Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring a distinct visual style that blends pixel art with paper and ink textures, They Bleed Pixels is a singular mix of intense platforming and fierce beat-em-up action. It tells the story of a young girl haunted by a mysterious book and her violent Lovecraftian nightmares.

    They Bleed
    Featuring a distinct visual style that blends pixel art with paper and ink textures, They Bleed Pixels is a singular mix of intense platforming and fierce beat-em-up action. It tells the story of a young girl haunted by a mysterious book and her violent Lovecraftian nightmares.

    They Bleed Pixels uses a simple one-button combat scheme with surprising depth at its core. Button mashing is discouraged while kicking shadowy monsters into saws, pits and spikes is rewarded thanks to a unique checkpoint earning system: instead of being evenly distributed at set locations, players must earn and place checkpoints through stylish kills. The more and better you kill, the faster you fill your checkpoint meter. Avoid combat or button mash mindlessly and you'll find checkpoints uncomfortably far apart.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    82
    If you don't let yourself get too tripped up by the sometimes convoluted combat controls, then this charming, well-crafted platforming bloodfeast will really sink its fangs into you -- in a good way.
  2. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    If you're up for the challenge, They Bleed Pixels is a fast and fun action-platformer that will put all your reflexes to the test. It's utterly unapologetic about killing you, and because the controls are so smooth and precise every single failure feels exactly like it should- as something that could have been avoided if only you'd played better. It's not a game to play when you're looking to wind down at day's end, but bring all your skill and a load of patience, and They Bleed Pixels will make you feel like a magician with a gamepad.
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    80
    They Bleed Pixels arms the player with tight controls and a wonderful checkpoint system in a frustrating yet high challenging, dark-themed platformer that will put your skills to test.
  4. 72
    Super Meat Boy fans will relish the insane challenge, while the rest will have their temper and keyboards destroyed. [December 2012]
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    Control can be an issue at times – the one button combat system relying on the distinction between taps and holds makes it easy to muddle attacks – but challenge seekers will find plenty to get stuck into, impaled on and cut to shreds in this macabre, frenetic onslaught.
  6. Sep 10, 2012
    70
    They Bleed Pixels is a problematic but highly replayable platformer/beat-'em-up combo enhanced by a Lovecraftian vibe.
  7. Sep 12, 2012
    60
    They Bleed Pixels is a monument of pain and frustration packaged in nostalgia and wrapped in a pretty red bow. Every moment of relief is overcast by ten of anxiety. At least the soundtrack was awesome.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    It's difficult but interesting as well. Challenging because of the low health you receive and hard-to-unlock achievements. No glitches orIt's difficult but interesting as well. Challenging because of the low health you receive and hard-to-unlock achievements. No glitches or issues. Definitely worth buying though if you like 8-bit games. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    well, i do have to admit the fact that only can be played with the 360 controller sucks, but, what the hek, i mean, its a super game, andwell, i do have to admit the fact that only can be played with the 360 controller sucks, but, what the hek, i mean, its a super game, and since i started i loved it, the story(currently in chapter or lvl 2 xd) the effects, all

    and since im not a control fan, i would totally recommend it
    Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely incredible. The story is short but very interesting, while the game play is fun and smooth. The levels of the gameThis game is absolutely incredible. The story is short but very interesting, while the game play is fun and smooth. The levels of the game after you pass the first 2 becomes extremely difficult and can take pretty long to finish. The thing i love the most is the checkpoint system ( even if most times I want to rage quit because i put it in bad places ) and the unlock-ables. One of the best games I played this year. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2012
    7
    Nice art style, nice combat concept, and great music.

    I docked it a few points due to the game attempting to be a "hardcore" platformer,
    Nice art style, nice combat concept, and great music.

    I docked it a few points due to the game attempting to be a "hardcore" platformer, but with lousy controls, and an awful attempt at physics. Jumping feels too lofty, and the character feels a bit too large for the level. The one attack button was a terrible idea, as you'll stumble over the attack controls for a long time, and when you start to get used to it, the game will be over.

    This is definitely worth picking up for
    Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2013
    6
    It's hard for me to give my opinion of this game, even after I've beaten it. I didn't know what to think at first, They Bleed Pixels seemedIt's hard for me to give my opinion of this game, even after I've beaten it. I didn't know what to think at first, They Bleed Pixels seemed like another retro styled indie platformer not unlike Super Meat Boy. I asked my friend who already owned the game for his opinion and he claimed that it was a good game but difficult. I bought They Bleed Pixels the same day and started to play through it. It seemed pretty fun, the combat was a little awkward and unresponsive but other than that I liked it. The pixel art was nice, the music was great, and the levels did test you without seeming to difficult.......but then I got to level 2 and had come to realize what I had just gotten myself into. With every passing level the obstacles that I had to overcome became more and more unforgiving and I suffered many more deaths. The very last level took me almost an hour and half and 223 deaths to complete, no joke. This game will challenge you and if you are not prepared to buckle down and see it through all the way to the end, then you become another one of its victims. It's a darn shame because I feel like this could have been a fun game, it's so satisfying to rack up combos, beat the crap out of enemies, kicking them in to saws, spikes, and crushers and watching as their pixelated blood is thrown in all directions. But that wasn't enough to get me to look past the unmerciful difficulty. If you're the type of person who doesn't mind dying a lot then by all means, play this game. If not, stay away whatever you do. I'm not saying They Bleed Pixels is a bad game, but if you're not careful, it will rip you to shreds. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    5
    Only play this game if you absolutely hate yourself. The controls are solid and really fun with responsive fighting and platforming combosOnly play this game if you absolutely hate yourself. The controls are solid and really fun with responsive fighting and platforming combos between the double jumps and wall climbing. That is the only good things I have to say about it though. The solid base controls are ruined by absolutely horrid level mechanics.

    The second half of level 2 is covered almost entirely with ice. What's wrong with that you say? Well this is not your normal ice. This ice is some kind of super material developed by NASA, like windshields that water just slides off of and can't stick to; except you're the water. You slide around like a speed boat the second you hit the stuff shooting off at the speed of light even if you have no momentum either way when you land. And then when you jump off of the ice your character INSTANTLY loses all momentum and goes straight up. Whoever programmed the ice physics for this game should be shot. Then whoever decided it would be a good idea to have an entire level of the dreadful stuff should be shot twice.

    The level design does not get better from there sadly. Stay away unless you hate yourself and you love horrid controls.
    Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2013
    2
    The game was fun for a little bit but it quickly grew frustrating and presented an unfair challenge. The game grows repetitive after a littleThe game was fun for a little bit but it quickly grew frustrating and presented an unfair challenge. The game grows repetitive after a little bit. If you want a challenging game I would recommend SMB over this any day. The controls are much tighter in SMB than this. Another thing, while it may be a small complaint, is that when you respawn there is a time period where the character is floating to the ground where you have no control and after failing over and over you just want to start up right away but you have to wait for that half-second. Promising premise, bad delivery. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews