doesn't make this game worthwhile. I wouldn't advise playing this game. Expand
  12. May 11, 2011
    8
    a great game, if you enjoyed the books pick this one up. i am looking forward to witcher 2. also be advise people this game is not for everyone. very dark and Gothic feeling. another word if your not going to do the whole game don't waste your money this game has to be played to the end to fully enjoy it
  13. May 18, 2011
    6
    I wanted to like this game, I really did. The premise is intriguing, the environments are well-rendered, and the characters are interesting. But no matter what I did, I simply couldn't get past the mind-numbingly boring combat. Combat consists of imitating a metronome, and was fresh and exciting for all of about two seconds, and then it become soul-crushing drudgery that completely saps your will to continue playing. I wish I was joking when I say I have never seen such a boring combat system in an RPG before - even Winter Voices (admittedly a different genre of RPG entirely) had variety going for it...

    I really hate seeing such an interesting game world completely ruined by a truly awful combat system.
    Expand
  14. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    A fascinating RPG with depth and a creative story. It's not quite open-world, but it's not completely linear either. The combat takes a little getting used to, but you will be a master in no time. The different attack styles and weaknesses of enemies will keep you on your toes, and your playstyle and propensity for exploration will very much determine your success in the game as well as the difficulty. Do not be discouraged by the first boss fight; it's easily the most difficult fight in the game. For reference, I died against the first boss approximately 23-25 times, and I died less than 10 times for entire duration of the remainder of the game. I had a great time playing this, and I would recommend it to not only RPG fans, but anyone at all. Expand
  15. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    I have been playing PC games for many years and I must say that The Witcher is one of the finest games I have ever played. I enjoyed it's mature story and the world it takes place in is beautiful with a rich history. Decisions you must make are complex and require thought as they have an impact on the later parts of the game. The developer, CD Projekt Red, is one of the best out there. They care about their games AND the fans. If you enjoy RPG's and are looking for something different you owe it to yourself to pick this game up. You will not regret it. Oh, although I like the first Witcher better, the second it also fantastic and picks up right after the first. Both brilliant games. Expand
  16. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    This review really captures how I feel about this game: http://www.gainsense.com/2012/07/the-witcher-review-commentary.html. Basically, this game is AMAZING. I got it for less than $3 on Steam and I gotta say, CD Projekt Red looks like the new Bioware. Can't wait to fire up Witcher II after I finish this!
  17. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    Playing through the first couple of hours might not get you hooked, but if you come back just once then you might as well write off the next few weekends. This game is tremendous - detailed story, characters and environments. Lots of possibilties to explore, and so much variation as you craft your way through the game. Completely nonlinear, and lots of distractions, including taverns, hookers and dice poker. Top marks, and it looks like the sequel is going to somehow be just as awesome. Expand
  18. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    The Witcher EE together with Dragon Age Origins are my favorite modern computer RPGs in this gaming generation. The story in the Witcher has a very deep scope as it follows the journey of the witcher Geralt of Rivia to reveal the imbroglio in a nation and all the dark secrets. The game features a lot of moral choices which will yield different consequences in the later game and you have to do a lot of dialog choices to uncover various quests. Combat is entertaining and somehow tactical, you will need to choose right fight styles against different types of enemies as well as use effective portions. Inventory is the only disadvantage because the space is really limited, so strategy is needed. Overall it's a great rpg with a deep storyline driving it. The game still has problems, long loading time and instant crashes do occur but not often enough to ruin the immersion. If you enjoy games like dragon age origins, I am sure you will love this game. Expand
  19. Oct 16, 2011
    0
    When I heard about the game trough critics and so on, I was blown away, I thought this gamw would be epic! I'm used to RPG's from Bethesda, as The Elder Scrolls: Oblivion and Fallout 3: Game of the year edtion, and Fallout New Vegas. Well I started the game, the combat sucks, the graphics suck, it's not really "open-world", the quests is boring and doesn't really give any meaning to me. Actually it may be one of the worst games I've ever played. Expand
  20. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    First of all, I need say that I finished the game around December 2011. Although this is an old game, this is a very well-crafted game. Not to say it's the best, but very well crafted. Some complain that the combat is repetitive, but I think the combat of games are always repetitive. ( You don't fight A boss with turn-based, and fight B boss with Real Time Strategy in games, right?) This game also has a nice story with multi endings. Graphic is still acceptable for a game this old. Took me around 45 Hours to complete. If you find this game with discount, it worth a try. P.S. I bought this from steam. Only cost me $4.99. Collapse
  21. Apr 23, 2012
    4
    Im not going to write much because every other low rating review has covered all the horrible stuff. People just need to know this game is boring. I'm in the middle of chapter 2 and I don't think I can go on. The story is not good enough to endure horrible combat. They use the same player models over and over. The side quests just require you to engage in more terrible combat. I thought if I gave the game more time it would grow on me but the combat only gets more boring as you go. Expand
  22. Dec 27, 2010
    8
    I found the witcher enhanced edition to be a pleasant surprise, but one that is very much an acquired taste. By this I mean that you have to consider the cultural difference of the game. Just as Stalker is very Russian, and Mount & Blade is very Turkish, this game is very Polish. The interface is like nothing else I have seen anywhere, the gameplay is quite unique, the story is of its own style, and everything else is also far from what we are use to. So if you aren't in for something new and different, you will likely be too disoriented, befuddled and confused to enjoy yourself. Either way, you get use to how things work in this game, and they work very well. The more you play this game, the more you enjoy yourself. Recommended and 8/10. Expand
  23. Nov 22, 2010
    7
    I recently posted a "mixed" review on this game, and I now feel I must revise it a bit. I'm going to make it short and sweet. Right now I think this game is on line for being one of the best RPG's out there. There are just a few things and a few bugs that keep it from getting the highest of scores in my opinion. I'll break it down to things I like about it and things I don't like about it:

    Likes: Great graphics, Incredible storytelling, fun gameplay and combat (once you get used to it), wonderful music score, original story and content, nice interface, runs great on my system at max settings 1920x1200

    Dislikes: Can't jump or jump off anything, the Witcher is glued to the ground, many of the NPC's have the exact same faces (redundant), the Alchemy system is not very intuitive, SLi bug . . . there is a known bug where nVidia SLi users can see lights through the terrain. Like looking at a stone wall and you can still see torch light and window lights through the wall. This is a known bug with no fix, you can disable SLi and the problem goes away, but that is hardly a fix. Some of the cutscenes in the game are a bit long in the beginning and some of the voice acting good be better.

