The Witcher PC

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1123 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkO.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    One of the most captivating rpgs that I have ever played. Something that I truly appreciate about the game is that it is often difficult to predict future events. This game is not focused entirely on loot, skills (although there's a wide variety), and other distracting (though important, I know) features. The game is all about the story. The developers intentionally put less loot One of the most captivating rpgs that I have ever played. Something that I truly appreciate about the game is that it is often difficult to predict future events. This game is not focused entirely on loot, skills (although there's a wide variety), and other distracting (though important, I know) features. The game is all about the story. The developers intentionally put less loot into the game so that the player would not be distracted by superficial materials. The main character, Gerault, instead, grapples with challenging decisions during the course of the game. In most games today, it is a matter of good vs. evil (take Oblivion, Mass Effect, or Dragon Age for example), in which good usually prevails in a concrete, simple fashion. But, here we have a game where the line between good and evil is difficult to draw and define. You really need to analyze the plot to get a sense of Gerault's purpose in the game and whether his actions are good or bad. You might think that the main character is this nice guy that sets out to destory some evil nemesis (sadly the plotline of most games today), but you're really dealing with a much more complicated plot (which makes it interesting of course). Gerault commits wrongdoings like gambling, drinking, adultery, and etc. which shows how he is flawed despite his heroic deeds (he is indeed a tragic figure). I also found the ending very profound and philosophical. Unlike most video games, you'll actually find some insights into the human character. You'll question whether it is right to interfere with nature, and ask whether it's right to live in an ideal world. The quality of the artistry, dialogue, music, and gameplay is also very good. Overall, good game. At least give it a try. It will stick with you, I promise. Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    It's absolutely awesome, when polish developer took the best hero in polish fantasy and give us one of the most memorable RPG of this generation. This game still need a little bit of technical support, but the role-playing aspects showed every developers how this work should be done. Yes, i'm Pole, and so what?
  3. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    I admit I was late getting on the Witcher bandwagon, but what can I say? I finally have a decent PC now. I have been enjoying this game for well over 30+ hours of gameplay now and I am seriously loving it. The combat is fun. The alchemy tasks are well thought out. The storyline is great. And best of all the voice acting is actually pretty good (enhanced edition). I will probably start theI admit I was late getting on the Witcher bandwagon, but what can I say? I finally have a decent PC now. I have been enjoying this game for well over 30+ hours of gameplay now and I am seriously loving it. The combat is fun. The alchemy tasks are well thought out. The storyline is great. And best of all the voice acting is actually pretty good (enhanced edition). I will probably start the game over as soon as I am finished with my first playthrough. I cannot wait to pick up The Witcher 2 very soon. I strongly recommend this game to any PC RPG fan. Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Great game. A compelling story, dynamic (if a little bit flawed) combat system, and fantastic characters. A must for true RPG fans. Lots of difficult choices that feel like they matter (they might not influence the gameplay too much, yet you see echoes of your decisions throughout the whole game). The game's story and the situations that your character is put in are more lifelike than inGreat game. A compelling story, dynamic (if a little bit flawed) combat system, and fantastic characters. A must for true RPG fans. Lots of difficult choices that feel like they matter (they might not influence the gameplay too much, yet you see echoes of your decisions throughout the whole game). The game's story and the situations that your character is put in are more lifelike than in any other RPG (especially modern one). There is no 'right' or 'wrong' and being cast in the middle of a war between two fractions you have to pick your side (or try very hard to be neutral, which you can never truly be).

    I am surprised to see some negative reviews, unfortunately some of them show that the reviewer hasn't really tried to play the game (someone complained about an unresponsive combat system where you have to click and hold a mouse button and hope it will work, which sometimes it did and sometimes didn't - that's not the case, the system works in an entirely different way and going through a tutorial would be enough to find this out)...
