Thief: The Dark Project PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 312 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 312

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    My first love affair with a computer game. Thief is a masterpiece on every level, Warren Spector has crafted a chilling yet humble experience that overflows with charm and unique atmosphere unlike any other.
  2. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    One of my favorite games of all time, along with the sequels. Thief brought a breath of fresh air to 1st person 'shooters'. It has to be the best stealth game series I have played to date. You sneak around and hide in shadows and either knock people out or put an arrow in them. Your missions are almost always to get into someplace and steal something. And the storyline is justOne of my favorite games of all time, along with the sequels. Thief brought a breath of fresh air to 1st person 'shooters'. It has to be the best stealth game series I have played to date. You sneak around and hide in shadows and either knock people out or put an arrow in them. Your missions are almost always to get into someplace and steal something. And the storyline is just awesome. It's way better then that joke of a game "Assassin's Creed"-- which I discovered was nothing close to what Thief was. I have yet to find any game that matches Thief in style. I found a website where a group has made an open source game that is like Thief (but it is buggy yet and relies on fan-made mission). Recently I read that Thief 4 is being worked on, but so far no release date! I only had one part of the game that I didn't like, and that was where they put zombies in the game. It wasn't that bad, but I like going up against people that seemed to have some intelligence not some mindless walking goon that made a noise when it saw or heard me-- but thankfully it was only in one part of the game so I can't really complain that much about it. Overall the entire series is just fun to play, and I recommend it to anyone that is tired of mindless shoot 'em ups that have weak or no story lines. Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Pure stealth was relatively untouched before Thief came out, and it's a testament to how good it is that it's now almost a genre of its own. Incredible atmosphere, ambience and suspense make this one of or even the greatest game I've ever played. It encourages you to remain a sigh on the wind, a flicker of darkness in peripheral vision, an anonymous, undetected shadow. Combine the lowPure stealth was relatively untouched before Thief came out, and it's a testament to how good it is that it's now almost a genre of its own. Incredible atmosphere, ambience and suspense make this one of or even the greatest game I've ever played. It encourages you to remain a sigh on the wind, a flicker of darkness in peripheral vision, an anonymous, undetected shadow. Combine the low fantasy, pseudo-mechanical medieval backdrop with the tense, nail-biting gameplay, and the result is an utter masterpiece. Play it properly and they'll never even know you were there. Expand
  4. MichalW.
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    A timeless masterpiece. Still thrilling in 2006!
  5. Samtam90
    Apr 19, 2007
    9
    Absolutely great, even if most people weren't smart enough to understand that it wasn't the doom-like moronic FPS where you have to kill everything you see, and so it got snobbed. Timeless masterpiece.
  6. PichonCalavera
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    Even after all this years, this game is one of my favorites... the story, the gameplay, the sound... everything comes together to make an incredible atmosphere. Playing the level "Return to Cathedral" was one of the scariest moments of my life!
  7. TezzH.
    Feb 24, 2004
    10
    This game is the Best Game I have Ever Played yet. I have Played Lots of Games But this Beats the Lot . I Really Got Hooked on it.
  8. ChrisB.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    Great atmosphere with a great story and great characters. Vote for great !!
  9. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    What an incredible series. Thief was so different in it's time. And even now games are still catching up. With a sound system built into the entire that rivals modern games, an intriguing and dark story, and tense gameplay that changes the way you play games - thief is a hallmark of excellence.
  10. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    what a perfect game!
    i love all the Thief series!
    atmosphere, story plot, game play... everything is perfect!