    Overall I'm really loving this game, I think you need to play the game for a few hours before you can really start to appreciate it. Some games hit like a truck right off the bat and you never look back. If you pick up The Witcher, take some time with it and get used to the combat system, in the end you'll probably really like the game.
    Expand
  24. May 17, 2011
    9
    Ok so it had a couple of issues. I never expected I would like a largely third person game this much. I loved oblivion and like to immerse myself in the world and scenery from time to time playing from behind the characters eyes etc but much to my surprise I also greatly enjoyed the witcher. Its not as non linear as I would like but its not totally linear either. The characters and story combined with the world created for them make this an extremely enjoyable game. Well worth buying. I just pre ordered the witcher 2 and cant wait Expand
  25. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I didn't get around to this title for a long time but I always had my eye on it. I knew it would be good but I was too busy playing the RPG'S I thought were probably a lot better. Finally, I started reading the novel's and playing The Witcher. What I found was a franchise that was true to the heart of a classic CRPG player. I was amazed to find that I enjoyed it much more than Dragon Age and The Elder Scrolls games. It is not only more enjoyable but the writing is fantastic. This is largely due to the fact that it is a game based off of an accomplished author's work unlike similar series where a group of average writers write an average story and later if success has been had, the best of the average writers writes an average novel. By the way, the novels are great. I only wish they would keep publishing the rest of them in English.

    Final though: PLAY THIS GAME!!
    Expand
  26. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game all round just a few minor flaws for me, on one particular map you find yourself fighing the same group of monsters over and over, it did get a little bit of a grind as they where quite easy to kill and just seemed like an obstacle rather than fun but this was rather early on in the game and what was to follow made me forgive this slight flaw in the game.

    The only other
    complaint would be about boss fights, the dont really seem like boss fights, they lack a little bit of "epicness" and "challenge".

    Beyond this i found the game to be brilliant, there are a few other very small matters that could be addressed but it would really be nit picking and i dont want to give the impression that the game is bad as i loved (almost) every minute of it.

    There is a lot of adult themes such as drinking gambling and sexual references so its one to keep the kids away from but if your an adult and want a game to treat you as such then i think you will find a lot of laughs joy and excitement from this title, i know i certainly did.
    Expand
  27. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Excellent RPG and best storytelling since Planescape:T. It has interesting concept of blurring the lines between good and evil, there is no truly "good" or truly "evil" choice. The combat gameplay is its only flaw.
    And this game is the only one that has alchemy system that I actually wanted to use and had a lot of fun doing so.
  28. Apr 19, 2012
    0
    Would be nice if we could actually play it. It's amazing, when a company decides to port a game to a console, something will go wrong with the PC version; always. Usually the easiest part of a game is installing it, you click your mouse on "Next" 3 to 4 times and wait for a few minutes. Well, that's the problem, the morons at CDProjekt screwed up so bad on the patcher, .exe, .dll files that most of us cannot even play the game...and what are they doing about it? Nothing, they're sitting back and watching the revenue of their precious consoles. Another studio lost, I'll be throwing this garbage away seeing as though it's just a fancy paperweight. Expand
  29. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. The Witcher is a new kind of RPG; one that allows the player to make choices that actually affect the world. Some modern RPGs, such as Mass Effect (2) allow some of this, but with The Witcher, you are making choices left and right. And these choices change how later levels play out. One particularly important one changes how the final 5 hours of the game plays. I also loved the combat, and if you play the game enough, you will too. Most people who say that they dislike it are right in doing so, because the whole concept revolves around combos which you unlock as the game goes on. And if you only play until the second chapter, then there is no unlocking being done, and therefore the combat is depthless.

    Another area where the game excells is in story. Though the english translation can be a bit spotty at times, and voice acting can be a bit poor, all the important characters are well voiced. The story is rich with backstory, and there is a living world behind you. This is the only game where I have ever considered going back two hours in saves so that I could change one of the choices I made.

    The graphics are also quite nice, though compared to modern standards, they are a bit behind the times. Of course, the game is now 4 years old, so that is to be expected. The lighting is beautiful, and there is a full day/night cycle.

    There are only two areas which I dislike: There are some "impossible" boss fights. If you fail to prepare for them, they are quite hard, and the game doesn't do a very good job of warning you that they are about to occur. The other thing that I take issue with is how easy it is to miss some quests. If the quest isn't a primary quest, then it is usually given by some NPC. How was I to know that I should randomly go into the blacksmiths' house? I don't know. You can sometimes miss large parts of the story, or atleasty backstory due to this. Luckily, there is a good wiki for the game, where you can check to see that you have done all required. Just watch out for spoilers on there, they seem to be in the most mundane places!

    To close this up, The Witcher is a great game for any RPG fan. If you don't have it, get it.
    Expand
  30. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    First big game from small polish developer. Game was created on old engine bit it looks really good for 2007 RPG of the year! I didn't know what to expect after TW1 was recommend to me by my friend. Game starts slow but picks but closer to middle of the game so you have to patent ..if you survive first 2 chapters you start to enjoy very well told story. Combat could be better but it's something new! never been tried before system so I give them points for trying also character development is very rich and let you play how you want you play. Highly recommended if you love RPG games. Also I have to add game goes for around 5£ (huge value for the money!) Expand
  31. May 13, 2011
    0
    Terrible game. Probably the worst UI and movement interactions I've seen in a game, ever. Awful inventory system that looks like it belongs in the mid 90's. Sluggish controls, bad glitchy cut scenes, awful AWFUL combat system. Also, even though its fairly old the developer did massive upgrades to it after release. They did not, however, see fit to make vsync possible. SO, if you play on an HD monitor and don't like screen tearing you will have to download and install a separate program that forces vsync for this game only because even the video cards own forcing won't work with this game. I picked this game up for $5 excited because it was so cheap and it has such a good following. I wish I would have bought a hamburger instead. This game came out the same year as Crysis and Mass Effect, I don't see how it ever sold one copy, much less developed a following. Expand
  32. May 4, 2011
    9
    I have played The Witcher: Enhanced Edition for the first time last week and I must say, this is one of the best game I have ever played, even if it is a 3 years old game. The setting is mature and intelligent (not all gamers are 12yo!!!), the graphics are great, the RPG elements are fun and the dialogues are realistic and compelling. The fighting action is really cool but I would have preferred a "Jedi academy 2" type of sword fighting, more based on reflex and skills than timing. This game is a MUST HAVE. Expand
  33. May 27, 2011
    9
    Great RPG! Great story, brutal and cruel world, fantastic atmosphere , moral choices and much much more.

