Thirty Flights of Loving PC

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 168
  2. Negative: 74 out of 168

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    5
    I ended up enjoying it, but i can't recommend Thirty Flights of Loving, unless you carefully read about it and knows exactly what you'll get or experience. Then you can find it cool, just after you understand what it is.

    My first experience was disappointing. Being someone who usually enjoy art games or interactive experiences, i start it thinking about a cool, deep story-driven game,
    I ended up enjoying it, but i can't recommend Thirty Flights of Loving, unless you carefully read about it and knows exactly what you'll get or experience. Then you can find it cool, just after you understand what it is.

    My first experience was disappointing.
    Being someone who usually enjoy art games or interactive experiences, i start it thinking about a cool, deep story-driven game, but i found me just watching disordered short scenes of a shallow and confusing story, instead of really playing something. It ended really fast, abruptly and letting me with a "wtf?!" in mind. The graphics, lights, colors and music are really cool, but it was not enough to make me enjoy.

    Then i try it again a few days later.
    Knowing what to expect, the experience was far better, and i used to enjoy it and understand it. Using the commentaries feature, i found it was a developer experience, something really personal using his experiences on gaming design and pieces he previously wanted to use in other ways.

    I don't read all the comments yet, and i still having to play better the Gravity Bone bonus, who seems to have more gameplay elements, but if you're ok with all that i said before, i can recommend this experience to you, it worth your time. But i'll not recommend to everybody, mostly without that explanation about what i feel in my first contact with it.
    Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2012
    6
    I feel somewhat conflicted every time I think back to my experience with this title. Engaging and intriguing, Thirty Flights of Loving is a bite sized dose of methodically and expertly crafted narrative. You'll be confused and disappointed, but also transfixed with the puzzle of riddling out what truly happened on your fifteen minute journey. Were this game free or less ridiculously pricedI feel somewhat conflicted every time I think back to my experience with this title. Engaging and intriguing, Thirty Flights of Loving is a bite sized dose of methodically and expertly crafted narrative. You'll be confused and disappointed, but also transfixed with the puzzle of riddling out what truly happened on your fifteen minute journey. Were this game free or less ridiculously priced I would give it an eight and be on my way, but such a high tag for such little 'game' cannot be ignored. Give it a go if experimental narratives fill you with glee, but seriously consider the price for value ratio if the previous statement does not apply to you. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2012
    6
    This is more a lightly interactive short film than a game. It's packed with fun ideas, it's relatively well executed, and there's nothing else like it. But it's also very, very brief, and not quite as clever or essential as the critics have made it out to be.

