User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 167
  2. Negative: 74 out of 167

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    [Thirty Flights of Loving Steam PC Score 9]
    A five minute Quentin Tarantino game movie an interactive movie trailer between Pumpkin and Honey Bunny; Yeah no sh*t five minutes only. Do you make games you figure out how to fit this into a game as an interlude hilarious and intense potential. Check this out (2bucks/steam)
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    The developer knew the game was going to get bashed on, this game has a very interesting take on transitioning in games, infact I wish more games took this approach. Rather than having a consistent player space where content can indefinitely be admired, the player is trusted threw the narrative with no indication when a transition will happen; creating an interesting flow of player drivenThe developer knew the game was going to get bashed on, this game has a very interesting take on transitioning in games, infact I wish more games took this approach. Rather than having a consistent player space where content can indefinitely be admired, the player is trusted threw the narrative with no indication when a transition will happen; creating an interesting flow of player driven direction. Many subtleties will leave your face left with a smile during the developers commentary.

    This game is overlooked, and very short, but that's the point. The developer knew that many players would bash the game while leaving a very passionate niche. The game doesn't waste your time with it's very short completion time, and leaves room for re-playability with it's mind-boggling transitions and subtitles. I hope the developer doesn't read this because I haven't played it enough to completely wrap my mind around the game, but there is much to be desired.

    Thirty Flights of Loving is worth your time and money if you have the ability to differentiate video games from interactive media.
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    Thirty Flights of Loving is not a game in the traditional sense, and is certainly not for everyone. Your five dollars will net you a fifteen minute experiment in storytelling nothing more, nothing less. The game absolutely accomplishes what it set out to do, and successfully manages to tell an involving story (well, as involving as you can get in a little over ten minutes) with noThirty Flights of Loving is not a game in the traditional sense, and is certainly not for everyone. Your five dollars will net you a fifteen minute experiment in storytelling nothing more, nothing less. The game absolutely accomplishes what it set out to do, and successfully manages to tell an involving story (well, as involving as you can get in a little over ten minutes) with no dialogue or character text. A separate playthrough with developer commentary which I found very interesting is also included, which provides insight into the development process and what the developer intended to achieve with certain inclusions. All in all, if you're interested in the advancement of storytelling in video games, I wholeheartedly recommend this game. If you're looking for anything else, steer clear. Expand
  4. May 23, 2013
    10
    Thirty Flights of Loving is a game that, just like To the Moon and Kentucky Route Zero, proves how powerful the interactive medium of video games can be in telling a story. Played from a first-person view, there is virtually no traditional gameplay, aside from being able to interact with the environment and explore its nooks and crannies. The soundtrack and the sound design are great, asThirty Flights of Loving is a game that, just like To the Moon and Kentucky Route Zero, proves how powerful the interactive medium of video games can be in telling a story. Played from a first-person view, there is virtually no traditional gameplay, aside from being able to interact with the environment and explore its nooks and crannies. The soundtrack and the sound design are great, as well as its graphical presentation. The blocky characters, the usage of color, and the varied environments all mesh together into a game that looks quite unlike any other.

    But yes, there is nothing the player really does in the game, at least, not in the traditional sense. The real reason to play this game is for its story and, more specifically, the way the game presents its story. By employing the mechanics of film editing and cutting freely between events and scenes without any sort of input from the player, Thirty Flights of Loving spins the classic yarn of a heist gone horribly wrong in a wholly unique way. Its non-linearity and hectic pace is a refreshing change from the banality of most video game narratives, and the player truly has to work in order to understand everything that's happening. While the game can be completed in fifteen minutes or so, the scope and depth of the story told is one that far exceeds its actual runtime. Multiple playthroughs are not only necessary but also inevitable.