    even though i started Thief 2 first in 2010, it was great
  11. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I was lucky enough to play this game when it was released. Still one of the best game out there. This game had everything: charismatic main protagonist and villains (Garrett, Viktoria, the Trickster etc.), a great new engine (Dark Engine which featured new alpha blending, texture filtering and lighting techniques... all quiet revolutionary back than). Great game and level design (It wasI was lucky enough to play this game when it was released. Still one of the best game out there. This game had everything: charismatic main protagonist and villains (Garrett, Viktoria, the Trickster etc.), a great new engine (Dark Engine which featured new alpha blending, texture filtering and lighting techniques... all quiet revolutionary back than). Great game and level design (It was designed to be largely unscripted; events, instead of being pre-defined by designers, occur naturally.) Great gameplay (Thief focused on stealth and evasion from a first-person perspective, and not full frontal action.) Atmosphere (The game takes place in a metropolis called "the City" which has been noted to contain elements of fantasy, the Middle Ages and the Industrial Revolution.) Cutscenes (They were partly animated, partly made with live actors and motion capture technology). Even today the Thief series is the ultimate stealth game in gaming history. The stealth system was very new when the game was released. The player had to rely on the environment to avoid being detected. Shadows could be used to avoid notice; a monitor on the heads-up display (HUD) indicated the player character's visibility level. The player could lean, crouch, climb, swim and run, among other actions. Surfaces caused varying amounts of noise; for example, carpet is quiet and ceramic tiles are very loud. Enemies were reacting to these factors, and players could manipulate these element of gameplay to distract NPCs etc. Go play Thief:TDS than go and play the rest of the series. Expand
  12. AnalogueB.
    Aug 18, 2005
    10
    As perfect now (2005) as the day it was released. A timeless classic if ever I saw one. I honestly cannot recommend this game enough. One thing I will say: do yourself a favour and get the Gold release instead of the regular Dark Project - you won't regret it, taffer.
  13. ZachM.
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    I loved it, it fits my sneaky style in real life. Also, it's realistic in the sense of shadows, sound, and all that stuff an actual thief loves and hates. Return to the Cathedral was scary though, I also hate the rat guys.
  14. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    I whole-heartedly join the chours: a timeless classic; THE most immersive game I have ever played (besides perhaps System Shock 1/2 and a little less Deus Ex 1); if you have never played it you are missing out on an incredibly stunning style of play; as another reviewer mentions, if you do want to remedy such a short-coming (as serious an offense as this is :) get the Gold version on ebayI whole-heartedly join the chours: a timeless classic; THE most immersive game I have ever played (besides perhaps System Shock 1/2 and a little less Deus Ex 1); if you have never played it you are missing out on an incredibly stunning style of play; as another reviewer mentions, if you do want to remedy such a short-coming (as serious an offense as this is :) get the Gold version on ebay - it is exactly like the original just with a few excellent missions added; if you want to read more, go find my Thief 2 review i just wrote; what i do want to mention here though are some of the things that make this game so outstanding: (1) the immersiveness of its atmosphere and the Thief universe - sure, crysis is eye-candy, but this is the real immersion deal! because of the setting (sneaking and looting combined with the player's weak offensive abilities) and the excellent programming, you will use your senses much more than in any other game - you need to pay constant attention to lighting, visual cues, and sounds made by you and others in order to stay hidden and avoid trouble; and the fresh story with its twists and turns (including a betrayal that costs you dearly and your attempt at revenge) makes this a novel and great experience; what's more, the sequel - Thief 2 - IMO greatly expands on this by making the Thief universe even more bizarre with its mechanist enemies and setting (2) (may not apply to all) the outstanding localization work - i own the german version and the voice acting and translations are unbelievably good - the exclamations made by guards chasing you are sometimes outright funny and if i didn't know any better i would have thought that the game developer was a german company (3) the outstanding fan community - humdreds of fan-made missions were made and are still (mostly) available - some even surpass the original missions in quality while others give the game an entirely new twist (and satisfy any cravings for just running around and slaying foes) (4) where Deus Ex offers (often simplistic) alternative ways of getting to the same goal, this game offers entirely different styles of playing the game - ranging from weapons-first approaches to ultimate sneaking (ghosting, Lytha's way), this game can be replayed in many different ways; (5) one of the very few games that i have ever played that really make me miss my experience of playing it for the first time - i remember the nerve-wracking atmosphere of trying to stay hidden; and then all of a sudden there are the moaning zombies! and later the spine-tingling rattle of the haunts and their infernal 'join us, joins us now!' if you've ever played Thief, and you're still not on ebay right now, then i don't know how to help you ;) Expand
  15. May 28, 2012
    10
    The whole Thief trilogy are classic games. I recommend that you buy all three in a bundle. I don't think these games will ever wear out. The graphics are good, sound is very good and re-playability is very good.
