Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 679 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Wolf Among Us is a 5-episode series from the creators of The Walking Dead. Based on Fables (DC Comics/Vertigo), an award-winning comic book series, it is an often violent, mature and hard-boiled thriller where the characters and creatures of myth, lore and legend are real and exist in our world. As Bigby Wolf - THE big bad wolf in human form - you discover that the brutal, bloody murder of a Fable is just a taste of things to come, in a game series where your every decision can have enormous consequences. Your choices matter: it’s not only WHAT you choose to do that will affect how your story plays out, but WHEN you choose to do it. A mature and gritty take on characters from fairy tales, legends and folklore who have escaped into our world. These are not the characters you’d see on a little child’s lunchbox. Play as Bigby Wolf: formerly the most feared monster among the Fables, now Sheriff of Fabletown and protector of those he used to hunt. He must restrain the beast within if he is to earn the trust of those around him. Choose Bigby’s actions carefully. Will you approach a situation calmly or unleash your inner rage? The way you act will determine how others respond to you. Set before the events seen in the first issue of the comics – you don’t have to know the characters or the world to play. [Telltale Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    100
    An amazing introduction to the Fables setting, the first episode of The Wolf Among Us absorbs you fully into the character of Bigby Wolf through excellent writing and forcing the player to make engaging choices.
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    90
    Clocking in at around two hours, this is the best looking, best playing and most polished game that Telltale has created to date and while it’s a bit lacking in the idea that each choice has great weight and meaning behind them, it’s still a fantastic title and a truly promising beginning for what might become Telltale’s greatest work yet.
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    90
    After playing The Wolf Among Us you can see that Telltale has a real grasp on creating amazing interpretations of comics. Even without having any knowledge or relation to the Fables comic I can't wait for the next four episodes.
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    85
    A very good start. This is no pretty fairy tale, but a gruesome thriller with a fantastic parallel world New York as a background, where you meet characters from Snow White to Grendel.
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    80
    Faith is a sterling beginning to what looks to be another feather in Telltale’s cap; a confident, slick opener to a mystery that begs to be explored. I wait with bated breath and sweaty palms for the next installment, where I’m sure to discover how my choices have only made things worse, at least if The Walking Dead is anything to go by.
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    As only the first of five episodes, it is difficult to tell how the series will play out and evolve from here. However, The Wolf Among Us: Episode 1 - Faith makes a fantastic first impression and has us eagerly awaiting the next chapter of Bigby's story.
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    70
    A solid and enjoyable opening entry into a series that, thus far, is impossible to judge. The Wolf Among Us perhaps hews a little too closely to the first arc of the comic it's based on, but it does an admirable job of translating that world to a new medium.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 99
  2. Negative: 5 out of 99
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Telltale has done it again this is definitely a must buy! The art style is yet again amazing the controls are fluid and responsive the story is compelling and the characters are loveable!
    Can't wait for episode 2!
    Collapse
  2. May 24, 2014
    10
    The Wolf Among Us: Faith learns on the mistakes on The Walking Dead. Introduced to Fabletown, you enter the shoes of Sheriff Bigby Wolf, as a murder has been comitted in Fabletown. Investigation is the primary part of the first episode, and the choice and consequence is hidden beneath a thick layer of fur, as I'm pretty sure that most of the choices you make will either aid, or hit you back in the fourth and fifth episode.

