• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Witcher: Enhanced Edition Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1275 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of The Witcher, Geralt, a legendary monster slayer caught in a web of intrigue as he battles forces vying for control of the world. Make difficult decisions and live with the consequences in a game that will immerse you in an extraordinary tale like no other. The WitcherAssume the role of The Witcher, Geralt, a legendary monster slayer caught in a web of intrigue as he battles forces vying for control of the world. Make difficult decisions and live with the consequences in a game that will immerse you in an extraordinary tale like no other. The Witcher shatters the line between good and evil in a world where moral ambiguity reigns. The Witcher emphasizes story and character development in a vibrant world while incorporating tactically-deep real-time combat like no game before it. [Atari] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. All in all, the Enhanced Edition is a triumph. Projekt Red took a great game and made it better. While the new content won’t take too much time to plough through for a veteran, it’s worth playing the original campaign again just to marvel at how much has been tweaked. [Nov 2008, p.54]
  2. 93
    The Witcher is in better shape than ever, and gamers that played the original will be jealous of those who can enjoy the game for the first time in its higher form. Don't worry, though, as the Enhanced Edition gives Witcher veterans a perfect excuse to replay a sure-to-be classic.
  3. The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is a remarkably deep title filled with decision making tasks that actually have an effect on the story itself.
  4. The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is what this role-playing game should have been when it made its debut a year ago.
  5. If you are an RPG player then you should not skip out on The Witcher because it has it all, visuals, audio, gameplay, story, and scantly clad women/dryads/hookers/etc.
  6. Flawed RPG fixed. [Nov 2008, p.88]
  7. Overall, The Witcher was a game which strived for the peaks of the highest mountains, but only reached the base camp.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 190
  1. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    Short version - One of the best RPG's I have ever had the pleasure of playing in my 12 years of gaming.

    Long(er) version - When I started up
    Short version - One of the best RPG's I have ever had the pleasure of playing in my 12 years of gaming.

    Long(er) version - When I started up the Witcher after buying it extremely cheap on Steam, I have to admit, I wasn't expecting much. Something to throw a few hours into and entertain me for a little while.. but I was so wrong!

    This ended up being one of the most superb RPG experiences I have ever had, the story and immersion are second to none and the setting is just absolutely excellent.. Who doesn't want to be a professional monster hunter, hunting everything from vampires, werewolves to things you have never heard of like Kikimores and Graveirs.. you really get the feeling that you are Geralt, the white wolf, a witcher.

    I see no faults whatsoever with this game and give it a 10/10, it deserves it.
    Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This is a game for real rpg fan. If You like Slavic climate You will found here the best world You ever dreamt of. Fighting system is like aThis is a game for real rpg fan. If You like Slavic climate You will found here the best world You ever dreamt of. Fighting system is like a poetry. Plot is marvelous like original A. Sapkowski books. Main character is a true hero with past and something to say in present. Sense of humor, music and surroundings will make You love this game. Also game is quite long but it doesn't get boring. If You didn't play, You just have to. Expand
  3. May 7, 2011
    10
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they are so much better even though this game is older. The music is a masterpiece and fits perfectly everywhere ... it really makes you feel like the places actually exist and gives the game a very unique and special feeling. The characters are very interesting and you want to know more and more about them all the time (very much as in Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn). The story is also awesome ... I don't want to spoil anything but it really is great.

    If you like RPGs then buy this game. It's a masterpiece and one of the best RPGs ever made (Baldur's Gate II and Morrowind are the only RPGs I recon beats this game).
    Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    Despite a lot of flaws and shortcomings The Witcher the best single-player fantasy CRPG of all published since Baldur`s Gate. The game is notDespite a lot of flaws and shortcomings The Witcher the best single-player fantasy CRPG of all published since Baldur`s Gate. The game is not standard and has an incredible atmosphere. The Witcher it is a rare product of the gaming industry, and industry role-playing games in particular. The game does not have the analog. The case when the developers have put own soul into the game, and did so with the mind. The only flaw of the game in my opinion is old graphics engine, but otherwise it's a masterpiece. The game gives an unforgettable experience when passing... get used to the role of Geralt of Rivia and live... Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2014
    8
    The Witcher is a very strong, and in many ways, very different game from most RPGs on the market. It's take on fantasy adventuring offersThe Witcher is a very strong, and in many ways, very different game from most RPGs on the market. It's take on fantasy adventuring offers emphasis on themes often overlooked by it's rivals in the genre; such as a focus on alchemy.

    Firstly the positives:
    The game's lore is very well developed, and makes for an interesting setting, (obviously based on the books). The number and diversity of quests is extensive and can make for lots of game time.
    There is a focus on player choices which is always, in my opinion, well received, and the overall feel of the game is one of polish and time investment. There is also a semi-sandbox feel to the game, with NPCs strolling around the lands and changing their positions with respect to the time of the day.
    It should also be noted that the game's primary pathway, that of hunting monsters, is pleasingly explored. Being a monster hunter feels gratifying and feels like a respected and realistic profession within the game's universe, and there are other things to occupy your time when not monster hunting; such as dice poker which makes for a fun mini-game.

    The negatives:
    The combat within the game, although perhaps appealing to some, is too simplistic and feels too unreaslistic for my personal taste. It has a floursihed arcade-style form of combat, similar to the kind of high pulsing combat you would find in a game like Super Smash Bros, or Soul Calibur. The NPCs and the world in which they inhabit (although perhaps a flimsy criticism I acknowledge) feel, to be honest, really weird to the point of being creepy. I often found it impossible to immerse myself in the game and it's lore because I found the characters portrayed to be amazingly un-charismatic, although this could be down to the below par voice acting.

    The game is very unusual however in that it feels unlike any other RPG I have played and so is immune from comparison. I would encourage people to play this game to develop their own view on it, and not least because despite my few criticisms it is a very strong game to enjoy.
    Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2011
    7
    I dont know what it is about this game, the gameplay on paper seems like it should be boring, the story is all over the place and the controlsI dont know what it is about this game, the gameplay on paper seems like it should be boring, the story is all over the place and the controls are very annoying and clunky, but something about this game keeps drawing me into playing it and i am having alot of fun. Expand
  7. May 25, 2015
    0
    This is why I despise western games. All the male characters follow the same sexist stereotypes with no variety between them. FemaleThis is why I despise western games. All the male characters follow the same sexist stereotypes with no variety between them. Female characters are more than just breasts and thighs walking around. The lines are horrendous with no depth. Quite a shallow game. There are so many other things wrong, but this above all prevented me from being to enjoy the game. Expand

See all 190 User Reviews