    minus... not many ways of building up your character, not very challenging and sometimes boring combat.
  34. Dec 24, 2011
    4
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is an RGP / third person hack 'n' slash game where the main protaganist is a impotent albino womanizer called a 'Witcher' with memory-loss whose job it is to hunt demons for money. For some reason, the women in this game find you terribly attractive and want to have sex with you even though your character can't remember as to why they would want to or what they mean to him. In return for this sex, you get a card of them posing in a cheap romance novel cover fashion. This is also the part that made me quit playing, I thought it was just too cheap and uninteresting. I don't mind romance in games but it has to at least be interesting and mean something to the player and the story in general. The combat and map design isn both very linear; you walk down a pre-defined path, you slay a number of pre-defined enemies and you watch a number of cut scenes here and there that move the story forward. Nothing that sucks you in and makes you want to continue fighting. Despite combat being such a large part of the game, it is by far the least fulfilling thing to do. Inventory management does make up for some of the flaws in the game as you can collect herbs, food and potions (that you can make) and you can carry up to three weapons. Alcohol seems to play an important part in this game and you can upgrade skills pertaining to this substance or you could choose to go for a character that's more into herbs. Of course, there are the mandatory strength and damage upgrades for different types of weapons and attack moves. The combat itself is real-time and consists of sort of locking-on to enemies by pressing the left mouse button and when you see an orange effect coming from your swing, you click again. this will do extra damage or knock your enemy out. Unfortunately, if you are low on health your screen is entirely grey meaning that you won't be able to time your attacks to do extra damage when you need it the most. There are also different combat stances that are used to fight different types of enemies and you can switch between these during combat. Desite it being highly regarded, I was not impressed at all. I thought the controls were clunky, the conversation dull and long-winded, the models and animations simplistic and the story had so many plot-holes right from the get-go that I just felt like I was nothing more but a pawn in someone else's poorly scripted story. Expand
  35. Oct 11, 2011
    6
    It's fortunate that I own a digital copy of The Witcher because if I owned a physical copy I'd probably have thrown it against the wall and smashed it to pieces by now. This enhanced edition is as infuriatingly clunky and frustrating as its original release, which I remembered loathing when I played it on its first release. Post completion of the highly superior sequel, I went against my better judgement and purchased the game on Steam confident that a different perspective would yield an enjoyable experience but I still don't like it. I'm trying hard to give it a chance and persevere with it but it's just not fun, it's rife with poor design, crap combat and terrible voice acting. I persevered through crashes, glitches and other make-you-want-to-tear-out-your-hair moments because otherwise I could've wasted my money much more creatively. In hindsight, The Witcher has a few good moments. As the game draws to a close, things finally get exciting and interesting and the story is well-written, however I doubt I will ever play it through again. Expand
  36. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    This book, err, I mean game is based on a Polish book called Blood of Elves. The story is very immerse, which was expected since it was made from a book to a game, with many characters who you begin to feel emotion for right after meeting them. The combat system of this game is very different from traditional RPG's. You have to click on at the right time to continue your over animated combos and you have three different attack styles, Strong, Fast, and Group which you must use depending on the enemy you're versing. You also have Steel Swords and Silver Swords. Steel Swords are most effective against humans, dogs, and wolves while the Silver Sword is most effective against monsters. The combat system is simple but very fun and engaging! The graphics are very good for the time the game was made but I was expecting to see cinematics with the graphics of the introduction but I believe those graphics are reserved for the first and final cinematic of the game. I wouldn't know, I'm still plying through it now, after months of addiction an family reunions avoided! The game really could have done without the sex scenes and cards. They add a cheesy touch that I hated! I haven't done any of them and don't intend to. Still a great game, missing 10 because of the unneeded sex. Expand
  37. May 19, 2012
    6
    Haon's review on this game is very similar to how I feel about it. Whilst there is undoubtably bags of quality in there, as an overall package it just doesn't quite work as well as it should. My main gripe isn't that the combat is boring - personally I found it quite decent and pretty fun even after 30 or so hours - it's that the game itself is boring. There's a lack of any real excitement throughout the game and each quest is more work than fun. The game's got a lot of great aspects including a superbly downtrodden and realistic atmosphere, it's also got a very mature and practical feel to it (although it does go overboard with the amount of women you get to bang with such little effort), but throw in lots of micro management with the inventory and labourious quests that involve a lot of going back and forth and it just feels like to much work to play through. Expand
  38. Nov 6, 2011
    3
    Most aspects of the game seem really good. The story seems really deep, although, i couldn't get past chapter two. The characters are mostly unique and interesting, however, it seems like you can get "romantic" with any woman within seconds. The setting is dark and mysterious which really suits the mood of the game.
    But, the combat system is so monotonous and simple that I regret buying
    it. You just wait for the weapon swing to appear yellow and then you press the left mouse button. After that, you just wait again for that yellowish swing and press the left mouse button. Occasionally, you can throw in a magic attack. Expand
  39. Apr 28, 2012
    1
    What a piece of frustrating garbage!! I had high hopes when this new edition came out only to see the same complex fighting system and clumsy interface. The storyline is somewhat interesting but the quests quickly become a chore due to the constant backtracking. Some of the boss fights are a jumbled mess!! The beast fight being one prime example.... even when beaten I wondered why I bothered? Its a totally frustrating battle......And for me was no fun what so ever!! Save your sanity and skip this game.... I found nothing Enhanced about this edition! Expand
  40. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    I wouldn't recommend this game for everyone. I didn't like it right away and needed to give it a thorough chance before it grew on me. That said, this game is very fun. The only thing holding it back from being a great game is the engine, character movement, physics, and combat. The engine is the Aurora engine, which by the time this game came out was already showing its age. To compare, Neverwinter Nights came out in 2002 and used the same engine, whereas The Witcher came out in 2007. Most all flaws I just listed come from how bad the engine is. The positives about the game are its attention to detail with the string of characters and narrative you encounter. The crafting system, alchemy, is very in-depth which myriad possible combinations; another good example of the attention to detail in this game. Combat may seem intimidating since it's quite different from other RPGs, but it honestly is easy to get used to. In fact the combat almost becomes *too* easy (even on the hardest difficulty) later in the game with upgraded talent trees, enchanted weapons, and a good amount of magical powers. The talent trees are another aspect of this game where depth and attention to detail can be seen. The story starts off fast, throws a lot of things at you in a short amount of time, but the game took me 40 hours to beat and I'm sure I missed a few side things here and there. The narrative in this game gets quite complex, with mystery becoming involved, betrayal, and even prophecy. The narrative weaves together beautifully to present a coherent and complex storyline. Overall, this game is good, has a few things holding it back, and it grows on you. It's definitely an esoteric title, which is why I can't recommend it to everyone. Give it a chance, see if it grows on you the way it did for me. Expand
  41. Jan 8, 2012
    7
    Despite how many problems this game had, I did enjoy it in the end. What problems? Where do I begin? Glitchy alchemy, awkward combat, numerous crashes/freezes, bad voice-acting, confusing interfaces, VERY slow start, distorted difficulty curve, fights against cheesy mobs, awful AI, etc. It's not until the third chapter (~20 hours in for me) that the game started to even develop, and I had to wait until the fourth and fifth chapters until I felt like I was enjoying myself for more than five minutes at a time. Why a 7 then? Simply put, the pacing of the game once the fifth chapter hits is very good. It's action-packed with interesting quests based on the issues of the characters you've learned about. The best answers to your problems aren't clear and you have to simply make decisions based on gut instinct. You see the outcomes of your decisions unfold into an ending that made me scratch my head. It's the pacing of this last chapter that really shines. There's no more bs about getting some guys honeycombs from his friend 3 towns over; you are thrown into the middle of a substantial political conflict and the fate of who lives and who dies is up to decisions you make. In my opinion, it's enough to shine above all of the disgusting bugs I mentioned at first. I give it a B/B- overall, and an A- for the fifth chapter and the epilogue Expand
  42. May 5, 2012
    0
    Mac version always crash. It is a wine pack. So bad. I can't even play it over 10 minutes. I can't believe so buggy app can be put on steam to sell.
  43. Jul 27, 2012
    2
    This game is jaw-droppingly bad, even ignoring the occasional crash to desktop error, i have played for about 4 hours and all i can say about it is that simple mechanics are simply horrible, you can't just hit an enemy you have to counter and even then each weapon has only one animation. The graphics aren't bad considering the game is from 2008 however the lip syncing is sometimes badly off making it difficult for me to be approving. Anyway it may just be me but i feel as though i am forcing myself to play this game just for the sake of if it and the only reason i put it at a 2 is because the cinematic's are amazing and the characters are well thought out however i bought this game for about £2 and i feel i haven't yet got my money's worth. Expand
  44. Nov 23, 2012
    6
    I had picked up the Witcher when it was originally released and tried playing it twice- getting bored both times before completing it.

