The Witcher: Enhanced Edition Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1830 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of The Witcher, Geralt, a legendary monster slayer caught in a web of intrigue as he battles forces vying for control of the world. Make difficult decisions and live with the consequences in a game that will immerse you in an extraordinary tale like no other. The WitcherAssume the role of The Witcher, Geralt, a legendary monster slayer caught in a web of intrigue as he battles forces vying for control of the world. Make difficult decisions and live with the consequences in a game that will immerse you in an extraordinary tale like no other. The Witcher shatters the line between good and evil in a world where moral ambiguity reigns. The Witcher emphasizes story and character development in a vibrant world while incorporating tactically-deep real-time combat like no game before it. [Atari] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. PC PowerPlay
    100
    All in all, the Enhanced Edition is a triumph. Projekt Red took a great game and made it better. While the new content won’t take too much time to plough through for a veteran, it’s worth playing the original campaign again just to marvel at how much has been tweaked. [Nov 2008, p.54]
  2. 93
    The Witcher is in better shape than ever, and gamers that played the original will be jealous of those who can enjoy the game for the first time in its higher form. Don't worry, though, as the Enhanced Edition gives Witcher veterans a perfect excuse to replay a sure-to-be classic.
  3. The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is a remarkably deep title filled with decision making tasks that actually have an effect on the story itself.
  4. The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is what this role-playing game should have been when it made its debut a year ago.
  5. If you are an RPG player then you should not skip out on The Witcher because it has it all, visuals, audio, gameplay, story, and scantly clad women/dryads/hookers/etc.
  6. PC Gamer UK
    81
    Flawed RPG fixed. [Nov 2008, p.88]
  7. Overall, The Witcher was a game which strived for the peaks of the highest mountains, but only reached the base camp.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 244
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they are so much better even though this game is older. The music is a masterpiece and fits perfectly everywhere ... it really makes you feel like the places actually exist and gives the game a very unique and special feeling. The characters are very interesting and you want to know more and more about them all the time (very much as in Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn). The story is also awesome ... I don't want to spoil anything but it really is great.

    If you like RPGs then buy this game. It's a masterpiece and one of the best RPGs ever made (Baldur's Gate II and Morrowind are the only RPGs I recon beats this game).
    Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Finally got into The Witcher series, in preparation for the upcoming TW3, decided to start at the beginning, didn't expect all that much, butFinally got into The Witcher series, in preparation for the upcoming TW3, decided to start at the beginning, didn't expect all that much, but after about 50 hours of pure RPG bliss it took me to finish this, all I can say is WOW! and rank The Witcher among the very best RPG genre has to offer.

    Classic RPG feeling, really good story, important decisions, interesting characters, nicely improved point&click combat system, for the time surprisingly beautiful visuals, humour, fun mini games, extensive alchemy, but what stole my heart the most were 2 things - setting and music. Impressively portrayed environments, not the typical dragons and crazy colored high fantasy, but rather more realistic medieval and darker European setting, I just loved exploring these locations, villages, cities, farming summer fields, forests and swamps. And on top of that, what truly glorifies this title is absolutely stunning soundtrack that fits every location perfectly and creates unforgettable moods, captivating you in its atmospheric embrace.

    All the problems I heard about The Witcher such as the long loading times, bugs and crashes seemed to be all fixed in this enhanced edition as I never came across any problems and could enjoy this delightful RPG experience 100%.

    Extremely pleasant surprise and one of the best titles in the genre. Now I'm just worried whether the next TW chapters will be even able to live up to this gem. 10/10
    Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    First of all, I need say that I finished the game around December 2011. Although this is an old game, this is a very well-crafted game. Not toFirst of all, I need say that I finished the game around December 2011. Although this is an old game, this is a very well-crafted game. Not to say it's the best, but very well crafted. Some complain that the combat is repetitive, but I think the combat of games are always repetitive. ( You don't fight A boss with turn-based, and fight B boss with Real Time Strategy in games, right?) This game also has a nice story with multi endings. Graphic is still acceptable for a game this old. Took me around 45 Hours to complete. If you find this game with discount, it worth a try. P.S. I bought this from steam. Only cost me $4.99. Expand
  4. May 25, 2015
    8
    Gameplay
    -Controls are mediocre
    -Click accuracy is an issue both in combat and looting and is frustrating at times +Combat is fun but...
    Gameplay
    -Controls are mediocre
    -Click accuracy is an issue both in combat and looting and is frustrating at times
    +Combat is fun but...
    -Deaths can be cheap
    +3 difficulty modes. Normal was not very challenging.

