Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1316 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach. As an uprising emerges, Garrett finds himself entangled in growing layers of conflict. Lead by Orion, the voice of the people, the tyrannized citizens will do everything they can to claim back the City from the Baron’s grasp. The revolution is inevitable. If Garrett doesn’t get involved, the streets will run red with blood and the City will tear itself apart. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    86
    An excellent stealth game, true to the spirit of the original and at the same time much more modern. Very polished gameplay and a clever difficulty level make Thief a game no stealth fan should miss. The plot and the setting aren't always inspired, but the quality of the content greatly makes up for it.
  2. May 11, 2014
    81
    Not the best brand relaunch ever, but forgetting the great predecessors, it's a decent game of its own. [March 2014]
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    80
    While it suffers in aspects of level design and uninspired use of Garrett's inventory, Thief delivers a unique stealth experience that lives up to the original game, but not quite.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    75
    Maybe the new Thief fails to achieve sufficient amount of depth and alternative paths to satisfy every player, but its stealth gameplay makes this game fun.
  5. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Thief is far from the disaster that many feared it would be, and fans who take the time to customise their settings ahead of their first playthrough will find a rewarding world here to pick clean. Nevertheless, it’s still difficult to shake the feeling that, for all his dexterity, Garrett has stumbled in his attempt to gain access to a new generation.
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    65
    As a Thief, it is a huge disappointment. The extraordinary map design of the series is gone, the story is forgettable and the reboot of Garrett and The City really misjudged. While entertaining as a stealth game, its sins are bigger than its virtues.
  7. Mar 3, 2014
    30
    The three major strengths of past Thief titles - wide open mission design, sound propagation and narrative - are this game’s biggest weaknesses. That is a fundamental problem it cannot hope to overcome.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Is the first Thief I played, I played for almost 2 hours and loved the atmosphere, the gameplay, everything is perfect . You can choose the difficulty , I chose normal and it's still a little hard to steal things without being noticed, you have to think before what you're doing and keep an eye on the movement of soldiers. The graphics are not spectacular, but they are beautiful. I ran the game with everything max, filters, etc, at 1920x1080 and rolled flat, the FPS ranged between 50 and 60. It took me almost 2 hours to get past the first mission , exploring every corner to steal as much as possible and trying not to be detected, which made me take more. About the negative reviews, including the "big sites", I was not disappointed to read before playing, and now I played I'm not unrepentant, as I said, I loved the game and I recommend for you that enjoy a good first-person stealth game. Ignore the reviews, play and give your own conclusion. That's it. Collapse
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    I'm new to the series and i just loved it its atmospheric,awsomly looking perfect stealth game. It only stumbles a bit on A.I wich is not exactly smartest and loadings but i recommend it to new player and the old player **** about not beeing old thief go play old theif and shut up Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    (Played on xbox one)
    I've played thief since I the original, and I can honestly say, the atmosphere feels just the same as it ever did, and
    the graphics are simply breathtaking. I don't really understand the negativity that the game is receiving from certain quarters. It isn't linear, it is possible to ghost levels, the weapons behave as they ever did (oh, except of the fact that the magical growing moss arrows are gone.) You can't jump, and this is the first time I've ever thought to just turn the music off in a game, because it was incongruous and just served to take me out of the moment, but other than that, I'm pretty much blown away by the game. I loved the original thief games, and perhaps I'm looking at this through rose tinted spectacles because I haven't played the predecessors since I was a kid, but although it's bleak and dark and grey, it's glorious.
    I'm sorry for those of you who feel the need to complain about button mashing load sections, but it took me nine hours of gameplay to realise that that's what was going on. Lock picking feels more plausible than it ever has in a game. I would have loved to have seen a more complex safe cracking scenario (glass against the safe, listening to the mechanism?) but I certainly haven't found any of the thievery mundane.
    I haven't fought much; I tend to reload every time I'm seen by anyone (which has happened a lot), but I have ran around the city killing things just to play with that aspect of the game engine, and I have loved every minute of it. Robin hood style arrow cam when you take a guard full on in the face, 3rd person perspective drop takedowns, blackjackings, gagging beards and dogs; what's not to love?
    Yeah, you'll probably notice if you click that this is the first time I've written a review, and that should tell you a lot. I hadn't read any reviews of this game prior to purchasing it, and I'm really glad I didn't, because I probably would have been hesitant to purchase. This is the first time I've come off an eight hour playing session and thought, 'you know what? I'm going to go and write a review of that game.'
    Caveats - play on the hardest setting and turn off focus mode - I did that instinctively,because I wanted the game to be a challenge, (and I've ended up having to search for help on line for a few of the more puzzling set pieces.)
    Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2014
    7
    Thief is a generally "alright" game, it's just that a few factors, like the map being poorly created and only being able to use rope arrows on certain surfaces, let it down. Also, for $19.99 on Steam, I'd expect more than eight quick chapters of game play and a better storyline. Expand
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    6
    It has been a long time since I played the original Thief games and those games were spectacular. While the new Thief isn't bad it really isn't anything amazing. The lighting is very good but the textures are way to low-res for PC max settings. They should at least be 2k textures but some look as low as 512x512. Stealing stuff is definitely fun and is the main reason I bought this game. The things I don't like are the same third person aspects that I hated about Deus Ex: Human Revolution. At least the frame rate for third person cinematics isn't capped at 30 like it was in Human Revolution. Gerrett is all right in my opinion, but the older voice actor definitely is better. Where it really falls short is the story. I have yet to understand what I'm doing. I was supposed to get some book for some reason that was never really explained well. Also the sound is really messed up. People sound right next to you when you're far from anybody. Overall, the feeling of being a thief is still there and the game is still fun to play. It's a 6/10: a good game. Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2014
    3
    Feels more like garbage man than thief, rummaging through drawers stealing ink bottles.
    No cool factions, no hammerites, no pagans, burricks
    and lobstermen replaced with dogs and birds. It's not cool with kids if modern game doesn't have doge.
    Freeform climbing and rope arrow usage replaced by scripted dev-approved location movement only. Combat blows, press X to not take damage from guards slow telegraph attack, no sword. Bopping guard on head from behind with blackjack replaced with scripted takedowns, doing it yourself too hard for consoles.
    Technically weak, linear small levels, loading every 2 minutes. Level design very meh. Mandatory 4-5 per level advancing forward in cutscene, cutting off previous part of level, because having level accessible fully and non-linear would be too hard for consoles.
    Prologue cutscene - zomg, you killed him, how could you, thieves don't do that!!!one. Chapter 1 - bonus objective, score 4 headshots on guards for extra money, because nothing spells thief quite like bow headshots. If you shoot guard from far enough, arrow flying will play out in slo-mo so cool kids can put 360 noscope thief videos with wubwub music on youtube.
    All in all, disappointment on the same level as Deus Ex HR, but I guess Squeenix ran out of money to pay off journalists this time, dxhr PC metacritic: 90, IGN: 90. Thief PC metacritic: 69, IGN: 68.
    Uninstalled after chapter 2, searching drawers in small dark rooms repeatedly is more boring than my real life work that I get paid for, no thanks.
    Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2014
    0
    So here I am, playing thief because I loved the previous titles and although I'm fairly disappointed by the action elements in it (When did Thief become a platform game?) I was enjoying the game....
    Until I hit an actual boss fight (Yes in Thief!, next boss fight in Civilizations, Settlers or the Sims?) where you're not able to save at all.
    Considering I turned on a lot of options off to come closer to the real thief experience I find it impossible to continue the game.
    So after 7 chapters playing I found out that I should have kept those options on because Thief has turned into an action game with un-savable boss fights.
    Now I understand all those negative reviews.......R.I.P Thief franchise
    Expand

See all 331 User Reviews