    The combat system in the Witcher seems confusing and cumbersome during the first few acts- but once you level up a few times and get used to the quirks to it this ceases to be an issue. The middle levels are quite enjoyable- the gameworld is well
    developed and reasonably original. The RPG combat and character development is well done and the artwork holds up a half decade after its original release.

    Unfortunately the questing is largely fetch quest based. In the latter portions you end up doing a *lot* of back and forth over familiar terrain either grinding monsters or fetching quest items. This was a showstopper for me on the original version- but the enhanced edition vastly decreases the load times and makes this somewhat less tedious.

    Not my favorite RPG of recent years- but probably worth the price of a movie ticket if you are a fan of the genre.
    Expand
  45. Jun 29, 2013
    3
    The Witcher have a spetacular trailer but the trailer made me buy this game. I was hoping a gameplay like Assassins Creed with more elements of RPG but I was wrong. The gameplay is a you dont even need the keyboard to play, you just click on the enemies, double click on the ground to parry, uses some potions and The Witcher keeps attacking his enemies.. The response of the character is the worst I've ever seen. You just double click and he stops attacking. The cutscenes is full of graphics but with no physics and no character expression, even PS1 cutscenes are much better than this cutscenes. If you like playing a game and doing boring quest only for the story go ahead and buy this game, but I prefer watching animes or movies if go for the story. Expand
  46. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    To Put It Simply This is the one of the best rpgs ever mage witcher 2 is more amazing than 1 but if you have a normal gaming rig you can play the witcher in maxed out settings stunning graphics compared to any other rpgs till 2010 stunning story and gameplay highly addictive
  47. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    The main selling point of The Witcher is its great story. This game is for adults and it's made in a way that makes the story very believable. People swear, steal, **** and murder. The plot in this game is a lot darker than in most other games and it really adds to the atmosphere.

    Unfortunately, the fighting mechanics and menus/inventory are a mess and it hurts the gameplay quite a bit.
    Managing the inventory takes too long and the fights don't really feel fluid. Switching between stances quickly becomes tedious. The game also crashed a few times.

    It's still a great RPG, especially if you are looking for a good story. Recommended.
    Expand
  48. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    I give the Witcher (Enhanced Edition) a 5/5. I do not know where to begin. This is by far one of the most fantastic RPGs that I have ever had to pleasure to experience. Although the awkward animations and somewhat dull voice acting may take some time to get used to, it is most definitely worth your time. I became to immersed into this game that as soon as I beat it, rather than going on to the second game (which I had already purchased in my steam library) I started the first game over on the hardest difficulty setting. I just could not get enough. Buy this game. Beat it. Beat it again. Play part two. Expand
  49. Dec 21, 2011
    5
    Too many not worked ideas. Too tiresome. Much you run there here, speaking with the same characters though it is possible to join all it in one dialogue.
  50. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    My original favorite game. I got it at some random shop I walked into for 2 bucks, mainly because of the wolf head on the cover. Man, did I luck out. No idea what it was about prior to buying it. Of course, there are a few issues, like not being able to jump/ walk over small bumps. I just bought it again on steam for 2.50 because I like the convenience of steam, and figured I should pay at least 4.50 for such an awesome game. Expand
  51. Mar 7, 2012
    5
    I know there are a lot of people that like this game and I seriously tried to give it a legitimate shot, but wow, I am completely disappointed. Mundane, non-strategic mouse clicking combat, expressionless mannequin-like characters, horrid voice acting, jagged graphics, and a non intuitive inventory system start off my rant list.

    I mean I can understand kids liking the game because of
    the sex cards, but the dialogue and the unnecessary questing leading up to those second-rate soft porn scenes just makes me want to puke.

    I found a pretty funny review that sums up my frustrations in more detail than I have room for here:

    http://startbuttonnews.blogspot.com/2011/01/witcher-review.html

    Thanks to Witcher, I now know the definition of fetch questing...
    Expand
  52. Jan 7, 2011
    7
    I dont know what it is about this game, the gameplay on paper seems like it should be boring, the story is all over the place and the controls are very annoying and clunky, but something about this game keeps drawing me into playing it and i am having alot of fun.
  53. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off: the things I didn't like.

    The combat system could be better. It consists of clicking the mouse at the right time for the hero to continue a combo, switching combat styles and weapon, considering what type of enemy you are facing. You do a LOT of pointless running back and forth, as there is no fast travel system, and that get really tedious. The amount of re-spawning enemies are - ridiculous especially low level enemies are all over the place! and it can get rather boring hacking through hordes of monsters all over the place. The dialogue scenes are just.....weired. they are poorly executed, the voice acting is dull, the characters has no animated facial expressions, and the way they express them selves with their bodies are strange to put it mildly. Personally I'm a big fan of open world games like oblivion and fallout, and this games i very restricted in the freedom of your movement and in the story. It is extremely buggy! throughout my first play-through I hardly used the quit game button, as the game crashed all the time. BUT all this considered i still really liked this game a lot.

    The visuals were good, maybe not technically, as the game is a few years old now, but the atmosphere created through the music, sounds and the visuals I thought were excellent. The whole tone of this games was done really well including the flawed personality of all the characters, the underlying conflicts and difficulties i the world the is set in (The plague, the war between races etc) made this a very interesting setting for the game. The story is good, and deep with a lot of twists and turns, minor subplots that are all connected with each other, creating a long a very deep and strong story for the game.

    The choices you have to make are.....heavy to put it mildly. all from what side to choose in a threatening civil war, to whom you save or don't to which friends to rely on or whom you alienate. That choices are many and have often unforeseen consequences, making the story even stronger, and give you a good platform for several play-throughs, playing a game with a slightly altered story every time.