    Expand
  5. TimB.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    The Witcher is a great RPG, definitely comparable to the Greats (Baldur's Gate, Planescape). The Eurogamer review is right to point out that the game is more of a narrative rpg than anything else -- though that makes it no less of an rpg. The tiniest details are accounted for in this game world: Potion/oil making is immersive, the character development system is complicated and The Witcher is a great RPG, definitely comparable to the Greats (Baldur's Gate, Planescape). The Eurogamer review is right to point out that the game is more of a narrative rpg than anything else -- though that makes it no less of an rpg. The tiniest details are accounted for in this game world: Potion/oil making is immersive, the character development system is complicated and interesting and, above all, the world feals real. Forcing the player to actually rent a room at an inn to rest at night (rather than the usual mechanic of just setting camp whenever and wherever) because the night gets dangerous is just a small example of the little things that make the world truly immersive. My review isn't a 10 as a matter of technical issues: Forcing the computer to reload the main level after exiting from a building on that level is probably the dumbest technical decision ever made. Otherwise, it's pretty impressive how smoothly the game plays on even lower to mid-range systems. Expand
  6. M_Alex
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    A very good game. not as monotonous as the hack and slash's, which i don't care much for. has a story, and good, addictive gameplay.
  7. LukeG.
    Nov 10, 2007
    9
    Excellent Game. Inovative and well crafted. Epic story unique RPG. instant hit.
  8. Rymdkejsaren
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    This game is excellent overall. Beautiful graphics, wonderful settings, lovely music, good sound effects and very nice combat animations for the main character. The story has a slow start, the old amnesia trick is used but the story grows on you slowly until you are deeply involved. Unfortunately I think the dialog has lost a lot in translation from polish, it seems fragmented and This game is excellent overall. Beautiful graphics, wonderful settings, lovely music, good sound effects and very nice combat animations for the main character. The story has a slow start, the old amnesia trick is used but the story grows on you slowly until you are deeply involved. Unfortunately I think the dialog has lost a lot in translation from polish, it seems fragmented and illogical at times. Some plotlines could also use some work, there seems to be a lot of unmotivated actions and random. I'm not overly impressed with the advancement system, because in the end most characters will have a similar build. The alchemy is great fun though, and I love playing on hard difficulty where you really have to plan ahead of the big battles. Combat is fun, although could use some polishing since it seems sometimes your character refuses to behave the way you expect him to. Overall the game is excellent, but gets a slightly lower grade because with just a little more work in some areas it could have been absolutely perfect. I considered an 8 but then I remembered how much I enjoy playing the game, which is the most important thing after all. Expand
  9. AndreasO.
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    Great visuals, beautiful and thoughtfully placed music, upstanding voice acting and a story that, while familiar, is still complex and engrossing marks this game as the RPG of the Year 2007. The gameplay gets it all right, taking the immersion factor from the Gothic series' timed combo attacks, the necessity of choosing appropriate attack tactics from Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy and Great visuals, beautiful and thoughtfully placed music, upstanding voice acting and a story that, while familiar, is still complex and engrossing marks this game as the RPG of the Year 2007. The gameplay gets it all right, taking the immersion factor from the Gothic series' timed combo attacks, the necessity of choosing appropriate attack tactics from Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy and the style from Neverwinter Nights. Probably the best RPG combat I've seen in my life. However, and this is a big however, if you want to play this game, bring a book. (Buying the books the game is based on would be very fitting, and I can easily recommend them as they're quite good) The load times are stuff of legend . . . As in, future archeologists will find computers three thousand years from now [i]still[/i] loading the Temple District. Expand
  10. Skeez187S
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Best RPG since Fallout 2. Its also easing its way into my top 10 games ever. Its a shame when review sites and overall gamer opinion differ so heavily. Shows the "Pro" Reviewers have lost their way, maybe the devs didn´t throw enough money at them in the form of ad placement.
