Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Apr 4, 2011
    75
    For players used to harder-core war games, or who can handle the game having a broader focus than the typical Command & Conquer or Halo Wars, it can be a great buy. For the average gamer, though, it's awfully hard to recommend the game, despite all its depth.
  2. Feb 25, 2011
    69
    Theatre of War 3: Korea brings a welcome change of scenery to the series, but the boring strategic mode is a poor replacement for the traditional single-player campaign.
  3. Mar 17, 2011
    60
    The third installment in this RTS franchise is a decent game that focuses mostly on hardcore fans of the genre, but contains several important issues -like the poor A.I.- that affect the overall experience.
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    55
    Theatre of War 3: Korea is old inside, bugged, without great ideas and has many other structural flaws. Don't buy it.
  5. Apr 13, 2011
    50
    While 1C Company should be congratulated for being ambitious enough to put forth the effort to recreate in minute detail, one of the most pivotal events of the Cold War, they should perhaps be admonished for not being ambitious enough.
  6. Apr 1, 2011
    50
    Yes, it's got loads of realistically recreated tanks, choppers, planes and all sorts of stuff like that. That's all fine and dandy. But it's easy to get that stuff right. What they fail at is creating a 'fun' game for all the nice tanks to be used in. Realism is fine when there's some gameplay oomph to back it up. Not here and, judging by the fact each Theatre of War game is pretty much making the same mistakes, not ever.
  7. 40
    Uff, this is so too damn much. Asking for such a high price for something that is playable only with the greatest efforts only needs courage. [Issue#203]
  8. May 18, 2011
    35
    After Theatre of War 3: Korea crashed for the last time, I realized it'd only succeeded in whetting my appetite for a good Korean War real-time strategy game. [July 2011, p.69]
  9. May 5, 2011
    25
    Dedication to an overlooked conflict cannot make up for being a bad game. Suitable only for those who have a deep interest in Korean War-era small squad combat. Anybody else should dig up an old copy of "Close Combat" or "Combat Mission" or "Firefight" or something.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    1
    One of the worst purchases I have ever made in my entire life . . . I've bought a fair amount of not so awesome games but this one just topsOne of the worst purchases I have ever made in my entire life . . . I've bought a fair amount of not so awesome games but this one just tops the list! The game is constantly crashing and the frame rate is so bad. My PC surpasses the recommended system requirements on steam I tried playing it on medium graphics and the game still lags like crazy . . . And the worst thing is the graphics arenâ Full Review »
  2. Sep 1, 2011
    1
    Don't buy ANYTHING from Battlefront. They (Steve) have gotten a little too big for their britches and think they are the cats meow when itDon't buy ANYTHING from Battlefront. They (Steve) have gotten a little too big for their britches and think they are the cats meow when it comes to gaming. They have the worst customer service interaction of any company I have ever dealt with and Steve is a LIAR. He said he would eat a web page if anyone could prove that any company supports their games for FREE beyond 6 to 8 years. It was proven and he just started banning people. Plus they have an intrusive DRM scheme as well to activate your games and they charge you for patches now at $5 a pop for CMBB and CMAK. Buy it if you must but at least wait for the bargain bin $5 which will surely come. Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    5
    This isn't a bad buy for a long time Battlefront fan like myself, and the added features such as helicopters is more than welcome, butThis isn't a bad buy for a long time Battlefront fan like myself, and the added features such as helicopters is more than welcome, but honestly how did they manage to introduce bugs that weren't even in Theatre of War 2, considering this game is basically just Theatre of War 2? Sometimes the units would curl up against each other in a corner when you tell them to move, and you have to figure out how to get them moving again by trial and error, while other times the path finding works exactly like it should. Why the wonkiness? I can understand if you guys can't be bothered to make TOW2 better, but how did you manage to make it worse?
    The lack of documentation has been a problem in the series, but this is a new low. What in hell is "Historical units set"? What are the numbers on the top left hand side corner of the campaign screen?

    Oh, another thing: now when you click a solder, you automatically select the whole squad, and you have to double click the solder to select him only. This little change makes infantry movement so much harder. I could name other annoying little changes from TOW2 that make no sense, but I'd rather not.

    And mortars. Player controlled mortars are wildly inaccurate. It's not uncommon for a mortar to empty all 84 rounds without killing anything. Enemy mortars, however, can wipe out entire platoons with a few rounds. This makes infantry squads useless whenever the enemy has a mortar position. Either make enemy mortars as inaccurate as player controlled ones, or get rid of these pieces of junk altogether.

    Infantry behaviour is exactly the same as in TOW2. They still throw grenades at friendly units, take minutes to figure out how to shoot an enemy 5 metres away. Good thing enemy soldiers can now surrender, making trench warfare slightly less frustrating.
    Full Review »