    Well written characters, a captivating and strong story, and the noir music makes this a must have for anyone lusty to enter the dark underworld of detectives.
    Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    Great and very deep and somber game. The storytelling is perfect, and the characters are alive so you won't be just a spectator but will have much more feelings about game events. The graphics are well-looking, similar to The Walking Dead series. The sound and music are great, and it makes the game much better than a simple graphic novel. Can't wait for the new episodes! Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    While the premise is not quite as interesting as the Walking Dead (in my opinion), Telltale has still managed to tell an intriguing story through excellent writing and dialogue.
    You play as Bigby Wolf, the sheriff of a place called Fabletown. He's tasked with protecting all the 'fables', including classic characters such as Beauty, Beast, Snow White, with Bigby himself being the Big Bad Wolf. The plot revolves around the murder of a young woman. What makes this different than your average murder case is that the victim was decapitated and deliberately placed on the front steps to Bigby's apartment. This sparks an investigation with the aid of Snow White.
    As was the case with TWD, the story is strongly driven by the choices you make. There are tons of dialogue choices to be made throughout which may affect how certain characters view you, but there seem to be 2 major decisions that could greatly affect the way things play out for you in Episode 2.
    The middle portion of the episode is a tad bit slow, but it really picks back up for the last 25 minutes or so. The action scenes are intense and gruesome, the dialogue is extremely witty and even a bit humorous, and the murder mystery is fascinating.
    My only real complaint is that moving Bigby around can be a bit of a hassle whenever the camera changes angle. I often found myself getting stuck on objects that I had no business getting stuck on. However, it was never frustrating and never distracted from the experience.
    Episode 1 took me just over 2 hours, so for 5 bucks, It's a fair deal. I'll definitely be buying the season pass. After the truly shocking cliffhanger at the end of the episode, I'll be eagerly awaiting Episode 2! Great start to this new series.
    Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    Telltale Games starts out strong in the first episode of "The Wolf Among Us"(TWAU) and proves that the previous success with "The Walking Dead"(TWD) wasn't a fluke.
    The gameplay has developed and the action scenes are much smoother and fun to play this time around. This goes for most mechanics and the game feel more polished than previous titles. There is also some investigation and interrogation scenes that add variation to the gameplay.
    The story is unique and the familiar characters you meet all have some twist to them that makes them feel more human than they are. It is an interesting world we get to explore a small part of and I hope that it is expanded upon as the season plays out.
    If Telltale manages to keep the story going and the quality steady "TWAU" is going to be a strong contestant to "TWD" for the champion title. This first episode impressed me far more than the first of "TWD", but it all comes down to the overall quality of the season. I, for one, am already jumping in my chair waiting for the next episode.
    If you liked Telltales previous titles this game is a sure thing, but it is also worth the price if you like adventure games in general or unique twists to old formulas.
    Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    This is the finest storytelling game I've ever faa king played.
    -Incredible ending, I'm not disappointed.
    -After the ending I think the game
    is over, but hell yeah, the game makes you thinking again -_-
    -So this is the type of game that makes you think a lot. Not just in-game, when you're not playing it, even after finished it, I fa king think for the storyline for a few hours.
    -And also makes me want its sequel.

    This game will definitely teach you something, it's a guarantee. Especially decision-making skill.

    Give it 9 or 10?
    Is 9.5 exist?? No? Okay, 9 then.
    -Maybe it's because of a minor glitches on gameplay. Which has no effect on the great storyline though, but yes it is flaw.
    -There are some animation elements in the scene that are less integrated. Example when clicking "Look" to the wall magz for the second time, Bigby still use the "walk_in_&_get_closer_to_the_wall_magz" animation, when he was already IFO the wall magz.

    Over all, this is definitely a must buy game.
    Expand
  7. May 4, 2014
    0
    Another monotonous and boring video game story. Setting itself as a SinCity Noir esquire clone. Although differing when children's fables and urban legends are combined in the stroy, at least they don't have vampires and zombies, but then again they probably will do.

    Rather then actually playing game to the conclusion, where, what you do from actions and speech. Has any real effects to the games final outcome. The outcome will undoubtedly be the same. As if in any reward will only get a slightly different speech or animation throughout which doesn't effect anything., These slight differences are never of any actual consequence to this game because they will always be the same in this played out *video-game progression.

    *Keyword Video

    It has all be done before and much better so many other games, alter, tailoring gamer choices to events and outcomes. Even a game coming from under the same brand the Walking Dead had many better choices of characters left in play from direct game event actions. But also tedious when having a naff ending and lacking in much specific difference.

    Puzzle games, seek and search games are wonderful. However this isn't that type of game, items often wont fit as in if you do or don't have them, they are painfully easy to find, further they are mostly of no real consequence to outcomes. Actions won't particularly effect any game play neither will most choices of speech.

    Somebody will argue because I tore off a creatures arm in a programmed sequenced fight. The game is severely altered Oh no. That same armless guy is saying the same things to me in all the same places, however armless. if going to a different location this will affect a different game outcome? No! The same events will always take place, more through a lack of any actual event though. dulling wait another few months to get a different starting episode animation that won't have altered anything.

    Ultimately a tedious rip off selling a 1/5 of the game every few months to get more money from the gamer, but never the entire game for any complete discounted satisfaction.

    Simply them playing out a story for the gamer , where personally I would rather be watching my TV or reading a book. Avoid a complete waste of time until the full version is available at a discount
    Expand

See all 99 User Reviews