Thief: Deadly Shadows PC

Thief: Deadly Shadows Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 262 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Thief: Deadly Shadows, gamers once again take on the role of Garrett, a master thief. Garrett is rarely seen, never caught and capable of breaking into the most ingeniously secured places. Garrett steals from the wealthy and gives to himself, making his living in the dark and forebodingIn Thief: Deadly Shadows, gamers once again take on the role of Garrett, a master thief. Garrett is rarely seen, never caught and capable of breaking into the most ingeniously secured places. Garrett steals from the wealthy and gives to himself, making his living in the dark and foreboding City. Preferring to be left alone to ply his trade, prophecies of an impending Dark Age dictate a different plan for the thief. In Garrett?s efforts to prevent this approaching Dark Age, he has inadvertently roused an ancient hidden evil. Without allies, Garrett finds himself standing alone between the City and the forces that would crush it. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. I have never seen a game use light the way Deadly Shadows does, nor have I seen such realistic environments rendered on the fly. For those who can get it to work well on their systems, this is an astounding visual experience.
  2. Thief contains a level more terrifying than anything we've ever encountered before. [Aug 2004, p.76]
  3. Even though some of Ion’s design decisions, like the removal of the rope arrow and the inclusion of the third-person camera, will disappoint purists, it would be difficult for anyone to deny what a splendid experience this release is.
  4. Play Magazine
    83
    This is a case where the synergy between compelling gameplay and environment design, enabled by great technology, is too important to compromise. [July 2004, p.74]
  5. Any fan of stealth games needs to pick this one up and try to look past the technical issues to the excellent gameplay and sense of style beneath.
  6. GMR Magazine
    80
    Deadly Shadows sticks closely to the formula, albeit with a highly refined touch. [Aug 2004, p.101]
  7. The biggest fault I found in Deadly Shadows is the A.I. The guard’s awareness at one point can be very high, but then in other situations you’d think he was deaf.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 53
  2. Negative: 7 out of 53
  1. DougS.
    Jun 9, 2004
    10
    Wow Ion Storm really outdid themselves with this game! I'm sorry to hear they had to lay off people!
  2. MoneyGanster
    May 27, 2004
    10
    Sweet. Like theif 1 and 2, really good.
  3. May 7, 2011
    10
    I love all of the thief games they are entertaining with interesting stories. This is a good game if you like to use strategy and be naughty.I love all of the thief games they are entertaining with interesting stories. This is a good game if you like to use strategy and be naughty. :p Not a run up and kill stuff and make everything explode sort of game. Hours of fun and glory. Expand
  4. Samtam90
    Apr 19, 2007
    9
    The concept of the city is handled in a great way, not to mention the AI is one of the best i've ever seen in a game and it retains all The concept of the city is handled in a great way, not to mention the AI is one of the best i've ever seen in a game and it retains all the old glorious features of the previous Thief games. And it manages to be even funnier. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    Not as bad as some gamers claim it! Thief:DS is definitely the weakest addition to the Thief series. I think the reason behind that are theNot as bad as some gamers claim it! Thief:DS is definitely the weakest addition to the Thief series. I think the reason behind that are the innovations the developers tried to implement in the game. Innovations like the new open city, the player can explore between missions( In the previous games the player were placed from mission to mission) , the cutscenes now use simply animation (previously they used partly animation, and partly motion capture technology). The developers tried to update the game to 2004 gaming standards, and I think it was not liked by many old fans of the series. I have to admit that the story is somewhat weaker this time (The villain in the game is not as charismatic as Karras or the Trickster.) Above all I still enjoyed the game. It had the same stealth mechanism as the previous games. The atmosphere of the old games was still present, the graphics were improved, it had great music, and really good missions ( Like the Cradle). The story of Garrett came to a full circle in this last installment. Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2015
    7
    Played many times, but never finished. I wanna say things I like and dislike.

    Pros: - Good. Title for a stealth - Good protagonist -
    Played many times, but never finished. I wanna say things I like and dislike.

    Pros:
    - Good. Title for a stealth
    - Good protagonist
    - okay tasks

    Cons:
    - Repetitive gameplay
    - Boring story
    - Unfocused attack

    All in all, is a good 2004 title which deserves a remake , totally
    Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2011
    0
    Crappy console port. But that's the least of its problems. The awful engine means that loading screens are plentiful and levels are small.Crappy console port. But that's the least of its problems. The awful engine means that loading screens are plentiful and levels are small. It's been streamlined for the Xbox crowd and features a bunch of nonsensical elements which were not present in previous Thief games (also known as "lore rape"). Very buggy and crashes constantly even on top notch computers. Getting stuck in the scenery is not a rare event, and the ragdoll physics are lazy and unnatural compared to what they should have gone with - good animations. Quite a disgrace to the stealth genre and the Thief series as a whole, simply does not live up to the legacy. The game has a stupid City hub rather than the assumed natural progression between missions ala Thief 1 and 2. Deadly Shadows is also a lot more linear, and suddenly rope/vine arrows don't exist in the Thief universe and Garrett has forgotten the ability to swim (he dies the instant he touches water). I don't know why people seem to think of it as any better than Invisible War is to Deus Ex, it's honestly just as bad. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews