Thief PC

Thief Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1467 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safeGarrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach. As an uprising emerges, Garrett finds himself entangled in growing layers of conflict. Lead by Orion, the voice of the people, the tyrannized citizens will do everything they can to claim back the City from the Baron’s grasp. The revolution is inevitable. If Garrett doesn’t get involved, the streets will run red with blood and the City will tear itself apart. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    86
    An excellent stealth game, true to the spirit of the original and at the same time much more modern. Very polished gameplay and a clever difficulty level make Thief a game no stealth fan should miss. The plot and the setting aren't always inspired, but the quality of the content greatly makes up for it.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    81
    Not the best brand relaunch ever, but forgetting the great predecessors, it's a decent game of its own. [March 2014]
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    80
    While it suffers in aspects of level design and uninspired use of Garrett's inventory, Thief delivers a unique stealth experience that lives up to the original game, but not quite.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    75
    Maybe the new Thief fails to achieve sufficient amount of depth and alternative paths to satisfy every player, but its stealth gameplay makes this game fun.
  5. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Thief is far from the disaster that many feared it would be, and fans who take the time to customise their settings ahead of their first playthrough will find a rewarding world here to pick clean. Nevertheless, it’s still difficult to shake the feeling that, for all his dexterity, Garrett has stumbled in his attempt to gain access to a new generation.
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    65
    As a Thief, it is a huge disappointment. The extraordinary map design of the series is gone, the story is forgettable and the reboot of Garrett and The City really misjudged. While entertaining as a stealth game, its sins are bigger than its virtues.
  7. Mar 3, 2014
    30
    The three major strengths of past Thief titles - wide open mission design, sound propagation and narrative - are this game’s biggest weaknesses. That is a fundamental problem it cannot hope to overcome.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Is the first Thief I played, I played for almost 2 hours and loved the atmosphere, the gameplay, everything is perfect . You can choose theIs the first Thief I played, I played for almost 2 hours and loved the atmosphere, the gameplay, everything is perfect . You can choose the difficulty , I chose normal and it's still a little hard to steal things without being noticed, you have to think before what you're doing and keep an eye on the movement of soldiers. The graphics are not spectacular, but they are beautiful. I ran the game with everything max, filters, etc, at 1920x1080 and rolled flat, the FPS ranged between 50 and 60. It took me almost 2 hours to get past the first mission , exploring every corner to steal as much as possible and trying not to be detected, which made me take more. About the negative reviews, including the "big sites", I was not disappointed to read before playing, and now I played I'm not unrepentant, as I said, I loved the game and I recommend for you that enjoy a good first-person stealth game. Ignore the reviews, play and give your own conclusion. That's it. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Excellent game, just like the original Thief games. Finally a 'true' stealth game, especially on the Master or custom difficulties you reallyExcellent game, just like the original Thief games. Finally a 'true' stealth game, especially on the Master or custom difficulties you really have to play it pure stealth which is great compared to other 'wannabe' stealth games out there today. Together with Dishonored this is a true gem, definitely recommended! Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    I haven't a been a Thief fan, but after I've played this reboot I became one. The stealth is perfect, A.I. is not as dumb as different gameI haven't a been a Thief fan, but after I've played this reboot I became one. The stealth is perfect, A.I. is not as dumb as different game magazines say. It's far more clever. The only game drawback is engine and graphics. It's just a usual UE3, but it's a bit unoptimised and laggy. This is the only bad thing I noticed playing it.
    So, if you like stealth games, this one is "must have", imo.
    Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    Ok this is an honest opinion on the game. I have not played previous thief games so I will not compare this to previous ones. Thief has a veryOk this is an honest opinion on the game. I have not played previous thief games so I will not compare this to previous ones. Thief has a very confronting storyline and throws you straight into the deep end without a decent back story or intro and at first I found it very hard to follow. Overall without any spoilers the storyline was OK. not great but still ok. The voice acting was pretty good, the cut scenes seemed to change volume to the actual game and were actually pretty crappy and not done well. The graphics are awesome, I played with everything maxxed out at 2560x1440 resolution - yes it's a beautiful game don't let others say otherwise. I found that stealing objects and items in the game was pretty much useless near end game I had well over 4 Thousand dollars to spend and I had NO IDEA were a shop was to spend it or upgrade my abilities. I dont think I upgraded 1 single ability apart from the tutorial one that is given to you which was quite a dissapointment. Overall I give the game 7/10 because the graphics, voice acting and general gameplay was interesting and fun overall. if the graphics had of been similar to dishonored then I honestly wouldn't have bothered with the game. don't get me wrong it's Still worth playing for sure - just be sure to get it when it''s on sale. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2014
    5
    Score: 5
    This game is mediocre.
    Example: The game is like a quickly thrown together movie title game, they are basic, nothing really new
    Score: 5
    This game is mediocre.

    Example:
    The game is like a quickly thrown together movie title game, they are basic, nothing really new or exciting, simply the same game we have all played before, but now with different colors.

    Conclusion:
    Save your money for when it drops to $10 or $15, because that is about all its worth. More and more of these big time companies are just trying to make a dime, instead they should try to make a game, then they would make more money. I have come to a point, that I will now wait for scores as to whether or not to buy a game, instead of buying a game and watching my hard earned cash go to waste, oh well, live and learn.
    Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2016
    4
    I expected more from this game which I really were looking forward to, it is however quite boring with a lack of concept and there's nothing exciting.
  7. Oct 18, 2014
    0
    So here I am, playing thief because I loved the previous titles and although I'm fairly disappointed by the action elements in it (When didSo here I am, playing thief because I loved the previous titles and although I'm fairly disappointed by the action elements in it (When did Thief become a platform game?) I was enjoying the game....
    Until I hit an actual boss fight (Yes in Thief!, next boss fight in Civilizations, Settlers or the Sims?) where you're not able to save at all.
    Considering I turned on a lot of options off to come closer to the real thief experience I find it impossible to continue the game.
    So after 7 chapters playing I found out that I should have kept those options on because Thief has turned into an action game with un-savable boss fights.
    Now I understand all those negative reviews.......R.I.P Thief franchise
    Expand

See all 353 User Reviews

Trailers