  11. Rashid
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    For old school gamers who liked Balder's Gate series, Icewind Dale, KOTOR, NWN, Planscape: Torment, those who play games for the plot and the choices facing the player, this is the game for you! If your into rubbish like Oblivion (and I had high hopes for that game) mindless hack and slash adventures etc, you may not like it. The game takes the 'RPG' back to its classical For old school gamers who liked Balder's Gate series, Icewind Dale, KOTOR, NWN, Planscape: Torment, those who play games for the plot and the choices facing the player, this is the game for you! If your into rubbish like Oblivion (and I had high hopes for that game) mindless hack and slash adventures etc, you may not like it. The game takes the 'RPG' back to its classical roots. If you want a complex game with lots to read, 'role-play', investigate, nice fighting and things do, this is the game for you. One gripe folks have it loading times, but I didnt find it to be much of a bother and it didnt take much away from my overall experience personally. Expand
  12. FC
    Nov 2, 2007
    8
    Went into the shop the other day for an RPG. Choice between this and Hellgate...very glad I chose this : ) A really nice suprise to me. Mature storyline and decent script add up to make a REAL rpg with soul. No doubt this is due to the rich source material of the book it is based upon. Reservations: some of the game events are narratively a little clumsy (like the initial Barghest Went into the shop the other day for an RPG. Choice between this and Hellgate...very glad I chose this : ) A really nice suprise to me. Mature storyline and decent script add up to make a REAL rpg with soul. No doubt this is due to the rich source material of the book it is based upon. Reservations: some of the game events are narratively a little clumsy (like the initial Barghest attack...kinda throws you in there with little explanation) The loading times are also a bit of an issue but otherwise I recommend it. Expand
  13. RobR.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Fine action and an nteresting story. Pretty solid combat system. Fantastic mood music and graphic. MUST HAVE GAME!
  14. BürstlK.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Best Rpg in 2007. I hate dwarves, trolls, little nice elves and fairies. The Witcher has none of these RPG Elements and thats ok.
  15. IustinianP.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Excellent game. One of the best RPGs I have played since Oblivion. Un-missable for any RPG fan. So far, best graphics, best story. As far as I can see it won't be any better RPG this year, so, for those looking for the perfect (adult) PC-Gme gift THIS IS IT.
  16. JulieH.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Absolutely brilliant game..... cant wait for the add ons and tool guide!!
  17. VikramP.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    Graphics and gameplay are good and very well-done considering this is not a big budget title. The story is excellent (with some hokeyness) and the atmosphere will suck you in - points added for originality. Music is amazingly good. Add a party system and this is what NWN2 should have been. All in all, a great throwback to days of Baldur's Gate, NWN, and classic Ultima.
  18. Novahawk
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    11 is what I'd give this game, even though the max is 10. Despite the stretched out zone loading, this game is simply amazing and makes up for it. This is like having Billy Crystal at your house laughing your heart out til your mother-in-law passed away the very next day. Among the contenders, this game ought to be praised as the best award RPG for 2007 in its class. Well done Atari, 11 is what I'd give this game, even though the max is 10. Despite the stretched out zone loading, this game is simply amazing and makes up for it. This is like having Billy Crystal at your house laughing your heart out til your mother-in-law passed away the very next day. Among the contenders, this game ought to be praised as the best award RPG for 2007 in its class. Well done Atari, Bioware, CDProjekt . Expand
  19. LecksC.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Best RPG I've ever experienced. Great non-linear mature story, great gameplay, great graphics. A real suprise, I wasn't expecting much from this.
  20. BobS.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Best game i've played in a VERY long time. Nothing like a good story to get me interested in games again. I must be getting old since I feel like i've played every game before. Not this one though!
  21. Micha?S.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Best RPG ever! Moreover based on my favorite book, you have to read them to understand this game, this character and this world!!
  22. Ingvarr
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    As I'm fan of Sapkovski I was waiting IT for 5 years. "Witcher" is one of the most atmospheric games I've ever played. Strongly recommended in huge doses with book. P.S. Console owners must cry.
