The Wolf Among Us Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 429 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the award-winning Fables comic book series by Bill Willingham (published by DC Comics' Vertigo imprint), The Wolf Among Us is a dark, often brutally violent, and mature take on the characters and creatures of fairytale and legend. A five episode series from the creators of the 2012Based on the award-winning Fables comic book series by Bill Willingham (published by DC Comics' Vertigo imprint), The Wolf Among Us is a dark, often brutally violent, and mature take on the characters and creatures of fairytale and legend. A five episode series from the creators of the 2012 Game of the Year: The Walking Dead, the player will experience what it's like to be Bigby Wolf (THE Big Bad Wolf), Sheriff of Fabletown. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 3, 2014
    90
    The game is even better than the Bill Willingham's original graphic novel series. The Wolf Among Us is a showcase of first class storytelling. [Aug 2014]
  2. Aug 13, 2014
    85
    Overall, I was a little disappointed that Telltale Games couldn’t come up with more puzzles for The Wolf Among Us, but otherwise everything about the game is first-rate.
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    83
    A fantastic, morally ambiguous detective tale that sometimes struggles to make its interactivity meaningful and fun.
  4. Aug 19, 2014
    80
    The Wolf Among Us is yet another good game from Telltale Games. One major flaw is dismissing some characters - that's the reason the first season of The Walking Dead is and will be a better offering. Everything else - from the atmosphere to the storyline - is really good. Apparently Lee and Clementine's adventure wasn't a one-time high quality offer. I can recommend this game with a clear conscience.
  5. Sep 7, 2014
    80
    Great first season with great characters and coherent story. More interactive story than game though.
  6. Aug 21, 2014
    80
    The Wolf Among Us tells an engaging tale, filled with great characters, colorful graphics and clever choices. If only the choices held more meaning.
  7. Jul 18, 2014
    60
    While the Walking Dead demonstrated the potency of interactive fiction, there are times here where Telltale struggles to dispel a disquieting notion: that The Wolf Among Us doesn’t necessarily benefit from the player’s involvement.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 60
  2. Negative: 2 out of 60
  1. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    This is such an underrated game! It is one of the best interactive story games I've ever played. The graphics are beautiful and along with theThis is such an underrated game! It is one of the best interactive story games I've ever played. The graphics are beautiful and along with the music and atmosphere make for a superb environment (very much like an animated comic). Voice acting is flawless and superb. The story is addicting, with cliff hangers at the end of each episode and a lot of plot twists.

    The dialogue choices often don't make much of a difference but many of them do, along with some other major choices. The fighting can be pretty fun and is definitely a joy to watch.

    Overall, a pleasurable 9 hour experience, the whole way through. The ending was wrapped up nicely (no major plot holes) with a *slight* cliffhanger at the end, JUST enough to get you excited for Season 2.
    Expand
  2. May 1, 2015
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played hands down. They need to make a sequel to this game.

    Amazing story line, your actions can change
    One of the best games I have ever played hands down. They need to make a sequel to this game.

    Amazing story line, your actions can change the out come of what happens in the story, and you really feel attached to the characters.

    The only thing is that the chapters were progressively shorter as the game progressed. This wasn't an issue with the tie in within the game.

    Look forward to a sequel.
    Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2016
    10
    I made a mistake by playing the first chapter way back when it first released because you have to remember all the details, at least it helps.I made a mistake by playing the first chapter way back when it first released because you have to remember all the details, at least it helps. As of now I have gone through all 5 episodes 3 or 4 times each so it does really pay off to remember the small details.
    You are Sheriff Bigby Wolf, in our world, New York. The fables try to keep regular citizens(Mundies) out by using glamours to appear normal. When a few heads start to roll in Fabletown it's up to Bigby to solve this dangerous mystery that will keep twisting. As for the gameplay, the mechanics are typical for Tellatale. They are QTE prompts but you are the choreographer of the fight scenes which is why I love The Wolf Among Us, as well as its well designed consequence system. If you have read Fables by DC Vertigo you would understand more but you still have a great story either way.
    Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2014
    9
    The Wolf Among Us deserves so much more mainstream attention than it has received. Seeing as I enjoyed Season One of The Walking Dead, IThe Wolf Among Us deserves so much more mainstream attention than it has received. Seeing as I enjoyed Season One of The Walking Dead, I enjoyed TWAU as well. And I think a lot of other people would enjoy it too. The game is very well made with an interesting plot and familiar fairytale characters. If you have not yet played The Wolf Among Us, I highly recommend you do. I doubt you'll regret it. Not a perfect game by any means, but a great one nonetheless. Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2016
    9
    Great Telltale game with gripping story, superb writing and characters that are very interesting. Love the noir inpired setting of New YorkGreat Telltale game with gripping story, superb writing and characters that are very interesting. Love the noir inpired setting of New York and the secret society of fables aspect. If youre a fan of post TWD Telltale then this is a must play whether youre a fan of the Fables comics or not. Expand
  6. May 15, 2016
    8
    Güzel atmosferi ve bu atmosfere uyan karakterlerin iyi yansıtılmasına karşılık beni tatmin etmeyen bir hikâyesi var. Sonuca bağlama anlamındaGüzel atmosferi ve bu atmosfere uyan karakterlerin iyi yansıtılmasına karşılık beni tatmin etmeyen bir hikâyesi var. Sonuca bağlama anlamında kastetmiyorum. Oyunun odakladığı tür olan "Gizem" açısından yaklaşıyorum. Her ne kadar oyun odağı başka karakterlere çekse de kimin ne olduğu bariz belli. Yada dikkatli oynadığım için bana öyle geldi. Yine de burdan fazla puan kırmıyorum. Oyunun diğer sıkıntısı ise seçimlerin TWD'deki gibi sonucu etkilememesi. Evet oyunda etkileyici seçimler var ama çok azı oyunun sonunu etkiliyor.
    Bu iki büyük eksiye güzel işlenilmiş karakterleri, güzel diyalogları, güzel atmosferi ve müzikleri ile aklımda kalacak bir yapım oldu. Bu yüzden puanım belli.
    Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    1
    At a first glance it seems to be a pretty well put together game. Multiple choices and consequences give the game a genuine feeling of makingAt a first glance it seems to be a pretty well put together game. Multiple choices and consequences give the game a genuine feeling of making an impact on the game. However I am only speaking of Episode 1. The first episode came with such high hopes and promises for the series and left us the fans wanting more. Three months has gone by and not a word on Episode 2 or so much as an ETA from Telltale Games. The only thing that TTG has said was that there would be an ETA on episode 2 after the holidays. They have not so much as posted anywhere online in over a month and that has left a lot of fans with souring regret in their mouths. I understand delays and wanting to put out a polished game to the fans but when the game is sold as episodes and is meant to be released every couple of months, it would be beneficial for the dev to keep in contact with the fans. Game developers need to understand that the fans make the game a success or a failure. No word from them means they could care less about the game and is making the rest of us would be fans falling into the same mindset. They have our money and that seems to be what TTG cares about the most. Collapse

See all 60 User Reviews