    So all in all this i a very good RPG game, with som issues and flaws, most of whom is technical. I'm really looking forward to the next game, where, if they can create a just as strong story and setting, and removes the bugs and flaws of the first game will make a really strong game that will be a favourite with most gamers, fans of the RPG genre or not.
    Expand
  54. Feb 14, 2011
    7
    The worst thing I can say about this game that it feels like work. The simplest tasks take endless resource grinding, the combat is repetitive, and you'll spend lots of time walking from one place to another to pick up this or that from this or that NPC. However, every so often, I find myself wanting to get back to this game. I never truly lose interest in the story or characters, I love the gritty feel of it, and yes--the mechanics of combat are dull, but it's presented in a very cool way that closely resembles what a fight in a real medieval setting would look like (though the game really does give you more weapons than you really need, at least at first). It's complex, but all good RPGs are, and for the most part the complexity doesn't feel unnecessary. Keeping in my that it was the developers first game, I'm excited in what direction they go from here; perhaps this game's sequel will be less tedious and more streamlined.â Expand
  55. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    Got the game on Steam with a rather low expectation due to the low price and the sometimes negative feedback here. After completing the game I must say it is one of the best games I have ever played. Yes there are some glitches. Sometimes you feel like running a little too much around. Some of the bosses in the game are very difficult etc.
    But the beautiful setting, the deep storyline and
    artistic graphics totally compensates. And if you are a little bored with the "run to the next exit and shoot some monsters on the way" games the market is full of then pick up this game, it is still available on steam at a rather low price and I promise you a very interesting journey. On the other hand if you like to learn tricky keyboard combinations to fight with very special moves, if you like to snipe, or just enjoy exploring "high tech" places, this game is not for you. The fighting engine is very special with your character doing all the moves and you just have to click the mouse at exactly the right time. In the beginning this is kind of frustrating until you learn but after a while I actually appreciated this action style very much.

    Can't wait to play the sequel. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  56. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    I got The Witcher: Enhanced Edition recently because a friend recommended it. It looked great, and the story was very interesting. Throughout the game you must make choices, all of which are important and help define your character. However, the combat is very boring. It is basically timed clicking, with the occasional spell (since you only have enough endurance for 1 or 2 until you reach the higher levels). Despite the dull combat, I definitely enjoyed the Witcher. It was one of the few games which made me think deeply about the ending. Expand
  57. May 22, 2011
    9
    I had never heard of this game until a little while ago. It came out right about the time Dragon Age: Origins came out and I was way too busy with that game. Now I have to look back and wonder if I should have been way too busy with this game. This game is a breathe of fresh air in the RPG category. I wanted to see if it was any good before I played the sequel to it and I was amazed. It didn't try to cover more than it should have with it's storyline and gave the player enough. Every decision you make will count at some time or another. You will be rewarded in a good or bad way for the things you do at some time or another. The story doesn't leave you wanting more and it actually closes what it started which is pretty unheard of in this gaming age. The combat system is unique and I want to say skill based but I can't really because by the time you are ~30 hours into the game you will hear the same sound and know when you attack again. Some of the later sequences are bit harder to listen for though which was a nice change. The quests in this game are diverse and many. There are the standard kill this and get X from it on every act but those are optional and are usually completed by doing other optional quests or primaries. If you want to take a break from questing you can do dice poker or bar fighting which was fun to do every so often. I didn't really have high hopes from an indie game company to produce something of this quality but I was blown away. The only really thing I can say negatively about this game is the fact that it is easy. Once you know what to do with your spells it makes things a push over. I was playing on the hardest difficulty and relied on alchemy. I was hoping it would be harder to obtain the mats for said pots but they were littered everywhere on the acts. It made the hard version of the game very easy being able to be potted all the time. With that aside I would absolutely recommend this game to anyone even if they don't like RPGs it is just that good. Expand
  58. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    This game comes very close to the perfect game. It's actually mature, it's realistic in decisions and never resorts to black and white "good" "evil" choices. The only small issue is that some quests are of a far lower standard than other quests - whereas in the witcher 2 - all the quests are of a high standard. However this game is almost twice the length. So it evens out in the end. The combat is a little more methodical than the witcher 2, it's different. Although I probably prefer the witcher 2's combat. Expand
  59. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    The game is just how good, solid RPG should look like. First off though, a thing that may disappoint someone- you don't create or choose a character. But personally I don't really see this as a bad thing. It has many good sides that the plot benefits from. The game is based on the universum created by Andrzej Sapkowski in The Witcher saga. I think that creating a game on a solid setting was really an amazing idea. Game's action takes place after the story from the books though. I don't want to talk about the details but just the world that we find ourselves in playing this game, as well as the story, is really a masterpiece. The plot is non linear which makes the game even more enjoyable. The Witcher takes a while to beat it so I assure you that you'll have many hours of fun playing it. Something people may not get to like is how the fighting looks. You mostly just click the mouse button at the right times. But on the other hand it is something original and something that one can get used to, really. Pros: -Not linear. -Amazing story. -Long. Cons: -Fighting style that not everyone may enjoy. Expand
  60. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Good game. The writing is well balanced, and the graphics are outstanding. Carries a few loose bugs, however, and I even encountered a game-breaking one that forced me to restart the game. The voice acting is also a little bit sloppy. Despite all this, what really makes the Witcher stands out is its incredible atmosphere and engaging characters, and its enough to make me want to push through again even after having to restart. A great game all-and-all. Expand
  61. Apr 9, 2011
    8
    very good game. to be sure it could use some bug fix(s) but it is worth it for the story. it is far more heavy on story then other rpgs like(ahem) oblivion but is not as smooth gameplaywise.
  62. May 21, 2011
    9
    After I have seen the movie based on Sapkowskich books... I told my self, that I will not waste my time on these books... but some time after the release of the enhanced edition I gave it a try... and I got drawn into this world within minutes. The cursing dwarfs, the shady elves, the false priests, the corrupted officials and the sultry prostitutes shaped a world, which was unique among the fantasy worlds I came across. (After my first playthrough I read all the 7 books in an instance...)
    Ok, this game does not offer a character creator, but instead You get a well defined and interesting anti-hero, whose story and background is a far superior feature, than a tabula rasa character. The music is so dense and folklore, the graphics are so stunning, especially compared to the great Dragon Age: Origins. I have to admit, that the facial animations are very stiff, and a lot of faces are the same, but that is the only downer in terms of graphics. The night and day cycle, the living towns and the dynamic weather are so immersive, that you cannot not play for hours. This game also features the most interesting choices, were every choice means sacrifice, were all one can do, is choose the lesser evil, where a Hollywood-style happy ending is not an option. Many people complained about the combat... It needs to get used to, yes. But it is not bad, it is a lot of fun, and when you add the potions, the bombs and Geralts skills to it, the combat becomes a very strategic gameplay, where the intelligence of the player is tested. In short... If you know what you are doing, you can defeat the game on the highest difficulty with ease, but the hard part is actually remembering and mastering all of it.
    So... in it's time, this was the second to Mass Effect 1 best looking RPG, it was definitely the most mature story-based game (I know... the sex cards... but I do have a deck of Playboy-cards myslef and I still consider my self mature) with a very deep combat system, it featured the most difficult choices, it was not afraid to punish you.