    Thirty Flights of Loving is certainly not for everyone. Many players have expressed outrage or frustration at the fact that the "game" isn't really much of one at all. Brendon Chung, the creator of the game, has himself described it as "an interactive short story". Ultimately, it does not matter. Thirty Filghts of Loving is a very important game, because it makes a legitimate attempt to tap into the vast potential for video games as a narrative medium. If that sounds at all interesting to you, go play Thirty Flights of Loving. It's an experience that you won't soon forget.
    Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    Let me start by pointing out the difference in the user score the the critic score. It's dramatically different, isn't it? Well, there's a reason for it, which I will get back to.

    I digress, I will have to join the side of the critics. This game is fantastic. The art style and overall graphics are beautiful and very well done. The story is great, but blink and you'll miss it. In terms
    Let me start by pointing out the difference in the user score the the critic score. It's dramatically different, isn't it? Well, there's a reason for it, which I will get back to.

    I digress, I will have to join the side of the critics. This game is fantastic. The art style and overall graphics are beautiful and very well done. The story is great, but blink and you'll miss it. In terms of gameplay, it's basically walking, but the experience is so quick that it is almost -fun- to do it.

    But here's my one minor gripe with the game, and the reason people were not happy with it.

    It's short. Very, very, very, VERY short. On the first run, it takes about 15-20 minutes (I've beaten it in under 5). But that's what's so great about it. You play it once, and most people will try to get through the game to just beat it. But because it's so short, you go back and play it again, and see something you missed. And then you play it again, and there's a new detail. Sure, for 15 minutes, $5 is a bit high. But the experience is worth it. Is it perfect? No, of course not. But is it great? You're goddamn right it is.
    Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    Had I paid more than $2.50, I might have been frustrated by the ridiculously small amount of content in this game and I'm pretty sure there isn't even $2.50 worth based on the quantity or the "quality" of the graphics. When I read the reviews before buying it, I thought the claims of 5-15 minutes of gameplay were the usual reviewer exaggerations, but the game is really that short! DoubleHad I paid more than $2.50, I might have been frustrated by the ridiculously small amount of content in this game and I'm pretty sure there isn't even $2.50 worth based on the quantity or the "quality" of the graphics. When I read the reviews before buying it, I thought the claims of 5-15 minutes of gameplay were the usual reviewer exaggerations, but the game is really that short! Double it because it comes with its equally short prequel, Gravity Bone. Yet, for all its brevity and infantile graphics, there's something to this game: little twists in the plot that you don't see coming and a storytelling style that feels a bit like a 1960s psychological drama. As the extremely skewed reviews show, this isn't a game for everyone. You have to come at it like a wine tasting. Sure you pay too much for a small glass, but you get a taste of something you don't get every day. If you're an aficionado of the subtle things that go into a game and not just playing the games, you'll probably get something out of it. If you're looking for a game for the sake of playing it and you want a bang for your buck, you need to look elsewhere. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    It's very indie, but there is something about Thirty Flights of Loving that I love. I'm not sure exactly what it is, to be honest. Maybe, the simple fact that so much work is put into 30 minutes of gameplay? Maybe, the livelihood of the worlds they create? Maybe, the "You wake up and see yourself sleeping" type stories? I'm not sure, but I think everyone can find something to love in this game.
  8. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    I think the expectations of many people on this were a little askew; I knew what I was getting into, that it only had 15 minutes of playtime and was rather a short story via the medium of a video game. And thus I was not disappointed, it was an interesting story where dream and reality meshed up, a story was told but in an unconventional way, with strong pictures and without many words.I think the expectations of many people on this were a little askew; I knew what I was getting into, that it only had 15 minutes of playtime and was rather a short story via the medium of a video game. And thus I was not disappointed, it was an interesting story where dream and reality meshed up, a story was told but in an unconventional way, with strong pictures and without many words.

    Agreed, this is not really a game. This is a short story. Or their equivalent in video games.

