Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Apr 4, 2011
    75
    For players used to harder-core war games, or who can handle the game having a broader focus than the typical Command & Conquer or Halo Wars, it can be a great buy. For the average gamer, though, it's awfully hard to recommend the game, despite all its depth.
  2. Feb 25, 2011
    69
    Theatre of War 3: Korea brings a welcome change of scenery to the series, but the boring strategic mode is a poor replacement for the traditional single-player campaign.
  3. Mar 17, 2011
    60
    The third installment in this RTS franchise is a decent game that focuses mostly on hardcore fans of the genre, but contains several important issues -like the poor A.I.- that affect the overall experience.
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    55
    Theatre of War 3: Korea is old inside, bugged, without great ideas and has many other structural flaws. Don't buy it.
  5. Apr 13, 2011
    50
    While 1C Company should be congratulated for being ambitious enough to put forth the effort to recreate in minute detail, one of the most pivotal events of the Cold War, they should perhaps be admonished for not being ambitious enough.
  6. Apr 1, 2011
    50
    Yes, it's got loads of realistically recreated tanks, choppers, planes and all sorts of stuff like that. That's all fine and dandy. But it's easy to get that stuff right. What they fail at is creating a 'fun' game for all the nice tanks to be used in. Realism is fine when there's some gameplay oomph to back it up. Not here and, judging by the fact each Theatre of War game is pretty much making the same mistakes, not ever.
  7. 40
    Uff, this is so too damn much. Asking for such a high price for something that is playable only with the greatest efforts only needs courage. [Issue#203]
  8. May 18, 2011
    35
    After Theatre of War 3: Korea crashed for the last time, I realized it'd only succeeded in whetting my appetite for a good Korean War real-time strategy game. [July 2011, p.69]
  9. May 5, 2011
    25
    Dedication to an overlooked conflict cannot make up for being a bad game. Suitable only for those who have a deep interest in Korean War-era small squad combat. Anybody else should dig up an old copy of "Close Combat" or "Combat Mission" or "Firefight" or something.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    1
    One of the worst purchases I have ever made in my entire life . . . I've bought a fair amount of not so awesome games but this one just topsOne of the worst purchases I have ever made in my entire life . . . I've bought a fair amount of not so awesome games but this one just tops the list! The game is constantly crashing and the frame rate is so bad. My PC surpasses the recommended system requirements on steam I tried playing it on medium graphics and the game still lags like crazy . . . And the worst thing is the graphics arenâ Full Review »
  2. Sep 1, 2011
    1
    Don't buy ANYTHING from Battlefront. They (Steve) have gotten a little too big for their britches and think they are the cats meow when itDon't buy ANYTHING from Battlefront. They (Steve) have gotten a little too big for their britches and think they are the cats meow when it comes to gaming. They have the worst customer service interaction of any company I have ever dealt with and Steve is a LIAR. He said he would eat a web page if anyone could prove that any company supports their games for FREE beyond 6 to 8 years. It was proven and he just started banning people. Plus they have an intrusive DRM scheme as well to activate your games and they charge you for patches now at $5 a pop for CMBB and CMAK. Buy it if you must but at least wait for the bargain bin $5 which will surely come. Full Review »
  3. Jul 9, 2011
    0
    Wow, I joined metacritic just so I could write a review on how disappointing this game was. After it crashed for the n-th time, I figured IWow, I joined metacritic just so I could write a review on how disappointing this game was. After it crashed for the n-th time, I figured I would vote with a note.

    Don't go near this game!
    Full Review »