    What shall I say... I love CD Project games as much as I love Bioware games, and I am not a fan of this recent troll-war between the fans of these games... people, do yourself a favor and enjoy those games... in the end, it is of no importance which is better... they are all great and they ARE worth your money!
    Expand
  63. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    Short version - One of the best RPG's I have ever had the pleasure of playing in my 12 years of gaming.

    Long(er) version - When I started up the Witcher after buying it extremely cheap on Steam, I have to admit, I wasn't expecting much. Something to throw a few hours into and entertain me for a little while.. but I was so wrong!

    This ended up being one of the most superb RPG experiences
    I have ever had, the story and immersion are second to none and the setting is just absolutely excellent.. Who doesn't want to be a professional monster hunter, hunting everything from vampires, werewolves to things you have never heard of like Kikimores and Graveirs.. you really get the feeling that you are Geralt, the white wolf, a witcher.

    I see no faults whatsoever with this game and give it a 10/10, it deserves it.
    Expand
  64. May 17, 2011
    10
    I only started playing the game after I'd read the books by Sapkowski, as a way to extend my stay in the world of The Witcher. Honestly, I thought I was up for a disappointment, but I was pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere was still there, the riveting plot, interesting characters and snappy dialogue were up to standard. I particularly liked the fact that the moral choices were always in the gray scale, never good or bad, but rather a matter of the lesser evil. I can only hope the second game will be as good as the first! Expand
  65. May 17, 2011
    10
    wow where to start I absolutely loved this game from start to finish,sucked me in and wouldent let me go,awsome graphics memorable story,This is how rpg's for pc should be done.Quiete a long game,I put about 50 hours into it because there are just so many sidequests
  66. May 20, 2011
    10
    Belongs to top 3 RPGs I have ever played, along with Mass Effect 1 and Dragon Age 1.
    Story is mature and complex, I felt like I was playing a full-blown novel, with lots of side stuff going on simultaneously with the main story.
  67. May 20, 2011
    10
    great game,very worthy predecessor to the witcher 2 you can pick this game up for 5 dollars now at gog.com i think this gam edeserves a 30 out of 10 for that price go out and buy it you wont regret it
  68. May 22, 2011
    8
    Good story. Engaging gameplay. Fun rpg where you must choose your actions carefully. Great effort by a small development studio. Recommended to folks that want to have a solid game with massive replayability.
  69. May 26, 2011
    9
    Very good game! Graphics on a high level, interesting story and interesting character. I played it a few times and are happy playing again. 9 / 10
  70. May 27, 2011
    9
    The Witcher Enhanced Edition is an amazing game. Challenging gameplay, good graphics, interesting storyline. Because the first edition of the Witcher was full of bugs, CD Projekt released this, the Enhanced Edition, which was offered for FREE to users who purchased the original, first edition. Talk about amazing! Any company who strives so hard for customer satisfaction demands our loyalty. Slightly better than Dragon Age Origins, this was the best RPG since 2001 (Baldur's Gate). Do yourself a favor, and get the Witcher. You won't be sorry. Expand
  71. Jun 13, 2011
    5
    The game is one of the best I've played until now. It has deep interesting and unpredictible story. The graphics, level design and mechanics are very good. I loved the experience. I wish there were more games like this one. I wanted to rate 10/10, but metacritic blocked it. The score is biased. "Score (9.0) id must be a floating point number."
  72. Jul 16, 2012
    7
    If there's one thing that can be said about The Witcher, it's that it is a very unique game.

    1) No other game uses timed combat in such an interesting fashion, and manages to make it feel fresh the entire way through.
    2) No other game uses potions in such an interesting and complex manner.
    3) No one places quite the same emphasis on player choice in quite the same way, with
    frightening murals displaying the consequences of each choice.
    4) No other game has created a world and environments in quite the same way that the Witcher has.
    5) No other game has quite the same main plot that the Witcher has
    6) No other game grants you quite the same quests that the Witcher does

    No one has made a game quite like this one before, and if only for that reason, this game is worth checking out. However, there is an annoyance coupled with every great thing that this game brings to the table.

    1) Some combats can be overcome simply by outrunning/ exploiting the AI, which is way too easy to do, especially at what are supposed to be great moments in the game.
    2) Potions can only be brewed at Fireplaces, which requires a lot of dead travel time.
    3) Ever so rarely, the game isn't quite clear about what the choice you're actually making IS. I don't mean the consequences, I mean the choice.
    4) The world suffers from a drab low fantasy coat of grime, with too many people eager to slut themselves around to the point where character motivations become muddled and uninteresting.
    5) The Witcher suffers from Explaining Syndrome, where it doesn't always narrate along the way; it sometime just explains the plot to you afterwards.
    6) The Witcher manages to make fetch quests not feel so much like fetch quests, with good item placement, and also by weaving your identity as a Monster Slayer into the fabric of the game. However, some quests are still unbearably miserable messenger boy runs, and the sex cards are pretty lame and spontaneous.

    There were a lot of things that I liked about the Witcher; it's a title that you only get in the PC genre, and really expounded upon that strength. However, its flaws truly dragged it down from something brilliant to something very inconsistent.