    I'll never forget when I first heard the 2 ole guards talking about going to the bearfest and the underslung cheek spikes. I had to just stop and laugh. These are truly the Best
    The whole Thief trilogy are classic games. I recommend that you buy all three in a bundle. I don't think these games will ever wear out. The graphics are good, sound is very good and re-playability is very good.
    I'll never forget when I first heard the 2 ole guards talking about going to the bearfest and the underslung cheek spikes. I had to just stop and laugh. These are truly the Best sneaking, blackjacking games that have ever been produced or for that matter ever will be . The entertainment value of these games is much more than you can imagine. I hope these 3 never go away.
    Expand
  16. AnonymousMC
    May 28, 2009
    10
    This is my all time favorite game. I have stacks and stacks of next gen games, yet Thief seems to always unbury itself and find its way into my computer. It's 2009 and I still like to play it. This was the only game that ever made me jump out of my chair.
  17. AnonymousMC
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Even in 2009 Thief has managed to steal my heart and still stands head and shoulders above other games in terms of story and atmsphere and frankly beats Splinter Cell or Metal Gear solid in stealth terms because no either game truly captures the tension involved in sneaking up on someone or hiding from guards.
  18. DJ
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    Awesome game. Scary as hell!
  19. [Anonymous]
    Mar 14, 2003
    10
    It was really good and intruiging the graphics rocked.
  20. VinayN.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Even in the era of Half Life 2,Doom3,Far Cry this game holds its own in terms of sheer brilliance in gameplay.
  21. Crusty
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    The best i've ever played.
  22. AnonymousMC
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    It's 2008 and still no other other game has ever been made quite like Thief. I still play it all the way through about once a year and have so much fun. Even the graphics have held up well because, even though they're a bit angular by today's standards, the design was so incredibly good, I almost don't notice. Probably the best 1st person game and best thinkingIt's 2008 and still no other other game has ever been made quite like Thief. I still play it all the way through about once a year and have so much fun. Even the graphics have held up well because, even though they're a bit angular by today's standards, the design was so incredibly good, I almost don't notice. Probably the best 1st person game and best thinking man's game ever. Expand
  23. AnonymousMC
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    if there´s a game which I would prefer among any other to bring with me to a desert island, that game is thief; after 10 years this is still my favorite game. This game is infinite, the situations vary every time you play it, besides, a very active fan community gives tons of fan missions to continue the adventure. 10 years has past, and any game has reach the high level of realismif there´s a game which I would prefer among any other to bring with me to a desert island, that game is thief; after 10 years this is still my favorite game. This game is infinite, the situations vary every time you play it, besides, a very active fan community gives tons of fan missions to continue the adventure. 10 years has past, and any game has reach the high level of realism of the sounds and atmosphere of thief, and another important thing:for me (and this is very personal opinion) the dark engine is the most realistic engine ever created, I mean, in any other game you don´t FEEL the walls are really there, the floor, the roof, this is also pushed by the sound quality, but there´s something else, with dark engine you dont need high res graphics to FEEL a phisic 3d world, that´s something I´ve never felt again in any other game...ahhhh Ooops, there´s thief gold and thief II Expand
  24. Mar 28, 2011
    9
    Phenomenal game considering when it came out. One of the most interesting and unique atmospheres in gaming even over a decade later. I would give this game a 10 if the a.i. was better. A.I. is one of the key ingredients in stealth games considering you have to analyze movement and patterns of behavior to be successful. The a.i. falls short compared to modern games, but it's impressive forPhenomenal game considering when it came out. One of the most interesting and unique atmospheres in gaming even over a decade later. I would give this game a 10 if the a.i. was better. A.I. is one of the key ingredients in stealth games considering you have to analyze movement and patterns of behavior to be successful. The a.i. falls short compared to modern games, but it's impressive for it's time. Few games have left me with as much satisfaction after completing a level. Not only is it satisfying, you get to watch awesome cut scenes and mission briefings. Anyone who likes stealth oriented games should check this game out. Expand
  25. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    For its time and even now, Thief the Dark Project is a masterpiece in stealth games. Despite the obviously aged game engine, the game is very immersive and atmospheric with some exceptional writing. The stealth is obviously Thief's main strength: finishing a level undetected without killing anyone is immensely satisfying. Thief does have it's gripes: the game burdens itself with too muchFor its time and even now, Thief the Dark Project is a masterpiece in stealth games. Despite the obviously aged game engine, the game is very immersive and atmospheric with some exceptional writing. The stealth is obviously Thief's main strength: finishing a level undetected without killing anyone is immensely satisfying. Thief does have it's gripes: the game burdens itself with too much zombie and burrick-killing which did little more than make the game punishing at times. The Dark Engine also comes with a couple of annoying quirks; namely slippery movement and fiddly inventory management. These issues however, do little to make Thief any less of a classic. Expand
  26. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    Be aware of the walls, thief. They see everything.