    - Cazy
    Expand
  9. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    There are no dialogues, the story is out of order and it has no gameplay elements. Thirty Flights of Loving was clearly made with the purpose of making the player think of all that he sees and does in the game - and it's very competent at that, as long as the player is willing to slow down the pace and try to connect to the story and the characters. There's a great deal of art andThere are no dialogues, the story is out of order and it has no gameplay elements. Thirty Flights of Loving was clearly made with the purpose of making the player think of all that he sees and does in the game - and it's very competent at that, as long as the player is willing to slow down the pace and try to connect to the story and the characters. There's a great deal of art and creativity to the environments and interactions the player can make, and the music/sound itself is brilliant. The story itself is only as good as the player's imagination - if you're not a creative person, you'll definitely not enjoy this game as much as I did. Unfortunately, the game crashed to the desktop about 4 times in 2 playthroughs - that's not nice. Also, although it's evident that a lot of effort was put into it, and even though it's a unique and clever experience, I don't see this game being worth $5. So, I give it an 8/10, it seems like a fair score. Expand
  10. Jan 13, 2013
    8
    This game is not for everybody, and don't feel bad if you're not on the target audience. It's not elitist; it's simply trying to show a few things. There is no challenge to overcome, nor anyway to actually lose (except by killing yourself). Its more like a first person "take a look on what we built". It will be entertaining for those thrilled by the visual art choices and people who loveThis game is not for everybody, and don't feel bad if you're not on the target audience. It's not elitist; it's simply trying to show a few things. There is no challenge to overcome, nor anyway to actually lose (except by killing yourself). Its more like a first person "take a look on what we built". It will be entertaining for those thrilled by the visual art choices and people who love to look into details. The directors commentary can be a lesson for those interested in building narratives. For anybody interesed in "classic" video-games, that is, win-lose situations, avoid this by any and all costs. You will hate it. For those interested in little details and an interesting approach on how to set a narrative in games, its great. Expand
  11. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    A flawless experience that needs no other comment, but metacritic reviews must be at least 150 characters long. This game understands brevity - metacritic doesn't.
  12. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    In several minutes the game had ended but i knew all of the story. Sure the game is very short but its worth it if you have cash in your pockets.
  13. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    While this isn't for everyone, I found TFOL very enjoyable. It was short, but that wasn't really a bad thing, since you have to play it several times to really get what is going on, plus there is a developer's commentary. The story isn't presented chronologically, and it leaves parts out, leaving you to guess at what happened. There are clues left in the game, but much of it is left toWhile this isn't for everyone, I found TFOL very enjoyable. It was short, but that wasn't really a bad thing, since you have to play it several times to really get what is going on, plus there is a developer's commentary. The story isn't presented chronologically, and it leaves parts out, leaving you to guess at what happened. There are clues left in the game, but much of it is left to guesswork. Working out what happened is the fun part, and what really makes it enjoyable.
    If you're still deciding if you want to get this or not, go play Gravity Bone, which is the free prequel. If you enjoy that, you might enjoy TFOL too.
    Expand
  14. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    Great story, superb presentation, memorable music, and the inclusion of Gravity Bone: this is an incredible experience that was well worth my $4 several times over. The Citizen Abel series continues to prosper with this extraordinary title, especially considering that it was built on the QUAKE2 engine, given that nobody has even touched it in years. To the average gamer, there may not beGreat story, superb presentation, memorable music, and the inclusion of Gravity Bone: this is an incredible experience that was well worth my $4 several times over. The Citizen Abel series continues to prosper with this extraordinary title, especially considering that it was built on the QUAKE2 engine, given that nobody has even touched it in years. To the average gamer, there may not be much to see here, but to pass up a title such as this would be a mistake, for I have never seen something so refreshingly different in a while, being that the only other time was when its predecessor, Gravity Bone, came into existence. In short, the Indie genre triumphs once again. Expand
  15. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    This game will surprise you, break your expectations, and make you care for the story.
    You will be delivered an emotional impact as you'll review what you know, new angle at a time - during the first play through and throughout the replays (you will want to play it again), when you'll learn to notice the more subtle stuff and start puzzling it out.
    It is fresh, fun, beautiful, thought
    This game will surprise you, break your expectations, and make you care for the story.
    You will be delivered an emotional impact as you'll review what you know, new angle at a time - during the first play through and throughout the replays (you will want to play it again), when you'll learn to notice the more subtle stuff and start puzzling it out.