    Still, a great freshman effort from CD Projekt.
    Expand
  73. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    I love this game. I tell's a very good story, and the world is based on Andrzej Sapkowski's books.
    Graphic Engine is not bad. Characters are great. I love everything except one thing - combat mode is quite arcade, cause of clicking in right time and small maps, cause we can't explore them for unexcepted suprise.
  74. Jul 6, 2013
    1
    I could never figure out why people said game was so good. I found it incredibly dull and lackluster, although I did like the potion system, being able to brew your own pots and the nice atmospheres the game had, sadly I found myself yawning constantly after the first few hours and I was wishing I'd never had the chance to play the game in the first place. There are very few decisions to make outside of upgrading, the game puts you on a linear path and encounters were just more annoying due to the hack n slash combat system. This is IMHO one of the worst RPGs I've ever played. Expand
  75. Jan 20, 2012
    7
    The game features a very interesting main storyline and an immersive world, though it can hardly be compared to the mighty sequel. Dull combat, generic sidequests, massive difficulty gaps between areas ruins the experience though. It is worth playing through it if you are interested in the much better Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings.
  76. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    i am simply amazed by the game.after playing the first chapter i was about to uninstall the game but thankfully i dint.the first chapter is not that good but after that its amazing.the game lets you decide what you want to do and you will have consequences for every choice you make.now i am going to buy witcher 2.
  77. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    2nd best polish game. One of the best RPGs ever, one of the best fantasy universes ever. : )
    I recommend this game and The Witcher Saga too! :D
    Dark and deep world with sclavinian style.
  78. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    One of my favourite game for his great unlinear story, great characters, great soundtrack, good graphics and unique combat system, but there are few bugs, bad optimalization, but still i think this game is one of the best RPG games ever made.
  79. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    First time picking this game up, I didn't play it in 2007. It's a good looking game, and the combat is different than anything else I've played before. The story is good, and the settings are diverse enough to never get boring. I do have some problems, which to me, made finishing the game more a chore than anything else. The combat, while different, becomes repetitive quickly. It does require some thinking as you have different weapons for different scenarios, but it all plays out the same. Timed click until dead. The signs (magic) in the game cannot be woven into the combat fluidly. If you miss-time a click, you receive a beat down, especially on the hardest difficulty. As well, as mentioned before the story is good... but the delivery is bad. The English translation is probably not up to par with the original Polish dialect, but the conversations are broken and devoid of any emotion. Especially from Geralt, the protagonist. I found I read the subtitles faster, just to skip hearing people talk. It's worth a play for sure, especially if you are setting up the sequel, but I just didn't find the game as amazing as it sounded from reading other reviews. Expand
  80. Aug 3, 2013
    7
    Surprisingly good, though a bit rough around the edges. Basically Mass Effect with a medieval fantasy setting (and even more promiscuous sex). Atmospheric, some funny dialogue, and a good story. I liked the watercolor paintings used for loading screens and cut scenes. However... gameplay is sometimes tedious, the interface and mechanics could be better, some quests and dialogue choices are confusing, some animations are bad and I had some CTDs and glitches. But the strong points more than make up for the flaws, in my opinion. Expand
  81. Aug 24, 2013
    4
    For mouse and keyboards fans only, got to the village fed up and gave up by then. The game has its own sense of style and atmosphere looks great. I had huge amounts of playtime on the 'broken' Gothic 3 but TWEE I couldn't motivate myself to get past the introduction levels, facepalm.
  82. Oct 20, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm trying to like this game, I really am, but it's proving to be very difficult. I realize I am playing on hard, but this is just ridiculously... not fun. At the particular part I'm at, it autosaved before a long speech that I have to skip through each time I die, or when the person with me dies (because I saved them, this person dying would obviate the whole point to everything). Right after the long speech is a boss battle. At first I was thinking "Yay, time to put interesting mechanics into a fight instead of the regular click-at-intervals-until-something-dies", but instead, it's the same thing but now you have another person to worry about. On top of all of this, it's pretty vague where or how to do things, and not in the good, find-it-yourself way. It's more of a "walk around the entire map hoping you find where that guy wants you to be." The friend who gifted me this game said it was the best RPG he's ever played... I'm trying to believe him, but I honestly can't find anything good with it. I mean, if you like it, more power to you, but I feel more obliged to play through it just to get to the second one...
    Gosh, this review looks unfocused and sloppy... but then, so does this game... Hopefully the second one will be better.
    Expand
  83. May 3, 2012
    9
    This is a great RPG, hands down one of the best of this era. Not your slash and hack variety, it makes you use strategy and concentrate on what you're doing during battle. The dark, dismal atmosphere seems much more realistic than the puppies and rainbows most fantasy environments try to evoke. Do yourself a favor, this is an inexpensive game that stands up very well on it's own against more modern titles. Expand
  84. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    Sehr Gutes Rollenspiel !!!
  85. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    I bought the Enhanced Edition Directors Cut on Steam a while ago,I must say it is deep,enjoyable and you can smell the sewers and the streets in the second chapter.Combat is satisfying once you have upgraded your character a few levels,as I found it frustrating at first.If I would have known it was this good I would have bought the retail full price as it looked a nice edition.Once it comes down in price a bit more I may still as I would like to have it as part of my collection.Haven't played Witcher 2 yet,but if this is anything to go by I will be playing it as soon as I have finished this great game,I am thoroughly enjoying it. Expand
  86. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    I played the Witcher Enhanced Edition. There were flaws. It did crash on me a time or two. The combat mechanic took a little getting used to.
    But mostly I got caught up in the plot. Its been compared to a lot of games. Some of its generation, some coming after. But I don't know how anyone can compare it. Its as dark and mature as a game can come. But its not an open world. Its a kind of
    sandbox game, though the box is big enough you hardly notice it. Its a game driven by people and motivations. Really this game is like an engrossing novel. Without spoiling anything. This game is sporting the best twist in a game or show I've ever seen.
    Its a game that doesn't condescend. It is made for adults. (Unlike so many RPGs these days). The characters are characters. No one feel one dimensional. And the characters drive the plot.

    I liked how when given dialogue options the character took your suggestion and said something along those lines but different. It added an element of unpredictability to dialogue.
    The whole thing with toxicity. Potions have a toxicity value. If you drink your way over 100 you die. As you get close to that point you see red flecks floating across the screen. The whole world changes when you drink Cat. All these things added a flavor to the game. Its like the first 2 Max Payne games. It has a style all its own. Its a game you play because your following the story and want to see what happens next.

    And CD Projekt RED may just be the last bastion of sanity in the DRM craze that is sweeping games these days.
    Expand
  87. Dec 10, 2012
    1
    I just took Snarkys review and copy and pasted it because he NAILED it with his review, and frankly im soo pissed off with this game right now i dont even want to take the time to write my own opinion. But this guy nails it

