The Witcher: Enhanced Edition PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Witcher: Enhanced Edition Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1608 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of The Witcher, Geralt, a legendary monster slayer caught in a web of intrigue as he battles forces vying for control of the world. Make difficult decisions and live with the consequences in a game that will immerse you in an extraordinary tale like no other. The WitcherAssume the role of The Witcher, Geralt, a legendary monster slayer caught in a web of intrigue as he battles forces vying for control of the world. Make difficult decisions and live with the consequences in a game that will immerse you in an extraordinary tale like no other. The Witcher shatters the line between good and evil in a world where moral ambiguity reigns. The Witcher emphasizes story and character development in a vibrant world while incorporating tactically-deep real-time combat like no game before it. [Atari] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. PC PowerPlay
    100
    All in all, the Enhanced Edition is a triumph. Projekt Red took a great game and made it better. While the new content won’t take too much time to plough through for a veteran, it’s worth playing the original campaign again just to marvel at how much has been tweaked. [Nov 2008, p.54]
  2. 93
    The Witcher is in better shape than ever, and gamers that played the original will be jealous of those who can enjoy the game for the first time in its higher form. Don't worry, though, as the Enhanced Edition gives Witcher veterans a perfect excuse to replay a sure-to-be classic.
  3. The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is a remarkably deep title filled with decision making tasks that actually have an effect on the story itself.
  4. The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is what this role-playing game should have been when it made its debut a year ago.
  5. If you are an RPG player then you should not skip out on The Witcher because it has it all, visuals, audio, gameplay, story, and scantly clad women/dryads/hookers/etc.
  6. PC Gamer UK
    81
    Flawed RPG fixed. [Nov 2008, p.88]
  7. Overall, The Witcher was a game which strived for the peaks of the highest mountains, but only reached the base camp.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 226
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they are so much better even though this game is older. The music is a masterpiece and fits perfectly everywhere ... it really makes you feel like the places actually exist and gives the game a very unique and special feeling. The characters are very interesting and you want to know more and more about them all the time (very much as in Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn). The story is also awesome ... I don't want to spoil anything but it really is great.

    If you like RPGs then buy this game. It's a masterpiece and one of the best RPGs ever made (Baldur's Gate II and Morrowind are the only RPGs I recon beats this game).
    Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Finally got into The Witcher series, in preparation for the upcoming TW3, decided to start at the beginning, didn't expect all that much, butFinally got into The Witcher series, in preparation for the upcoming TW3, decided to start at the beginning, didn't expect all that much, but after about 50 hours of pure RPG bliss it took me to finish this, all I can say is WOW! and rank The Witcher among the very best RPG genre has to offer.

    Classic RPG feeling, really good story, important decisions, interesting characters, nicely improved point&click combat system, for the time surprisingly beautiful visuals, humour, fun mini games, extensive alchemy, but what stole my heart the most were 2 things - setting and music. Impressively portrayed environments, not the typical dragons and crazy colored high fantasy, but rather more realistic medieval and darker European setting, I just loved exploring these locations, villages, cities, farming summer fields, forests and swamps. And on top of that, what truly glorifies this title is absolutely stunning soundtrack that fits every location perfectly and creates unforgettable moods, captivating you in its atmospheric embrace.

    All the problems I heard about The Witcher such as the long loading times, bugs and crashes seemed to be all fixed in this enhanced edition as I never came across any problems and could enjoy this delightful RPG experience 100%.

    Extremely pleasant surprise and one of the best titles in the genre. Now I'm just worried whether the next TW chapters will be even able to live up to this gem. 10/10
    Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    This is a game made by RPG fans for RPG fans. Unfortunately for the PC gaming layman or those coming from other genres this game will seenThis is a game made by RPG fans for RPG fans. Unfortunately for the PC gaming layman or those coming from other genres this game will seen complex, slow, and unbalanced. But for those few with RPG game logic, patience, and willpower, that have been gained through years of BG2, Diablo, or NWN (one of course, possibly 2) this game will be a welcome breathe of fresh air that has been absent from the mainstream gaming for the past couple of years. Those things which non-RPG fans will find so frustrating about this game are exactly what RPG fans have been missing from titles like Oblivion or Dragon Age. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2014
    8
    This game has a really good story and many hours of gameplay. Choices make outcomes, decisions are valued.

    I did not like that it took
    This game has a really good story and many hours of gameplay. Choices make outcomes, decisions are valued.

    I did not like that it took about three chapters to get the hang of the battle system, and even when I did it was not that great. The storyline, however, is superb.
    Expand
  5. May 11, 2011
    8
    a great game, if you enjoyed the books pick this one up. i am looking forward to witcher 2. also be advise people this game is not fora great game, if you enjoyed the books pick this one up. i am looking forward to witcher 2. also be advise people this game is not for everyone. very dark and Gothic feeling. another word if your not going to do the whole game don't waste your money this game has to be played to the end to fully enjoy it Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2016
    7
    Excellent story but dated graphics and combat. Very dark Atmosphere.

    Graphics: 5 Game play : 6 Combat: 5 World Design: 7 Content: 9
    Excellent story but dated graphics and combat. Very dark Atmosphere.

    Graphics: 5
    Game play : 6
    Combat: 5
    World Design: 7
    Content: 9
    Immersion: 7
    Story: 9
    Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2016
    0
    Very boring Story and Gameplay the Combat System is anoying as hell.
    The Dialoges are mutch to long.
    I dont know why this get so much awards
    Very boring Story and Gameplay the Combat System is anoying as hell.
    The Dialoges are mutch to long.
    I dont know why this get so much awards and massive Hype.
    Expand

See all 226 User Reviews