  27. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    It should tell you something that, 14 years after its release, Thief: The Dark Project still inspires awe and devotion in its fans. Story, voice acting, and level design don't age; if they're great at release, they're great forever, and so it is with Thief. All that remains to review is the technology, and this is where this game and its sequel, Thief II: The Metal Age, really shine. EvenIt should tell you something that, 14 years after its release, Thief: The Dark Project still inspires awe and devotion in its fans. Story, voice acting, and level design don't age; if they're great at release, they're great forever, and so it is with Thief. All that remains to review is the technology, and this is where this game and its sequel, Thief II: The Metal Age, really shine. Even the best-conceived and -executed games of the late '90s put their advancing age on full display, with the exception of Thief, and here are the reasons: (1) After all this time, no game has made better use of sound. With headphones or surround-sound, you can literally close your eyes and know where every conversation, grunt, footstep, dripping fountain, and crackling torch are located and how far away they are. The sound design of Thief remains simply astonishing, and it's a critical part of the gameplay; you navigate through the sprawling levels and enthralling missions as much by sound as by sight. (2) Similarly, the use of light and shadows remains unsurpassed. (3) The NPCs have superior AI compared to most games, then and now. Their actions and reactions are varied, complex, and extremely sensitive to how visible you are, how much noise you make, how far away you are, whether you have a weapon drawn, how long you've been in hiding after once being spotted, and so on. And they talk like real human beings! I'm not sure there was a single line of repeating dialogue in the entire game. (4) Finally, the graphics, though limited by the technology of the day, remain surprisingly fresh because of the Dark Engine's unique, angular building blocks. Characters and environments are constructed from skewed polygons that make up for a lack of resolution with a slightly weird distortion, as though you're looking through a kaleidoscope, or perhaps on an extremely low dose of acid. That's not a perfect description, but suffice it to say that Thief looks quite like no other game. Thief IS like no other game. You can buy it cheap these days, and if you love gaming and are open to an experience that challenges your mind more than your twitch reflexes, it is absolutely worth the price. Expand
  28. Jan 12, 2016
    10
    It's a "pure stealth" action game in medieval fantasy setting. Usually you can't kill even 2 enemies in an open fight, if they attack you at once. So, you need to sneak from behind, stay in the shadows, extinguish lights and so on. The stealth genre basically started with this masterpiece.
  29. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Outstanding game with a new way of playing for action-based titles. The hide and sneak way of achieving one's goals are really adding to the great ambiance of this world and demands something completely new from the player. The story begins in what seems like an authentic historical setting and as the story unfolds, things take a turn for the weird. This game combines so many fascinatingOutstanding game with a new way of playing for action-based titles. The hide and sneak way of achieving one's goals are really adding to the great ambiance of this world and demands something completely new from the player. The story begins in what seems like an authentic historical setting and as the story unfolds, things take a turn for the weird. This game combines so many fascinating ideas and manages to tell its story flawlessly. Expand
  30. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the greatest classics I ever played fun, great and funny voice acting. The game engine is perfect for a thief game, great level designs and characters.
  31. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    The first game of the groundbreaking Thief series. Dark and haunting and full of the undead. Scary and engaging. The missions are hard but rewarding. This is a must play and own.