    ""The Witcher: Enhanced Edition" is really just enhanced garbage. How people can rate this unpolished and mediocre turd of a game so highly is beyond me. The
    character you play as, "Geralt", is about as interesting as watching paint dry. I couldn't be bothered to give a f*ck about him or anyone else in this game. The side quests are mostly boring fetch quests, and the main quest is boring and unimaginative, plus the way the game handles quests is annoying as hell. Trust me, when you click on "Quests" and 400 quests show up (side quests + main quests mixed all over the place) you just feel like turning the f*cking game off... which I found myself doing quite often. Then there's the sex: every woman in this game wants to have sex with your character (apparently women go crazy whenever they see a guy with long white hair, lizard eyes and no personality whatsof*ckingever (ah, so THAT's what I've been doing wrong all these years, thanks for the tip developers!)) and as a "reward" (besides herpes and god knows what else) you get a "sex card" (you don't actually get to see your character having sex, instead you get to see a card where the woman you just boned shows you her **** Wow... I'm so excited... but I'm sure the 10-year-olds who gave this game an 8 or higher are enjoying themselves. After all, we can't have a "mature" RPG without including sex, can we? Idiots... "mature game", my *ss. I payed 3 Expand
  88. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Terrible RPG. Cinematics are boring, breaking the game flow constantly and lagging for no reasons. Combat system is the worst I've ever seen for the genre: just click when the little sword is flashing. Terrific. Fighting feels like performing a monkey job. Say bye to Vsinc, it's simply not implemented so your screen will keep tearing. Bad acting which makes characters dull and annoying. You just wish they would shut up so you can continue playing. Typical Bioware sub-product: bad coding, no substance, unfinished, pointless. There are far much better RPGs out there. Got it for 5$ on Steam and would have gladly spent the money on a subway instead. Expand
  89. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games I have played recently. Of course, there are bugs, glitches and it's not that non-linear as was expected, but the quality of the story telling is simply awesome! I never seen a game like this, where you fall into the story, like you read a book.
    If you want to love this game - read the book first. Unfortunately, the whole book series is not available in
    English yet (only two first novels). I am from Ukraine, so I had a chance to read all the books and watch TV series made by Polish TV. Maybe, that's a reason why it is great game for me. Try it and open yourself for this great story. Expand
  90. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    Its awesome game with awesome storyline and original action system. One of the best RPG ever. Impressive graphics as for 2007 and nice atosphere made this game
  91. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    This game has flaws and is not perfect. But it's better than any RPG I have played before. So I gave it a 10 in hope of encouraging more games of this quality.
  92. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This is a game for real rpg fan. If You like Slavic climate You will found here the best world You ever dreamt of. Fighting system is like a poetry. Plot is marvelous like original A. Sapkowski books. Main character is a true hero with past and something to say in present. Sense of humor, music and surroundings will make You love this game. Also game is quite long but it doesn't get boring. If You didn't play, You just have to. Expand
  93. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    A true RPG masterpiece. I started playing after a friend of mine showed me the second part on the XBOX and then I saw it on sale last weekend with the first part, so I purchased both. I've played it for 12 hours but so far I feel this game has a really engaging story, likeable characters, your decisions truly affect what's going to happen afterwards. There are certain parts of the game you are going to miss if you play in a certain way. Finally a RPG that the main character isn't mute! DO YOU HEAR BETHESDA, take note of that! Not recommended for newcomers and people who like straightforward action, this is an rpg and requires character development and understanding of what things do and how the skills work. It promises a ton of hours of fun and certainly delivers. I'm starting to read the novels and at first the changes in the language of the characters, using swear words and so on felt kind of out of time but after a while I grew used to it and makes the narration more lively and lessens the tone in some of the heavier dialogue parts. I prefer this sort of tone than a recreation of how the characters would sound like at the time. It's on sale on Steam and certainly is worth the price! Stop wasting your money buying upgrades for Candy Crush and get yourselves a piece of RPG history. Expand
  94. May 3, 2013
    7
    The witcher is recommended for fans of wrpg games but might not be suitable for others. Here's whats good in it : - Superb and unique setting based on slavic culture (rarely seen in rpgs) - Mature and engrossing storyline -Time delayed choices (ie the decision u make may not affect u instantaneously but will reward or bite your ass later) -The soundtrack (i still hum it from time to time!), though its not TES quality, it still is memorable.
    Here's what's bad in it :
    - backtracking, tons and tons of it.
    -the combat, though unique doesn't feel satisfactory
    -no fast travel
    -You will feel tired by the end of the third chapter. the fourth chapter is slow but will ultimarely pick up pace later on.

    So if u can forgive "the bad". You can enjoy the game. A 7/10 from me.
    Expand
  95. May 9, 2013
    3
    Not a good game. Decent story, but feels worn out out and not very creative.
    Could be a solid game, but lacks the most essential thing a RPG needs: A good battle system.
    The battle system is outrageously dull and in no way challenging (it basically comes down to pointing at the enemy and clicking at the right time...). It's basically Diablo but without the exitement. The inventory system
    is very user-unfriendly and physics are below par.
    This game is a micro-cosmos of the gaming industry today: They put most effort in graphics and designing breasts, instead of developing solid gameplay and acual innovation. Do not buy!
    Expand
  96. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    The scenario, the gameplay, the atmosphere, everything in this game is absolutely amazing. Well, almost everything. I would've given it 10 if it weren't for two reasons: first, there is the lack of emotion in the character's faces during the dialogues; and the second, and main reason is the fact that you can't change the game difficulty once you've chosen it at the beginning... and that "medium" difficulty is actually pretty hard. I lost many (frustrating) hours because of that. I almost gave up at some point.
    However, I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who likes RPGs. Just think twice when choosing the difficulty level.
    Expand
  97. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I have never seen a game as good as this before! I am playing it for the 3rd time, the soundtrack and the game's world makes me cry for going back into the 13th century. You must read the Andrzej Sapkowski novels, which are the best books I've ever read and they make the story line much much clearer.
    I want to be a witcher.
  98. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    Witcher doesn't do everything right but where it's good, it's great! Finally we get a story where choices matter and the player isn't treated like an idiot. Compared to the average game these days, the interface is a little daunting at first. Soon enough it's easy to work with. The combat mechanics are this game's weak point. Occasionally you need to think strategically in combat but on normal difficulty it becomes fairly easy if you've invested time in side quests to boost your skills. Players who want to be forced to master the intricacies of the combat system should definitely play this one on Hard.

    Another issue is stability. The game tends to crash, particularly in certain graphically intense areas of Chapter 2. Save and save often. Normally, this would be a deal-breaker for me, but the games other positives allow me to me to give it a pass.
    Expand
  99. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    Once you get the hang of the unusual combat system (which will seem alien to most), there remains an incredibly touching and moving story of evil and hate, and being stuck somewhere between the two. Deep lore, which sets the game to have choices with what seems infinite possibilities, lays the way for great re-playability and a very interesting RPG.
    Only problems are having unusual times
    for your computer to be sent into full stress when loading or at menus. Although, this is the only performance bug I encountered, and it may be my problem. Expand
  100. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    I am playing this in 2013, for the first time. The Witcher is a long, immersive, detailed RPG. The story's flow is similar to likes of Baldur's Gate. The dialogue is mature, with some dry humour thrown in. Slightly different to your classic Warrior-Mage-Priest-Protagonist RPG types when it comes to character development, in that you are primarily a sword-user who can mix in various forms of magic during combat, as well as crafted/purchased potions. Combat itself can be a little difficult at times, but you get used to the click-to-combo fight style after a few hours (I found playing a warrior in Dragon Age to be harder). It covers mature themes and is probably not for children. If you had not played this when it came out many years ago this can fill the void. It's as enjoyable as Baldur's Gate and Dragon Age and while it's closer to those games than Skyrim, it tries to offer a similar level of lore and fantasy. A tremendous effort by the developers, and one for the history books. Expand
  101. Jan 13, 2012
    0
    First of all, I need say that I finished the game around December 2011. Although this is an old game, this is a very well-crafted game. Not to say it's the best, but very well crafted. Some complain that the combat is repetitive, but I think the combat of games are always repetitive. ( You don't fight A boss with turn-based, and fight B boss with Real Time Strategy in games, right?) This game also has a nice story with multi endings. Graphic is still acceptable for a game this old. Took me around 45 Hours to complete. If you find this game with discount, it worth a try. P.S. I bought this from steam. Only cost me $4.99. Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 75
    The main adventure still has serious pacing problems, combat's still too easy for the most part, and load times -- though reduced -- continue to get in the way of the action.
  2. The new and improved package is increasingly attractive. There are still some rough edges, and moments of genuine drama are still undercut by how they're performed, but this is an agreeably driven RPG in an agreeably ornate package.
  3. Finally, The Witcher fulfills its potential, and, best of all, it's available as a free update, just in case you bought it anyway. [Nov 2008, p.110]