• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 853 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 853

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 6, 2011
    3
    I was looking forward to this game's storyline, but found it unplayable. OK, that's an exaggeration, but it's not an enjoyable game to play. For frame of reference, I got huge enjoyment out of Dragon Age Origins, the storyline initially, but it's the gameplay that provides the lasting value. It's hard to pinpoint where the Witcher fails by comparison. I'll admit that, when I sit down to play, I have no tolerance for bugs and idiosyncrasies. This starts with the Load Game screen. The mouse cursor is missing and you have to search the net to find that holding the shift key brings it out of hiding. The screen designs that show your characters stats, selected weapon, maps, progress, inventory etc. are poor. Too colorful and too disorganised, with no sense of where the background graphics end and the useful information begins. The combat, as has been mentioned, is atrocious and simplistic compared to other RPGs. Other things seem, at times, needlessly complicated, taking too many mouse clicks or keystrokes to accomplish.

    This is a game with an adult storyline. If you are, like me, an adult who has a job and whose time is worth something, perhaps you'll feel the same way. There are better titles out there and you'll never play them all. Don't waste your time.
    Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    4
    Truth be told, this wasn't a terrible game. Key word being "wasn't". I had a decently good time (I may have rated it 8/10) playing through it right up until the swamp level. The game was inherently easy up to that point, when it became literally impossible. There was this one vine enemy that was absolutely impossible to beat, and hordes of regular enemies that would not give me even a moment's reprieve. I would've had to fight a few of them, rest and recover, move 10 feet, fight more, rest and recover, etc etc. I can understand games getting difficult, but to get SO difficult SO suddenly is ludicrous. The game became so tedious that I quit, and after trying (and failing) a few more times at later dates, never ended up playing it again. When I looked up tips on how to beat the swamp level, they all said I had to be X level (I was higher), use X potions (I had been), and fire (also had been). Games should be fun, not tedious. Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    3
    I really don't get the love for this game. I caught it on sale at GOG for cheap and finally jumped on it since I had heard great things about it, and even for what I paid, I regret purchasing it. The world and story are the only things that had me somewhat interested, the gameplay itself is incredibly boring and unsatisfying. For all the talk about the fun and innovative combat system, it simply boils down to: is there more than one enemy, than use the AoE style, if not, is the enemy fast or armored and slow, then use one of the remaining two combat styles. Once you pick a style, you click on an enemy to start an attack, and there are times during your animations that you have to click to extend the combo. If you fail, you have to wait a tiny bit before you can try and start a new chain. I was hoping maybe the magic skills would make combat interesting, so I held out until I got them all, but they didn't change much. While it gets points from me for having a unique setting, and a somewhat engaging story, the combat is mind numbingly boring and offers no challenge, for something I assumed would require a bit of strategy. I can only imagine how buggy and cumbersome everything was before they patched it up, as inventory management is still annoying, and I got outright crashes and glitches, losing progress and having to redo parts here and there. You can't really alter fights either, you either win, or you lose, potions aren't reactive, they're proactive. I love RPGs, but this one is a pass, there's just no depth to the actual gameplay and I don't hold much hope for 2, as it doesn't look like combat is substantially improved. I did put about 10 hours into it, trying to see if it would turn into anything interesting, but after getting all the spells and sampling more gameplay, I couldn't justify dumping anymore time into it and decided to cut my losses. Expand
  4. May 22, 2011
    0
    This game is awful. Mostly because of the controls. Instead of a control scheme that makes sense the devs have something which is completely counter intuitive where something as simple as spacebar which is used as the jump key for every single game ever created is twisted into a pause game key. The game doesn't tell you anything about how to actually play. The game animations are some of the worst I've ever seen. I have played porn games with better animation than this. Go look up Bonecraft on youtube, those are terrible animations but they're a lot better than the animations in this game! Don't be fooled by all the fanboys of the Witcher fantasy series who give this game a 10 out of fanboy loyalty. This game is unplayably bad. Collapse
  5. Dec 8, 2012
    1
    Ok, 20 minutes of cinematic and stupid dialogs before I could make a single move. And once it's up to you, character keeps jumping everywhere to the single key you press and you have no clue what you're doing. And then, it's back for 20 minutes of cinematic and stupid dialogs.
    Also, keeps lagging for no reason when there's nobody on the screen but runs smooth when there are 10 characters
    battling. Not sure I'll have the courage to give it another chance. Too bad, you got your chance and wasted it. Expand
  6. May 13, 2012
    3
    This must be one of those games that stereotypical PC gamers love because it's "pretty," as if graphics power can make up for clickfest gameplay, incomprehensible menus and terrible voice acting. I had heard a lot about this game on the Internet, but it isn't even worth the $10 I paid for it on Steam.
  7. Oct 29, 2012
    2
    the game has good voice acting and good music but that's it, the story is dull, the combat is boring, the quests are just uninteresting and the controls are very clunky. by far one of the worst RPG's i have ever played.
  8. Jul 29, 2013
    3
    The game art is done with style, sure, especially the starting cutscene. Unfortunately the combat system just sucks big time. I dropped the game after just a few fights in frustration.
  9. Oct 10, 2013
    1
    Bad controls, substandard plot, no character customization and trying to push through praying that adolescent boys will ignore the horrible game-play for the chance to see sex. The main character is trying desperately to present himself as a mysterious tough guy, but completely falls short when he is emasculated by every woman he meets.
  10. May 22, 2011
    0
    This game is awful. Mostly because of the controls. Instead of a control scheme that makes sense the devs have something which is completely counter intuitive where something as simple as spacebar which is used as the jump key for every single game ever created is twisted into a pause game key. The game doesn't tell you anything about how to actually play. The game animations are some of the worst I've ever seen. I have played porn games with better animation than this. Go look up Bonecraft on youtube, those are terrible animations but they're a lot better than the animations in this game! Don't be fooled by all the fanboys of the Witcher fantasy series who give this game a 10 out of fanboy loyalty. This game is unplayably bad. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. So if you’re looking for a dark and moody role-playing game that is different than everything else out there, and if you have a reasonably powerful computer that can handle the engine, and if you don’t mind adult themes that are more than a little male-centric, then the Witcher is certainly a game to consider.
  2. Trading more traditional, menu-drilling RPG “depth” for sheer style, action, mechanical elegance and what might be called a refreshingly grim mood, The Witcher is one of the most compelling - if not the cheeriest - fantasy excursions to come along in many a moon.
  3. The Witcher is a fantastic RPG, a perfect recreation of the world imagined by Sapkowski. Being focused in a complex story as it is, the many hours of play will make us completely disregard the absence of multiplayer of any kind.