    It's not really worth £4, but neither is a pint of beer in Central London.
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    5
    The main gripe is fairly accurate, $5 for 10 minutes of entertainment is pushing it. But, if you are a fan of Dear Esther, Home, The Path, Fatale and similar, this one is up there in newness and difference. A narrative that has some lovely moments, but alas requiring little interaction by you except to push things along. Enjoy the 10 minutes and think, odd but amusing.
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    6
    The pure, unfiltered weirdness of this "game" made me think of something a lonely 14-year-old modder might create out of boredom and I was annoyed by every second of the 15 minutes required to fully experience it. And yet there's no denying that it was a memorable experience. It doesn't really work as a game but I keep thinking that Chung might actually be a visionary who still hasn'tThe pure, unfiltered weirdness of this "game" made me think of something a lonely 14-year-old modder might create out of boredom and I was annoyed by every second of the 15 minutes required to fully experience it. And yet there's no denying that it was a memorable experience. It doesn't really work as a game but I keep thinking that Chung might actually be a visionary who still hasn't found the right way to realize his ideas. Who knows what he'll surprise us with in a few years? Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2012
    5
    Yes, the praise reviews are giving this game is accurate. It's a carefully made, non-linear story played through in disjointed pieces. It's usually all played through in one session. It's clever and charming. Frankly, however, the now free-to-download Gravity Bone was more engaging, and free. Try Gravity Bone, and if you LOVE it, buy this game expecting the same experience with a littleYes, the praise reviews are giving this game is accurate. It's a carefully made, non-linear story played through in disjointed pieces. It's usually all played through in one session. It's clever and charming. Frankly, however, the now free-to-download Gravity Bone was more engaging, and free. Try Gravity Bone, and if you LOVE it, buy this game expecting the same experience with a little more story and a little less game. Otherwise, and I'm on this side, it's not worth the $5 for the 10 minutes it offers, regardless of how funny and creative this game really is. Just watch a let's play and you'll get the exact same experience. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    6
    This is an interactive story. Not much of a game but it tells a story in an interesting way. Whilst I would recommend a play through I'm not sure it's with £3.99. Although if you have played any of the other Blendo Games' games, several of which are still freely available on their website, then it's easier to justify the big outlay for such a short game.
  8. May 14, 2013
    5
    I enjoyed this little roller coaster ride of a journey and it had some real high points, however I went in with high expectations based on the acclaim it had received and found the whole experience a bit lacking. There''s some beautiful moments and some really smart storytelling but it was so brief and slight an experience I'm not sure I really got a lot out of it sadly.
  9. Nov 10, 2013
    6
    An interactive story that is whimsical, hyperactive, and over in about 15 minutes. The visuals are a step up from Blendo's free Gravity Bone, but the style, "gameplay", and storytelling haven't changed much. Lots of style and silliness without much depth. It's a $2 game that a small team has put a lot of time into though, so it's tough to complain... for me anyway. Don't go into itAn interactive story that is whimsical, hyperactive, and over in about 15 minutes. The visuals are a step up from Blendo's free Gravity Bone, but the style, "gameplay", and storytelling haven't changed much. Lots of style and silliness without much depth. It's a $2 game that a small team has put a lot of time into though, so it's tough to complain... for me anyway. Don't go into it expecting much, and chances are you'll be entertained to a degree. Expand
  10. Dec 2, 2013
    5
    If you like surreal, artsy short films you'll probably love Thirty Flights of Loving. It challenges what we perceive to be a game but unfortunately I cannot consider this as one. I want a game to be something that is thought-provoking and fun to play and if it can't be thought-provoking, a game that's simply fun would suffice. I didn't have much fun playing Thirty Flights of Loving andIf you like surreal, artsy short films you'll probably love Thirty Flights of Loving. It challenges what we perceive to be a game but unfortunately I cannot consider this as one. I want a game to be something that is thought-provoking and fun to play and if it can't be thought-provoking, a game that's simply fun would suffice. I didn't have much fun playing Thirty Flights of Loving and it was all over in a matter of minutes so I can't say I was too impressed. Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    I recommend it for the adventurous type, but only at a dollar or something. There are other games for puzzles and platforming. This one is about walking through a carefully crafted short story, and it's very entertaining because the story is crammed into the short form. I think the developer took a lot of time decorating the different rooms and figuring out how to show the story in anI recommend it for the adventurous type, but only at a dollar or something. There are other games for puzzles and platforming. This one is about walking through a carefully crafted short story, and it's very entertaining because the story is crammed into the short form. I think the developer took a lot of time decorating the different rooms and figuring out how to show the story in an attractive fashion. I don't get the fullest out of the story because there's a lot between the lines (the bird theme that is reflected in the title) and the title crashed at the end so I had to watch the last minute on Youtube. Still, recommended for a dollar or maybe two. If you're that kind of person. Expand
  12. Feb 19, 2013
    5
    Make sure you play the prequel to this game, Gravity Bone. It's free on the developer's site. Not hard to find if you search for it. As for this game, it's brilliant. It's more of a digital story and it's very well executed. The story is constantly progressing, and it only tells you enough info that you need to know. It leaves the audience enough room to use their imagination to fill inMake sure you play the prequel to this game, Gravity Bone. It's free on the developer's site. Not hard to find if you search for it. As for this game, it's brilliant. It's more of a digital story and it's very well executed. The story is constantly progressing, and it only tells you enough info that you need to know. It leaves the audience enough room to use their imagination to fill in the blanks on the details of the story. WARNING! It took me 11 minutes to go through this! You have been warned! So it's hard for me to recommend this game since you're paying $5 for about 10 minutes. It's great, but hard to recommend people to pay money for it. Expand
  13. Jul 20, 2013
    5
    I played through this 3 times trying to piece together what the hell happened. That's part of the intrigue of the game though. It's open to interpretation and everyone will come away with a different understanding of the events. The gameplay itself is pretty dull, but the random jumps in time keep things interesting. The game also includes a free copy of Gravity Bone which is more funI played through this 3 times trying to piece together what the hell happened. That's part of the intrigue of the game though. It's open to interpretation and everyone will come away with a different understanding of the events. The gameplay itself is pretty dull, but the random jumps in time keep things interesting. The game also includes a free copy of Gravity Bone which is more fun since it's more interactive. Expand
  14. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    Over rated. I think that best describes my experience with 30 flights of loving. It seems that you can throw anything radical at critics these days and they will have a proverbial orgy over it so they don't look unintelligent and I think the fear of looking stupid has contributed to this games undeservedly high meta critic score. if you're looking for a half hour experience you may have toOver rated. I think that best describes my experience with 30 flights of loving. It seems that you can throw anything radical at critics these days and they will have a proverbial orgy over it so they don't look unintelligent and I think the fear of looking stupid has contributed to this games undeservedly high meta critic score. if you're looking for a half hour experience you may have to repeat in order to fully understand, sure but don't expect any closure, there is a basic story that you will have to think about and look around for but nothing amazing honestly. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 80
    Thirty Flights bets on and is transcended by, emotion. It’s part of a newly-arrived scene (fronted by the beautiful Dear Esther from Chinese Room) that attempts to blur the lines between gaming and art. You are given the tools to live a story that was written for you. Whether it will win you or not, rests completely upon your actions. [October 2012]
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    80
    Condensed into thirteen minutes of play, Thirty Flights of Loving is a really interesting story.
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    85
    Thirty Flights of Loving is as refreshing as it is alienating. The series of short scenes take you on a bizarre roller coaster ride, on which you unfortunately have little influence.