    It is fresh, fun, beautiful, thought provoking, and highly recommended by me.
    Expand
  16. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    It tells a tale so well that it can make you feel in just 30 minutes. The user review section is proving to be just as useless as any other. Please play this game knowing that it is a defiant anti-game that won't give you any great game play. It is here just to show what amazing things can be done with story telling in a first person game. It shows that games shouldn't always be about theIt tells a tale so well that it can make you feel in just 30 minutes. The user review section is proving to be just as useless as any other. Please play this game knowing that it is a defiant anti-game that won't give you any great game play. It is here just to show what amazing things can be done with story telling in a first person game. It shows that games shouldn't always be about the grind but should be gripping and something to have a conversation about. Don't play looking for something easy. Expand
  17. Dec 2, 2012
    8
    Thirty Flights of Loving is a lovely, witty brief experiment in storytelling - that's it. Too short to call it a game, too fancy to whine about this fact. I do wish it was longer and thus more engaging, but still I don't blame Brandon Chung for making it short. Who knows, may be he is cooking up something bigger after all these fun experinments. Anyway, recommended.
    P.S. A lot of
    Thirty Flights of Loving is a lovely, witty brief experiment in storytelling - that's it. Too short to call it a game, too fancy to whine about this fact. I do wish it was longer and thus more engaging, but still I don't blame Brandon Chung for making it short. Who knows, may be he is cooking up something bigger after all these fun experinments. Anyway, recommended.
    P.S. A lot of complaints about the price. If you judge game value by its length...well, poor you. Short length makes many games even more memorable (Dishonored is a great example).
    Expand
  18. Jan 6, 2013
    8
    So long as you go in with the knowledge that this is a first-person short story, you'll enjoy it. The game is only 15 minutes long at most, but I believe that for that time the story is more enjoyable than many much longer games. The prequel, Gravity Bone is free so I recommend playing that first to decide whether you should spend your money on this one. Both games are Blendo GamesSo long as you go in with the knowledge that this is a first-person short story, you'll enjoy it. The game is only 15 minutes long at most, but I believe that for that time the story is more enjoyable than many much longer games. The prequel, Gravity Bone is free so I recommend playing that first to decide whether you should spend your money on this one. Both games are Blendo Games triumphs and I look forward to more like this from the developer. Expand
  19. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    It's impossible to explain this game at all without spoiling it, since it's only about 15 minutes long. That said, Thirty Flights of Loving helped me truly understand the idiom "read between the lines": Almost all the interesting bits happen off-screen. You are shown the bare minimum you need to figure out what happened. And you won't figure it out right away either. I had to play it twiceIt's impossible to explain this game at all without spoiling it, since it's only about 15 minutes long. That said, Thirty Flights of Loving helped me truly understand the idiom "read between the lines": Almost all the interesting bits happen off-screen. You are shown the bare minimum you need to figure out what happened. And you won't figure it out right away either. I had to play it twice and sleep on it before I crafted the whole story in my mind, or at least my version of it.

    Like all stories, this one would be boring if told incorrectly. Thankfully, it is not.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 80
    Thirty Flights bets on and is transcended by, emotion. It’s part of a newly-arrived scene (fronted by the beautiful Dear Esther from Chinese Room) that attempts to blur the lines between gaming and art. You are given the tools to live a story that was written for you. Whether it will win you or not, rests completely upon your actions. [October 2012]
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    80
    Condensed into thirteen minutes of play, Thirty Flights of Loving is a really interesting story.
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    85
    Thirty Flights of Loving is as refreshing as it is alienating. The series of short scenes take you on a bizarre roller coaster ride, on which you unfortunately have little influence.