Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1351 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safeGarrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach. As an uprising emerges, Garrett finds himself entangled in growing layers of conflict. Lead by Orion, the voice of the people, the tyrannized citizens will do everything they can to claim back the City from the Baron’s grasp. The revolution is inevitable. If Garrett doesn’t get involved, the streets will run red with blood and the City will tear itself apart. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    86
    An excellent stealth game, true to the spirit of the original and at the same time much more modern. Very polished gameplay and a clever difficulty level make Thief a game no stealth fan should miss. The plot and the setting aren't always inspired, but the quality of the content greatly makes up for it.
  2. May 11, 2014
    81
    Not the best brand relaunch ever, but forgetting the great predecessors, it's a decent game of its own. [March 2014]
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    80
    While it suffers in aspects of level design and uninspired use of Garrett's inventory, Thief delivers a unique stealth experience that lives up to the original game, but not quite.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    75
    Maybe the new Thief fails to achieve sufficient amount of depth and alternative paths to satisfy every player, but its stealth gameplay makes this game fun.
  5. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Thief is far from the disaster that many feared it would be, and fans who take the time to customise their settings ahead of their first playthrough will find a rewarding world here to pick clean. Nevertheless, it’s still difficult to shake the feeling that, for all his dexterity, Garrett has stumbled in his attempt to gain access to a new generation.
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    65
    As a Thief, it is a huge disappointment. The extraordinary map design of the series is gone, the story is forgettable and the reboot of Garrett and The City really misjudged. While entertaining as a stealth game, its sins are bigger than its virtues.
  7. Mar 3, 2014
    30
    The three major strengths of past Thief titles - wide open mission design, sound propagation and narrative - are this game’s biggest weaknesses. That is a fundamental problem it cannot hope to overcome.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Is the first Thief I played, I played for almost 2 hours and loved the atmosphere, the gameplay, everything is perfect . You can choose theIs the first Thief I played, I played for almost 2 hours and loved the atmosphere, the gameplay, everything is perfect . You can choose the difficulty , I chose normal and it's still a little hard to steal things without being noticed, you have to think before what you're doing and keep an eye on the movement of soldiers. The graphics are not spectacular, but they are beautiful. I ran the game with everything max, filters, etc, at 1920x1080 and rolled flat, the FPS ranged between 50 and 60. It took me almost 2 hours to get past the first mission , exploring every corner to steal as much as possible and trying not to be detected, which made me take more. About the negative reviews, including the "big sites", I was not disappointed to read before playing, and now I played I'm not unrepentant, as I said, I loved the game and I recommend for you that enjoy a good first-person stealth game. Ignore the reviews, play and give your own conclusion. That's it. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    I'm new to the series and i just loved it its atmospheric,awsomly looking perfect stealth game. It only stumbles a bit on A.I wich is notI'm new to the series and i just loved it its atmospheric,awsomly looking perfect stealth game. It only stumbles a bit on A.I wich is not exactly smartest and loadings but i recommend it to new player and the old player **** about not beeing old thief go play old theif and shut up Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Despite its monotonous and somewhat tedious loading screens immensely dulling any exploration, Thief was hugely enjoyable for me(a new timerDespite its monotonous and somewhat tedious loading screens immensely dulling any exploration, Thief was hugely enjoyable for me(a new timer to the whole 'thief' series). The dark and chilling world is very appropriate to the concept and story of the game creating an experience whereby you're immersed in thievery; a expedition well worth it! As most might be aware, the Batman Arkham series are incredible masterpieces and some of my favourite games. The best part of the games however, was the stealth missions, which is what the whole game of Thief is!
    The use of the dualshock4 made me cry with joy for 19 days! Why? Because it was just a sensational idea and one that, in a dark room, made the entire game come to life! This also aids the extraordinary detail of the entire game and, ultimately, makes for a wonderfully involved game!
    Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    Ok this is an honest opinion on the game. I have not played previous thief games so I will not compare this to previous ones. Thief has a veryOk this is an honest opinion on the game. I have not played previous thief games so I will not compare this to previous ones. Thief has a very confronting storyline and throws you straight into the deep end without a decent back story or intro and at first I found it very hard to follow. Overall without any spoilers the storyline was OK. not great but still ok. The voice acting was pretty good, the cut scenes seemed to change volume to the actual game and were actually pretty crappy and not done well. The graphics are awesome, I played with everything maxxed out at 2560x1440 resolution - yes it's a beautiful game don't let others say otherwise. I found that stealing objects and items in the game was pretty much useless near end game I had well over 4 Thousand dollars to spend and I had NO IDEA were a shop was to spend it or upgrade my abilities. I dont think I upgraded 1 single ability apart from the tutorial one that is given to you which was quite a dissapointment. Overall I give the game 7/10 because the graphics, voice acting and general gameplay was interesting and fun overall. if the graphics had of been similar to dishonored then I honestly wouldn't have bothered with the game. don't get me wrong it's Still worth playing for sure - just be sure to get it when it''s on sale. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    5
    Not a overall bad game, but it is short and not really developed as much as they hyped it up to be. The depth of the game is something thatNot a overall bad game, but it is short and not really developed as much as they hyped it up to be. The depth of the game is something that really bugged me because they really was not as much depth as I was expecting. Overall scores:
    -Gameplay: 6/10
    -smoothness: 7/10
    -Story: 6/10
    -depth: 5/10
    -controls: 5/10
    -appearance: 7/10
    -over all: 5.5/10
    Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2014
    3
    Feels more like garbage man than thief, rummaging through drawers stealing ink bottles.
    No cool factions, no hammerites, no pagans, burricks
    Feels more like garbage man than thief, rummaging through drawers stealing ink bottles.
    No cool factions, no hammerites, no pagans, burricks and lobstermen replaced with dogs and birds. It's not cool with kids if modern game doesn't have doge.
    Freeform climbing and rope arrow usage replaced by scripted dev-approved location movement only. Combat blows, press X to not take damage from guards slow telegraph attack, no sword. Bopping guard on head from behind with blackjack replaced with scripted takedowns, doing it yourself too hard for consoles.
    Technically weak, linear small levels, loading every 2 minutes. Level design very meh. Mandatory 4-5 per level advancing forward in cutscene, cutting off previous part of level, because having level accessible fully and non-linear would be too hard for consoles.
    Prologue cutscene - zomg, you killed him, how could you, thieves don't do that!!!one. Chapter 1 - bonus objective, score 4 headshots on guards for extra money, because nothing spells thief quite like bow headshots. If you shoot guard from far enough, arrow flying will play out in slo-mo so cool kids can put 360 noscope thief videos with wubwub music on youtube.
    All in all, disappointment on the same level as Deus Ex HR, but I guess Squeenix ran out of money to pay off journalists this time, dxhr PC metacritic: 90, IGN: 90. Thief PC metacritic: 69, IGN: 68.
    Uninstalled after chapter 2, searching drawers in small dark rooms repeatedly is more boring than my real life work that I get paid for, no thanks.
    Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2015
    0
    Yet another classic franchise ruined by AAA publisher "sensibilities."

    I grew up with the Thief games. And to see it turned into this
    Yet another classic franchise ruined by AAA publisher "sensibilities."

    I grew up with the Thief games. And to see it turned into this hackneyed abomination is just heartbreaking. They lobotomized the city by removing the interesting factions. The removed the majority of the color. They removed ALL of the humor. They...

    Ugh, you know what? Just google some reviews of this turd on stealth gaming websites. They'll explain it better, without a 5000 character limit.
    Expand

See all 338 User Reviews

Trailers