The Witcher: Enhanced Edition Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1878 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of The Witcher, Geralt, a legendary monster slayer caught in a web of intrigue as he battles forces vying for control of the world. Make difficult decisions and live with the consequences in a game that will immerse you in an extraordinary tale like no other. The WitcherAssume the role of The Witcher, Geralt, a legendary monster slayer caught in a web of intrigue as he battles forces vying for control of the world. Make difficult decisions and live with the consequences in a game that will immerse you in an extraordinary tale like no other. The Witcher shatters the line between good and evil in a world where moral ambiguity reigns. The Witcher emphasizes story and character development in a vibrant world while incorporating tactically-deep real-time combat like no game before it. [Atari] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. PC PowerPlay
    100
    All in all, the Enhanced Edition is a triumph. Projekt Red took a great game and made it better. While the new content won’t take too much time to plough through for a veteran, it’s worth playing the original campaign again just to marvel at how much has been tweaked. [Nov 2008, p.54]
  2. 93
    The Witcher is in better shape than ever, and gamers that played the original will be jealous of those who can enjoy the game for the first time in its higher form. Don't worry, though, as the Enhanced Edition gives Witcher veterans a perfect excuse to replay a sure-to-be classic.
  3. The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is a remarkably deep title filled with decision making tasks that actually have an effect on the story itself.
  4. The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is what this role-playing game should have been when it made its debut a year ago.
  5. If you are an RPG player then you should not skip out on The Witcher because it has it all, visuals, audio, gameplay, story, and scantly clad women/dryads/hookers/etc.
  6. PC Gamer UK
    81
    Flawed RPG fixed. [Nov 2008, p.88]
  7. Overall, The Witcher was a game which strived for the peaks of the highest mountains, but only reached the base camp.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 249
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they are so much better even though this game is older. The music is a masterpiece and fits perfectly everywhere ... it really makes you feel like the places actually exist and gives the game a very unique and special feeling. The characters are very interesting and you want to know more and more about them all the time (very much as in Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn). The story is also awesome ... I don't want to spoil anything but it really is great.

    If you like RPGs then buy this game. It's a masterpiece and one of the best RPGs ever made (Baldur's Gate II and Morrowind are the only RPGs I recon beats this game).
    Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    Игра шедевр. Одна только разветвленка в сюжете чего стоит. На данный момент самая лучшая игра во всемИгра шедевр. Одна только разветвленка в сюжете чего стоит. На данный момент самая лучшая игра во всем
  3. Mar 20, 2015
    9
    The democratisation of dark-fantasy in video-games, just like Game Of Throne did with TV shows. Great graphics at the time, complex, wellThe democratisation of dark-fantasy in video-games, just like Game Of Throne did with TV shows. Great graphics at the time, complex, well written and engaging story with choices that have true consequences in a true living world. The first entry in the series is remarkable: 40 hours of gameplay, good alchemy system, amazing story and universe but not flawless: the combat system is too simple and shops are useless and it would have been better if it was a true open-world instead of zone per act.
    I really did enjoy my time, but I know that the second and probably the third entry are even better and close to perfect, those one will deserve a 10, for The Witcher 1 I think 9 is more fair.
    Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2015
    8
    A strange, and strangely engrossing, RPG that took my about 80 hours to finish. About 30 of those hours were well-written, but generallyA strange, and strangely engrossing, RPG that took my about 80 hours to finish. About 30 of those hours were well-written, but generally poorly voice acted, story content. About 15 of the hours I spent were in the game's simplistic and easy, though annoyingly unresponsive sometimes, combat system. Finally, about 35 of the hours I spent were those simply running from place to place. The massive levels in this game and the fact that there is really no fast travel system makes it a chore to get from place to place for quests and other tasks.
    However, the story content, characters, and player choices in gameplay (that have immediate and deferred consequences) make it all worthwhile. Overall, it was an incredible experience to play, although it still runs less than adequately on modern systems.
    Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2016
    8
    Let me start by saying: Please do not buy the game expecting gameplay or graphics too similar to Witcher 2 or 3! This game is quite a bitLet me start by saying: Please do not buy the game expecting gameplay or graphics too similar to Witcher 2 or 3! This game is quite a bit older than the two others, and has a different style.
    HOWEVER! What this game has going for it is another strong story and a lot of atmosphere. This is what the company got right even in this first game. It is obvious that the team truly loves the source (the books and stories) and the world and story in this game, IMO, is VERY immersive.

    The playstyle is quite different, just like the graphics. It reminds me a bit more of Diablo, as it's click-to-move. You have different stances which you switch with keys, according to what you are fighting. Of course, alchemy and signs are in this game as well, as they are just of a trademark of the character as the two swords are.

    The game is showing it's age, as the graphics are of course not comparable to the later games, and it's quite interesting to compare the mechanics of the games, and see how the series developed.
    But even though this game has weaknesses and will feel VERY different compared to the later ones (total readjustment especially regarding combat), it still has tons of atmosphere and, as I said, a fascinating story. It's actually quite impressive how much the (back then) small company put into this game.

    If you don't mind the fact that the game is a bit older and therefore is very different regarding graphics and playstyle, if you care about the characters (of course, many of the beloved characters from the stories and the other games appear here, for example Triss and Vesemir) and the story, you might find yourself quite immersed, and if you are willing to adjust to the very different movement and combat, you might enjoy it a lot. I sure did!
    Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    First time picking this game up, I didn't play it in 2007. It's a good looking game, and the combat is different than anything else I'veFirst time picking this game up, I didn't play it in 2007. It's a good looking game, and the combat is different than anything else I've played before. The story is good, and the settings are diverse enough to never get boring. I do have some problems, which to me, made finishing the game more a chore than anything else. The combat, while different, becomes repetitive quickly. It does require some thinking as you have different weapons for different scenarios, but it all plays out the same. Timed click until dead. The signs (magic) in the game cannot be woven into the combat fluidly. If you miss-time a click, you receive a beat down, especially on the hardest difficulty. As well, as mentioned before the story is good... but the delivery is bad. The English translation is probably not up to par with the original Polish dialect, but the conversations are broken and devoid of any emotion. Especially from Geralt, the protagonist. I found I read the subtitles faster, just to skip hearing people talk. It's worth a play for sure, especially if you are setting up the sequel, but I just didn't find the game as amazing as it sounded from reading other reviews. Expand
  7. May 5, 2012
    0
    Mac version always crash. It is a wine pack. So bad. I can't even play it over 10 minutes. I can't believe so buggy app can be put on steam to sell.

See all 249 User Reviews