    Presentation
    +Fantastic story
    +Graphics still somewhat hold up against newer 3d titles. Environments are very nice
    -Locations are recycled quite often
    +UI does its job
    +Sound FX are perfect. Sword fighting doesn't sound much better than this
    +Excellent soundtrack
    -Early Bioware style conversations with cardboard NPCs

    Enjoyment
    +The story kept me wanting more
    +Combat is fairly exciting
    -Be prepared for a LOT of walking through empty space and backtracking
    -Can only track one quest at a time which led to many an inefficient route while completing side missions

    Other
    +The length of the game felt just right
    +The ending and conclusionary action felt rewarding

    Biggest Pros
    +The story and lore
    +Rewarding sidequests
    +Strongly written dialogue and decent voiceover

    Biggest Cons
    -The game not listening to where you click is frustrating and it happens often
    -NPCs look terrible and act wonky in cutscenes but such was the time the game was made

    This game is worth a playthrough and is fun.
    Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2016
    8
    Let me start by saying: Please do not buy the game expecting gameplay or graphics too similar to Witcher 2 or 3! This game is quite a bitLet me start by saying: Please do not buy the game expecting gameplay or graphics too similar to Witcher 2 or 3! This game is quite a bit older than the two others, and has a different style.
    HOWEVER! What this game has going for it is another strong story and a lot of atmosphere. This is what the company got right even in this first game. It is obvious that the team truly loves the source (the books and stories) and the world and story in this game, IMO, is VERY immersive.

    The playstyle is quite different, just like the graphics. It reminds me a bit more of Diablo, as it's click-to-move. You have different stances which you switch with keys, according to what you are fighting. Of course, alchemy and signs are in this game as well, as they are just of a trademark of the character as the two swords are.

    The game is showing it's age, as the graphics are of course not comparable to the later games, and it's quite interesting to compare the mechanics of the games, and see how the series developed.
    But even though this game has weaknesses and will feel VERY different compared to the later ones (total readjustment especially regarding combat), it still has tons of atmosphere and, as I said, a fascinating story. It's actually quite impressive how much the (back then) small company put into this game.

    If you don't mind the fact that the game is a bit older and therefore is very different regarding graphics and playstyle, if you care about the characters (of course, many of the beloved characters from the stories and the other games appear here, for example Triss and Vesemir) and the story, you might find yourself quite immersed, and if you are willing to adjust to the very different movement and combat, you might enjoy it a lot. I sure did!
    Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2012
    7
    The game features a very interesting main storyline and an immersive world, though it can hardly be compared to the mighty sequel. DullThe game features a very interesting main storyline and an immersive world, though it can hardly be compared to the mighty sequel. Dull combat, generic sidequests, massive difficulty gaps between areas ruins the experience though. It is worth playing through it if you are interested in the much better Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings. Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2012
    0
    Would be nice if we could actually play it. It's amazing, when a company decides to port a game to a console, something will go wrong with theWould be nice if we could actually play it. It's amazing, when a company decides to port a game to a console, something will go wrong with the PC version; always. Usually the easiest part of a game is installing it, you click your mouse on "Next" 3 to 4 times and wait for a few minutes. Well, that's the problem, the morons at CDProjekt screwed up so bad on the patcher, .exe, .dll files that most of us cannot even play the game...and what are they doing about it? Nothing, they're sitting back and watching the revenue of their precious consoles. Another studio lost, I'll be throwing this garbage away seeing as though it's just a fancy paperweight. Expand

See all 244 User Reviews