Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring a distinct visual style that blends pixel art with paper and ink textures, They Bleed Pixels is a singular mix of intense platforming and fierce beat-em-up action. It tells the story of a young girl haunted by a mysterious book and her violent Lovecraftian nightmares.

    They Bleed
    Featuring a distinct visual style that blends pixel art with paper and ink textures, They Bleed Pixels is a singular mix of intense platforming and fierce beat-em-up action. It tells the story of a young girl haunted by a mysterious book and her violent Lovecraftian nightmares.

    They Bleed Pixels uses a simple one-button combat scheme with surprising depth at its core. Button mashing is discouraged while kicking shadowy monsters into saws, pits and spikes is rewarded thanks to a unique checkpoint earning system: instead of being evenly distributed at set locations, players must earn and place checkpoints through stylish kills. The more and better you kill, the faster you fill your checkpoint meter. Avoid combat or button mash mindlessly and you'll find checkpoints uncomfortably far apart.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    82
    If you don't let yourself get too tripped up by the sometimes convoluted combat controls, then this charming, well-crafted platforming bloodfeast will really sink its fangs into you -- in a good way.
  2. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    If you're up for the challenge, They Bleed Pixels is a fast and fun action-platformer that will put all your reflexes to the test. It's utterly unapologetic about killing you, and because the controls are so smooth and precise every single failure feels exactly like it should- as something that could have been avoided if only you'd played better. It's not a game to play when you're looking to wind down at day's end, but bring all your skill and a load of patience, and They Bleed Pixels will make you feel like a magician with a gamepad.
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    80
    They Bleed Pixels arms the player with tight controls and a wonderful checkpoint system in a frustrating yet high challenging, dark-themed platformer that will put your skills to test.
  4. 72
    Super Meat Boy fans will relish the insane challenge, while the rest will have their temper and keyboards destroyed. [December 2012]
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    Control can be an issue at times – the one button combat system relying on the distinction between taps and holds makes it easy to muddle attacks – but challenge seekers will find plenty to get stuck into, impaled on and cut to shreds in this macabre, frenetic onslaught.
  6. Sep 10, 2012
    70
    They Bleed Pixels is a problematic but highly replayable platformer/beat-'em-up combo enhanced by a Lovecraftian vibe.
  7. Sep 12, 2012
    60
    They Bleed Pixels is a monument of pain and frustration packaged in nostalgia and wrapped in a pretty red bow. Every moment of relief is overcast by ten of anxiety. At least the soundtrack was awesome.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely incredible. The story is short but very interesting, while the game play is fun and smooth. The levels of the gameThis game is absolutely incredible. The story is short but very interesting, while the game play is fun and smooth. The levels of the game after you pass the first 2 becomes extremely difficult and can take pretty long to finish. The thing i love the most is the checkpoint system ( even if most times I want to rage quit because i put it in bad places ) and the unlock-ables. One of the best games I played this year. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    I can't find a single reason why this game has 7.4 of average score and Super Meat Boy has more than 9.

    The game is simply awesome,
    I can't find a single reason why this game has 7.4 of average score and Super Meat Boy has more than 9.

    The game is simply awesome, frustrating, but the experience of completing a level to a 100% is so satisfying that makes you wanna play it over and over again.

    10/10
    Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2015
    9
    This wonderful platformer reminds me of two of the greatest video games of all time; 'Super Smash Bros' and 'Super Meat Boy'. Now, that's aThis wonderful platformer reminds me of two of the greatest video games of all time; 'Super Smash Bros' and 'Super Meat Boy'. Now, that's a lot of 'super' for one game, I know. And you may be asking yourself how one game can have so much super in it. Well, the single button combat system is very reminiscent of 'Super Smash Bros' even though it's nowhere near as complex, while the level design and character controls seem to have been taken directly from 'Super Meat Boy'. And while we're talking about it, if you thought that 'Super Meat Boy' was a difficult game, then look out for this one because it's much, much, much harder. Now if that isn't the recipe for a fantastic game then I have no idea what is and quite frankly, I don't want to know. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2012
    7
    Nice art style, nice combat concept, and great music.

    I docked it a few points due to the game attempting to be a "hardcore" platformer,
    Nice art style, nice combat concept, and great music.

    I docked it a few points due to the game attempting to be a "hardcore" platformer, but with lousy controls, and an awful attempt at physics. Jumping feels too lofty, and the character feels a bit too large for the level. The one attack button was a terrible idea, as you'll stumble over the attack controls for a long time, and when you start to get used to it, the game will be over.

    This is definitely worth picking up for
    Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    This game was advertised to me as Super Meat Boy with combat. While the platforming controls are well tuned, the combat controls and waypointThis game was advertised to me as Super Meat Boy with combat. While the platforming controls are well tuned, the combat controls and waypoint system betray a divided design philosophy. While it is advertised that you can place your waypoint anywhere, I assume somewhere along the line players were accidentally placing their's in bad locations. Instead of revising the system, increasingly larger areas do not permit the user to place waypoints, devolving into there being no vast difference in where you place your waypoint in these safe zones. On top of that, as I progressed the game had more sections where it seemed impossible to progress without taking damage and you have to instead mitigate the damage you have control over.

    As for the combat, maneuvers assume you are on stable ground, of which the game is generally lacking and being a platformer, you will spend a lot of time in the air. Frequently I encounter an enemy and have to backtrack to a location where it is suitable to fight them, the aforementioned safe zones. With a few more attack options (up attack in air, side attack when on a wall, etc.) the player could feel more in charge of their actions.

    If the combat controls had meshed better with the area design, this could have been a much more desirable title. Separately, the enemy design, platforming controls, combat maneuvers and waypoint system are all intriguing. They just don't fit well together.
    Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    5
    Overall appealing visual style and soundtrack, but the gimmicks employed in the levels get repetitive and frustrating quickly. It controlsOverall appealing visual style and soundtrack, but the gimmicks employed in the levels get repetitive and frustrating quickly. It controls very much like Super Meat Boy, but adding enemies slows down the gameplay a bit. If they refined the controls and improved the level design, it would have been perfect. Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2013
    2
    The game was fun for a little bit but it quickly grew frustrating and presented an unfair challenge. The game grows repetitive after a littleThe game was fun for a little bit but it quickly grew frustrating and presented an unfair challenge. The game grows repetitive after a little bit. If you want a challenging game I would recommend SMB over this any day. The controls are much tighter in SMB than this. Another thing, while it may be a small complaint, is that when you respawn there is a time period where the character is floating to the ground where you have no control and after failing over and over you just want to start up right away but you have to wait for that half-second. Promising premise, bad delivery. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews