Thief PC

Thief Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1476 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safeGarrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach. As an uprising emerges, Garrett finds himself entangled in growing layers of conflict. Lead by Orion, the voice of the people, the tyrannized citizens will do everything they can to claim back the City from the Baron’s grasp. The revolution is inevitable. If Garrett doesn’t get involved, the streets will run red with blood and the City will tear itself apart. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    86
    An excellent stealth game, true to the spirit of the original and at the same time much more modern. Very polished gameplay and a clever difficulty level make Thief a game no stealth fan should miss. The plot and the setting aren't always inspired, but the quality of the content greatly makes up for it.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    81
    Not the best brand relaunch ever, but forgetting the great predecessors, it's a decent game of its own. [March 2014]
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    80
    While it suffers in aspects of level design and uninspired use of Garrett's inventory, Thief delivers a unique stealth experience that lives up to the original game, but not quite.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    75
    Maybe the new Thief fails to achieve sufficient amount of depth and alternative paths to satisfy every player, but its stealth gameplay makes this game fun.
  5. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Thief is far from the disaster that many feared it would be, and fans who take the time to customise their settings ahead of their first playthrough will find a rewarding world here to pick clean. Nevertheless, it’s still difficult to shake the feeling that, for all his dexterity, Garrett has stumbled in his attempt to gain access to a new generation.
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    65
    As a Thief, it is a huge disappointment. The extraordinary map design of the series is gone, the story is forgettable and the reboot of Garrett and The City really misjudged. While entertaining as a stealth game, its sins are bigger than its virtues.
  7. Mar 3, 2014
    30
    The three major strengths of past Thief titles - wide open mission design, sound propagation and narrative - are this game’s biggest weaknesses. That is a fundamental problem it cannot hope to overcome.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Is the first Thief I played, I played for almost 2 hours and loved the atmosphere, the gameplay, everything is perfect . You can choose theIs the first Thief I played, I played for almost 2 hours and loved the atmosphere, the gameplay, everything is perfect . You can choose the difficulty , I chose normal and it's still a little hard to steal things without being noticed, you have to think before what you're doing and keep an eye on the movement of soldiers. The graphics are not spectacular, but they are beautiful. I ran the game with everything max, filters, etc, at 1920x1080 and rolled flat, the FPS ranged between 50 and 60. It took me almost 2 hours to get past the first mission , exploring every corner to steal as much as possible and trying not to be detected, which made me take more. About the negative reviews, including the "big sites", I was not disappointed to read before playing, and now I played I'm not unrepentant, as I said, I loved the game and I recommend for you that enjoy a good first-person stealth game. Ignore the reviews, play and give your own conclusion. That's it. Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    I played all the previous Thief and has long awaited this game. I´m happy to see a good story and nice smooth controls and very atmospheric.I played all the previous Thief and has long awaited this game. I´m happy to see a good story and nice smooth controls and very atmospheric.
    Pros:
    Great stealth system, excellent sandboxing (you can go nearly everywhere all the time only unlocking new areas through accepting missions and story)
    Massive amount of things to loot
    Mystic, and the Glyphs are there though I´d like so see more of the "old school"
    Great graphics and story.

    Cons:
    Clumsy close combat (pressing R makes an attack)
    Too short :)
    I´m unsure how to gather 30000 gold in the game to purchase the most expensive trinket.
    Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    Despite all the negative reviews I really enjoyed this game, and I found it very entertaining. The stealth mechanics are great, and there's noDespite all the negative reviews I really enjoyed this game, and I found it very entertaining. The stealth mechanics are great, and there's no problem with the visual quality, or environment. I really loved the dark atmosphere of The City. I've never played the classic Thief games, and I'm sure everyone was expecting a hardcore stealth game. Well, Thief isn't that hardcore if you don't want it to be, so casual gamers can also try it out without frustration. Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2014
    7
    The Thief franchise is one of my favourite stealth franchises, so when I heard about the next instalment, Thief, I was excited. So does thisThe Thief franchise is one of my favourite stealth franchises, so when I heard about the next instalment, Thief, I was excited. So does this game bring the franchise back to its former glory... Sort of. But I think the thing us gamers are most interested in is the stealth, which is flipping awesome! Even the slightest mistake could end in death, and to stay out in off the shadows is certain doom. This is all brought up by the fantastic level design, which gives the player almost life like amounts of freedom. In addition to this, the games graphics are amazing, they're even better than Battlefield 4! However, the games UI is awful, making it hard to select the weapon you want, resulting in some frustrating parts. Also, the AI is some of the worst I've ever seen! For example, at one point in the game I saw two guards, headshoted one of them, and the other one, standing right next to didn't even notice! WTF! And, the story is terrible, mainly because it tries to be more than it is. This is all hindered by Garret's appalling new voice actor, who never puts any expression into anything! If I was to judge thief purely on gameplay it would get a ten, but it's marred by so many technical issues that take you out of the immersion. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2014
    5
    Score: 5
    This game is mediocre.
    Example: The game is like a quickly thrown together movie title game, they are basic, nothing really new
    Score: 5
    This game is mediocre.

    Example:
    The game is like a quickly thrown together movie title game, they are basic, nothing really new or exciting, simply the same game we have all played before, but now with different colors.

    Conclusion:
    Save your money for when it drops to $10 or $15, because that is about all its worth. More and more of these big time companies are just trying to make a dime, instead they should try to make a game, then they would make more money. I have come to a point, that I will now wait for scores as to whether or not to buy a game, instead of buying a game and watching my hard earned cash go to waste, oh well, live and learn.
    Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2015
    4
    Totally generic and uninspired. It tries to copy so many other games that it completely fails to make its own identity. The setting interestedTotally generic and uninspired. It tries to copy so many other games that it completely fails to make its own identity. The setting interested me and, initially during the prologue, the looting interested me. That's it. Everything else was a disappointment. There's absolutely no reason to play this travesty when you can get Dishonored instead. Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2014
    0
    So here I am, playing thief because I loved the previous titles and although I'm fairly disappointed by the action elements in it (When didSo here I am, playing thief because I loved the previous titles and although I'm fairly disappointed by the action elements in it (When did Thief become a platform game?) I was enjoying the game....
    Until I hit an actual boss fight (Yes in Thief!, next boss fight in Civilizations, Settlers or the Sims?) where you're not able to save at all.
    Considering I turned on a lot of options off to come closer to the real thief experience I find it impossible to continue the game.
    So after 7 chapters playing I found out that I should have kept those options on because Thief has turned into an action game with un-savable boss fights.
    Now I understand all those negative reviews.......R.I.P Thief franchise
    Expand

See all 357 User Reviews

Trailers