They Bleed Pixels PC

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    72
    Super Meat Boy fans will relish the insane challenge, while the rest will have their temper and keyboards destroyed. [December 2012]
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    Control can be an issue at times – the one button combat system relying on the distinction between taps and holds makes it easy to muddle attacks – but challenge seekers will find plenty to get stuck into, impaled on and cut to shreds in this macabre, frenetic onslaught.
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    70
    They Bleed Pixels is a problematic but highly replayable platformer/beat-'em-up combo enhanced by a Lovecraftian vibe.
  4. Sep 12, 2012
    60
    They Bleed Pixels is a monument of pain and frustration packaged in nostalgia and wrapped in a pretty red bow. Every moment of relief is overcast by ten of anxiety. At least the soundtrack was awesome.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely incredible. The story is short but very interesting, while the game play is fun and smooth. The levels of the gameThis game is absolutely incredible. The story is short but very interesting, while the game play is fun and smooth. The levels of the game after you pass the first 2 becomes extremely difficult and can take pretty long to finish. The thing i love the most is the checkpoint system ( even if most times I want to rage quit because i put it in bad places ) and the unlock-ables. One of the best games I played this year. Full Review »
  2. May 27, 2013
    3
    Image playing super meat boy but with bad controls. There you go, not a lot more needs to be said really. Shame because I liked the music andImage playing super meat boy but with bad controls. There you go, not a lot more needs to be said really. Shame because I liked the music and the visual style. Full Review »
  3. Oct 31, 2013
    5
    Only play this game if you absolutely hate yourself. The controls are solid and really fun with responsive fighting and platforming combosOnly play this game if you absolutely hate yourself. The controls are solid and really fun with responsive fighting and platforming combos between the double jumps and wall climbing. That is the only good things I have to say about it though. The solid base controls are ruined by absolutely horrid level mechanics.

    The second half of level 2 is covered almost entirely with ice. What's wrong with that you say? Well this is not your normal ice. This ice is some kind of super material developed by NASA, like windshields that water just slides off of and can't stick to; except you're the water. You slide around like a speed boat the second you hit the stuff shooting off at the speed of light even if you have no momentum either way when you land. And then when you jump off of the ice your character INSTANTLY loses all momentum and goes straight up. Whoever programmed the ice physics for this game should be shot. Then whoever decided it would be a good idea to have an entire level of the dreadful stuff should be shot twice.

    The level design does not get better from there sadly. Stay away unless you hate yourself and you love horrid controls.
    Full Review »