  32. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    Growing up, this was one of my favorite games. I compare it to games like Splinter Cell in the Medieval times. While the game itself was released in 1998, the graphics would be considered outdated in today's standard but they give the game a alternative look when playing it in 2013. What really impressed me about this game was the amount of variables you can control with your weaponry andGrowing up, this was one of my favorite games. I compare it to games like Splinter Cell in the Medieval times. While the game itself was released in 1998, the graphics would be considered outdated in today's standard but they give the game a alternative look when playing it in 2013. What really impressed me about this game was the amount of variables you can control with your weaponry and gadgets and the fact it was made fifteen years ago. Your main character comes equipped with a Sword, Blackjack, and a Bow with a variety of different arrows which really are the focal point of my play style along with a bunch of other gadgets like flash bombs and stuff like that. For example, if you are going for a violent approach within the levels, you can shoot the enemies in the chest with your standard arrow. If you are going for a silent assassin type of approach, you can douse torches with the water arrows, dim the lighted area, and sneak up behind and knockout the enemy with your blackjack. If you are a real pro though, and why this game is called Thief you can go through the whole level/game without killing anything or very few enemies while you steal all the loot that is placed within the levels to buy more gear with.

    Another great element of this game is the fact they added undead and alienesque creatures in the later levels and it really shows in the difficulty as you progress through the game. There are some minor flaws such as enemy movement getting 'stuck on walls' and things like that but it really doesn't bother me because of how this game has held itself up against the test of time. It is a great addition to anyone's Steam library.
    Expand
  33. Jun 24, 2015
    9
    One of the greatest and classical masterpieces of all time! Thief: The Dark Project or Thief: Gold, developed from the now defunct company Looking Glass Studios puts you in the Steampunk Victorian times, with creepy music, great atmosphere (believe me this game scares me to bits!), great story line and great voice acting! The only problems I encountered with the game is that its tooOne of the greatest and classical masterpieces of all time! Thief: The Dark Project or Thief: Gold, developed from the now defunct company Looking Glass Studios puts you in the Steampunk Victorian times, with creepy music, great atmosphere (believe me this game scares me to bits!), great story line and great voice acting! The only problems I encountered with the game is that its too confusing to get to somewhere, and also the first time I got it, it was poorly optimized, so I highly recommend if you are using an up-to-date PC, to download an unofficial patch which fixes some of the problems like cut scenes not working, bad resolutions and poor quality. But set aside all these problems, and you have a perfect stealth masterpiece.

    Stick to the shadows at all costs!
    Expand
  34. Aug 13, 2014
    9
    The first and easily the best of the Thief games, The Dark Project follows the snide yet consummate professional thief Garrett as he engages in a heist with the payday of the lifetime. It's a simple and well told tale of someone biting off more than they can chew. Garrett's ultimate heist takes him to a variety of locations in the City ranging from mansions, prisons, tombs, and theThe first and easily the best of the Thief games, The Dark Project follows the snide yet consummate professional thief Garrett as he engages in a heist with the payday of the lifetime. It's a simple and well told tale of someone biting off more than they can chew. Garrett's ultimate heist takes him to a variety of locations in the City ranging from mansions, prisons, tombs, and the churches of religious fanatics. The experience never seems to get stale as you sneak through dark corridors, avoiding detection from your enemies while stripping the place of valuables. There are a few missions that don't hit their target as effectively as they should, otherwise this is probably one of the best and influential stealth games in history. A must play for fans of the stealth genre. Expand
  35. Jun 30, 2016
    10
    Any time spent playing Thief is time well spent. Other games put through the test of time fail, but Thief stays at the top with one of the best atmospheres in gaming & the amount of different playstyles you can play with. Sure, it's graphics & models may be outdated, but you can fix that relatively easily with a simple mod or two. If you're going to play this game, good luck, you're in forAny time spent playing Thief is time well spent. Other games put through the test of time fail, but Thief stays at the top with one of the best atmospheres in gaming & the amount of different playstyles you can play with. Sure, it's graphics & models may be outdated, but you can fix that relatively easily with a simple mod or two. If you're going to play this game, good luck, you're in for a masterpiece. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 89
    One of the most exciting first-person games to come out in years.
  2. PC Gamer
    90
    A completely original, utterly captivating riff on the first-person action game. [Apr 1999, p.114]
  3. It's hard to find any fault when you have a fantastic story, unique gameplay, and good graphics and sound to back it up. It's difficult to even categorize it in any known genre.