  23. NealV.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game from an unknown company fills the RPG void after the relative failures of NWN2 and Gothic 3. Unique setting, fascinating characters, above-average voice acting, beautiful visuals, and many other well composed elements. Your standard high fantasy setting done in a remarkably fresh way, the likes of which Forgotten Realms and the BG series could never achieve. The game puts Fantastic game from an unknown company fills the RPG void after the relative failures of NWN2 and Gothic 3. Unique setting, fascinating characters, above-average voice acting, beautiful visuals, and many other well composed elements. Your standard high fantasy setting done in a remarkably fresh way, the likes of which Forgotten Realms and the BG series could never achieve. The game puts you in the middle of conspiracy and political intrigue and allows you to actually play a part in influencing major developments. The major problem is that combat can dry up if you take too long to move to a new area, but luckily the game moves quickly enough and introduces enough new enemies and combat skills that this will rarely be a problem. I've never heard of GameDaily and chances are neither have you. Pay attention to IGN's review instead, GameDaily clearly awards scores based on ad sales. Andreas, the archaeologist comment must be because you bought an artifact from one and called it a PC. I have never had a loading screen for more than 20 seconds. Expand
  24. JoeF.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    I'm truely amazed at some of the professional review scores I'm seeing here. It's rare for a game to live up to the hype surrounding it's release (even when that hype is limited). "The Witcher" has been one of the most fun RPG's I've played in recent memory (that includes NWN2, The Mask of the Betrayer NWN2 expansion, and oblivion). I'm finding it I'm truely amazed at some of the professional review scores I'm seeing here. It's rare for a game to live up to the hype surrounding it's release (even when that hype is limited). "The Witcher" has been one of the most fun RPG's I've played in recent memory (that includes NWN2, The Mask of the Betrayer NWN2 expansion, and oblivion). I'm finding it refreshing to advance the story line after finishing the side quests. There are alot of "Sherlock Holmes" moments in act I, where if you pay close attention to the things people say you can figure out alot about the storyline before it's full out shown to you after advancing the storyline later down the line. The click style combat is simple but unlike diablo isn't going to cause anyone carpel tunnel as the mouse is clicked at specific times in a combination rather than repeatedly. The games not perfect. It is a huge system hog, load times are horrible at times, and there are random crashes. However, I haven't been this drawn into a game since Knights of the Old Republic. Expand
  25. PeterS.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Game of the year, hands down. At first I was sceptical abotu this title, but mere 5 minutes into playing it, I felt like falling in love. Immersive setting and gameplay, interesting characters and a gritty feel like no US-made game could provide... they've really made a treat for us roleplaying fans.
  26. RobertL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Great game, great atmosphere. Very few weak points, and they don't bother me at all.
  27. KristoffV.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    The Witcher is a gem amongst the dirt. While it comes with its fair share of chips and scratches, it's beautiful none the less. If a darker, grittier, twist of modern fantasy sounds appealing to you, give this game a go.
  28. AdamD.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Best RPG since the blackisle days of Fallout and baulders Gate. The combat system takes some getting used to but is actually fun, unlike Oblivion's combat ( I find it obscene that anyone could give Oblivion a 9 and then say the witcher was too boring for them) and the loading times are up there (about 30 seconds to load a saved game) but its all worth it. If you like single player Best RPG since the blackisle days of Fallout and baulders Gate. The combat system takes some getting used to but is actually fun, unlike Oblivion's combat ( I find it obscene that anyone could give Oblivion a 9 and then say the witcher was too boring for them) and the loading times are up there (about 30 seconds to load a saved game) but its all worth it. If you like single player rpgs with a gorgeous, deep, living world where interactions with npcs matter and even the straight forward quests have twists and surprises this is a must buy. (I ordered the UK version since the US one got all censored up.) Expand
  29. JohnK.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    A fantastic RPG both for mature gamers more interested in uncovering a teriffic, well-paced story than power leveling and selling loot. Easily the best RPG of 07 and second overall only to Stalker.
  30. PhilippN.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    This game is the best rpg for years. The Witcher has got a great atmosphere. It's not without flaws but the good sides make that up. It has all a rpg should have and is a most enjoyable experience.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. So if you’re looking for a dark and moody role-playing game that is different than everything else out there, and if you have a reasonably powerful computer that can handle the engine, and if you don’t mind adult themes that are more than a little male-centric, then the Witcher is certainly a game to consider.
  2. Trading more traditional, menu-drilling RPG “depth” for sheer style, action, mechanical elegance and what might be called a refreshingly grim mood, The Witcher is one of the most compelling - if not the cheeriest - fantasy excursions to come along in many a moon.
  3. The Witcher is a fantastic RPG, a perfect recreation of the world imagined by Sapkowski. Being focused in a complex story as it is, the many hours of play will make us completely disregard the absence of multiplayer of any kind.